
Chapter 6



D
ri

n
ki

n
g

, D
ru

g
s 

&
 H

eal
t

h

New Jersey Driver Manual      www.njmvc.gov

10
3

Effects of Alcohol
How Much is Too Much?
Drinking and Driving
Good Hosts and the Drinking Driver
Designated Drivers
Drugs and Driving
Healthy Driving

104
104
106
106
107
107
108

Drinking, Drugs 
& Health



Effects of Alcohol
Alcohol is a drug that affects overall driving ability. Alcohol may make a motorist 
overconfident and unable to think clearly. Motorists who drink may make more 
mistakes. Even if a motorist thinks he/she is below the level of legal intoxication, 
alcohol will affect driving. Drinking even a small amount of alcohol increases a 
motorist’s chances of having an accident. Never drink and drive.

Driving under the influence of intoxicating beverages means that a driver’s senses 
and judgment are impaired by alcohol. After two, three or four drinks, alcohol 
begins to impair reaction time, coordination and balance. Vision and the ability to 
judge distance is affected, making it more difficult to react and to drive safely. The 
only thing that can make a person sober is time. Alcohol is removed slowly by the 
body. The majority (90 percent) of the alcohol detoxified is oxidized (burned up) by 
the liver. The other 10 percent is eliminated in breath, urine and sweat. This fact is 
the prime reason why sober-up-quick methods do not work. 

In addition, studies have proven conclusively that a combination of alcohol and 
anger is responsible for much of the reckless, aggressive driving that can cause 
fatal highway accidents. While most alcohol-related collisions involve only one 
vehicle, they frequently result in the death or serious injury of numerous people, 
including passengers, pedestrians and other motorists.

How Much is Too Much?
The only scientific way to check is through blood alcohol concentration, or BAC. A 
simple breath test will show a motorist’s BAC. BAC is determined by four factors: 

•	Quantity of alcohol consumed

•	Body weight

•	How quickly drinks were consumed 

•	Food eaten

The best way to reduce the risk of a crash caused by drinking and driving is not to 
drive at all after drinking. 

In New Jersey, it is illegal for an individual who is 21 years of age or older to drive with 
a BAC of .08 percent or higher (N.J.S.A. 39:4-50). For individuals younger than 21, 
it is illegal to drive with a BAC of .01 percent or higher. Violators face severe penalties 
in addition to other penalties assessed for DUI/DWI (N.J.S.A. 39:4-50.14).



Alcohol

1.5 OUNCES OF
86 PROOF LIQUOR

12 OUNCE BOTTLE
OR CAN OF BEER

5 OUNCE GLASS
OF WINE (12%)

ONE DRINK
EQUALS...

EVERY DRINK CONTAINS ABOUT 1/2 OUNCE OF 
ALCOHOL. IT’S NOT WHAT YOU DRINK, BUT HOW 

MANY DRINKS YOU HAVE.
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If a motorist has reached a BAC of slightly above .05 percent after drinking, the 
risk for causing a motor vehicle accident doubles. The risk is six times as great 
when driving with a BAC of .10 percent. The risk is 25 times as great when driving 
with a BAC of .15 percent.

Note: Under state law, refusal to take a breath test is equal to driving with a BAC 
of .08 percent for a first offense. The current penalty for both is the loss of driving 
privileges for seven months to one year, to run concurrently or consecutively, based 
upon a judge’s order (N.J.S.A. 39:4-50.4a). Motorists who refuse to take a breath 
test in New Jersey are also subject to an MVC insurance surcharge of $1,000 per 
year for three years (N.J.S.A. 17:29A-35). Failure to pay this surcharge will result 
in an indefinite suspension of driving privileges until the fee is paid. 

It is important to remember that it does not matter what alcoholic beverage is 
consumed. There is just as much alcohol in the average beer as there is in the 
average drink of whiskey or wine. For example, 1 ½ ounces of 80-proof whiskey, 
12 ounces of beer or 5 ounces of table wine all contain the same amount of alcohol: 
about ½ ounce of alcohol per drink. Studies show that most people arrested for 
drinking and driving had been drinking beer.



Although food does slow the absorption of alcohol into the bloodstream, eating 
will not prevent a high BAC when steadily drinking large amounts. Heavy drinking 
will always produce a high BAC. Eating does not make a motorist sober. The best 
way to avoid drinking and driving is to arrange for a designated motorist, use public 
transportation or call a cab.

Drinking and Driving
Drinking affects a motorist’s thinking and slows reaction time. Alcohol may also 
give a motorist a false feeling that he/she can do anything. Law enforcement is 
trained to notice certain telltale signs that a motorist has been drinking: 

•	Speeding: An intoxicated driver often thinks high speed driving is safe

•	Weaving: Even though an intoxicated driver may stay in the correct lane, 
driving straight may be a problem

•	Slow driving: An intoxicated driver may be overly cautious and drive slower
than the normal traffic flow

•	Jerking motion: An intoxicated driver often may have short mental lapses
and not keep a steady speed on a clear road

•	Quick stops: An intoxicated driver may make sudden stops at a traffic 
sign or light, rather than easing up to it

Good Hosts and the Drinking Driver
Always be a good host. If serving alcohol at a party, always provide alcohol-free 
drinks and serve nutritious foods or snacks. Never insist that a guest should drink 
an alcoholic beverage or insist on refills. 

Stop serving alcohol well before the party ends. If someone drinks too much, do 
not let them drive. If no other transportation is available, suggest a nap or invite the 
guest to spend the night. As a last resort, notify the police. Hosts may become 
involved in a lawsuit if a guest is involved in a drinking and driving collision after 
leaving the party. 
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Designated Drivers
As the first state in the country to officially launch the Hero Campaign for Designated 
Drivers, New Jersey encourages all state residents to participate in designated 
driver programs wherever they travel, whether as a motorist or a passenger. Being 
a designated driver is a great responsibility. The designated driver is responsible 
for the safe transportation of friends or family members who have been drinking 
alcoholic beverages. Designated drivers not only ensure the safety of the people 
they are escorting home but also the safety of other motorists.

A motorist who chooses to have a designated driver when attending functions 
where alcohol will be served shows maturity and consideration for other motorists 
who share the road. More information about designated drivers and the Hero 
Campaign can be found at www.herocampaign.org.

Drugs and Driving (N.J.S.A. 39:4-49.1, 39:4-50)
It is illegal to operate a motor vehicle on New Jersey roadways under the influence 
of any illegal drugs. The labels on bottles of prescription drugs will describe 
common side effects. Drugs that “may cause drowsiness or dizziness” should not 
be taken before driving. Ask a professional about how over-the-counter drugs 
may affect driving. Drugs that may affect basic driving skills include cold pills, 
tranquilizers and some prescription medications.

Never mix drugs without asking a medical professional about possible side effects 
or how the drug may affect driving. Alcohol should never be mixed with any drugs 
or medications.

If asked, motorists using prescription drugs must show proof of the prescription to law 
enforcement. If a motorist does not have a prescription for the drug, and a prescription 
is necessary in order to obtain the drug, the drug will be considered illegal.

After alcohol, marijuana is the drug most often found with drivers involved in 
collisions. Marijuana use may affect a motorist in the following ways: 

•	Loss of tracking ability: This is the ability to maintain a vehicle in a
given line. 

•	Distance judgment: Following too closely can cause problems.

•	Vigilance: Not remaining attentive to the driving task can cause a
motorist to follow too closely, drift into another lane, etc.

•	Divided attention: Driving is a task that requires constant attention
to traffic, roadway and weather conditions, passengers, gauges, etc. 



Healthy Driving
Health
Any health problem can affect an individual’s driving. Even little problems like a 
stiff neck, a cough or a sore leg can give an individual trouble while driving. If a 
motorist is not feeling well, he/she should let someone else drive.

Vision
Vision is important to safe driving. Most of what a motorist does behind the wheel 
is based on what he/she sees. State law permits the MVC to retest 10 percent of 
the driving population each year. A motorist should have his/her eyes tested every 
year or two. If over age 40, a motorist should have his/her eyes checked every 
year for special problems. 

Good side vision (peripheral vision) is also essential for safe driving. Side vision helps 
a motorist see out of the corners of his/her eyes while looking straight ahead. 

Distance judgment is also an important component to driving. A motorist should 
know his/her distance from any object while driving. Bad distance judgment often 
causes accidents.

Hearing
Hearing is more important to driving than many people think. It can warn a motorist 
of danger. The sound of horns, sirens or screeching tires warns a motorist to be 
careful. A motorist may be able to hear a car that cannot be seen.

Even people with good hearing cannot hear well if the radio is blaring or he/she 
is wearing earphones. A motorist should always keep the radio turned down and 
never wear earphones. 
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