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In addition to safely navigating the roadways, a motorist must also understand the
requirements for vehicles that he/she drives.

Vehicle Title and Registration
New Jersey residents who buy a new or used vehicle must title, register, and 
insure it before driving it on public roads (N.J.S.A. 39:3-4, 39:10-11, 39:6B-
1, 39:6B-2). New Jersey law states a vehicle classified under the Lemon Law 
must have that classification on the title (N.J.S.A. 39:10-9.3). For information 
about the Lemon Law, contact the Lemon Law Unit of the Division of Consumer 
Affairs at (973) 504-6200. If a motorist moves into this state, the law requires 
his/her vehicle to be titled and registered within 60 days; sooner, if the out-of-state 
registration expires before then (N.J.S.A. 39:3-17.1). The titled owner (person 
whose name appears on the title as the owner) or a person with authority to act 
on the vehicle owner’s behalf1 is required to visit an MVC agency to process the 
transaction. An initial registration for a brand-new vehicle will be valid for four 
years. All other registrations are typically valid for one year2 (N.J.S.A. 39:3-4).

1 Visit www.njmvc.gov for specific information on who is authorized to act on the 
owner’s behalf.
2 Visit www.njmvc.gov for exceptions.



How to Title a New Vehicle
•	 Obtain the title through the dealership where the vehicle was purchased.

•	 Obtain the manufacturer’s certificate of origin assigned to the owner, ensuring 
that the document has the sales tax satisfied stamp on the back (if purchased 
from a dealer authorized to collect New Jersey sales tax).

The documents can be taken to any MVC agency. The owner must pay the required 
titling fee. If the dealer is not authorized to collect New Jersey sales tax, the buyer 
must pay sales tax when titling the vehicle. 

How to Title a Used Vehicle
•	 Complete the reverse side of the title with the buyer’s name, address, date 

of sale, mileage odometer reading, sale price, buyer’s signature and seller’s 
information and signature. 

•	 Present the signed title and pay the required titling fee. 

•	 The buyer must pay sales tax on the purchase price when titling the vehicle.

Note: To avoid a $25 penalty when buying a used car, the title must be presented to 
an MVC agency for transfer within 10 business days of the sale (N.J.S.A. 39:10-11.1).
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How to Replace a Title
If the title is lost or stolen, a duplicate title can be issued at any MVC agency or 
by mail for a $25 fee (N.J.S.A. 39:10-12).

The titled owner (person whose name appears on the front of the title) will need:
•	A completed Application for Duplicate Certificate of Ownership (ISM/SS-52)1 

•	A current registration certificate or insurance identification card
for the vehicle

•	A lien release from the lien holder if the vehicle was financed

If the title is damaged, defaced or illegible, a replacement title can be issued 
at any MVC agency or by mail for a $20 fee (N.J.S.A. 39:10-16).

The titled owner (person whose name appears on the front of the title) will need:
•	The damaged title
•	A completed Application for Duplicate Certificate of Ownership (ISM/SS-52)1 

1 ISM/SS-52 can be obtained at any MVC agency, online at www.njmvc.gov 
or by calling (888) 486-3339 (toll-free in New Jersey) or (609) 292-6500  
(out of state).

If someone other than the titled owner is applying for a replacement or duplicate title, 
please contact the MVC online at www.njmvc.gov or call (888) 486-3339 (toll-free 
in New Jersey) or (609) 292-6500 (out of state) for additional requirements.

How to Complete an Initial Registration
•	 Complete a New Jersey Vehicle Registration application (BA-49) at any MVC 

agency. Provide the name of the vehicle’s current insurance company name and 
the policy number on the application.

•	 Show proof of vehicle ownership. For a new vehicle, a manufacturer’s certificate 
of origin and a dealer’s certificate of sale are proof. For a previously owned 
vehicle, a title signed by the previous owner is proof. For a leased vehicle, get 
a power of attorney from the leasing company. For out-of-state vehicles that 
are leased or financed, secure the original title from the lien holder or leasing 
company. Visit www.njmvc.gov or call (888) 486-3339 (toll-free in New 
Jersey) or (609) 292-6500 (out of state) for more information.

•	 Show proof that the required sales tax has been paid, or pay the tax at the agency.

Note: In New Jersey, a motorist must be at least 17 years old to register a vehicle 
(N.J.S.A. 39:10-11.1).
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Registration Renewal
The MVC mails renewal notices at least 60 days before the annual registration 
expires. If a renewal form is not received by mail, the renewal may be completed in 
person at any MVC agency, or contact the MVC to have an application mailed. It is 
the motorist’s responsibility to keep his/her vehicle registration current. There is a 
fine for driving without a current registration document.

Registration renewals may be conducted quickly and easily by phone or on the 
Web, 24 hours a day. Both are free services. A personal address change can be 
made online while renewing.

•	Call toll-free (877) 368-6548.

•	Go online at www.njmvc.gov.

For both, a preprinted registration renewal with PIN, valid insurance ID card and 
credit card are necessary. The PIN is a security feature. If the pre-printed form is 
lost, a motorist will not be able to renew online or by phone.

If renewing by mail, fill out the renewal form and mail to the MVC with a check or 
money order. Please allow enough time for processing before the registration expires.

Note: The MVC no longer issues license plate registration decals to passenger vehicles 
or non-commercial light-truck owners.

Title and Registration Corrections
Title and registration corrections may be made at any MVC agency or regional 
service center. Please call (888) 486-3339 (toll-free in New Jersey) or (609) 
292-6500 (out of state) for specific instructions.

License Plates (N.J.S.A. 39:3-33)
Motorists will receive two matching license 
plates upon registering a vehicle. One plate is 
provided when registering a trailer, moped or 
motorcycle. For passenger vehicles, one plate 
should be attached to the front of the vehicle 
and the other to the rear at least 12 inches but 
less than 48 inches above the ground. Both 
plates must be clean and visible. The rear 
plate must be lighted so it is visible from 50 feet at night, even with reflectorized 
plates (N.J.S.A. 39:3-48b). Using license plate covers or holders that obscure or 
conceal any lettering on the license plate is a violation, with a fine of up to $100.



License Plate Facts
•	 Report lost or stolen plates to local police. Retain a copy of the complaint.

•	 Replace lost or damaged plates within 24 hours at any MVC agency, and turn 
in the old plates at any MVC agency or mail them to the MVC, P.O. Box 403, 
Trenton, NJ 08666-0403.

•	 Transfer the plates to your new vehicle. Most plates are transferable. Visit 
www.njmvc.gov or call (888) 486-3339 (toll-free in New Jersey) or (609) 
292-6500 (out of state) for details.

•	 If a motorist sells his/her vehicle and does not transfer the plates to another 
vehicle, he/she should turn in the old plates at any MVC agency or mail them to 
the MVC, P.O. Box 403, Trenton, NJ 08666-0403. A receipt will be provided. 
It should be kept in a safe place.

•	 Obtain information about personalized plates from any MVC agency at 
    www.njmvc.gov or call (888) 486-3339 (toll-free in New Jersey) or                 
    (609) 292-6500 (out of state).

•	 A motorist may place only valid plates on his/her vehicle. Forged or counterfeit 
license plates on any motor vehicle may result in a fine of up to $500, up to 
60 days imprisonment or a license suspension of up to six months, or both 
(N.J.S.A. 39:3-33, 39:3-38).

•	 If a motorist terminates vehicle insurance, the plates must be returned to the 
MVC (N.J.A.C. 13:21-5.10b).

Handicapped Plates/Placards/Cards (N.J.S.A. 39:4-206	
and 39:4-205)
Handicapped license plates and a rearview mirror placard are available to disabled 
persons at no charge to allow them to park in specifically designed spaces.

•	 A motorist may obtain an application online at www.njmvc.gov or request 
one by calling (888) 486-3339 (toll-free in NJ) or (609) 292-6500 (out of 
state). Applications may also be obtained at any MVC agency. Along with the 
application a motorist will receive instructions, FAQs and a checklist to assist in 
completing the application.

•	 Qualified individuals will complete Part 1 of the application; their physicians will 
complete Part 2, which establishes and certifies eligibility under the provisions of 
the law. The completed application is then mailed to the MVC for processing.

•	 Qualified individuals may receive one set of plates and one placard (N.J.A.C. 
13:20-9.4).
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To obtain a temporary placard:
•	 A motorist must go to the chief of police in the municipality where he/she 

resides to get an application.
•	 The motorist must have his/her doctor certify the need for the placard.
•	 The motorist must return the completed application to the police department 

with a $4 fee, payable to Motor Vehicle Commission.
•	 Upon payment, the police department will issue a temporary placard.
•	 Temporary placards are good for six (6) months and may be renewed, if 

needed, for an additional six (6) months.

When the vehicle is parked, the handicapped placard must be displayed on the 
vehicle’s rearview mirror. It must be removed prior to driving. 

License plates and placards for eligible persons are issued with an Identification 
Card and are to be used exclusively for and by the person named on the Identification 
Card. The card is non-transferable and will be forfeited if used by another person. 
Abuse of this privilege is cause for revocation of both the license plates/placard 
and card (N.J.S.A. 39:4-205).

Upon the death of the eligible person, the handicapped plates/placard and 
Identification Card must be returned to the MVC. They may be surrendered at any 
MVC Agency or mailed to the MVC Office of Customer Advocacy, P.O. Bo x 403, 
Trenton, NJ 08666-0403, with a letter of explanation. 

Plates must be renewed every year, and placards must be renewed every three 
years. Upon receipt of an application for renewal, the MVC may require the 
applicant to submit a statement from a physician recertifying his/her qualification 
as provided under N.J.A.C. 13:20-9.1a4.

Fraud or abuse of handicapped plates and placards will not be tolerated. It is 
important that applicants and certifying physicians know that under New Jersey 
law, making a false statement or providing misinformation on an application to obtain 
or facilitate the receipt of license plates or placards for persons with disabilities is 
a fourth-degree crime. A person who has been convicted of an offense may be 
subject to a fine, not to exceed $10,000, and to a term of imprisonment, which 
shall not exceed 18 months (N.J.S.A. 2C:21-4a).

Vehicle Inspection
All gasoline-fueled vehicles, except new vehicles, registered in New Jersey 
must pass state safety and emissions inspections every two years at a state 
inspection facility or a state-licensed private inspection facility (N.J.S.A. 39:8-2c, 	
N.J.A.C. 13:20-7.2). 
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New gasoline-fueled vehicles must pass their first MVC inspection four years after 
7.4b). they are initially registered (N.J.S.A. 39:8-2c and N.J.A.C. 13:20-28.6, 
13:20. The MVC inspects diesel-fueled passenger vehicles and trucks registered 
under 10,000 pounds for safety only, but the MVC may require these vehicles to 
undergo occasional roadside spot inspections. High-rise and reconstructed vehicles 
must be taken to specially equipped inspection stations in Winslow, Asbury Park and 
Morristown. Call (888) 486-3339 for more information.

To be eligible for inspection, all motorists must bring a valid driver license and valid 
New Jersey registration and insurance documents for the vehicle to be inspected 
at either a state inspection station or a state-licensed private inspection facility. 
Without the proper documentation, the vehicle will not pass inspection. When 
moving to New Jersey from another state, a motorist must have his/her vehicle 
inspected within 14 days after registering it (N.J.A.C. 13:20-7.4). For motor 
vehicle inspection information, please call 1-888-NJMOTOR (1-888-656-6867) 
or visit www.njmvc.gov.

Since September 1, 2007, customers wishing to obtain off-cycle vehicle 
inspections must visit a private inspection facility (PIF), which will charge a fee. 
Only those vehicles that are within two months of the expiration date indicated on 
the inspection sticker will be inspected at a centralized inspection facility (CIF).

The Inspection Process
Upon inspection, the New Jersey emissions inspector 
will determine the vehicle’s engine type and prepare it for 
testing. To comply with state and federal safety standards, 
the MVC tests the vehicle’s brake suspension, steering, 
wheel alignment and safety features (headlights, tail 
lights, tires, horn, windshield wipers and turn signals). 

To comply with federal Clean Air Act standards, the MVC inspects a vehicle’s 
emissions system based on the year, make and model of the vehicle. New Jersey 
uses an on-board diagnostics, or OBD, test. OBD allows technicians to download 
emissions information from an on-board computer found in most vehicles 
manufactured in 1996 or later. The MVC analyzes emissions data in this way to 
determine if the vehicle passes inspection. Any vehicle with a lit “check engine” 
light will automatically fail the OBD test. 

The final stage of the test will assure that the vehicle’s gas cap is sealing correctly 
so that it limits the escape of fumes into the environment 

After the vehicle passes inspection, the inspector will place a new certificate of 
approval in the lower left corner of the windshield that shows the expiration date. 
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No other sticker can appear in the left corner of the windshield unless approved by 
the MVC Chief Administrator.

To properly maintain a vehicle, a motorist should always check its condition 
between inspections and before long trips.

Driving a vehicle with an expired inspection sticker may result in fines between 
$100 and $200 and/or imprisonment for up to 30 days. Additionally, the MVC may 
revoke registration privileges (N.J.S.A. 39:8-9).

Inspection Test Results
When a vehicle passes inspection, it will receive a certificate of approval. If the 
vehicle fails inspection1, the owner will have up to one month from the last day 
of the month indicated on the inspection sticker to make the necessary repairs 
and return for re-inspection at a state inspection facility or state-licensed private 
inspection facility (N.J.A.C. 13:20-7.5). Vehicles overdue for inspection do not 
receive additional time to make necessary repairs (N.J.A.C. 13:20-43.12). The 
vehicle may still be cited by law enforcement for equipment out of compliance.

All emission repairs must be completed by a registered emissions repair facility. If a 
private state-licensed garage is licensed to only do inspections, the facility cannot 
make emissions repairs.

1 See Inspection Advisories

Inspection of Used Cars 
Per N.J.A.C. 13:20-7.4, when a used vehicle is purchased and has a valid New 
Jersey inspection certificate of approval properly affixed to the windshield, the new 
owner has two options:

•	Use the time left on the previous owner’s inspection certificate of approval.
•	Take the vehicle for inspection within 14 days after registration.

If the vehicle is from another state or does not have a valid New Jersey inspection 
sticker, the vehicle must be inspected within 14 days after registration. 

Inspection Advisories
Since March 1, 2007, the MVC has been using Inspection Advisories to inform 
motorists of certain minor vehicle defects found during an inspection. The vehicle 
is not given a rejection sticker for these items; rather, the motorist is issued an 
Inspection Advisory, noting the items that require repair. A motorist then has 60 
days from the date of the inspection to make those repairs. If repairs are not made, 
the motorist may be cited for failure to make repairs and be subject to penalties. 
At any time, though, a vehicle may be cited for equipment out of compliance. 



Motorists do not have to re-inspect their vehicles for advisory items. The following 
items will not be cause for rejection but will cause the motorist to receive an 
Inspection Advisory:

•	Missing or defaced license plates (at least one undamaged license plate must 
be presented)

•	Current registration containing typographical errors in the vehicle identification 
number (provided the make, model year and license plate number on the 
registration is accurate)

•	Missing or burned-out license plate lights
•	High-mounted rear stop light that is missing, obstructed, inoperative or does not 

operate properly (two stop lights must be operable)
•	Headlights that are cracked, chipped or contain moisture or that are equipped with 

brush guards or grills over the headlights (as long as they are operational and visible)
•	Broken, cracked or missing lens on turn-signal light (provided that no white light 

is showing to the rear of the vehicle)
•	Improper specialty lights (regardless of number, location and condition) including fog, 

passing, supplemental driving, spotlight, cowl, fender or any other auxiliary lights
•	Excessive rust or sharp edges on the vehicle body or bumper
•	Cracked or broken mirrors (as long as the motorist has adequate rearview vision)
•	Motorcycle helmets that do not have reflective tape or helmets that are not reflective

Inspection Exemptions
Inspections are not required for certain vehicles, such as historic and collector 
vehicles (N.J.S.A. 39:8-1).

•	Historic vehicles at least 25 years old, used only for exhibition/educational purposes 
or manufactured before 1945, require a special registration and a QQ plate displayed 
on the rear of the vehicle (N.J.S.A. 39:3-27.3, N.J.A.C. 13:20-34.2).

•	Collector vehicles display two standard license plates and have a triangular decal 
on the front left windshield that is valid for two years. The owner must provide 
proof of miles driven annually (3,000 miles or fewer) and special insurance 
(limited-use collector vehicle) and renew this status every two years or if the 
owner changes (N.J.A.C. 13:20-43.1, N.J.A.C. 13:20-43.2).

Auto Repair Facilities
When a vehicle is damaged in an accident and needs repair, a motorist should 
only consider repair facilities that are properly licensed to remove, rebuild or install 
integral component parts of an engine, power train, chassis or body of a vehicle 
damaged in a collision. Before choosing an auto body shop: 

•	Check out several shops.
•	Visit www.njmvc.gov for a list of licensed auto body repair shops or call (888) 

486-3339 toll-free in New Jersey or (609) 292-6500 from out of state
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•	Check for the equipment that the shop needs to properly repair your vehicle 
(frame machine, mig welder, paint room).

•	Ask if the shop is a member of the local Chamber of Commerce or a collision 
repair association (A motorist may want to call one of these groups to verify the 
shop’s reputation).

•	Ask about assistance with insurance claims. It is illegal for a shop to save a 
motorist the cost of the insurance deductible. Insurance fraud violators are 
subject to a penalty of not more than $5,000 for a first offense, $10,000 for a 
second offense and $15,000 for a third offense (N.J.S.A. 17:33A-5).

•	Request an estimate in writing before authorizing repairs. Also, obtain a written warranty 
on the work that will be done. The estimate should contain the agreed-upon payment 
terms and the repair completion date and if authorized equipment will be used.

Insurance
Motor vehicle liability insurance is mandatory in the State of New Jersey. Every vehicle 
registered in New Jersey must have liability insurance (N.J.S.A. 39:6B-1, 39:6B-2).

The type and cost of insurance coverage can vary. Check the Department of 
Banking and Insurance (DOBI) Web site at www.njdobi.org to review the many 
insurance coverage choices, or contact an insurance company.

A New Jersey Insurance Identification Card will be provided for each vehicle 
insured under a policy. This card must remain in the vehicle with the driver. It must 
be shown prior to inspection, when involved in an accident and when stopped by 
law enforcement for a traffic violation or roadside spot check.

Driving with an uninsured vehicle can result in fines, community service, license 
and registration suspension and insurance surcharges.

Insurance Fraud
The Office of Insurance Fraud Prosecutor (OIFP) in the Division of Criminal Justice 
aggressively investigates and prosecutes individuals who engage in insurance fraud. 
If a person commits insurance fraud by providing false information to an insurance 
company while making a claim or submitting an insurance application, the OIFP 
can file criminal charges that can result in incarceration. It may also impose civil 
fines up to $15,000 for each violation (N.J.S.A. 17:33A-5). In addition, a person 
convicted of insurance fraud could lose his/her driver license.

Because fraud increases the cost of insurance for all New Jerseyans, motorists 
can help the OIFP by reporting fraud. Visit www.njinsurancefraud.org and click 
on Report Fraud, or call (877) 55-FRAUD (877-553-7283). All tips are kept 
strictly anonymous and confidential.
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