
Special Plate Unit 
P.O. Box 015 

Trenton, New Jersey  08666-0015  
609-292-6500 ext. 5061

EMAIL:  NJMVCSPU@mvc.nj.gov  

PERSONALIZED LICENSE PLATE APPLICATION 
Please read the information sheet attached.  Application must be completed and signed by the VEHICLE OWNER. If you 
answered "Yes" to question 1, DO NOT APPLY.  Personalized plates may not be issued to you if you were convicted of one or 
more of those listed offenses within the last 10 years.  If you answered "Yes" to question 2, personalized plates can never be 
issued to you under Motor Vehicles law and/or regulation.  If you answered "Yes" to question 3, you may apply two years 
from the date your privilege was restored. 

Complete all sections of the application.  Type or print clearly.  Copy vehicle description exactly from the registration certificate. 
Show your choices in order of preference.  Show preferred spacing for each choice (ABC DEF, ABCDEF, A BCDEF, etc.)  The plate 
is limited to 7 spaces, with each character taking a full space (ABCDEFG).  If you have more than 4 choices, list the others on a 
separate sheet. Staple a photocopy of your current registration to this application and a check or money order for $50 payable to 
"NEW JERSEY MOTOR VEHICLE COMMISSION." DO NOT SEND CASH.  If the registration is due for renewal, have it 
renewed at a local Motor Vehicle Agency before mailing the application.  Mail application, with attachment, to the above listed 
address. 

1. Have you been convicted within the last 10 years of:
a.) R.S. 39:4-50 "driving while under the influence of alcohol or drugs" 

or while ability is "impaired" by alcohol or refusing to take a Breathalyzer test?  YES  NO 
b.) R.S. 39:4-96 "reckless driving"?  YES  NO 

2. Have you ever been convicted of:
a.) R.S. 2C:11-5 "death by vehicular homicide"?  YES  NO 

3. Has your New Jersey driving privilege been revoked or suspended
for any reason within the past two years?  YES  NO 

PLEASE CONSIDER YOUR CHOICE CAREFULLY. 
NO REFUNDS OR SUBSTITUTIONS ARE ALLOWED ONCE THE PLATES HAVE BEEN ORDERED FROM OUR VENDOR. 

I certify the statements made on this application are true. 

FALSIFICATION OR MISREPRESENTATION ON THE APPLICATION WILL RESULT IN FORFEITURE OF THE FEE AND 
MAY RESULT IN PROSECUTION.  THE FINE, UPON CONVICTION, IS NOT LESS THAN $200, OR YOU MAY BE 
IMPRISONED FOR NOT MORE THAN 6 MONTHS OR BOTH.  THE CHIEF ADMINISTRATOR MAY ALSO REVOKE THE 
REGISTRATION FOR NOT MORE THAN TWO YEARS. 
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PLATE 
CHOICES 

1st 2nd 3rd 4th 

REGISTRATION EXPIRES 
MONTH:                           YEAR: 

VEHICLE IDENTIFICATION NUMBER 

NAME OF REGISTERED OWNER 

(       

DRIVER LICENSE/(CORPCODE) 

STREET ADDRESS CITY STATE ZIP CODE 

YOUR BIRTH DATE 
DAY: 

SEX EYE COLOR CURRENT PLATE NUMBER 

SIGN HERE: DATE:

VEHICLE MAKE TYPE YEAR WEIGHT 
CLASS 

COLOR MODEL 

MONTH:  

HOME PHONE:  (     )  -  

YEAR: 

 CELL PHONE:  (      )   -    

 EMAIL ADDRESS: 

REACTIVATE

REISSUE

LPS

Customer requesting new plates? YES NO



Special Plate Unit 
P.O. Box 015 

Trenton, New Jersey  08666-0015  
609-292-6500 ext. 5061

EMAIL:  NJMVCSPU@mvc.nj.gov  

INFORMATION ABOUT PERSONALIZED LICENSE PLATES 

GENERAL INFORMATION 

Personalized license plates are available for the one-time fee of $50.00; which is in addition to the regular registration fee. Should the 
registration expire for a period of more than two years, an additional fee of $50.00 is necessary to reactivate use of the personalized 
license plates. 

The license plates will be issued to the registered owner as shown on the application. Personalized license plates may be reissued to a 
different name, but another $50.00 fee is required.  

Requests will be honored on a first-come, first-serve basis. Reservations are accepted only upon filing of an application and 
payment of the fee. No reservation will be accepted without payment. Application forms are available online at NJMVC.gov. 

LEASED VEHICLE WARNING 

All courtesy, personalized or special issue license plates are issued in the name of the registered owner of the vehicle. 

If you change leasing companies, purchase the leased vehicle from the company or purchase some other vehicle in your name, you will 
need to reapply and pay $4.50 for an updated registration or $15.50 for an updated registration and license plates remade.  

A lessee must get permission letter from the owner (the leasing company) of the vehicle before putting a special plate on the vehicle.  
The new vehicle will need to be registered with standard license plates. Please include a copy of the old and new lease 
agreements with your application.  

RESTRICTIONS 

Any combination of alphabetic characters or numbers, or both, that may carry connotations offensive to good taste and decency, will be 
rejected. Some license plate combinations have already been reserved for special vehicles or groups such as government agencies, 
automobile dealers, doctors and automobile collectors. These plates are not available as personalized plates.  

Personalized license plates may be issued to passenger vehicles, commercial codes 11 and 15 vehicles and motorcycles. Motorcycle 
plates are limited to five spaces.  

The law governing issuance of personalized license plates states that such plates may not be issued to any person who has been 
convicted of one or more of the following offences listed within the last 10 years:  

R.S. 39:4-50 “Driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs, or while ability is impaired by alcohol or refusing 
to take a breathalyzer test.”  

R.S. 39:4-96 “Reckless driving” 

The law forbids the issuance to any person who has been convicted of: 

R.S. 2C:11-5 “Death by vehicular homicide” 

No person whose driving privilege in New Jersey has been revoked or suspended “for any reason whatsoever, within the two year 
period preceding the date of application may be issued personalized or courtesy plates. Such persons may reapply two years after the 
privilege is restored”.  

COMBINATIONS YOU MAY SELECT 

Personalized license plate combinations are limited to a minimum of three letters and a maximum of seven characters (letters, or letters 
and numbers). No punctuation marks or symbols, such as the silhouette of New Jersey, can be used. The plate can accommodate 
seven characters or spaces and each character takes a full space. The same combination can be issued for more than one vehicle if 
owned or leased by the same person, provided no more than six spaces are used in the combination. The additional sets of plates will 
have a smaller dash number, -2,-3, etc., following the registration number (KEVIN-2, JOAN-3, etc.). A separate application and $50.00 
fee is required for each additional set. Combinations having three letters and the number 1 through 20 are “Courtesy plates” and the 
Senator of your election district must approve your request before it is submitted. The fee for a “Courtesy plate” is $30.00.  
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