Mailing Adedress:

PO Box 295
Trenton, NJ 08625-0295
Location:

50 West State Street

b%iain of :Xcm 3]1:1‘51:1_1 Trenton, New Jersey
DEPARTMENT OF THE TREASURY BRADLEY [. ABELOW
DIVISION OF PENSIONS AND BENEFITS State Treasurer

(609) 292-7524 TDD (609) 292-7718

JO‘\ S ) CORLI:\ E www.state. I‘]j . LlSJ’J[ I'L‘ﬂSLlI"\’J’JpL"I‘]Si("}l'lS

FREDERICK ]. BEAVER

Crovernor Director
April 17, 2007
TO: Certifying Officers of the Police and Firemen’s Retirement System
(PFRS)
FROM: Janice F. Nelson e~ 770&@“

Assistant Director,(Board and Trustee Administration

SUBJECT: Chapter 381, P.L. 2005 — Mandatory Retirement Under the
Police and Firemen’s Retirement System (PFRS)

Chapter 381, P.L. 2005, permits an extension of the Police and Firemen's
Retirement System’s (PFRS) mandatory retirement age for certain New Jersey
police officers and firefighters.

This law became effective January 12, 2006, and is being discussed in this letter
as a result of the receipt of a clarification of several administrative details from
the Office of the New Jersey Attorney General.

ELIGIBILITY

Chapter 381 allows a member who was hired to a PFRS eligible position
between July 11, 1984 and March 1, 1987* as a result of the federal
prohibition against the enforcement of the PFRS maximum enrollment age,
to remain a member of the PFRS until the member attains either age 68 years or
25 years of creditable service, whichever comes first.

The legislation does not apply to any individual who may have been over the age
of 35 as of the date of hire or their enroliment in the Public Employees’
Retirement System (PERS) and who thereafter elected to transfer to the PFRS
under the provisions of Chapter 247, P.L. 1993, or Chapter 204, P.L. 1989.

BACKGROUND

For a brief period in the 1980's, federal law prohibited states from imposing a
maximum enrollment age or a mandatory retirement requirement based on age.
The federal law was amended in 1986 to again permit such requirements.

*Although the Age Discrimination and Employment Act (ADEA) was amended October 31, 1986
and became effective January 1, 1987, therefore requiring New Jersey to enforce its maximum
hiring age of 35 for police and firefighters, pursuant to advice from the Attorney General's office the
entry age restrictions in the PFRS were not reinstated by the Division until March 1, 1987.
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At that time the PFRS reinstated New Jersey's mandatory police officer and
firefighter maximum enroliment age (age 35) and mandatory retirement age (age
65).

One consequence of the reinstatement of the mandatory retirement age was that
police officers and firefighters hired when the maximum appointment age was
suspended are today being required to retire due to age without the ability to
qualify for certain retirement benefits offered under the PFRS (e.g. Special
Retirement at 25 years of service). Chapter 381 provides a limited window of
opportunity for those PFRS members to remain in employment in order to qualify
for these benefits upon retirement.

ADMINISTRATION

Most members of the PFRS remain subject to mandatory retirement at age 65.
While the Division of Pensions and Benefits is attempting to identify those
individuals who could qualify to remain in the PFRS under the provisions of
Chapter 381, individuals approaching age 65 who will have not established 25
years of service in the PFRS as of the date they attain the age 65, and who
believe they may be eligible to remain in employment under the provisions of
Chapter 381 should contact the Division of Pensions and Benefits for a
determination.

Because the legislation specifies that the extension of retirement is based upon
the “date of hire” to the PFRS eligible position, rather than the member’s date of
enrollment into the retirement system, proof of a member’s date of hire may be
required from the PFRS employer before a final determination of eligibility can be
made.

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION
If you have additional questions regarding Chapter 381, or any of the information

provided in this letter, contact the Division’s Office of Client Services at (609)
292-7524, or e-mail the Division at: pensions.nj@treas.nj.us



