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Procedure to add a lien

All customers that need to add a lien to an existing New Jersey title must file a financing
statement (ISM/SS-85C) with the New Jersey MVC. This can be done by visiting any
local MVC Agency. If you are an out-of-state lien holder you can apply through the mail.
Only out-of-state lien holders can apply through the mail, all NJ lien holders must go to
their local agency. All forms and titles must be original; no copies of any kind can be
accepted. No cash can be accepted through the mail, only checks or money orders made
payable to NJMVC.

The following information is needed to add a lien to a vehicle:

1. The original New Jersey Title

2. A check or money order for $85.00 payable to the MVC

3. The completed financing statement form SS-85C. The SS-85C must be completed by
the owner and co-owner (if applicable) not the lien holder. The instruction are as
follows:

o Line 1 —If lien holder is a company, a 15 digit corpcode number is required as well
as the companies name. If the applying lien holder does not have a corpcode this
can be applied for through the mail or in person at a MVC agency. If the lien
holder is an individual, their NJ Driver License number and name is required.

o Line 2 — Complete address, including street, city, state and zip

o Line 3 — Date the lien is applied

o Line 4 — Make, year and body type of the vehicle

o Line 5 — Full VIN number and model of the vehicle

o Line 6 — Control number of the NJ title

o Line 7 — Owner of the vehicle as well as their driver’s license or corpcode number,
and signature is required. This information is not the same as the lien holder and if
there are two owners, such as a co-owner, their information is also needed

o Line 8 — Owner printed name

o Line 9 — Owner’s address, city, state and zip code

o Line 10 — Date of which the owner filled out their information

NOTE: If two liens are being requested, a 2" SS-85C is required and the top of the form

must have “Second Lien” noted on it. The same directions as the first lien are to be
followed but instead of a $85.00 check for a single lien the new amount would be $110.00.
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¥  Commission
FINANCING STATEMENT
Please Print or Type Information Fee: $85.00

(Original New Jersey Title Must Accompany this Application)

| hereby certify that | have entered into a security agreement affecting the article described below, with

Driver License Number or Corpcode (Lienholder) (NAME OF LIENHOLDER)
Address City State Zip Code
Dated
Make of Vehicle Year Body Type
Identification Number Model

This Statement is presented to the Chief Administrator of the Motor Vehicle Commission of the State of
New Jersey together with Certificate of Ownership No. pursuant to R.S. 39:10-11C as amended.

Driver License Number or Corpcode (Owner) Signature of Owner

Name of Owner (Print)

Address City State Zip Code

Date

Unless this statement, with the certificate of ownership for the article, is presented to the Chief Administrator
of the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission, or his/her agent, for filing, there shall be the same result of
failure to file as provided in Chapter 9 of Title 12A of the New Jersey Statutes.

0S/SS-85C (R7/09)
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