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Payment plan
You are encouraged to make payment in full. If you are unable to 
do so, you may be eligible to initiate an installment payment plan. 
However, any judgements will remain outstanding until paid in 
full. To be enrolled in an installment payment plan (IPP), you must 
first remit the installment amount listed on the front of your billing 
notice by the due date. The remaining surcharge balance will be 
billed in monthly installments.

Change of address
Surcharge notices are mailed to the last address on record with 
the MVC. You must always maintain a current mailing address 
with the MVC. If you move, the law requires that you notify the 
Motor Vehicle Commission within seven days. Changing your 
address with the U.S. Postal Service does not change it with the 
MVC. You must contact the MVC directly.

On the web:  	www.njmvc.gov
By mail: 	 MVC Change of Address
	         	 P.O. Box 016
	          	 Trenton, NJ 08666-0016

You are responsible for all surcharges assessed to you in New 
Jersey. All surcharges for NJ offenses are your responsibility even 
if you are not presently living in New Jersey. Please remember that 
you must always keep your address current with the MVC.

Judgements
To satisfy judgement debt all payments must be made in certified 
funds (U.S. postal money order, attorney trust account check or 
certified bank check). All uncertified payments (personal check, 
credit card) will delay the filing of a Warrant of Satisfaction by 
two months.

Dishonored checks
For returned checks (insufficient funds), you will receive a notice 
about an indefinite suspension of your driving privileges including 
a notice for an additional penalty fee. That notice will have 
instructions about how to make further payments to avoid having 
your driving privileges suspended.

Billing questions
If you have any questions about your surcharges, please write to:

NJ Surcharge Violation Billing Office
P.O. Box 4775
Trenton, NJ 08650-4775

Please include a daytime phone number and your New Jersey 
driver license number. All surchargeable offenses are billed 
immediately when they are posted to your motor vehicle record. 
The Billing Office does not have the authority to reduce your 
surcharge assessment or change any court reported convictions.

Contact the billing office by phone

Toll-free | Telephone gratuitamente 
(888) 651-9999

Customer Service Representatives are available to take your calls 
from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday through Friday. This number is only 
for surcharge related questions.

The automated telephone system provides general surcharge 
information 24-hours-a-day, 7-days-a-week. 

You may find out:

•	 how much you owe
•	 when your last payment was made 

Credit card payment (MasterCard, VISA or Discover) is accepted. 

Please have your surcharge bill or driver license and your credit 
card ready when you call.  

More information

License suspension and restoration information |  
Oficina de suspención de licencia y informacion de restauración 
 
(609) 292-7500

ISS-50: R0912



New Jersey statute* requires collection of surcharges from 
motorists whose driving records include certain motor 
vehicle offenses. These surcharges are in addition to any 
court-imposed fines and penalties or any premiums that may 
be assessed by insurance companies.

Who is responsible? 
You are responsible for paying your surcharges even if you move 
out of New Jersey. The surcharge applies regardless of your 
current license, registration and/or insurance status. No driver 
will be exempt from surcharge obligations based on violations 
received while in New Jersey with an out-of-state license.

Do not ignore the notices. Having a driver license in another state 
does not mean that the surcharge doesn’t have to be paid. Even 
if you file for bankruptcy, you may still be responsible for your 
surcharges. 

When are they due?
The due date for surcharge payments is printed on the bill that 
you receive. If you fail to pay the surcharge in full, or to begin 
an installment payment plan (IPP) by that date, your driving 
privileges will be indefinitely suspended. You will also be charged 
an additional $100 fee that must be paid before you can have 
your driving privileges restored. An unpaid surcharge will lead to 
a Notice of Proposed Judgment and a Certificate of Debt may be 
filed in the New Jersey Superior Court to collect the full balance, 
plus the interest and the collection costs.

If you need to set up an installment payment plan (IPP) to pay your 
surcharges, please call (888) 651-9999.

If you are suspended for missing or late payments, your 
installment payment plan will be automatically canceled. You will 
have to apply for a new payment plan.

If you do not pay your surcharges, a judgement may be filed 
with the State Superior Court for non-payment of your debt. If a 
judgement occurs, additional fees for collection cost and interest 
is added to your principal amount.

What violations are subject to 
surcharges?

Alcohol and drug related offenses

These surcharges are billed each year for three 
years:

•	 In-state operating under the influence of liquor or drugs 
(DUI)

•	 Out-of-state DUI
•	 Refusal to submit to chemical test

The surcharge for operating under the influence or refusal, 
whether it occurs in New Jersey or another state, is $1,000 a year 
for three years for both a first and a second violation. 

A surcharge of $1,500 for three years is imposed for a third or 
subsequent violation that occurs within three years of the first 
violation. 

If you are convicted of both drunk driving and refusal resulting 
from the same arrest, you will only receive one surcharge.

Point violations
If you receive six or more points in a period of three years or less, 
you must pay a surcharge of $150 for the first six points and $25 
for each additional point.

Point reductions issued for one year of violation or suspension-
free driving, or for completion of a driver improvement school or 
defensive driving course, are not considered when reviewing the 
three year record for surcharge purposes.

Other actions subject to 
surcharges**
These surcharges are billed each year for three years:

Unlicensed driver $100 a year

No insurance –MOPED $100 a year

Driving while suspended, 
court or MVC reported $250 a year

No liability insurance on 
motor vehicle                                       $250 a year

How to pay your surcharges

On the web

Go to www.njsurcharge.com. You can pay by:

•	 MasterCard, VISA, Discover or e-Check

By telephone

Call (888)651-9999 (toll-free). You may pay by:

•	 MasterCard, VISA, Discover or e-Check

By mail

You must do all of the following:

•	 Send the bottom portion of your notice
•	 Write your NJ driver license number on your check or 

money order
•	 Mail to:

NJ SVS
P.O. Box 4850
Trenton, NJ 08650-4850

You may pay by: 

•	 Check
•	 Money order
•	 Western Union

Payments must be made payable to "NJ SVS"
DO NOT MAIL CASH

In person

You may only pay a surcharge to restore your driving privilege at 
select MVC facilities.

You can pay by:
•	 MasterCard, VISA or American Express
•	 Cash
•	 Check
•	 Money order

*(N.J.S.A. 17:29A-35) ** Regulation N.J.A.C. 13:19-13.1 et seq.


