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Speed Control
Exceeding the speed limit is a common contributing factor of fatal and other types 
of accidents. A motorist must always obey the speed limit. Speed affects almost 
everything that can happen when driving. A good rule is to keep up with the flow of 
traffic at any legal speed. In order to make safe emergency stops when necessary, 
it is important to keep enough distance from surrounding traffic. New Jersey law 
sets top speed limits for any given road, street, highway or freeway.

25
Speed
Limits

25 mph  
School zones, business
or residential districts

35
Speed
Limits

35 mph  
Suburban business and 
residential districts

50
Speed
Limits

50 mph  
Non-posted rural 
roadways

55
Speed
Limits

55 mph  
Certain state highways (as 
posted) and interstates

65
Speed
Limits

65 mph  
Certain interstate 
highways (as posted)

Motorists pay double fines for exceeding 
the 65 mph limit by 10 miles per hour or 
more. Double fines also apply to most 
other moving violations committed in a 
65 mph zone. (N.J.S.A. 39:4-98.6)
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New Jersey Speed Limits (unless otherwise posted)  
(N.J.S.A. 39:4-98)
Never drive faster than weather, road or other conditions safely allow, regardless of 
the posted speed limit. A motorist should judge his/her speed control by existing 
conditions. A motorist should slow down enough to be able to see clearly and stop 
quickly in traffic. Failure to do so can result in a moving violation.

Always slow down: 
•	On narrow or winding roads

•	At intersections or railroad crossings

•	On hills

•	At sharp or blind curves

•	Where there are pedestrians or driving hazards

•	When the road is wet or slippery

If vehicle problems prevent a motorist from keeping up with the normal flow of 
traffic, he/she should pull off the road and activate hazard lights.

Driving too Slowly
A motorist should always try to keep up with the normal flow of traffic, while not 
exceeding the posted speed limit. Some collisions are caused by driving too slowly 
and backing up traffic. When road surfaces and traffic are normal, New Jersey law 
prohibits blocking traffic through slow driving.

Safe Corridors (N.J.S.A. 39:4-203.5)
In an effort to improve highway safety, New Jersey initiated the Safe Corridors 
Program, which was signed into law in July 2003. The Safe Corridors law doubles 
fines on various state highways for a variety of driving offenses, including speeding 
and aggressive driving. Highways are designated as safe based on statistics 
showing crash rates 50 percent over the state rate and 1,000 or more crashes 
reported over a three-year period. The Commissioner of Transportation has the 
authority to designate highways as necessary, as well as to remove those that 
show improved safety levels. The law took effect on February 15, 2004. A current 
list of Safe Corridor highways is available on the New Jersey Department of 
Transportation Web site at www.nj.gov/transportation.

Motorists pay double fines for exceeding 
the 65 mph limit by 10 miles per hour or 
more. Double fines also apply to most 
other moving violations committed in a 
65 mph zone. (N.J.S.A. 39:4-98.6)



Passing

PASS 
WHEN LINE 
IS BROKEN

BDMN_passing_110907

NO PASSING 
WITH DOUBLE
SOLID LINES

DO NOT PASS 
WHEN LINE 

IS SOLID

Passing
A motorist must know the proper lane for normal driving and how to change lanes 
safely. The rules for passing depend on the type of road. Stay to the right of the 
roadway’s center lines. Passing is only safe when there is no oncoming traffic.

Watch for the following lane markings: (N.J.S.A. 39:4-86)
•	Both center lines are solid: No passing allowed.

•	One center line is broken: Passing is allowed only on the side with the 
broken line.

•	Both center lines are broken: Passing is allowed on both sides.

Note: All passing must be completed before the center lines are solid again.
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Pass only when safe
Most passing should be on the left. Passing on the right is allowed only on roads 
with more than one lane going in the same direction, if vehicles on the roadway are 
moving in two or more substantially continuous lines or when the motorist ahead is 
making a left turn and there is room to pass. Never pass on the right shoulder of 
the road. This is against the law. (N.J.S.A. 39:4-85)

A motorist should not pass:
•	On a hill or a curve or at any time he/she cannot see far enough ahead

•	At a street crossing or intersection

•	At a railroad crossing

•	On narrow bridges or in underpasses or tunnels

•	When a sign prohibits passing or center lines restrict passing

•	When behind a vehicle that has stopped to let a pedestrian cross

Keeping to the Right
The laws of New Jersey require motorists to keep to the right, except when 
passing. Motorists must drive on the right half of the roadway unless driving on a 
one-way street. Motorists must drive a vehicle as close as possible to the right-
hand edge or curb of the roadway, except when overtaking and passing another 
vehicle. (N.J.S.A. 39:4-82)

On a multi-lane roadway, motorists must drive in the lane nearest to the right-hand 
edge or curb of the roadway when the lane is available for travel, except when 
overtaking another vehicle or in preparation for a left turn. (N.J.S.A. 39:4-88)

Yielding the Right-of-Way
Although laws govern the right-of-way, a motorist should always be prepared to 
yield. These basic rules always apply. 

•	Emergency vehicles: when police cars, fire engines and ambulances
are giving warning signs (sirens, flashing lights)

•	Buses: when re-entering the flow of traffic

•	Postal vehicles: when vehicle is seeking to re-enter the flow of traffic

•	Pedestrians: when in a crosswalk or seeking to cross a road

•	Motorized or mobility-assistance devices: when in a crosswalk or
seeking to cross a road

•	Other vehicles that are already in the intersection



Pedestrians in a Crosswalk
New Jersey has experienced a large number of pedestrian injury crashes and 
fatalities, as compared to the nation as a whole. The most important pedestrian 
safety message for New Jersey residents is: Pedestrian safety is a shared 
responsibility. There is no single cause of crashes involving pedestrians. 
Pedestrians and motorists must all do their part to keep pedestrians safe.

A motorist must:
•	Yield to pedestrians in crosswalks. (Per N.J.S.A 39:4-36, failure to yield

carries a $100 fine, up to 15 days in jail and a 2-point license penalty.).

•	Watch for pedestrians when turning right on red.

•	Obey speed limits.

•	Be sure not to block or park in crosswalks.

•	Keep the vehicle’s windshield clean for maximum visibility.

•	Be alert for pedestrians at all times.

•	Be aware of areas where pedestrians are most likely to appear (near
schools, town centers, residential neighborhoods, parks).

•	Never pass another vehicle that has stopped to yield to a pedestrian.

•	Yield the right-of-way to all pedestrians in a crosswalk, even if they began
crossing with a proper signal and they are still in the crosswalk when the 
signal changes.

•	Remember that pedestrians are the most vulnerable roadway users
Motorists will be held responsible for maintaining pedestrian safety.

Intersections
An intersection is where two or more roads cross or merge at angles. As most 
collisions occur at intersections, a motorist should be aware of the three types of 
intersections and know how to safely navigate through them. A single solid white 
line across a road at an intersection means that a motorist must stop behind the 
line for a traffic signal or sign.

Controlled
An intersection is controlled if there are traffic signals or signs in any direction. A 
motorist must obey the signals and signs. At a controlled intersection, a motorist 
must yield for certain conditions. At a multi-way stop or stop intersection, a motorist 
must yield to the motorist on the right if both motorists get there at the same time. 
A motorist should also yield to another motorist already stopped at the intersection. 
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At an intersection controlled by a yield sign, a motorist must slow down and yield to 
traffic on the intersecting roadway, even if he/she has to stop. When making a left 
turn at an intersection, a motorist must yield to oncoming traffic and to pedestrians 
within the crosswalk. 

Note: Driving on private property to avoid a traffic signal or sign is a motor vehicle 
violation. (N.J.S.A.39:4-66.2)

Uncontrolled
An intersection is uncontrolled when two or more roads join and there is no traffic 
signal or regulatory device. A motorist must be very careful when approaching 
these types of intersections. Most of the time there will be a warning sign prior to 
reaching the intersection. As a motorist nears a crossroad that is not controlled, 
he/she must reduce speed and be ready to stop if any traffic is coming from the 
right or left. A motorist coming from a private road or driveway must yield to all 
traffic on the main road (although a motorist can never be sure that will occur). As 
a general rule, the vehicle on the left should yield to the vehicle on the right. When 
a traffic signal is not illuminated because of a power failure or other malfunction, 
the traffic signal is observed as a 4-way stop signal. (N.J.S.A. 39:4-81)

Blind
Buildings, parked vehicles or bushes may obstruct a motorist’s line of sight. On 
rural roadways, trees or crops may obstruct a motorist’s line of sight. A motorist 
should always slow down or stop completely to make sure there is no cross traffic 
before proceeding. 

Traffic Circle
There are no set rules for driving into, around and out of a traffic circle in New 
Jersey. Common sense and caution must prevail at all times. In most cases, the 
circle’s historically established traffic flow pattern dictates who has the right-of- 
way. If a major highway flows into and through the circle, it usually dominates the 
traffic flow pattern and commands the right-of-way. Traffic control signs, such as 
stop or yield signs, at the entrances to the circle also govern which motorist has the 
right-of-way. Never enter a traffic circle without checking all signs and determining 
the intentions of the motorists already moving within the circle. 

Whenever a motorist is in doubt concerning who has the right-of-way in a circle, 
he/she should exercise extreme caution and remember the basic rule governing 
any uncontrolled intersection: The vehicle to the left yields the right-of-way to the 
vehicle approaching from the right.



Merging Lanes

USE TURN SIGNAL

 SPEED UP TO FLOW OF TRAFFIC

 SLOW TO SPEED LIMIT OF EXIT LANE

USE TURN SIGNAL

AVOID STOPPING IN THE ENTRY AND EXIT LANES

BDMN_merging_lanes_110907

Entering Highways, Parkways and Turnpikes 

Highways, parkways and turnpikes are high-speed (up to 65 mph) divided 
roadways and generally have multiple lanes. Traffic on each side of the divide will 
travel in only one direction. There are no direct intersections. Motorists enter these 
roadways by way of acceleration lanes, which are extra lanes at highway entrances 
used by motorists to speed up to join the flow of traffic. A motorist must yield to 
traffic already traveling on the main road before moving into the proper lane. 

Keep the following points in mind when entering a highway, parkway or turnpike:
•	Obey posted advisory speed limits (if any) at the entrance ramp.

•	Speed up to the flow of traffic when leaving the acceleration lane.

•	Avoid coming to a complete stop in the acceleration lane.

•	Yield to traffic and enter the right-hand lane when safe.
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Merging Lanes

USE TURN SIGNAL

 SPEED UP TO FLOW OF TRAFFIC

 SLOW TO SPEED LIMIT OF EXIT LANE

USE TURN SIGNAL

AVOID STOPPING IN THE ENTRY AND EXIT LANES

BDMN_merging_lanes_110907

Leaving Highways, Parkways and Turnpikes

In most cases, exit ramps or deceleration lanes, which are extra lanes at a highway 
exit, are located on the right-hand side of the roadway. A motorist should always 
watch for signs that direct where to exit the roadway. If a motorist misses an exit 
ramp on a highway, parkway or turnpike, he/she should go to the next exit. 

Keep the following points in mind when leaving a highway, parkway or turnpike:
•	Start slowing down when entering a deceleration lane.

•	Obey the posted advisory speed limit of the deceleration lane

•	When the exit is located on the left of a roadway, look
for signs that will direct traffic to the proper lane for exiting.

•	If you miss an exit, go on to the next one.

•	Never back up on an exit ramp or deceleration lane.



Special Highway, Parkway and Turnpike 
Conditions
Weave Lane
A weave lane is both an entrance and an exit for an expressway. Traffic may come 
onto and leave the expressway at the same location. This traffic weave causes 
conflicts, both for motorists using a weave lane and those on the expressway 
and entrance ramp (in terms of speed and space adjustments). The motorist 	
entering from the entrance ramp must yield the right-of-way to the motorist leaving 
the expressway. 

Highways Through Cities
The volume of traffic may increase dramatically. Speeds may slow to a crawl. 	
A motorist should drive in the left or center lane to avoid merge conflicts during 
rush hour. A motorist should search for exits early and adjust position for exit. 

Disabled Vehicles
When seeing a disabled vehicle ahead, a motorist should reduce speed and 
increase the space between his/her vehicle and the disabled vehicle. This may 
involve changing lanes. Be alert for pedestrians, tow trucks and/or police vehicles.
If a motorist’s vehicle becomes disabled, he/she must: 

•	Pull off as far as possible onto the shoulder or median 

•	Turn on emergency flashers.

•	Raise the hood to signal for assistance.

•	Stay in the vehicle and lock the doors.

•	Ask anyone who stops to go to a phone and call for assistance.

•	Not get into a stranger’s vehicle.

Construction Areas
A motorist should always stay alert for construction-area warning signs. When 
coming across these areas, a motorist should adjust speed and adjust position to 
maintain space around his/her vehicle. 

Toll Booths
A motorist should stay alert for toll booth signs and begin reducing speed early, as 
traffic may be backed up at the booth. Green lights or signals will highlight open 
booths. A motorist should be aware of EZ Pass booths and lanes, including high-
speed EZ Pass lanes. When exiting toll booths, a motorist should search traffic to 
both sides for merging potential, accelerate smoothly and adjust speed.
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Curves
It is important for a motorist to adjust steering and speed when approaching a 
curve in the road because vehicles tend to keep going straight. The best way to 
enter a curve is to slow down before entering and avoid drifting into another lane. 
A motorist should always watch for vehicles that may drift into his/her lane as 
well. Check for Curve Ahead warning signs and recommended speeds.

Interchanges
Divided roadways are built for express traffic. To ease traffic flow, there are 
usually no traffic lights or direct intersections. To enter or exit such an expressway, 	
a cloverleaf turn is often necessary. A motorist should watch for entrance and exit 
signs and drive slowly in the circle, obeying the posted speed limit. 



Right Turn

USE TURN SIGNAL

STAY IN LANE

DO NOT CROSS 
DIVIDING LINE

BDMN_right_turn_110907

SLOW DOWN

Turning Regulations
Right Turn on Red
Unless a No Turn on Red sign is posted, New Jersey law authorizes a right turn on 
a red light after a motorist comes to a full stop and checks for traffic. A motorist 
must yield to all oncoming traffic and pedestrians before turning right at a red light. 
Difficult-to-see vehicles, such as bicycles and mopeds, may have a green light, so 
it is important for a motorist to be aware of their presence. (N.J.S.A. 39:4-115) 
Always use a proper turn signal at least 100 feet before making any turn, and 
cancel the signal after completing the turn. (N.J.S.A. 39:4-126)

Right Turns (N.J.S.A. 39:4-123)
To make a safe right turn, a motorist should approach the intersection as far to the 
right as possible, keeping near to the curb or parked vehicles. The motorist should 
not swing outward or into another lane while making the right turn. He/she should 
drive up to the turn as far to the right as possible, keeping close to the right curb or 
parked vehicles at the curb. This vehicle positioning prior to a right turn reduces the 
chance of another vehicle being in the space on the right as the motorist makes 
the turn. He/she should not swing into the wrong lane while making the turn. 
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Left Turns (N.J.S.A. 39:4-123)
Left turns, two vehicles: When two vehicles meet at an intersection and both 
have signaled to turn left, extra caution must be applied. When safe, each motorist 
should turn to the left of the center of the intersection.

Left turn from a one-way road on to a one-way road: Approaching the turn 
in the left lane, the motorist should turn into the left lane of the road he/she 	
is entering.



Left Turn: Cutting Corners

USE TURN SIGNAL

YIELD TO
ONCOMING
TRAFFIC

DON’T CUT CORNERS

BDMN_left_turn_110907

Left turn from a two-way road onto a two-way road: Approach the turn as 
close as possible to the line nearest to the center of the road. When turning, the 
vehicle should not cross lane markings. The motorist should keep to the right of 
the center line of the road that the vehicle is entering. 

Left turns, between intersections: Between intersections, solid lines show 
when not to pass. However, these lines may be crossed with care when entering 
or leaving driveways in business or residential areas.
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Left Turn: Four Lane

BDMN_leftturn_4lane_110907

YIELD TO
ONCOMING
TRAFFIC

USE TURN SIGNAL

DON’T
TURN WIDE

Left turn from a two-way road onto a four-lane highway: Approach the turn 
as close to the center line of the right side of the road as possible. Make the turn 
before reaching the center of the intersection. 

It is important not to cross lane markings. The motorist should turn into the lane 
nearest the center line of the right side of the other road. This is the passing lane 
of the four-lane highway. When traffic permits, the motorist should move to the 
right, out of the passing lane. 

Stopping Regulations
Signs, signals and traffic rules indicate when a motorist must stop. A motorist 
should never try to beat a traffic light change. A motorist must be careful even 
if the light is changing to green (fresh green light). There may be other vehicles 
coming through or still in the intersection. Most accidents at traffic signals happen 
in the first few seconds after the light has changed. When a yellow light follows 
a green light, a motorist must stop before entering the intersection, unless yellow 
appears when the vehicle is too close to stop safely. If the light changes while 	
a driver is already in the intersection, he/she should go through with caution. Be 
alert for a stale green light; this is a light that has been green for some time. 



Be prepared for it to change to yellow and then red. Slow down and 	
stop accordingly.

A motorist must stop:
•	At an intersection with a stop sign

•	At an intersection with a red light either flashing or illuminated

•	At an intersection with a yellow light after a green, unless too
close to stop safely

•	When a traffic officer orders the vehicle to stop

•	When there is a yield sign, and traffic does not permit a safe merge

•	When a school bus is picking up or letting off children and/or the red
lights are flashing

•	When coming from an alley, private driveway or building

•	At a bridge span that is about to open for boat traffic

•	For a blind pedestrian using a white or metallic walking cane,
or a trained guide dog, or a guide dog instructor engaged in instructing
a guide dog

•	For a pedestrian in a crosswalk or at an intersection

•	For a motorized wheelchair or mobility-assistance device in a crosswalk
or at an intersection

Single white stop lines show motorists where to stop at stop signs or traffic signals.

Stop at Railroad Crossings
To ensure public safety, the New Jersey Department of Transportation (NJDOT) 
and railroad companies mark public highway railroad crossings with one or more 
warning devices. Warning devices include advance warning signs, pavement 
markings in front of a railroad crossing, flashing lights (usually on railroad crossing 
signs), gates or gates with flashing lights, bells and flag signals.

A motorist must stop at least 15 feet from railroad crossings when there are 
flashing lights, ringing bells or flag signals. Descending gates or gates that have 
already been lowered indicate that a train is coming and a motorist must stop. A 
motorist should never attempt to cross until the gates have been raised and the 
lights have stopped flashing (N.J.S.A. 39:4-127.1).
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School Bus

CARS MUST STOP 25 FEET
AWAY FROM SCHOOL BUS

BVMN_schoolbus_110907

All other commercial motor vehicles:
Some vehicles, such as school buses or vehicles carrying hazardous materials, 
must always stop at railroad crossings. When driving behind one of these vehicles, 
a motorist must be prepared to stop, even if signals do not indicate a train is 
coming (N.J.S.A. 39:4-128).

A motorist should never stop his/her vehicle on railroad tracks. If a vehicle stalls on 
the tracks, and the motorist sees a train coming, he/she should get out and walk 
clear of the tracks. Never try to race a train. Most trains need more than a mile to 
stop, if traveling at 60 mph or more. 

Stop for School Buses (N.J.S.A. 39:4-128.1) 
A motorist must stop for a school bus with flashing red lights. State law requires 
motorists to stop at least 25 feet away if he/she is traveling on a two-lane road or 
on a multi-lane highway where lanes are only separated by lines or on a privately 
maintained road. When traveling on a dual-lane highway, a motorist should slow to 
10 mph if on the other side of a safety island or raised median. 

School buses are equipped with yellow (or amber) and red flashing lights. The 
yellow (or amber) lights go on before the bus stops, and the red lights go on when 
it has stopped. However, a motorist should not depend on these lights, however, 	
if driving behind a school bus. They may be malfunctioning.

When a bus stops, all motorists traveling behind or approaching it must stop their 
vehicles at least 25 feet away. A motorist should only proceed after the bus signals 
have been turned off, and even then, he/she must watch for children.

If a school bus has stopped directly in front of a school to pick up or let off children, 
a motorist may pass from either direction at a speed of no more than 10 mph. 



Stop for Frozen Dessert Trucks (N.J.S.A. 39:4-128.4)
When approaching or overtaking an ice cream or frozen dessert truck from either 
direction, and the truck is flashing red lights and posting a stop signal arm, a mo-
torist must:

•	Yield the right-of-way to any person who is crossing the roadway to
or from the truck.

•	Watch out for children and be prepared to stop.

•	Stop, then drive past the truck at a slow speed of no more than 15 mph.

A motorist need not stop on a dual highway if he/she is on the other side of a safety 
island or raised median.

Pull Over and Stop for Emergency Vehicles 
New Jersey law requires all motorists to yield to emergency vehicles when they 
sound sirens and/or flashing red and/or blue emergency lights. A motorist should 
steer to the extreme right of the roadway, stop and wait for the vehicle to pass. 
Afterward, the motorist should keep at least 300 feet behind a signaling emergency 
vehicle (N.J.S.A. 39:4-92, 39:3-54.12).

Police cars, fire trucks, ambulances or other emergency vehicles have sirens and 
red lights. Private vehicles operated by volunteer fire and rescue squad members 
(with emergency vehicle identification) responding to an emergency call use blue 
lights. A motorist should never park within 200 feet of a fire department vehicle 
in service or drive over a fire hose unless directed to do so by a fire, emergency 
rescue or police official.

Using Headlights
Proper use of headlights is critical to safe driving. Headlights must be used 
between one-half hour after sunset and one-half hour before sunrise. Headlights 
must also be used when visibility is 500 feet or less, when using windshield wipers 
(during rain, snow and ice) or when encountering fog, mist, smoke or other factors 
that reduce visibility (N.J.S.A. 39:3-46).

Being able to see clearly while driving is very important. A vehicle’s lights should 
always be in good working order and clean. Headlights help other motorists see 
approaching vehicles. Parking or auxiliary lights cannot legally be used in place of 
headlights when headlights are required.
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Bright and Dim
Headlights have two sets of beams: bright (high) and dim (low), which are controlled 
by a switch or button on or near the dashboard. The bright beam is for open-
country driving when there is no traffic in sight. The bright beam helps a motorist 
see farther ahead and peripherally or at a wider angle. At night, a motorist’s 
pupils are dilated, allowing more light to aid in the ability to see. Bright beams can 
momentarily blind other motorists by constricting the pupils and should not be used 
if other vehicles are approaching or when driving behind another vehicle. It can 
take three to five seconds for a motorist to recover from the glare of approaching 
high-beam headlights. At a speed of 50 mph, a motorist will have traveled the 
length of a football field while being unable to see. If a vehicle is approaching with 
high beams, a motorist should look to the right of the road until the vehicle passes. 
Never flash high beams at an approaching motorist.

The dim beams are used for city driving and driving in traffic on roadways. Dim 
beams are focused down on the road. Dim beams are used when traveling behind 
other vehicles or when another vehicle is approaching. 

Other Types of Lights
Parking lights: These lights are to be used for a short period of time, such as 
when a vehicle is left in a permitted zone, to show other motorists where a vehicle is 
parked. Parking lights are required on vehicles parked in areas other than business 
or residential zones.

Tail lights: These lights turn on at the same time as a vehicle’s headlights and 
parking lights. They become brighter when a motorist applies the brakes to show 
that he/she is slowing or stopping. During the day, without headlights, the taillights 
also turn on as a motorist applies the brakes.

Brake lights: These lights become brighter when a motorist applies the brakes, 
showing that the vehicle is slowing or stopping.

Interim (overhead) lights: Found inside the vehicle, these types of lights should 
be used only briefly (when necessary) when driving or to comply with a police officer’s 
request to illuminate the motorist’s compartment of the vehicle when stopped. 

Dashboard lights: If dashboard lights are too bright, they may create a glare for 
the motorist and impede vision. The lights should be kept dim but still light enough 
for a motorist to read the dials.



Spotlights: These types of lights should be used only in emergencies. This also 
applies to emergency flashers (hazard lights). Spotlights may not be used for 
driving purposes.

Fog lights: These auxiliary driving lights may be used with low-beam headlights to 
provide general lighting ahead of a motor vehicle, specifically during foggy weather 
conditions (N.J.A.C. 13:20-32.25).

Parking Regulations
A motorist should always check for traffic when leaving a vehicle after parking. 
He/she should also check for bicycles or mopeds, which are sometimes difficult 
to see, before opening the driver-side door and exiting the vehicle. A motorist 
opening a door into traffic may be liable for any collision with a moving vehicle. It is 
safer for passengers to exit a parked vehicle from the curb side. A motorist should 
read parking signs before parking on a city street to be aware of restrictions or 
time limits. It is illegal for a vehicle to be parked more than six inches from the curb 
(N.J.S.A. 39:4-135). Never park where a vehicle will block traffic. 
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Do Not Park (N.J.S.A. 39:4-138)
Unless directed to do so by a police officer or to avoid an accident, a motorist 
should never stop or park at any of the following places:

•	On a crosswalk

•	Between a safety zone for pedestrians and the adjacent curb or within
20 feet of the end of the safety zone

•	Near properly marked street construction

•	In a space on public or private property marked for vehicle parking for
the handicapped (unless legally authorized)

•	On an interstate highway

•	On a sidewalk

•	In a bus stop zone

•	In front of a public or private driveway

•	Within an intersection

•	Within 10 feet of a fire hydrant

•	Within 25 feet of a crosswalk at an intersection, or side line of a street
or intersection highway, except at alleys

•	Within 50 feet of a railroad crossing

•	Within 50 feet of a stop sign

•	Within 20 feet of the driveway entrance to any fire station and within 75
feet on the street opposite a fire station entrance

•	On any bridge or elevated roadway or in any tunnel

•	Next to another vehicle parked at the curb (double parking)

•	In an area where parking is prohibited by municipal ordinance

In case of mechanical trouble or other emergency, a motorist should stop on the 
right highway shoulder and turn on emergency flashers.



Cellular Telephones
State law prohibits the use of handheld electronic devices (e.g., cellular telephones) 
while driving a motor vehicle on any public road or highway. As of March 1, 2008, 
using a handheld cellular telephone or texting device is a primary offense. Law 
enforcement may stop and cite a motorist specifically for these actions. Motorists 
are permitted to use a hands-free cellular telephone if it does not interfere 
with any federally required safety equipment or with the safe operation of the 
vehicle. Although the use of a hands-free cellular telephone is legal, it is strongly 
discouraged. A handheld cellular telephone may be used only in certain emergency 
situations, which include:

•	Fire

•	Traffic accident

•	Serious road hazard

•	Medical emergency

•	Hazardous material emergency

Motorists in the above-mentioned circumstances must keep one hand on 
the steering wheel while using a handheld telephone. To prove legal use of a 
handheld telephone while operating a motor vehicle, a motorist may be asked 
to produce testimony or written statements from appropriate authorities, or 
telephone records. Fines for breaking this law range between $100 and $250 	
(N.J. S.A. 39:4-97.3).

A graduated driver license (GDL) motorist may not use a handheld or 	
hands-free cellular telephone, or any other handheld electronic device, when 
behind the wheel. Doing so is a violation of GDL restrictions (N.J.S.A. 39:3-13, 
39:3-13.2A, 39:3-13.4).

A school bus driver may not use a handheld or hands-free cellular telephone while 
operating the school bus, except in an emergency situation or when the school bus 
is parked in a safe area off of a highway (N.J.S.A. 39:3B-25).

Littering
Throwing trash, debris or rubbish from a moving or parked vehicle is illegal. Litter 
is a safety hazard and an eyesore. Fines of up to $1,000 may be imposed on 
motorists found throwing dangerous objects from a vehicle onto a roadway. If the 
vehicle is moving when litter is thrown, the motorist may lose his/her license. All 
trash, debris or rubbish carried in a vehicle must be covered to keep it from littering 
the roadway (N.J.S.A. 39:4-63, 39:4-64).
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