
GU-11 (R7-15) 
 

P.O. Box 016 
Trenton, New Jersey 08666-0160 
609-292-6500 ext. 5076 

STATE OF NEW JERSEY 

 

 
 

    
     

    
 
                                          

                                   
    
    
            
 
 

      Eligibility Requirements: 
1. Applicant must be a New Jersey licensee with privileges in good standing. 

  
2. Applicant must be out of the tri-state area for an extended period. 

 
3. Applicant must have a New Jersey digital driver license. New Jersey digital driver license holders are 

eligible for a duplicate license or a one-time 4 year license renewal.  Pursuant to N.J.S.A. 39:3-10f, a stored 
photograph may only be re-used one time during license renewal.  If an applicant for license renewal re-used 
his or her photograph on the previous renewal, then the applicant is required by law to visit a local Motor 
Vehicle agency to renew his or her driver’s license. 
 

4. Applicant’s current New Jersey license is expired, about to expire or lost for less than three years. 
 

5. Applicant cannot have a Commercial Driver License class A, B, or C. 
 

6. Applicant must be a U.S. citizen and not have temporary visa status. 
Documents Requirements: 

1. A letter explaining why you are unable to visit a Motor Vehicle agency and when you plan to return to New 
Jersey. 
 

2. A completed driver license application (BA208 - NJ MVC "Application for Driver License" is not  
available on the web but can be obtained by contacting the MVC). 
 

3. A check or money order for the applicable amount (do not send cash). 
 
4. Six points of identification (certified or photo copies are preferred; please do not send originals).  Refer to 

enclosed brochure or visit our website at www.njmvc.gov. 
 

5. Proof of permanent address. Refer to enclosed brochure. 
 

6. Applicant’s out-of-state/country address.  Under no circumstances is the MVC allowed to mail to a New 
Jersey address. 

Fees: 
Duplicate Digital License - $11.00 
Renewal Auto (class D) Digital License - $24.00 (4-year renewal) 
Renewal Auto (class D), Boat Digital License - $42.00 
Renewal Auto (class D), Motorcycle Digital License - $42.00 
Renewal Auto (class D), Boat, Motorcycle (endorsement M) Digital License - $60.00 

 
To expedite the delivery of your transaction, you may provide a prepaid envelope. 
 

Mail Required Documentation To:  NJ Motor Vehicle Commission 
Government In-House Unit 
225 East State Street 
P.O. Box 016 

                     Trenton, New Jersey 08666-0016 

On the Road to Excellence 
Visit us at www.njmvc.gov  
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