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The following is a summary of the comments received from State Board members and the Department’s responses.  Each commenter is identified at the end of the comment by a letter that corresponds to the following list:

A.
Dr. Ronald Butcher


Member, State Board of Education

1. COMMENT: The commenter asked if the Administrative Procedures Act (APA) is the statutory authority for the 60-day deadline for the State Board President to determine the course of action for responding to a petition for rulemaking located in N.J.A.C. 6A:6-4.2(b). (A)
RESPONSE: The 60-day deadline included at N.J.A.C. 6A:6-4.2(b) is pursuant to N.J.A.C. 1:30-4.2. N.J.A.C. 1:30, Rules for Agency Rulemaking, is the chapter of Administrative Code that implements the APA.
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SUBJECT:
N.J.A.C. 6A:6, State Board of Education Rulemaking Process
REASON

FOR ACTION:
Readoption with amendments

AUTHORITY: 
N.J.S.A. 18A:4-15 and 52:14B-1 et seq.
SUNSET DATE:
August 2, 2014

Summary

The Department of Education (Department) proposes to readopt with amendments N.J.A.C. 6A:6, State Board of Education Rulemaking Process. This chapter informs the education community and the public of the State Board of Education’s and the Department’s procedures for promulgating and amending rules in Title 6A of the New Jersey Administrative Code and provides a procedure for an interested person to petition the State Board to create, amend, or repeal a rule. The chapter complies with the Administrative Procedure Act (APA), N.J.S.A. 52:14B-1 et seq., which governs the rulemaking activities of the Department and all other State agencies by providing a uniform application and administration of the rulemaking process. The statutory requirements are implemented by N.J.A.C. 1:30, Rules for Agency Rulemaking, and administered by the Office of Administrative Law (OAL). Pursuant to N.J.S.A. 52:14B-5.1.b, N.J.A.C. 6A:6 will expire on August 2, 2014.
The amendments proposed to the Chapter are related to changes to the APA enacted in January, and effective July 1, 2014, that increase the required use of electronic technologies in the rulemaking process.  Other amendments are proposed to bring the Chapter’s provisions in line with current State Board and Department practices or to reflect that Title 6 of New Jersey Administrative Code no longer contains education regulations.  All other amendments are proposed for clarity and stylistic and grammatical improvements.

N.J.A.C. 1:30 addresses public participation in an agency’s rulemaking process and is intended to increase the public’s opportunity to receive notice of anticipated rulemaking and to ensure the public has sufficient opportunity to comment on a rulemaking activity.  To achieve these purposes, N.J.A.C. 1:30 requires each State agency to publish a rulemaking calendar in the New Jersey Register announcing its schedule of rule proposals.  There are exceptions to this requirement. For example, an agency may choose to publish a notice of pre-proposal to elicit ideas or comments from the public about an anticipated proposal or to establish a 60-day comment period.
The State Board's rulemaking process always has incorporated APA requirements and allowed for an even greater opportunity for public notice and participation than required by statute and rule. As the State Board of Education (State Board) values public input, it already meets the intent of the rules proposed for readoption with amendments to give the public and stakeholders adequate notice of anticipated rulemaking activity and to provide opportunities for public participation.  As a lay board, one of its primary roles is to provide a link between the Department and parents, teachers, administrators, taxpayers, education associations, and other agencies for the benefit of New Jersey’s students.  The State Board is the policymaking body of the Department acting on recommendations from the Commissioner to make, enforce, modify, or repeal rules that carry out the school laws enacted by the New Jersey Legislature. Rulemaking can also be initiated by the State Board based upon a change in agency policy, an executive order issued by the Governor, a court decision, a rulemaking petition from an interested person, an imminent danger or peril, or a Federal requirement.
The State Board considers proposed amendments, repeals, and/or new rules at public meetings using a rulemaking process that can take up to 12 months.  The State Board fulfills its role as a liaison to the public by conducting all of its business at public meetings, pursuant to the Open Public Meetings Act, N.J.S.A. 10:4-1 et seq.  The State Board’s rulemaking process may include public distribution of a policy paper to discuss the proposed rule and may include two or more public discussions of the proposed rule language. 
Although the APA requires only written comment, the State Board schedules public testimony sessions where the public appears before a panel of State Board members to testify about a proposed rulemaking. The comments received at public testimony sessions are shared with all the State Board members and the Department’s responses to the comments become an integral part of official rulemaking documents.  Three times each year, the State Board schedules an “open topic” session so the public can speak to the State Board about an educational issue of their choice, including any issue related to Title 6A, except for matters that are the subject of litigation.  The State Board also receives input from stakeholders by interacting with the education community and sharing ideas and concerns at meetings and conferences held throughout the State. The State Board also occasionally participates in “question and answer” sessions at conferences and hears the public’s concerns about issues related to rulemaking and the impact of Title 6A.
The State Board and the Commissioner are committed to the idea that stakeholders have the right to be heard and they jointly agree to give the education community and the public additional time whenever they feel rulemaking would benefit from extending the process. 
N.J.A.C. 1:30 and the APA also require the Department to promulgate a process to receive and respond to a rulemaking petition from an interested person requesting an amendment, repeal, or new rule to Title 6A. N.JA.C. 6A:6 defines the steps a petitioner must take to initiate a rulemaking petition before the State Board and the Commissioner.
The following is a summary of the rules proposed for readoption with amendments:

Subchapter 1. General Provisions
N.J.A.C. 6A:6-1.1 Scope
This section sets forth the scope of the chapter on the State Boards rulemaking process, which includes rules related to implementation of the APA.
An amendment is proposed to replace “P.L. 2001, c. 5” with “P.L. 2013, c. 259” as the latter is the most recent law that revised the APA. 

Another amendment is proposed to delete the reference to Title 6 of the New Jersey Administrative Code as it no longer exists.  The last chapter located in Title 6 was relocated to Title 6A in September 2013. The same amendment is proposed throughout the Chapter where necessary.

Other amendments are proposed to the section for grammatical improvement and clarity.
N.J.A.C. 6A:6-1.2 Definitions
This section defines words and terms used in the chapter.  The definitions help the public understand the State Board’s rulemaking process. 
An amendment is proposed to delete the definitions of “Commissioner” and “Department” as they are commonly understood terms used throughout Title 6A.

A new definition for “President” is proposed to mean the President of the State Board or, in the President’s absence, the Vice President.  The definition is being proposed so “of the State Board or, in the President’s absence, the Vice-President” can be deleted after “President” throughout Subchapter 3 to be concise and for ease of the reader.

An amendment is proposed to the definition of “public hearing” to replace “promulgating agency” with “State Board and/or Department with” for clarity as to the State agency receiving public comment under the Chapter.

Other amendments are proposed throughout the section for clarity and stylistic and grammatical improvements.
Subchapter 2. Notification of Rulemaking Activity
N.J.A.C. 6A:6-2.1 Notification of State Board meeting dates and rulemaking activity
This section provides a detailed description of the way in which the public is notified of State Board meeting dates and rulemaking activity. 
Amendments are proposed at N.J.A.C. 6A:6-2.1(c), which requires the Department to publish in the New Jersey Register quarterly calendars of the Department’s anticipated rulemaking activities and to amend the calendars according to the APA, to replace “shall” with “may” because N.J.A.C. 6A:6-2.1(c)3 allows the Department to utilize an exception to the subsection’s calendar publication requirements. 

An amendment is proposed at N.J.A.C. 6A:6-2.1(c) to replace “These” at the beginning of the second sentence with “If developed, the.”  Amendments also are proposed at N.J.A.C. 6A:6-2.1(c)1 and 2, which require calendars to be placed on the Department’s website and to be publicized in the same manner as proposed rulemakings, to replace “These” at the beginning of each rule with “If developed.”  The proposed amendments will require the quarterly rulemaking calendars to be amended and a copy posted on the Department’s website and publicized only if they are developed. 

An amendment also is proposed at N.J.A.C. 6A:6-2.1(c)2 to delete “for the fee established in accordance with the copying fee schedule at N.J.A.C. 1:30-1.9(a)” because the Department utilizes its website, the State Board’s agenda subscriber list, and other electronic means to publicize its rulemaking actions, including quarterly rulemaking calendars when created. 

Other amendments are proposed throughout the section for clarity and stylistic and grammatical improvements.

Subchapter 3. State Board Rulemaking Process
N.J.A.C. 6A:6-3.1 State Board rulemaking process
This section sets forth the State Board’s rulemaking process and all of the steps involved in considering, proposing, and adopting new rules, amendments, repeals, or readoptions. The rulemaking process is codified as follows:

Policy Discussion Paper
N.J.A.C. 6A:6-3.1(a) allows the Department to prepare a policy discussion paper and present it to the State Board and to stakeholders for input before documents related to a new rule, amendment, repeal, or readoption are presented formally at a State Board meeting for consideration.

An amendment is proposed to the rule for grammatical improvement.
Discussion Level Document
N.J.A.C. 6A:6-3.1(b) allows the Department to develop a discussion level document for a new rule, amendment, repeal, or readoption and present it to the State Board.  A discussion level document includes a summary memo, chapter table of contents, rule text, and a comment response form, when applicable. N.J.A.C. 6A:6-3.1(b)1 through 3 provide that the State Board can place the discussion level documents on its agenda at one or more public meetings, allow a written comment period of at least 30 days, and/or take public testimony before the corresponding notice of proposal is published in the New Jersey Register.

Amendments are proposed to the rule for grammatical improvement.
Proposal Level
N.J.A.C. 6A:6-3.1(c) provides that the State Board, upon the Commissioner’s recommendation, discusses and votes at a public meeting to publish a notice of proposal in the New Jersey Register to promulgate new rules, amendments, or repeals pursuant to the APA. N.J.A.C. 6A:6-3.1(c)1 allows the State Board to take oral testimony on a proposal after it is discussed at a public meeting.  N.J.A.C. 6A:6-3.1(c)2 allows the State Board to extend the comment period on a notice of proposal.

An amendment is proposed at N.J.A.C. 6A:6-3.1(c)1 to add “and published in the New Jersey Register” at the end of the sentence to make clear the oral testimony comes after the State Board considers the rulemaking at proposal level and it has been published in accordance with the APA.
N.J.A.C. 6A:6-3.1(d) requires the State Board to provide notice of the proposed rulemaking at least 30 days before the close of the comment period via methods other than publication in the New Jersey Register.  N.J.A.C. 6A:6-3.1(d)1 and 2 require the Department to distribute the notice of proposal or a statement of the proposed action’s substance to people who have requested notice of the State Board’s rulemaking activity and news media maintaining a press office in the State House Complex.  N.J.A.C. 6A:6-3.1(d)3 and 4 require the Department to post on its Internet site the notice of proposal or a statement of the proposed action’s substance and to distribute it to a list of stakeholders.

An amendment is proposed at N.J.A.C. 6A:6-3.1(d)4 to delete “as defined in N.J.A.C. 1:30-1.2” at the end of the sentence because “stakeholders” is not defined in N.J.A.C. 1:30. “Stakeholder” is defined in N.J.A.C. 6A:6-1.2, Definitions.
Other amendments are proposed to the rules for clarity and grammatical improvement.
Adoption Level
N.J.A.C. 6A:6-3.1(e) requires the State Board, upon the Commissioner’s recommendation, to discuss and vote at a public meeting to publish a notice of adoption in the New Jersey Register to promulgate new rules, amendments, or repeals pursuant to the APA.

Amendments are proposed to the rule for clarity and grammatical improvement.
Extended Comment Period
N.J.A.C. 6A:6-3.1(f) allows the President, in consultation with the Commissioner, to extend for 30 days the comment period of a proposed rulemaking.  The rule also provides that sufficient public interest for extending the comment period exists when the comments received do one of the following: reveal a previously unrecognized impact on a regulated party; go beyond the scope of comments previously considered by the State Board during the current rulemaking process; or raise unanticipated issues related to the notice of proposal.
Amendments are proposed to the rule for clarity and grammatical improvement.
Public Hearing
N.J.A.C. 6A:6-3.1(g) requires the President, in consultation with the Commissioner, to consider an application of an interested person who seeks a public hearing on a particular rulemaking.  The rule also requires the application to be submitted on a Commissioner-prescribed form and within 30 days of the notice of proposal’s publication in the New Jersey Register.  N.J.A.C. 6A:6-3.1(g)1 directs interested persons to file an application for a public hearing with the State Board Office, while N.J.A.C. 6A:6-3.1(g)1i through iii stipulate the information that must be in the application.

N.J.A.C. 6A:6-3.1(h) stipulates that sufficient public interest for the purpose of holding a public hearing on a proposed rulemaking is demonstrated if the President, in consultation with the Commissioner and upon review of the application, determines within 30 days of the notice of proposal’s publication that additional data, findings, and/or analysis regarding the notice of proposal are necessary for the State Board to review prior to adoption to ensure the notice does not violate the intent of its statutory authority.

An amendment to N.J.A.C. 6A:6-3.1(h) is proposed to replace “30 days” with “45 days.” As currently written, the 30-day timeframe for the President’s decision coincides with the 30-day deadline for an interested person to file a public hearing application.  Changing to 45 days the timeframe for the President’s decision will provide interested parties 30 days to file the public hearing application and 15 days thereafter for the President to decide whether a hearing is warranted.

N.J.A.C. 6A:6-3.1(i) and (i)1 and 2 require a public hearing on a notice of proposal to be conducted in accordance with the APA and establishes the process for the hearing officer’s recommendations to be presented to the State Board and acted upon.  An amendment is proposed at N.J.A.C. 6A:6-3.1(i)i to insert “made pursuant to N.J.A.C. 1:30-5.5(f)” to reference the APA subsection that governs hearing officer recommendations.

N.J.A.C. 6A:6-3.1(j) is proposed to require the Department to make available on its website and to distribute through its electronic mailing list all notices of rulemaking activity and public hearings.  The new rule will ensure the Chapter is aligned with revised APA requirements to broaden notification to the public through the use of the Internet and electronic mailing lists.  The Department currently posts all rulemakings on its website and notifies interested parties of rulemakings via emails sent to the State Board’s agenda subscriber list.

Other amendments are proposed to the rules for clarity and grammatical improvement.
Subchapter 4. Petitions for Rulemaking
N.J.A.C. 6A:6-4.1 Preparation of rulemaking petition by petitioner
This section sets forth the process for an interested person to file a petition to adopt a new rule or amend or repeal an existing rule in Title 6A.  The section outlines the information required in the rulemaking petition and that which is optional, and instructs the petitioner how to file it.

N.J.A.C. 6A:6-4.1(a) allows an interested person to file a petition for rulemaking.

N.J.A.C. 6A:6-4.1(b) and (b)1 through 3 require the petitioner to include as part of a petition for rulemaking the following information:  petitioner’s name, address, and phone number; substance or nature of the rulemaking request; reasons for the request and the petitioner’s interest in it; and references to the agency’s authority to take the requested action.  An amendment is proposed at N.J.A.C. 6A:6-4.1(b)1 include “email address” as a component of the rulemaking petition application to enable the Department to communicate electronically with the petitioner.

N.J.A.C. 6A:6-4.1(c) stipulates that the petitioner may include in the petition the text of the proposed new, amended, or repealed rule.

N.J.A.C. 6A:6-4.1(d) requires the petitioner to submit the rulemaking petition to the State Board Office and provides both the physical and mailing addresses of the office.  Amendments are proposed to the rule to permit the petitioner to submit the petition via U.S. mail, email, or the Department’s website and to provide details for each method.  The proposed amendments will bring the rule into compliance with the recent revisions to the APA requiring greater use of electronic technologies in the petition for rulemaking process.
Amendments are proposed to the section for clarity and grammatical improvement.
N.J.A.C. 6A:6-4.2 Department response to a petition for rulemaking
This section sets forth the process for the State Board and the Department to respond to an interested person who has filed a petition to adopt a new rule or amend or repeal an existing rule in Title 6A.
N.J.A.C. 6A:6-4.2(a) requires the Department, within 15 days of receipt of the rulemaking petition, to file with OAL for publication in the New Jersey Register a notice of the petition.  N.J.A.C. 6A:6-4.2(a)1 through 4 describe the petition’s required contents as the following: petitioner’s name, address, and phone number; substance or nature of the rulemaking request; reasons for the request and the petitioner’s interest in it; and references to the agency’s authority to take the requested action. 
N.J.A.C. 6A:6-4.2(b) requires the President, in consultation with the Commissioner, to determine within 60 days of the rulemaking petition’s receipt the course of action for responding to the petition.  N.J.A.C. 6A:6-4.2(b)1 through 3 stipulate that the action can be to deny or grant the petition or to refer the matter for further deliberation.  If the petition is denied, the Commissioner must provide the petitioner with a written statement as to the reasons for the denial and include them in the notice of action filed with OAL.  If the petition is granted, a rulemaking must be initiated within 90 days of the approval. In either case, the President and the Commissioner must notify the State Board of the action taken. If the petition is referred for further deliberation, the petitioner must be notified of the referral’s nature, a notice of action must be filed with OAL, and the deliberations must conclude within 90 days.  The Commissioner also must provide to the petitioner in writing the results of the deliberation and file with OAL the results for publication in the New Jersey Register.

N.J.A.C. 6A:6-4.2(c) requires the Department to mail to the petitioner within 60 days of the petition’s receipt a notice of action and to file it with OAL for publication in the New Jersey Register. N.J.A.C. 6A:6-4.2(c)1 through 3 stipulate the contents of the notice of action as the following:  petitioner’s name; New Jersey Register citation for the notice of petition; certification by the Commissioner that the petition was duly considered pursuant to law; and the nature or substance of the action upon the petition.

N.J.A.C. 6A:6-4.2(d) allows the petitioner to request through OAL a public hearing if the State Board fails to act on the rulemaking petition within the required timeframes.

N.J.A.C. 6A:6-4.2(e) is proposed to require the Department to make available on its website all petitions for rulemaking received and all notices of action filed.  The new rule will ensure the Chapter is aligned with revised APA requirements to broaden notification to the public through the use of the Internet.

Amendments are proposed to the section for clarity and grammatical improvement.
Appendix. State Board of Education Rulemaking Process
The chart provides an overview of the State Board's rulemaking process. 
An amendment is proposed to the sixth statement of the Appendix to insert “four to” before “six weeks” to accurately reflect the current timeframe for when a public testimony session is held following First Discussion level consideration of the draft rulemaking.

An amendment is proposed to the 11th statement of the Appendix to replace “six weeks” with “four to eight weeks” to accurately reflect the current timeframe for when a public testimony session is held following Proposal level consideration of the published rulemaking.

Other amendments are proposed to the Appendix for grammatical improvement.
As the Department has provided a 60-day comment period in this notice of proposal, this notice is excepted from the rulemaking calendar requirement, pursuant to N.J.A.C. 1:30-3.3(a)5.

Social Impact
The rules proposed for readoption with amendments set forth the State Board’s rulemaking process and complies with the Administrative Procedure Act, N.J.S.A. 52:14B-1 et seq., as amended under P.L. 2013, c. 259.  The State Board’s rulemaking process includes early notification to the education community regarding rulemaking and extensive public input while rules, amendments, and/or repeals are developed, discussed, and considered.  All State Board discussions and actions to publish pre-proposals, proposals, and adoptions take place at regularly scheduled State Board meetings that are open to the public pursuant to the Open Public Meetings Act, N.J.S.A. 10:4-1 et seq.  The State Board extends comment periods, holds additional regional forums, and participates in “question and answer sessions” as needed.  The State Board’s approach to rulemaking fosters an on-going dialogue between the regulated public and State Board members. This kind of exchange improves the quality of the rules that are developed and ensures interested persons can actively participate in the rulemaking process.  This process results in an overall positive impact on students, teachers, parents, taxpayers, school districts, and administrators.
Any interested person can use the rules proposed for readoption with amendments to follow the State Board’s rulemaking.  The Chapter includes an Appendix with an overview of the process. The information assists the public in understanding how rules are promulgated by the State Board.
Early public notice of rulemaking allows the regulated parties to participate in the process and also to prepare for the possibility of changes in rules.  Advanced notice of new rules, amendments, and/or repeals that will have a significant impact on the regulated parties often provides much needed planning time for implementation and compliance once the new rules, amendments, and/or repeals have been adopted.

Economic Impact
The economic impact of the rules proposed for readoption with amendments can be determined only on a case-by-case basis.  The decision to submit comments or to attend a public testimony session or a State Board meeting is strictly voluntary and the anticipated costs depend on individual factors related to the interested party or association.
The decision to submit a petition for rulemaking or to request a public hearing is strictly voluntary and the anticipated costs should be considered by the petitioner before choosing this method to address an issue related to Title 6A of the New Jersey Administrative Code.  The Department contends that the cost to prepare and deliver the petition is insignificant.

Federal Standards Statement
There are no Federal laws or regulations that impact the rules proposed for readoption with amendments. N.J.A.C. 6A:6 is based on State statutes that establish the Chapter’s authority.

Jobs Impact
The rules proposed for readoption with amendments will result in neither the generation nor the loss of jobs in the State.

Agriculture Industry Impact
The rules proposed for readoption with amendments will have no impact on the agriculture industry.

Regulatory Flexibility Analysis
The rules proposed for readoption with amendments do not impose reporting or recordkeeping requirements upon small businesses, as defined under the Regulatory Flexibility Act, N.J.S.A. 52:14B-16 et seq.  The rules inform the public, including small businesses, of the State Board’s rulemaking process and the requirements for submitting a petition for rulemaking or requesting a public hearing on a proposed rulemaking.  While the rules contain certain requirements relating to the contents of a petition or a hearing request, they impose very minimal costs on the petitioner, and should not require the need for professional services.  As the petition process and hearing requests are voluntary and impose only insignificant costs, no differentiation in requirements based upon petitioner or requestor business size is made.

Housing Affordability Impact Analysis

The proposed readoption with amendments will have no impact on the cost of housing or the number of housing units.  The proposed readoption with amendments concerns the State Board’s process for promulgating, amending, and readopting education regulations in Title 6A of the New Jersey Administrative Code.
Smart Growth Development Impact Analysis

The proposed readoption with amendments will have no impact on housing production in Planning Areas 1 and 2, or within designated centers, under the State Development and Redevelopment Plan.  The proposed readoption with amendments concerns the State Board’s process for promulgating, amending, and readopting education regulations in Title 6A of the New Jersey Administrative Code.
Full text of the proposed amendments follows (additions indicated in boldface thus; deletions indicated in brackets [thus]):
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APPENDIX

CHAPTER 6. STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION RULEMAKING PROCESS
SUBCHAPTER 1. GENERAL PROVISIONS

6A:6-1.1 Scope

This chapter sets forth the rulemaking process for the State Board of Education of New Jersey pursuant to Administrative Procedure Act (APA), N.J.S.A. 52:14B-1 et seq., as amended under P.L. [2001] 2013, c. [5] 259. This chapter also establishes, [rules] pursuant to N.J.S.A. 52:14B-4(f), rules that apply to all persons interested in making a petition to adopt a new rule or to amend or repeal an existing rule in Title [6 or] 6A.

6A:6-1.2 Definitions

The following words and terms[, when used in this chapter,] shall have the following meanings[,] when used in this chapter unless the context clearly indicates otherwise:

"Act" means the Administrative Procedure Act, N.J.S.A. 52:14B-1 et seq.

["Commissioner" means the Commissioner of the New Jersey Department of Education.

"Department" means the New Jersey Department of Education.]
"Discussion level document" means a draft of a summary memo and rule text to be discussed by the State Board prior to the notice of proposal.

"New Jersey Register" means the journal of New Jersey State agency rulemaking published by the Office of Administrative Law pursuant to N.J.S.A. 52:14B-7(b).

"Notice of adoption" means [that] the document described in N.J.A.C. 1:30-6.1 [which] that must be submitted to the Office of Administrative Law for filing and then published in the New Jersey Register. When it is presented to the State Board at a public meeting, a notice of adoption includes a summary memo and rule text and a comment/response form [which] that contains the Department's responses to comments received during the comment period.

"Notice of proposal" means [that] the document described in N.J.A.C. 1:30-5.1 [which] that must be submitted to the Office of Administrative Law for filing and then published in the New Jersey Register and distributed to the Legislature and interested persons. When it is presented to the State Board at a public meeting, a notice of proposal includes a summary memo and rule text.

"Person" means any individual, association, board, venture, partnership, corporation, organization, institution, and governmental instrumentality recognized by law for any purpose [whatsoever].

"Policy discussion paper" means a paper prepared by Department staff[, which] that sets forth the broad policy issues related to a proposed new rule, amendment, or repeal.

"Pre-proposal" means a preliminary proceeding for the purpose of eliciting ideas, views, and comments of interested persons on a contemplated rulemaking proceeding, pursuant to N.J.A.C. 1:30-5.3(b).

“President” means the President of the State Board of Education or, in the President’s absence, the Vice President.
"Public hearing" means a legislative-type proceeding that is conducted either as part of a rulemaking or to consider a potential rulemaking [which] and that affords the public an opportunity to present the [promulgating agency] State Board and/or Department with oral and written comments, arguments, data, and views on the rulemaking or the contemplated rulemaking.

"Public testimony session" means a Department forum at which a panel of State Board members has the opportunity to listen to comments from interested persons regarding new rules, amendments, and/or repeals.

"Rulemaking process" means the systematic process followed by the State Board for the development and promulgation of rules. The process includes [those] activities [that] the State Board deems necessary to develop and promulgate rules, including, but not limited to, [those] activities designed to meet the requirements of the [Administrative Procedure] Act [(APA)] and N.J.A.C. 1:30, Rules for Agency Rulemaking.

"Stakeholder" means any individual, group, or association that will be directly impacted by the force and effect of the proposed new rule, amendment, or repeal.

"State Board" means the New Jersey State Board of Education.

"Work session" means a State Board forum, conducted in compliance with the Open Public Meetings Act, N.J.S.A. 10:4-1 et seq., at which the State Board and the Commissioner discuss a policy discussion paper, pre-proposal, or other issues that [may] require an in-depth discussion.

1. 
The State Board may also[, at a work session,] take formal action at a work session to vote on an item of action requiring notice to the public pursuant to the Open Public Meetings Act, N.J.S.A. 10:4-1 et seq.

SUBCHAPTER 2. NOTICE OF ANTICIPATED RULEMAKING ACTIVITY

6A:6-2.1 Notice of State Board meeting dates and rulemaking activity

(a) 
The State Board shall adopt annually by resolution a calendar of meeting dates that include the State Board's public monthly meetings, work sessions, and public testimony sessions. The Department will post the calendar of meeting dates on [the Department's] its website at http://www.state.nj.us/education/. The Department will distribute the calendar of meeting dates to school districts, the news media maintaining a press office to cover the State House Complex, education associations, and other interested persons.

(b) 
The State Board shall provide on its monthly public meeting agenda notice of new rules, amendments, or repeals to be discussed or acted upon [by the State Board on its agenda for each public monthly meeting]. In addition, the Department will post [a schedule] on [the Department's] its website at http://www.state.nj.us/education/ [of] new rules, amendments, and repeals to be discussed or acted upon by the State Board.

(c) 
The Department [shall] may publish in the New Jersey Register quarterly calendars of [its] the Department’s anticipated proposed rulemaking activities, pursuant to N.J.A.C. 1:30-3. [These] If developed, the calendars shall be amended as necessary in accordance with N.J.A.C. 1:30-3.2.

1. 
[The] If developed, Department will include a copy of the quarterly rulemaking calendar on the Department's website at http://www.state.nj.us/education/.

2. 
[The] If developed, Department will provide notice of the availability of its quarterly rulemaking calendar [for the fee established in accordance with the copying fee schedule at N.J.A.C. 1:30-1.9(a),] in the same manner as it publicizes its proposed rulemakings pursuant to N.J.A.C. 6A:6-3.1(d) and 1:30-5.2[,] to inform [those] persons most likely to be affected or interested by the proposed rules.

3. 
As an alternative to calendar publication requirements under this subsection, the Department may determine to use one of the five calendar exceptions available to it pursuant to N.J.A.C. 1:30-3.

SUBCHAPTER 3. STATE BOARD RULEMAKING PROCESS

6A:6-3.1 State Board rulemaking process

(a) 
The Department may prepare a policy discussion paper and present it to the State Board and to stakeholders for input before documents related to a new rule, amendment, or repeal are presented to the State Board for consideration.

(b) 
The Department may develop a discussion level document for any new rule, amendment, or repeal and present [such document] it to the State Board. The State Board may decide to:

1. 
Place the discussion level document on the State Board's monthly agenda at one or more public meetings in accordance with the Open Public Meetings Act (N.J.S.A. 10:4-1 et seq.);

2. 
Provide a written comment period of at least 30 days for the discussion level document; and/or

3. 
Take oral testimony at one or more public testimony sessions scheduled after the State Board [discusses] reviews the discussion level document at a public meeting and before the notice of proposal is published in the New Jersey Register pursuant to the Act. The State Board also accepts written comment at this time.

(c) 
[The] Based upon the Commissioner’s recommendation, the State Board shall determine[, based upon a recommendation by the Commissioner,] at a public meeting to publish a notice of proposal in the New Jersey Register to promulgate new rules, amendments, or repeals pursuant to the Act.

1. 
The State Board may take oral testimony at one or more public testimony sessions scheduled after the proposal is discussed at a public meeting and published in the New Jersey Register.

2. 
The State Board may choose to extend the comment period on a notice of proposal.

(d) 
The State Board, pursuant to N.J.A.C. 1:30-5.2, will provide additional notice of the proposed rulemaking at least 30 days prior to the close of the comment period using the following methods:

1. 
The Department will distribute either the notice of proposal, as filed, or a statement of substance of the proposed action to [those] persons who have made timely requests of the State Board for notice of its rulemaking activity;

2. 
The Department will distribute the notice of proposal, as filed, or a statement of the proposed action to the news media maintaining a press office in the State House Complex;

3. 
The Department will post the notice of proposal, as filed, or a statement of the substance of the proposed action on the Department website at: http://www.state.nj.us/education/; and

4. 
The Department will undertake an additional method of publicity other than publication in the New Jersey Register, pursuant to N.J.A.C. 1:30-5.2, through distribution to a list of stakeholders [as defined in N.J.A.C. 1:30-1.2].

(e) 
[The] Based upon the Commissioner’s recommendation, the State Board[, based upon a recommendation by the Commissioner,] shall discuss and vote at a public meeting to publish a notice of adoption in the New Jersey Register to promulgate new rules, amendments, or repeals pursuant to the Act.

(f) 
The President, [of the State Board or, in the President's absence, the Vice-President,] in consultation with the Commissioner, may extend for 30 days the comment period on a proposal published in the New Jersey Register [for an additional 30 days]. Sufficient public interest for the purposes of extending the comment period, pursuant to N.J.A.C. 1:30-5.4, shall be demonstrated if the President, [of the State Board or, in the President's absence, the Vice President,] in consultation with the Commissioner, determines [that,] within 30 days of the publication date of the proposal[,] that any of the following criteria [have] has been satisfied:

1. 
Comments received reveal a previously unrecognized impact on a regulated party;

2. 
Comments received go beyond the scope of comments previously considered by the State Board during the rulemaking process related to the notice of proposal; or

3. 
Comments received raise unanticipated issues related to the notice of proposal.

(g) 
In determining whether sufficient public interest has been demonstrated for purposes of conducting a public hearing, pursuant to N.J.A.C. 1:30-5.5, the President, [of the State Board or, in the President's absence, the Vice-President,] in consultation with the Commissioner, shall consider the application of an interested person that has been submitted on a Commissioner-prescribed form [prescribed by the Commissioner]. [Such] The application shall be submitted within 30 days following the notice of proposal’s publication [of the notice of proposal] in the New Jersey Register.

1. 
A person interested in a public hearing on a notice of proposal shall submit an application, on a Commissioner-prescribed form [prescribed by the Commissioner], to the State Board Office, New Jersey Department of Education, River View Executive Plaza, Building 100, PO Box 500, Trenton, NJ 08625-0500. The application shall contain the following information:

i. 
The person's name, address, phone number, and agency of association (if applicable);

ii. 
The citation and title of the proposed rule and the date the notice of proposal was published in the New Jersey Register; and

iii. 
The reasons a public hearing regarding the notice of proposal is considered necessary pursuant to (h) below.

(h) 
Sufficient public interest for the purpose of holding a public hearing, pursuant to N.J.A.C. 1:30-5.5, shall be demonstrated if [upon reviewing the application] the President, [of the State Board or, in the President's absence, the Vice-President,] in consultation with the Commissioner and upon review of the application, determines within [30] 45 days of the notice of proposal’s publication date [of the proposal] that additional data, findings, and/or analysis regarding the notice of proposal are necessary for the State Board to review prior to adoption [in order] to ensure [that] the notice of proposal does not violate the intent of the statutory authority.

(i) 
A public hearing on a notice of proposal shall be conducted in accordance with [the provisions of] N.J.A.C. 1:30-5.5.

1. 
The Commissioner shall present the hearing officer’s recommendations, [of the hearing officer] made pursuant to N.J.A.C. 1:30-5.5(f), at a State Board [of Education] public meeting, pursuant to the Open Public Meetings Act, N.J.S.A. 10:4-1 et seq.[, and the] The State Board shall act upon the Commissioner’s recommendation [of the Commissioner] to accept, reject, or modify the hearing officer's recommendations.

2. 
The hearing officer’s recommendations [of the hearing officer,] and the State Board's decision to accept, reject, or modify [any] the recommendation(s) shall be summarized and published in the New Jersey Register, pursuant to N.J.A.C. 1:30-5.5(g).

(j)
The Department shall make available on its website at www.state.nj.us/education all notices of rulemaking activity and public hearing, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 52:14B-3, and shall distribute the notices through its electronic mailing list, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 52:14B-4.

SUBCHAPTER 4. PETITIONS FOR RULEMAKING

6A:6-4.1 Preparation of rulemaking petition by petitioner

(a) 
An interested person may petition the State Board to adopt a new rule[,] or amend or repeal an existing rule set forth in Title [6 or] 6A.

(b) 
The petitioner shall submit the following information on a Commissioner-prescribed rulemaking petition form [prescribed by the Commissioner]:

1. 
The petitioner’s name, address, [and] phone number, [of the petitioner] and email address;

2. 
The substance or nature of the rulemaking request;

3. 
The reasons for the request and the petitioner's interest in [the request] it; and

4. 
References to the agency’s authority [of the agency] to take the requested action.

(c) 
The petitioner may include as part of the petition the text of the proposed new [rule], amended, [rule] or repealed rule [as part of the petition].

(d) 
The petitioner shall submit the rulemaking petition [form to] in one of the following ways: via mail to State Board Office, New Jersey Department of Education, River View Executive Plaza, Building 100, P.O. Box 500, Trenton, NJ 08625-0500; via email to stateboardoffice@doe.state.nj,us; or via the Department’s website at www.state.nj.us/education.

6A:6-4.2 Department response to a petition for rulemaking

(a) 
The Department will file a notice of petition with the Office of Administrative Law for publication in the New Jersey Register within 15 days of receipt of the rulemaking petition, pursuant to N.J.A.C. 1:30-4.1(c). The notice of petition shall include:

1. 
The name of the petitioner;

2. 
The substance or nature of the requested rulemaking action [which is requested];

3. 
The problem or purpose identified by the petition; and

4. 
The date the petition was received.

(b) 
[Within 60 days of receipt of a rulemaking petition, the] The President, [of the State Board or, in the President's absence, the Vice President,] in consultation with the Commissioner, shall determine within 60 days of the rulemaking petition’s receipt the course of action for responding to the petition, pursuant to N.J.A.C. 1:30-4.2. The course of action shall be [either] to:

1. 
Deny the petition, in which case the Commissioner shall provide to the petitioner a written statement of the reasons [to the petitioner] and include [such] the reasons in the notice of action. The [State Board] President and the Commissioner shall inform the State Board if such an action is taken on a petition;

2. 
Grant the petition and initiate a rulemaking proceeding within 90 days of granting the petition. The [State Board] President and the Commissioner shall inform the State Board if such an action is taken on a petition; or

3. 
Refer the matter for further deliberations, the nature of which shall be specified to the petitioner and in the notice of action and which shall conclude within 90 days of [such] the referral. Upon conclusion of [such] further deliberations, the [State Board] President, in consultation with the Commissioner, shall either deny the petition or grant the petition and initiate a rulemaking proceeding within 90 days. The Commissioner shall mail to the petitioner the results of [these] the further deliberations [to the petitioner] and submit the results to the Office of Administrative Law for publication in the New Jersey Register.

(c) 
Within 60 days of receiving the rulemaking petition, the Department shall mail to the petitioner[, and file with the Office of Administrative Law for publication in the New Jersey Register,] a notice of action on the petition, pursuant to N.J.A.C. 1:30-4.2(b), and shall file it with the Office of Administrative Law for publication in the New Jersey Register. The notice of action shall include:

1. 
The petitioner’s name [of the petitioner];

2. 
The New Jersey Register citation for the notice of petition;

3. 
Certification by the Commissioner that the petition was duly considered pursuant to law; and

4. 
The nature or substance of the action upon the petition.

(d) 
If the State Board fails to act on the rulemaking petition within the time frames set forth above and in N.J.A.C. 1:30-4.2, the petitioner may request a public hearing by submitting a written request[, in writing,] to the Office of Administrative Law, pursuant to N.J.A.C. 1:30-4.3.

(e)
The Department shall make available on its website at www.state.nj.us/education all petitions for rulemaking received and all notices of action filed, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 52:14B-3.
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The Department may distribute a policy discussion paper to the State Board and [the] stakeholders.

Feedback to the Commissioner about the policy discussion paper is received from the State Board at a work session and also through written or oral comment from [the] stakeholders.

The State Board considers draft rule language at First Discussion level at a State Board monthly meeting.

The State Board considers draft rule language at Second Discussion level at a State Board monthly meeting.

The State Board may add an additional Discussion level of draft rule language [at its discretion].

A public testimony session is held four to six weeks following First Discussion level consideration of draft rule language. Written comment is also accepted.

The State Board considers the Proposal level rule language at a State Board monthly meeting for its approval to publish the proposal in the New Jersey Register.

The notice of proposal is published in the New Jersey Register.

A 30- or 60-day written comment period is available for the public to react to the published proposal.

A 30-day written comment period is [only] permitted only under rulemaking calendar exceptions located at N.J.A.C. 1:30-3.3(a)1 through 4.

A public testimony session [may be] is held [six] four to eight weeks following the Proposal level consideration of rule language.

Adoption level rule language is considered by the State Board for its approval to publish the adoption in the New Jersey Register.

The notice of adoption is published in the New Jersey Register to establish the effective date of the adopted rule.
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