State Seal New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission

Translate disclaimer

Mobile Homes, Motor Homes and Station Wagons


Mobile homes

A mobile home is a unit of housing that is built on a permanent chassis and is designed to be used, when connected to utilities, as a dwelling. In the State of New Jersey, a mobile home must be titled within 10 days of purchase or a penalty fee will apply.

The titling process for a mobile home is similar to titling a vehicle; however, mobile homes are exempt from registration and inspection. Under certain conditions, used mobile homes are also exempt from sales tax.

To acquire a title for a new or used mobile home visit a Motor Vehicle Agency with the following documents:

  • Acceptable proof of identification.
  • A properly completed, signed, original Manufacturer's Certificate of Origin (MCO) or title.
  • If the vehicle is financed, you must provide the address and Entity Identification Number (formerly corpcode) of the lien holder. The original title will be sent to the lien holder.
  • $60 fee or $85 fee for a financed vehicle.

Motor homes and station wagons

To register a motor home as a recreational passenger vehicle, you need to visit a Motor Vehicle Agency with the vehicle title and/or the Manufacturer's Certificate of Origin (MCO).

  • If more than one MCO was issued due to changes or additions to the original design of the vehicle, you can either bring both MCOs or the title and the additional MCO.

Complete an Application form BA-49 (found only at NJMVC agencies – complete on site).  You will need the following to complete this form:

  • Insurance company name and policy number.
  • Vehicle odometer reading.
  • Driver’s License (if you are unlicensed, you must provide 6 Points of ID and be at least 17 years old).

If you do not have a New Jersey title for this vehicle in your name, complete the sales tax information in the stamped section on your MCO and pay the registration fees, sales tax and $60 for title ($85 for title with a lien).

These vehicles will be registered at the highest passenger weight class for the vehicle.

Within 14 days of registration, you must have the vehicle inspected with your valid license, new registration and proof of insurance.

 

Related Links


6 point ID
How do I get my vehicle inspected?