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Laws governing driver licenses
•	 A motorist who operates a motor vehicle in the State of New Jersey	

must carry a valid driver license, a valid provisional license or a validated	
New Jersey permit. The motorist must also carry valid insurance and vehicle 
registration cards. (N.J.S.A. 39:3-29)

•	 A motorist with a validated New Jersey driver permit must be accompanied by	
an appropriately licensed driver. (N.J.S.A. 39:3-13, 39:3-13.2a)

•	 A motorist who is a legal resident of New Jersey must be licensed in this	
state. (N.J.S.A. 39:3-10, 39:3-17.1)

•	 A motorist who changes addresses must report this change to the MVC	
within one week after moving. This includes individuals who are moving out of 
New Jersey. (N.J.S.A. 39:3-36)

•	 A motorist who legally changes his/her name (marriage, divorce, adoption) 	
must report the change to the MVC within two weeks. (N.J.S.A. 39:3-9b)

•	 A motorist with a valid out-of-state license who moves to New Jersey must	
apply for a New Jersey license within 60 days (commercial driver license – 
CDL - within 30 days) or before the current license expires, whichever is 
sooner. The out-of state license must be surrendered prior to receiving a New 
Jersey license. (N.J.S.A. 39:3-17.1, 39:3-10.17, 39:5D-5)

•	 A motorist who is a foreign national with a valid license from another country	
may be eligible for a New Jersey driver license. If the motorist receives a New 
Jersey license, he/she will not have to surrender the out-of-country license. 

•	 Operators of commercial vehicles, such as large trucks, buses and vehicles 	
that transport hazardous materials, must satisfy more stringent testing 
standards than the drivers of automobiles or motorcycles. These operators 
must still possess a valid, basic New Jersey driver license prior to applying 
for a CDL.
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•	 Individuals who have never had a driver license must complete the	
MVC’s Graduated Driver License (GDL) Program, which introduces driving 
privileges in phases with a period of supervised driving before getting a basic 
driver license. (N.J.S.A. 39:3-10, 39:3-13 through 39:3-13.8) 

•	 All applicants for a New Jersey driver license who are under 18 years of age	
must present a completed consent form signed by a parent or guardian. 
(N.J.S.A. 39:3-13 and 39:3-13.3)

•	 GDL, special learner and examination permits are valid until all qualifications	
for a provisional license are met, or for two years, whichever occurs first. All 
others are valid for 90 days.

•	 All applicants for a New Jersey driver license must provide a full name,	
current address, Social Security number, 6 Points of ID Verification and other 
documentation that verifies that their legal presence in the United States 
is authorized under federal law. Documents must be in English or have an 
approved translation. (N.J.S.A. 39:3-9a, 39:3-9b, 39:3-10 and N.J.A.C. 
13:21-1.1, 13:21-1.2, 13:21-1.3, 13:21-8.2)



Digital Driver License
In 2004, New Jersey ceased the issuance of laminated 
paper licenses and implemented the use of the digital 
driver license (DDL). The DDL, along with the MVC’s 
6 Point ID Verification requirement (see page 11), 
helps to eliminate the prevalence of fraud and abuse. 
The DDL includes nearly two dozen security features, 
including digital photographs and signature. The DDL 
is issued at all MVC agencies. Motorists under 21 
years of age are issued a distinctive vertical-format 
DDL. Most DDLs issued are valid for four years.

Altering a driver license or showing an altered driver license may 
result in loss of a motorist’s driving privilege, a fine of up to $1,000 
and/or up to six months imprisonment. In addition, getting a driver 
license illegally may result in a fine of up to $200 to $500 and/or 
imprisonment of 30 to 90 days.

restrictions
If a motorist has a restriction on his/her license (such as the need to wear corrective 
lenses while driving), it will appear on the license in a coded form. 

Restrictions are as follows:
•	1- Corrective lenses required

•	2- Prosthetic device

•	3- Mechanical device

•	4- Hearing impaired

•	5- Attached restrictions1

1 This category applies to special modifications to an applicant’s vehicle or
limited driver privileges for a medical condition. The card detailing the 
attached restrictions must remain with the driver license.

Types of New Jersey licenses
The following chart shows age requirements, license fees and required tests for 
each type of license that the MVC offers. Testing for commercial, motorcycle and 
moped licenses will require the use of topic-specific manuals in addition to using 
this Driver Manual. Copies of the commercial, motorcycle or moped manuals may 
be obtained at any MVC agency or requested online at www.njmvc.gov. 
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Manuals may also be obtained by calling (888) 486-3339 toll-free in New 
Jersey or (609) 292-6500 from out of state. 

An endorsement added to a license will expire with the license. When an 
endorsement is added to an existing license, the charge for the endorsement 
is prorated to cover the period remaining until expiration.

Basic Automobile License
For all types of Class D motor vehicles 
registered by the MVC, except motorcycles.

Expiration:

Minimum Age:

Permit Fee:

Photo License Fee: 

Test(s) Required: 

4 Years

18 (Permit: 16)

$10

$24

KVR 1

Provisional Automobile License
For all types of Class D motor vehicles	
registered by the MVC, except motorcycles.

Expiration: 

Minimum Age: 	

Permit Fee:

Photo License Fee: 

Test(s) Required: 

Commercial Driver License
For large trucks, buses and vehicles (Classes 
A, B and C).

Expiration:

Minimum Age:

Permit Fee:

Photo License Fee: 

Test(s) Required: 

Motorcycle License
For most vehicles with fewer than four wheels 
(Class E). Issued as a separate license or as an 
endorsement (M) if the individual already holds 
a basic New Jersey driver license. 

Expiration:

Minimum Age:

Permit Fee:

Photo License Fee: 

Test(s) Required: 

Provisional Motorcycle License
For most vehicles with fewer than four wheels 
(Class E). Issued as a separate license or as an 
endorsement (M) if the individual already holds 
a basic New Jersey driver license.

Expira tion:

Minimum Age:

Permit Fee:

Photo License Fee: 

Tests Required: 

4 Years

17

$10

$6 3

KVR 1

4 Years

17

$10

$6

KVR 1

4 Years

18/21 4

$35 5

$32

CKVR

4 Years

17

$5

$24 or $18 6 

KVR 1



Boat License
For individuals 16 years of age and older, who 
operate a motorboat on fresh, non-tidal waters, such 
as lakes, creeks or rivers, that are not affected by 
tidal conditions. As of June 1, 2007, persons born 
in 1959 or later must possess a Boating Safety 
Certificate. Persons born in 1949 or later must 
possess a Boating Safety Certificate by June 1, 
2008. By June 1, 2009, all persons who wish to 
operate a power vessel must possess a Boating 
Safety Certificate. For more information about New 
Jersey boating requirements, visit the State Police 
Marine Services Web site at www.state.nj.us/
njsp/maritime/index.html. (N.J.S.A. 12:7-61.1)

Expiration: 

Minimum Age: 	

Permit Fee:

Photo License Fee: 

Test(s) Required:  

4 Years

16

n/a

$18

n/a non-tidal
waters only

1  K-Knowledge, V-Vision, R-Road, C-Commercial
2 

Or until a basic license is obtained at 18 years of age. 
3 Motorist must return to agency in one year to have license upgraded. Fee is $19.50.
4

 
CDL applicants must be at least 18 years old. Applicants under 21 may travel only in 
New Jersey (intrastate, not interstate) and may not receive HAZMAT or passenger 
endorsements. 

5
 
Out-of-state CDL transfer fees are $10.

6
 
Class E endorsements are $24; Class M endorsements are $18. 

Note: Fees in this manual are subject to change. Current fees are available online at 
www.njmvc.gov or by calling (888) 486-3339 toll-free in New Jersey or 
(609) 292-6500 from out of state.

Moped License 
For unlicensed motorists 15 years of age and older. 
Not needed if operator has a Class A, B, C, D or E 
license.

Expiration:

Minimum Age:

Permit Fee:

Photo License Fee: 

Test(s) Required: 

4 Years 2

15

$5

$6

KVR 1

Agricultural License 
For farming purposes only. May be granted to 
persons between 16 and 17 years old.

Expiration:

Minimum Age:

Permit Fee:

Photo License Fee: 

Test(s) Required: 

4 Years 2

16

$10

$6

KVR 1
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6 Point ID Verification
Per N.J.A.C. 13:21-8.2, all New Jersey driver license applicants must complete 
6 Point ID Verification by presenting documents that prove their age, identity, 
and legal presence in the U.S. All applicants must prove identity through a 
prescribed combination of documents that includes: 

•	At least one primary document

•	At least one secondary document

• At least six points of ID

•	Proof of address

Use the chart on the following pages to select your documents, or use the online 
Document Selector at www.njmvc.gov/6point.
If discrepancies exist within or between documents presented to the MVC, 
the applicant may be required to provide additional documentation. Any permit 
or license application may be refused if a document appears altered, false or 
otherwise invalid.

A non-citizen must submit proof of continued legal presence in the United 
States. The MVC may accept other documents proving identity, date of birth and 
continued legal presence. Documents must be provided in English. 

A motorist referred to an MVC Regional Service Center due to identification 
issues will be required to provide an original or certified copy of his/her civil birth 
certificate if a U.S. citizen. Passports will not be accepted. Non-U.S. citizens 
may be asked for additional identification documents.

For assistance with 6 Point ID Verification, visit www.njmvc.gov or call 	
(888) 486-3339 toll-free in New Jersey or (609) 292-6500 from out of state. 



If your current legal name is different from the name on your civil birth certificate 
(e.g., your maiden name), then you must show legal proof of the name change. 
Legal proof = Certified marriage or civil union certificate, divorce decree or court 
order linking the new name with a previous name. U.S. passport is not proof of 
legal name change. A divorce decree may be used as authority to resume using a 
previous name only if it contains the new name and the previous name and permits 
a return to use of the previous name.

Certain documents may require proof of legal U.S. presence. 
Visit www.njmvc.gov for a list or call (888) 486-3339.

All documents must be original or certified copies in English and 
have the required state and/or municipal seals. Certified copies of New 
Jersey records are available from the municipality that originally issued them and 
from the State Bureau of Vital Statistics at www.nj.gov/health/vital or (609) 
292-4087. For information about Jersey City/Hudson Ccounty birth certificates, 
visit www.nj.gov/health/vital/jerseycity.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION

Requirements:
At Least One Primary Document
At Least One Secondary Document
documents must be worth 6 points or more
Proof of Address 
Social Security Number



US Citizens
4-Point Documents:

	 Civil birth certificate or certified 
copy from one of the 50 states, 
District of Columbia or a US territory. 
Photocopies or certificates from 
hospitals or religious entities are not 
accepted. Please read Important 
Information on previous page.

	 US Department of State birth 	
certificate (Form FS-545, FS 240 
or DS-1350)

	 US passport, current or expired less 
than 3 years (may not be used for 
proof of legal name change)

	 Current NJ digital driver license

	 Current NJ digital non-driver 	
ID card

	 Current NJ digital boat license

	 Valid active duty US military 	
photo ID card

	 US adoption papers

	 Certificate of naturalization 	
(Form N-550, N-570 or N-578)

	 Certificate of citizenship 	
(Form N-560, N-561 or N-645)

Non-Citizens
4-Point Documents:

	 Foreign passport with INS or USCIS 
verification and valid record of arrival/
departure (Form I-94)

	 Foreign passport with INS or USCIS 
verification and valid Form I-551 stamp

	 Current alien registration card (new 
Form I-551) with expiration date and 
verification from INS or USCIS

	 Refugee travel document (Form I-571)

	 US re-entry permit (Form I-327)

	 Valid I-94 stamped “Refugee,” “Pa-
rolee,” “Asylee” or “Notice of Action” 
(Form I-797 approved petition) by 
INS or USCIS

	 Valid I-94 with attached photo 
stamped “Processed for I-551…” 	
by INS or USCIS

3-Point Document:
	 Current photo employment authori-

zation card (Form I-688B or I-766). 
Must be presented with valid Social 
Security card.

2-Point Documents:
	 Current alien registration card (old 

Form I-551) without expiration date 
and with INS or USCIS verification

	 Photo temporary resident card 	
(Form I-688)

Choose PRIMARY Documents 
You must show at least one of these
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3-Point Documents:

	 Civil marriage, domestic partnership 
or civil union certificate issued by the 
municipality in which the ceremony 
occurred. Please note: Photocopies 
or certificates issued by religious 	
entities are not acceptable

	 Order or decree of divorce, 	
dissolution or termination(see “Impor-
tant Information” p.12)

	 Court order for a legal name change, 
signed by a judge or court clerk

	 Current US military dependent card

	 US military photo retiree card

	 Valid NJ firearm purchaser card

2-Point Documents:
	 US school photo ID card with 	
transcript or school records

	 US college photo ID card with 	
transcript

	 Valid federal, state or local 	
government employee driver license

	 Valid federal, state or local 	
government employee photo ID card

	 US military discharge papers 
(DD214)

	 FAA pilot license

1-Point Documents: You cannot 
use more than TWO of these

	Current NJ PHOTO driver license 
(non-digital)

	Current PHOTO driver license from 
any other state or the District of 	
Columbia

	Social Security card

	Bank statement or record

	ATM card with preprinted name and 
applicant’s signature. (Please note: An 
ATM card and bank statement cannot 
be submitted together.)

	Current health insurance card, pre-
scription card or employee ID card 
with printed pay stub

	State professional license

	NJ public assistance card with photo 
(also known as a NJ Social Services 
ID card)

	High school diploma, GED or college 
diploma

	Property tax statement, bill or receipt 
issued by a New Jersey 	
municipality

	For NJ high school students: a waiver 
certificate for the written 	
portion of the driver’s test

	Veterans Affairs universal access 	
photo ID card

2 Choose secondary Documents  
You must show at least one of these
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You must also present proof of  
residental address, which may be, 
but is not limited to, ONE of these

	 Utility or credit card bill issued in the 
past 90 days that shows your name 	
at your current address.

Note: Mail addressed to P.O. boxes not 
accepted as proof of address (39:3-9a)

	 Checking or savings account 
statement from a bank or credit 	
union, issued in the past 60 days

	 High school or college report card 	
or transcript containing your address, 
issued within the past two years

	 Original lease or rental agreement 
showing your name as the lessee 	
or renter

	 Property tax bill, statement or 	
receipt from the past year

	 Any letter or correspondence 	
(including tax bills) received from 	
the IRS or state tax office in the 	
past year 

	 First-class mail received from any 	
federal, state or local government 
agency in the past six months

	 If you are under 18, then we 
will accept a Parent or Guardian 
Certification that verifies you are 	
living with a parent or guardian

To complete 6 Point ID Verification, 
MVC will verify that your Social Security 
number matches your name and birth 
date on record with the Social Security 
Administration database.

If you are not eligible for a Social 
Security number, you must provide an 
exemption letter from the Social Security 
Administration.
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ADD UP POINTS
PRIMARY

SECONDARY

TOTAL

+

Must equal 6 or more points

3 ChoosE
Proof of Address 4 SOCIAL 

Security Number



Graduated Driver License (GDL)
In 2001, New Jersey sought to enhance driver preparation and safety by 
implementing a multi-stage driver licensing system. Known as the Graduated 
Driver License (GDL) Program, the system gradually introduces driving privileges 
to first-time drivers, extends their practice driving time and requires a minimum 
age of 18 in order to receive an unrestricted, basic driver license. GDL restrictions 
placed upon first-time drivers must be strictly adhered to. Failure to do so may 
result in a fine of $100 or a possible suspension of a motorist’s driving privilege.	
(N.J.S.A. 39:3-10 and 39:3-13 through 39:13.8)
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Option

MVC will validate Special Learner Permits ONLY after training course completion.

Get a Special Learner Permit
•	Must be at least 16 years old

•	Must have signed parent or guardian consent

•	Must be enrolled in approved behind-the-wheel driver training
course through the N.J. Department of Education or commercial
driving school

•	An approved instructor must purchase the permit

•	Must pass MVC’s knowledge and vision tests

•	Must pay required fee

Step 	1

Graduated 

Driver  

License The Early Bird Road Option

Practice with an Adult Supervising Driver
•	Must observe special learner permit driving restrictions

•	Must practice at least six months

Get a Provisional License
•	Must have completed six months of supervised driving

without any suspensions or postponements

•	Must pass MVC’s road test

•	Must be at least 17 years old

Step	3

With a Provisional Driver License
•	Must practice unsupervised driving for at least one year

•	Must observe provisional driver license restrictions

Step	4

Get the Basic Driver License
•	Must be at least 18 years old

•	Must have completed one year of unsupervised driving with
provisional driver license restrictions

•	Must pay required fee

Step	5

Note: Permit may not be used for practice driving until validated at an MVC Driver 
Testing Center.

 A

Step 	2



Graduated 

Driver  

License The Young Adult Road Option

Get an examination Permit
•	Must pass MVC’s knowledge and vision test

•	Must be at least 17 years old

•	Must pay required fee

•	Must obtain parent or guardian consent if you are under
18 years of age

Step 	1

Practice Supervised Driving
•	Must practice with an adult supervising driver

•	Must practice at least six months

•	Must observe examination-permit driving restrictions

Step	2

Get a Provisional License
•	Must have completed six months of supervised driving
 without any suspensions or postponements

• 	Must pass MVC’s road test

Step	3

Practice unsupervised Driving
•	Must practice unsupervised driving for at least one year

•	Must follow provisional driver license restrictions

Step	4

Get the Basic Driver License
•	Must be at least 18 years old

•	Must have completed one year of unsupervised driving 

•	Must pay required fee

Step	5

 B
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Graduated 

Driver  

License The Adult Road Option C
Get an Examination Permit

•	Must be at least 21 years old

•	Must pass MVC’s knowledge and vision tests

•	Must pay required fee

Step 	1

Practice Supervised Driving
•	Must practice with an adult supervising driver

•	Must practice at least three months

•	Must observe examination permit driving restrictions

Step 	2

Get a Provisional License
•	Must have completed three months of supervised driving

without any suspensions or postponements

•	Must pass MVC’s road test

Step 	3

Practice unsupervised Driving
•	Must practice unsupervised driving for at least one year

•	Must follow provisional driver license restrictions

Step 	4

Get the Basic Driver License
•	Must be at least 18 years old

•	Must have completed one year of unsupervised driving

•	Must pay required fee

Step 	5



Special Learner Permit Restrictions 
•	No driving between 11:01 p.m. and 5:00 a.m.1

•	No using cell phones, hand-held video games or any other hand-held
electronic devices.

•	Permit holder must be accompanied in the front seat by an adult	
	 supervising driver who is at least 21 years of age and who possesses a	
	 valid New Jersey driver license and has a minimum of three years’	
	 driving experience.

•	Passengers must be from the provisional license holder’s household, and up	
	 to one additional person.

•	Permit holder and all passengers must all wear a seat belt.

Examination Permit Restrictions 
•	No driving between 12:01 a.m. and 5:00 a.m.1

•	No using cell phones, hand-held video games or any other hand-held	
	 electronic devices.

•	Permit holder must be accompanied in the front seat by an adult	

	 supervising driver who is at least 21 years of age and who possesses 	
	 a valid New Jersey driver license and has a minimum of three years’ 	
	 driving experience.1

•	Passengers must be from the provisional license holder’s household,	
	 and up to one additional person.

•	Permit holder and all passengers must wear a seat belt.

Provisional Driver License Restrictions 
•	No driving between 12:01 a.m. and 5:00 a.m.1

•	No using cell phones, hand-held video games or any other hand-held	
	 electronic devices.

•	Passengers must be from the provisional license holder’s household,	
	 plus one additional person.

•	Provisional license holder and all passengers must wear a seat belt.

1 If the Examination Permit or Provisional License holder is 21 years of age
or older, hour and passenger restrictions do not apply.
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GDL Driver Exemptions
Exemptions to the hours rule for permit and provisional drivers under 21 years: 
Proof of a need to drive during the prohibited hours for employment and/or religion. 
For an exemption, the motorist must carry a legible certification to indicate this need 
from his/her employer or religious official on the official letterhead of the business, 
organization or religious institution, with the signature of the certifying official and 
his/her name, title, address and phone number. (N.J.A.C. 39:21-8.18)

Note: If the student driver commits a traffic offense, responsibility will be with both 
the student and instructor or adult supervising driver. All motorists who possess 
a provisional driver license, whose provisional licensing period is not extended by 
the MVC beyond the standard 12 months, must visit an MVC agency to upgrade 
to a basic driver license after the end of those 12 months. Motorists who fail to 
do so will remain subject to the provisional driver license restrictions and could be 
cited by law enforcement for violating the restrictions.

Special Learner Permits for New Jersey 
residents 
Any New Jersey resident who is at least 16 years old and is not in suspension 
status can obtain a special learner permit at any MVC agency. The applicant 
must have the signed consent of his/her parent or guardian, must be enrolled in a 
behind-the-wheel driver training course approved by the New Jersey Department 
of Education or conducted by a commercial driving school, and must pass the 
MVC’s knowledge test and vision screening. An approved course is six full hours 
of behind-the-wheel instruction in a dual-controlled vehicle. These hours are 
exclusive of time spent at the MVC for permit purchasing or testing. The instructor 
must purchase the permit, which is valid for two years. (N.J.S.A. 39:3-13.1)

After an applicant fills out the form with his/her personal information and provides 
6 Points of ID Verification and, if applicable, proof that the U.S. government 
authorizes his/her presence in this country, the instructor can purchase a permit 
at any MVC agency. Basic automobile license applicants must supply a Social 
Security number or an exemption from the Social Security Administration. 

Upon completion of the approved driver training course and before practice 
driving, the permit holder must have the permit validated at any MVC Driver 
Testing Center.
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Examination Permits for 
New Jersey Residents 
Any New Jersey resident who is at least 17 years old and is not in suspension 
status can obtain a driver examination permit at any MVC agency. The examination 
permit is different from a student learner permit because the applicant does not 
have to be a student and an instructor is not necessary. 

Note: A driver examination permit is required even if the motorist possesses a valid 
license from another state. See Examination Permits for Out-of-State Drivers.

After an applicant fills out the form with his/her personal information and provides 
6 Points of ID Verification and proof that the U.S. government authorizes his/her 
presence in this country, he/she can purchase a permit to take to the nearest 
Driver Testing Center. Basic automobile license applicants must supply a Social 
Security number or an exemption from the Social Security Administration. 

Note: Most agencies conduct knowledge testing and vision screening. To 
find out which MVC agencies offer driver testing services, check online at  
www.njmvc.gov or call (888) 486-3339 toll-free in New Jersey or 	
(609) 292-6500 from out of state. 

The MVC will validate the permit for practice driving after the applicant passes 
the required knowledge test and vision screening. Results are valid for two years 
(see Chapter 2).

Examination Permits for 
Out-of-State Drivers
All out-of-state drivers are required to purchase an examination permit within 60 
days of becoming a permanent New Jersey resident or when his/her out-of-state 
license expires, whichever comes first. 

Out-of-state drivers who are under 18 years of age and move to New Jersey 
are subject to this state’s GDL Program (see pp. 3-6). If they wish to apply for 
a New Jersey license, he/she should follow the steps outlined for special and 
examination permit holders. Permits may be purchased at any MVC agency upon 
presenting the required proof of age and 6 Point ID Verification. Applicants may 
be required to pass a knowledge test, vision screening and road test.

Out-of-state driver licenses must be surrendered when the MVC issues a New 
Jersey driver license.
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Examination Permits for 
Out-of-Country Drivers 
A non-citizen must show formal proof that U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services 
(USCIS) has authorized his/her presence in this country under federal law.

Students and their families on visas must show INS Form I-20, student 
identification cards or certification on school letterhead indicating status.

Note: Foreign drivers may use their native driver licenses as proof of driving 
experience if their countries are members of the United Nations Convention on 
Road Traffic and if the applicants have their licenses translated into English by a 
consulate or an MVC-approved translator.

Note: Licenses from US Possessions and Territories are considered out-of-country.

International Driving Permit (IDP)
Visitors with a foreign driver license who travel to the United States should carry 
an IDP or attach an acceptable English translation to their national driver licenses. 
The IDP is translated into the official languages of the United Nations (including 
English) and is useful in traffic emergencies. Non-citizens must obtain the IDP in 
their native country before traveling to the United States. 

New Jersey motorists who travel to foreign countries may obtain an IDP 
application through their local AAA club. 	
Visit www.aaa.com/vacation/idpc.html for more information.

Note: A motorist must carry a valid driver license. Although it is an official document, 
the IDP cannot replace a driver license, but it can be used in conjunction with the 
license to provide an additional source of motorist identification and span foreign 
language barriers. 
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Non-Driver ID
An individual, 17 years of age or older, who does not possess a valid driver license 
may apply for a non-driver identification card. To obtain an identification card, 
the individual must show proof of age and provide 6 Points of ID Verification and 
proof that his/her presence in this country is authorized under federal law. The 
cost is $24. The non-driver ID must be surrendered if the individual applies for 
and receives a New Jersey driver license. (N.J.S.A. 39:3-29.2 to 39:3-29.8)

Hearing-Impaired Designation
A special driver license for deaf or hearing-impaired motorists (41 dB loss or 
more) is provided by the MVC. To obtain this license, which is designated with the 
international symbol of the deaf or a numerical code, a motorist must complete an 
application, available at any MVC agency. Verification by a physician or audiologist 
is required. (N.J.S.A. 39:3-11a)

Commercial Driver License (CDL)
There are three classes of a commercial license; A, B, and C. However, no one 
can apply for these licenses until he/she is in possession of a valid basic Class D 
New Jersey driver license or he/she possesses a valid out-of-state CDL.

Class A: License is necessary for the operation of tractor trailers or any truck 
or trailer with a gross combination weight rating (GCWR) of 26,001 pounds or 
more, provided the gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) of the vehicle being 
towed is more than 10,000 pounds. The Class A license also allows the motorist 
to operate all vehicles in the class B, C and D categories, provided the motorist 
has qualified for all the proper extra endorsements. See the chart on page 25.

Class B: License is necessary for the operation of any vehicle with a GVWR of 
26,001 pounds or more:

•	A vehicle with a gross vehicle weight rating of 26,001 pounds or more
towing a trailer with a gross vehicle weight rating of less than 10,000 pounds

•	A bus with a gross vehicle weight rating of 26,001 pounds or more designed	
	 to transport 16 or more passengers, including the driver

A Class B license allows the motorist to operate all vehicles in the Class C 
and D categories, provided the motorist has qualified for all the proper extra 
endorsements.
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Class C: License is necessary for any vehicle with a GVWR of less than 26,001 
pounds, used and placarded to transport hazardous material:

•	Any bus, including school buses, designed to carry 16 passengers or more,
including the motorist, and with a GVWR of less than 26,001 pounds and all 
school vehicles designed for 15 passengers or fewer, including the motorist

•	Any bus or other vehicle designed to transport 8 to 15 passengers,
including the motorist, which is used for hire

Commercial Driver Exemptions
Taxi drivers, ride-sharing van drivers, funeral procession drivers, operators of 
rescue, first-aid squad or firefighter apparatus, farmers hauling their own products 
and equipment within 150 miles of their farms, non-civilian operators of military 
equipment and operators of construction equipment not designed for operation 
on public roads are exempt and need not apply for a commercial driver license.
Operators of recreational vehicles are also exempt, provided the vehicle is being 
operated only for personal use. (N.J.S.A. 39:3-10k, 39:3-10.11) 
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Commercial License Restrictions
Numbered restrictions, such as corrective lenses, are noted on all commercial 
licenses. An example of a special restriction on a commercial license is “L” for 
air brakes. This means the motorist may not operate a vehicle equipped with air 
brakes, if designated on the license.

Commercial Driver Manual
For more information on commercial motor vehicle licensing, refer to the MVC’s 
Commercial Driver Manual. All CDL tests are based on information contained in 
the manual. To get a copy, visit any MVC agency or regional service center or 
view/request it online at www.njmvc.gov. Manuals may also be obtained by calling 
(888) 486-3339 toll-free in New Jersey or (609) 292-6500 from out of state.

Commercial License Endorsements
Most commercial drivers will need to obtain at least one special endorsement. An 
example of an endorsement on a commercial license is “H” for hazardous materials, 
which means that the motorist may legally transport hazardous materials.

Code Vehicle Endorsement Special Requirement

T Double and 
Triple Trailer

Needed by operators of 
vehicles pulling two or 
three trailers

Requires a knowledge test. Class A 
license required to operate this type 
of vehicle

P Passenger Needed by operators 
of buses or similar 
vehicles used to transport 
passengers

Requires a road test. Other special 
requirements are necessary (see 
CDL Manual)

S School Bus Needed by all school bus 
drivers

Requires a knowledge and road 
test. Motorists who hold an “S” 
endorsement will also have to test for 
a “P” endorsement. Both are required 
to operate a school bus

N Tanker 
Vehicle

Needed by operators of 
vehicles used to transport 
liquids or gas in bulk

Requires a knowledge test.

H Hazardous 
Materials

Needed by operators of 
vehicles used to transport 
hazardous materials

Requires a knowledge test and may 
require a road test. Must be trained 
and retested every two years. See 
the Federal Motor Carrier Safety 
Administration for requirements 
(www.fmcsa.dot.gov) 
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