The State of New Jersey
NJ Department of Banking and Insurance
Home > Insurance Division > Doctors' Corner > MMLIPA Fund Application > Frequently Asked Questions
Frequently Asked Questions Medical Malpractice Liability Insurance Premium Assistance Fund
2006 Application Period Ended August 24, 2007
What if my specialty was not on the list of eligible specialties?
If your specialty was not listed in the 2006 application, or if you did not meet the special conditions associated with your specialty, you should not have applied. Only those specialties listed in the Department of Banking and Insurance's Order A07-118 (PDF, 60K) were eligible to apply.
If I didn't pay the insurance premium, am I required to designate a payee other than myself?
You are not required to designate a payee other than yourself if your insurance premium was paid by another party or entity such as your employer, group practice, hospital, etc. If you do choose to designate a payee, you are still responsible for returning the full subsidy payment to this Fund if you do not fulfill your 2-year retention commitment.
What if my insurer's name was not on the list?
If your insurer was not listed in the application, you were given instructions to contact the MMLIPA Fund at (609) 292-3100. We took your insurer information and advised you how to apply.
What happens if I don't fulfill my 2 year obligation?
If you receive a premium subsidy paid in either 2005, 2006, or 2007, you are required to continue to practice at least to the same extent in your specialty or subspecialty in New Jersey for a period of at least 2 years from the issue date of the subsidy. You may seek a waiver of the 2-year practice continuation requirement by filing a certification with the Commissioner that gives the reason(s) that you are unable to fulfill the minimum 2-year practice requirement. Waivers will only be granted if you are disabled and unable to practice prior to the end of the service period; in the event of your death; are on extended maternity leave beyond the disability period; are in full-time employment with the armed forces, VISTA or the Peace Corps; or are on Leave in accordance with the New Jersey Family Leave Act or Medical Leave Act of 1993. If you fail to satisfy the minimum practice requirement or fail to obtain a waiver of such requirement, you must repay the amount of the subsidy, in whole or in part, to the MMLIPA Fund. See N.J.A.C. 11:27-7 (PDF) for more information.
When do I need to file a W-9 with the State Treasury?
You are required by the State of New Jersey Treasury to complete the W-9 questionnaire to verify/establish your name, address and taxpayer identification on State records if you are seeking reimbursement from this Fund.

If you or your designated payee previously received a premium subsidy paid in either 2005 and/or 2006, another W-9 is not necessary for the 2006 premium subsidy paid in 2007. The New Jersey State Treasury office already has your payee information on file.

T he W-9 form is NOT the 2006 premium subsidy application.
What will be the amount of the 2006 premium subsidy (paid in December 2007) per practitioner?
This year's 2006 premium subsidy per eligible specialty was announced on December 14, 2007. The amount of the subsidy per eligible practitioner is dependent upon the number of applicants in each specialty or subspecialty determined to be eligible by the Commissioner, the levels of the average premium rates in those specialties or subspecialties, the average expenditure for medical malpractice liability insurance in an eligible class relative to the average expenditure by practitioners in the other eligible classes, and the amount of funds actually collected by the State Treasurer.

The 2006 subsidy amounts for nearly 1,200 eligible applicants were:

Neurosurgeons       $20,689
Obstetricians/Gynecologists $18,582
Diagnostic Radiologists  $6,678
Will I be notified that my application has been approved? When?
Yes, prior to payment you will be notified by letter if your application was approved. Payments were processed on all approved applications as soon as practicable after the completion of our eligibility review process.

In the event your application was not approved, you will receive a notification from us.
How long do I have to apply?
The 2006 application period ran through 5 p.m. EDT Friday, August 24, 2007 . Only those applications filed on or before August 24 were accepted as timely.

More Information View additional questions...
NJ Department of Banking and Insurance
PO Box 325
Trenton, NJ 08625-0325
Telephone: 609-292-3100
Revised 12/2007 cam
OPRA is a state law that was enacted to give the public greater access to government records maintained by public agencies in New Jersey.
Adobe Acrobat
You will need to download the latest version of Adobe Acrobat Reader in order to correctly view and print PDF (Portable Document Format) files from this web site.
state seal
Copyright © 2011, State of New Jersey
New Jersey Department of Banking and Insurance