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State of New Jersey 
Department of Banking and Insurance 

 

Real Estate Commission 
20 West State Street 

P.O. Box 328 
Trenton, NJ 08625-0328 

www.njdobi.org 
PHONE: 609-292-7272, EXTENSION 50278 

FAX: 609-292-0944 
 

 
 

SALESPERSON 
“EDUCATION WAIVER” 

APPLICATION 
 

TO:  Applicants for Waiver of the Education Requirement for Licensure as NJ Real Estate Salesperson 
    

FROM:  New Jersey Real Estate Commission (NJREC), Education Section 
    

SUBJECT:  SALESPERSON EDUCATION WAIVER CRITERIA 
                            

                            

The law which establishes the requirement for licensure as a New Jersey real estate salesperson provides: “...As a prerequisite to 
admission to an examination, every individual applicant for licensure as a real estate salesperson shall give evidence of satisfactory 
completion of 75 hours in the aggregate of such courses of education in real estate subjects at a school licensed by the Commission as 
the Commission shall by regulation prescribe.  At least three hours of that course of study shall be on the subjects of ethics and ethical 
conduct in the profession of a real estate salesperson.”  N.J.S.A. 45:15-10.1. 
                            
N.J.S.A. 45:15-10.2 and N.J.S.A. 11:5-2.1(e) provide for the waiving of this requirement in the following cases: 
                           

1.) Salesperson who have earned a college degree from any accredited institution of higher education, provided that: 
                            

 i. The total number of college level classroom hours devoted to real estate and related subjects was 75 or more 
and such courses were completed within three (3) years of making application; or 

                            

 ii. The applicant received a bachelor or associate degree in real estate regardless of how long prior to their 
application for a waiver they received that degree: or 

                            

 iii. The applicant satisfactorily completed 75 or more classroom hours of course work in real estate or related 
subjects, at least 45 hours of which consisted of instruction on real estate conducted as part of a post-graduate 
program and that such post-graduate studies were completed within three (3) years of making application. 

                            
2.) Salesperson who hold or held a real estate license issued by another State, provided that: 
 i. The applicant has satisfactorily completed a prelicensure course of real estate education at a proprietary 

school, college or university in that State; 
                            

 ii. The prelicensure course was sanctioned by the real estate licensing authority of that State; 
                            

 iii. The total number of classroom hours included in the course was 75 or more; 
                            

 iv. The applicant qualified for licensure in that State by examination; and 
                            

 v. The applicant was actively license in that State within three (3) years of applying for the waiver 
                            
3.) Brokers who have held a real estate broker’s license issued by another State and who were actively engaged in the 

real estate brokerage business within three years immediately preceding the date of application; 
                            
4.) A NJ real estate broker who previously held a license and whose last license expired more than two (2) years ago, 

but less than five (5) years prior to application. 
                            
5.) Attorneys-at-law admitted to practice in NJ or in any other State, at the time of making application; 
                            
6.) In addition, if you are an honorably discharged disabled veteran and a citizen of NJ and have completed at 

least 75 hours of study in real estate at an accredited college or university for credit, you will qualify for both an 
initial and renewal license fee waiver.  See N.J.S.A. 45:15-11 and N.J.S.A. 11:5-2.1(a). 

                            
 ALL APPLICANTS APPLYING FOR A REAL ESTATE LICENSE, WHETHER AS A BROKER, BROKER-SALESPERSON OR 

SALESPERSON, SHALL BE A MINIMUM OF 18 YEARS OF AGE & HAVE A HIGH SCHOOL DIPLOMA OR EQUIVALENT. 
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State of New Jersey 
Department of Banking and Insurance 

 

Real Estate Commission 
20 West State Street 

P.O. Box 328 
Trenton, NJ 08625-0328 

www.njdobi.org 
PHONE: 609-292-7272, EXTENSION 50305 

FAX: 609-292-0944 
 

 
 

“PERSONAL INFORMATION” 
FOR SALESPERSON 

EDUCATION WAIVER APPLICATION 
 
 

                            

                            

 APPLICATION FEE ONLY PAYMENT TYPES ACCEPTED CASH RECEIPT NO. RECEIPT DATE  
 $25.00 

(NON-REFUNDABLE) 

 

  Business Check 
 

  Cashier’s Check                 
 

 

  Certified Check 
 

  Money Order mm dd yy  
                            

 - DO NOT WRITE ABOVE THIS LINE - FOR AUTHORIZED NJREC USE ONLY - 
 

   

 • TESTING APPOINTMENTS - All applicants are required to provide the following information to enable 
authorized NJREC personnel to upload key information into the testing vendor’s database. ALL AREAS MUST 
BE COMPLETED AND SIGNED IN ORDER TO PROCESS APPLICATION. 

 

• WAIVER APPLICATION - PLEASE TYPE (preferred) OR PRINT ALL INFORMATION LEGIBLY.   
• All incomplete, illegible or missing documentation will be returned unprocessed.  

•  

 

                            

 1. LEGAL NAME:        
        (Mr. Mrs. Ms.)  (First, M.I., Last)  (Sr. Jr.)  
                            

 

2. SOCIAL SECURITY 
NUMBER (ID only):       ▬     ▬         

 

3.        
BIRTH DATE (mm/dd/yy)  

              

 4. RESIDENTIAL 
MAILING 
ADDRESS: 

             
  (Number and Street) (Apt./Suite)  

                      
  

      

(P.O. Box)               

                     
  (County) (City)         (State) (Zip Code + 4)  
                         

 5. BUSINESS 
MAILING 
ADDRESS: 

             
  (Number and Street) (Apt./Suite)  

                      
  

      

(P.O. Box)               

                     
  (County) (City)         (State) (Zip Code + 4)  
                            

 6. TELEPHONE NO.: 
 

                         
  (Home including area code) (Extension) (Work including area code) (Extension)  
       

           
  (Cell Phone including area code)    
                            

 7. E-MAIL ADDRESS:        
                            

 
 

APPLICANT AFFIDAVIT 
 

 

 
I certify the information I provided for this Salesperson Waiver Application is completely correct. 

I understand that any falsification of information may result in denial of licensure. 
 

 

                  
PRINT (Applicant’s Name) 

 

SIGNATURE (Applicant’s Name) Date (mm/dd/yy)  
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SALESPERSON “EDUCATION WAIVER” APPLICATION (-continued-) 
                            
 I AM APPLYING FOR A NEW JERSEY SALESPERSON EDUCATION WAIVER BASED 

ON AT LEAST ONE OF THE FOLLOWING ACCEPTANCE CRITERIA: 
 

                            

  A. I am a citizen of New Jersey and an honorably discharged disabled veteran and have completed a 
minimum of 75 hours of study in real estate at an accredited college or university for credit. 

 
     

   Attach the following most current document(s) with the waiver: 
1.) USA military Honorable Discharge papers (DD-214),  
2.) USA military Certificate(s) of Disability (Veteran’s hospital) listing all disabilities and associated total 

percentage(s) of each disability, 
3.) College/University/Graduate school transcript(s) 

 

                            

  B. I am an attorney-at-law licensed to practice in       .  
       

   Attach the following most current document(s) with the waiver: 
1.) Certificate of Good Standing issued by the Clerk of the Supreme Court of the State in which you are 

admitted to practice.  Must be current & issued within 30 days of application. 

 

                            

  C. I am a licensed broker of the State of       and have been  
     

   actively engaged in the real estate brokerage business for three (3) years or more continuous 
full-time immediately preceding the date of this application. 

 

     

    Attach the following most current document(s) with the waiver: 
1.) Certification of Licensure, it is NOT your license. Must be current & issued within 30 days of application. 

 

                            

  D. I hold, or held, a real estate license issued by another State and qualified for that license by 
examination and I satisfactorily completed a prelicensure course in real estate education at a 
proprietary school, college or university in that State.  The course consisted of 75 or more classroom 
hours and was sanctioned by the real estate licensing authority of that State.  I was actively licensed in 
that State within three years of applying for the waiver. 

 

   Attach the following most current document(s) with the waiver: 
2.) Certification of Licensure, it is NOT your license. Must be current & issued within 30 days of application. 

 

                            

 IF APPLYING UNDER E, F & G (FORMAL ACCREDITED EDUCATIONAL WAIVER), 
(ATTACH A COPY OF YOUR COLLEGE/UNIVERSITY/GRADUATE SCHOOL TRANSCRIPTS) 

 

                            

  E. I have received a bachelor’s or associate’s degree in real estate from an accredited college/ university/ 
graduate school. 

 

                            

  F. I have earned a college degree from an accredited college or university and the total number of college 
level classroom hours devoted to real estate, and related subjects was 75 or more and such courses were 
completed within three (3) years of making application. 

 

                            

  G. I satisfactorily completed 75 or more classroom hours of course work in real estate or related subjects at 
an accredited college or university. At least 45 hours of coursework which consisted of instruction on real 
estate conducted as part of a post-graduate program which post entries were completed within three (3) 
years of making this waiver application. 

 

                            

 EXPIRED BROKER LICENSE  
                            

  H. I previously held a license as a New Jersey real estate broker where the license expired more than two 
(2), but less than five (5) years prior to making this waiver application. 

 

                            

 ALL APPLICANTS APPLYING FOR A REAL ESTATE LICENSE, WHETHER AS A BROKER, BROKER-SALESPERSON OR 
SALESPERSON, SHALL BE A MINIMUM OF 18 YEARS OF AGE & HAVE A HIGH SCHOOL DIPLOMA OR EQUIVALENT. 

 

                            
 I HEREBY CERTIFY THAT THE INFORMATION CONTAINED IN THIS WAIVER APPLICATION AND RELEVANT 

ATTACHMENTS ARE COMPLETELY TRUE AND CORRECT AND THE NJREC MAY RELY ON ITS TRUTHFULNESS IN 
CONSIDERING THIS APPLICATION.  I FURTHER CERTIFY I AM AT LEAST 18 YEARS OF AGE AND HAVE A 
LEGITIMATE HIGH SCHOOL DIPLOMA OR HIGH SCHOOL EQUIVALENCY. 

 

                            

                    

  Date (mm/dd/yy)     PRINT NAME OF APPLICANT   

            
 

  

            SIGNATURE OF NAME OF APPLICANT   
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 TO EXPEDITE THE PROCESSING 
OF YOUR NJ SALESPERSON 

EDUCATION WAIVER APPLICATION 

 

                            

  

Prior to submission of your NJ salesperson education waiver application, please remember to comply 
with the following NJREC requirements: 
 

A. Complete the NJ salesperson education waiver application in entirety. 
NOTE:  Any incomplete, incorrect, illegible or missing documentation and/or information can halt 
processing and/or potentially result in the return of the application package minus the non-
refundable $25.00 application fee. 
   

B. All completed applications must have your full legal name (First, Middle Initial, Last Name), both 
printed and signed, and the date (mm/dd/yyyy) completed. 
 

C. Obtain a valid “original” Certificate of Licensure (COL), from the Real Estate Commission of the 
jurisdiction you are applying from.  Do not have your Real Estate Commission send the COL to the 
NJREC.  The “original” COL  must be part of your NJ salesperson’s waiver application package 
submission.  Your real estate license is not an acceptable substitute for an official COL  
 

NOTE: The Real Estate Commission’s COL cannot exceed 30 days, otherwise a new COL will be 
required.  30 calendar days is identified as the period of time from date of issue to receipt by the 
NJREC Education Bureau. 

 

D. Completion of additional hours may be required to meet the New Jersey salesperson 75 hour 
licensing requirement.  If so, you must obtain, and submit, a valid and “original” school completion 
certificate(s), or transcript(s).  
 

The only acceptable alternative(s) to meet the minimal 75 hour requirement are as follows: 
aa.) NJREC approved 15 hour “refresher” course available at most NJREC approved real estate 
        schools; 
 

bb.) Certificates, or transcripts, of additional Broker only pre-licensure course hours. 
        NOTE: Courses hours completed in NJ must be physically taken at an approved NJREC real 
                     Estate school.  HOWEVER, on-line course hours will be accepted only if the Real Estate 
                     Commission of the non- New Jersey jurisdiction, in which you hold your real estate 
                     license, approves of on-line real estate broker only pre-licensure courses. 
 

E. Include the $25.00 salesperson waiver non-refundable application fee.  Details as follows: 
• Only “ACCEPTABLE” payment types: Business check, bank cashier or certified check or 

money order. 
 

• Make acceptable payment types payable to: “STATE TREASURER OF NEW JERSEY” 
 

• “UNACCEPTABLE” payment types: personal checks, cash, credit cards 
 

F. Submit all “original” documentation, namely your NJ salesperson education waiver application, 
COL, $25.00 application fee, and any related documents, as a complete package, NOT as 
individual pieces, to: 
 

    NEW JERSEY REAL ESTATE COMMISSION 
  20 West State Street 

P.O. Box 328 
   Trenton, New Jersey 08625-0328 

                    Attn: Robert LaFalce, NJREC Education Bureau, 7th floor 
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