
CHAPTER IV

TAX DEDUCTIONS AND EXEMPTIONS

401. Constitutional and Statutory Authority

401.1 Tax deductions and exemptions are granted only by provision of the New Jersey
Constitution or by general law. At present, deductions and exemptions granted by
constitutional provision concern property of war veterans and their surviving spouses;
senior citizens, disabled persons and their surviving spouses; property of urban

renewal corporations and property in blighted areas needing rehabilitation. Other

exemptions are granted by general law and except for those exemptions granted prior

to 1947 to non-profit religious, educational, charitable, and cemetery organizations,

may be altered or repealed at any time by the State Legislature.

REFERENCES:
N.J. Consit fiq,, Are. VIII, Sec. 1, Par. 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 & Sec. 3, Par. 1
N.J.S.A. 54:4-3.6; 64:4-3.9; 54:4-3.30; 64:4-8.10; 64:4-8.40
N.J.S.A. 644-4.4
N.J.S.A. 8A:1-1 e aeq.

402. Deduction - Senior Citizens, Disabled Persons, Surviving Spouses

402.1 The New Jersey Constitution authorizes an annual deduction from the real property
taxes on a dweffing house owned and occupied by a person, 65 years of age or older
or permanently and totally disabled; or the qualified surviving spouse of a senior

citizen or disabled person; whçre annual income is $10,000 or less after permitted

exclusions. General laws have been enacted to implement this constitutional
provision, and regulations issued by the Director of the Division of Taxation..

REFERENCES:
N.J. Constitution, Art. VIII, Sec. 1, Par. 4
N.J.S.A. 54:4-8.40 et seq.
N.J.A.C. 18:14-1.1. et seq.
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402.2 Eligibility. To qualify for the annual $250 real property tax deduction, a claimant

must meet requirements of citizenship, property ownership, residency, income, timely

application, and age or disability or widowhoodlwidowerhood as follows:

402.21 Citizenship. An applicant for the real property tax deduction must be a

citizen ofNew Jersey as of October 1 of the pretax year, i.e., the year prior

to the tax year for which the deduction is requested. Per a ruling of the

Attorney General’s office this does jmean United States citizenship. If

all other requirements are met, the assessor or collector shoufd assume the

applicant is a citizen ofNew Jersey.

REFERENCES:
N.J.S.A. 54:4-8.41 & 8.44
N.J.A.C. 18:14-1.1 & 2.6
A. G. Oini€ 1961-N0. 34

402.22 Property Ownership. A real property tax deduction applicant must own

the dwelling for which the deduction is claimed on October 1 of the pretax

year. Proofof legal title may be required of the applicant.

Considered as qualifying ownership are: Executory contract for the

purchase ofproperty; a dwelling owned by a deduction claimant and

assessed as real property, but situate on land owned by another; shares

held by residents of co-operative or mutual housing associations per a

1988 voter-approved referendum; property owned by a partnership of

which a deduction claimrit is a member on his interest; property held by a

guardian, trustee, committee, conservator, or other fiduciary for a

deduction clamant an interest arising from a will or the intestate laws of

this State where the deduction’claimarit has legal title to such property,

whether individually, jointly or as a life tenant and finally a life

estate, life rights or life tenancy in a dwelling. -

402.221 Partial or Multi-Ownership and Prorated Deductions. Where

title to a dwelling is shared by a claimant with other owners, he is

eligible for the real property tax deduction on his share of the real
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estate tax bill. Unless some other situation is shown to exist, each

owner is assumed to hold an equal ownership interest in the

property. Regardless of the number of claimant-owners, the total

deduction on such dwelling may not be more than $250 for 1983

and thereafter. Per N.J.S.A. 54:4-8.46 “Where title to

property...is held by claimant and another or others. ..claimant

shall not be allowed a deduction in an amount in excess of his

proportionate share of the taxes assessed against said property...”

See also Section 402.29 on Aggregate Deduction.

Example: 2 owners

1 Senior Citizen $125.00

1 Disabled Person +$ 125.00

Deduction $250.00

Example: 3 owners

1 Senior Citizen $ 83.33

1 Disabled Person $83.33

1 Surviving Spouse ±$ 83.33

Deduction $249.99

Example: 4 owners

4SeniorCitizens $62.50

or Disabled $ 62.50

Persons or $62.50

Surviving Spouses +5 62.50

Deduction $250.00

Example: 1 Senior Citizen w/75% ownership $187.50

1 Senior Citizen w/25% ownership +$62.50

Deduction $250.00
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Example: Total annual taxes - $800.00

4 property owners w/equal ownership interest where

only one owner is deduction claimant.

$800 ÷ 4 $200 deduction, amount restricted by

proportionate tax payment

402.222 Ineligible Ownership. A real property tax deduction is.

permitted on a dwelling in which the claimant has only an estate

- for a term ofyears, a leasehold interest or an interest of any other

nature less than an estate in fee. Property owned by a corporation

is entitled to a deduction.

REFERENCES:
N.J.S.A. 64:4-8.44 & 8.46
N.J.A.C. 18:14-1.1, 18:14-2.8; 18:14-3.2 & 3.3
Wairen v. Jackaon Twp., 1 N.J. T4 536 (1980)
We8tJere Grove Carnp A80.v. City of Vineland. 80 NJ.Super 361, 193
A.2J 785 (A.D. 1963)
GuiJeliue for Implementation 0f Ck&pter 129, P.L. 1976. pp. 9 & 10

402.23 Residence. A senior citizen, disabled, or widowedlwidowered (surviving

spouse) real property tax deduction applicant must meet two residence

requirements as of October 1 of the pretax year. A third condition of

residency is required of a surviving spouse deduction applicant.

(1) Residence in New Jersey. A real property tax deduction

claimant must have been domiciled in New Jersey for at least one year

immediately preceding October 1 of the pretax year. An applicant

need nct have resided in the same dwelling for which the deduction is

claimed, nor in the same municipality or county during that time, as

long as he was domiciled in this State for one year immediately prior

to pretax year October 1.

Example: State residence begins June 1, 1996. Residence in

claimed dwelling October 1, 1997 pretax year equals

deduction for tax year 1998.
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Examr’le: State residence beans November 1, 1996. Residence in

claimed dwelling October 1, 1997 equals ineligible for

deduction 1998. Residence in claimed dwelling

October 1, 1998 pretax year equals deduction for tax

year 1999.

Seasonal or temporary residence, regardless of duration, does not

constitute domicile for purposes of this deduction. Absence from

this State for 12 months is considered prima facie evidence of

abandonment of domicile.

Domicile Defined. A domicile is any place you regard as your permanent
home - the place to which you intend to return after a period of absence (as
on vacation abroad, business assignment, educational leave, etc.). A
person has only one domicile, although he may have more than one place
to live. Once established, your domicile continues until you move to a
new location with the intent to make it your permanent home and to
abandon your New Jersey domicile. Moving to a new location, even for a
long time, does not change your domicile if you intend to return to New
Jersey. Some proofs of domicile are New Jersey voter registration, New
Jersey motor vehicle registration and driver’s license, resident tax return
filing.

(2) Residence in the Dwelling House. A real property tax deduction

applicant must reside in the dwelling for which the deduction is

claimed on October 1 of the pretax year. “Dwelling house” means the

dwelling where the claimpnt makes his principal and permanent home.

For example, where an apartment is the claimpnt’s principal place of

residence and a cottage or bungalow is occupied during vacations, the

vacation residence is not eligible for a deduction.

(3) Residence as a Surviving Spouse. A surviving spouse of a deceased

senior citizen or disabled person real property tax deduction recipient

must reside in the same dwelling for which the deduction was

originally granted, and the survivor’s property tax deduction may apply

only to that dwelling.

(4) Partial Occupancy. Where a claimant owns property but resides in

or occupies only a portion of it, the real property tax deduction is
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applied to the taxes due from. that portion of the property occupied as

the dwelling.

(5) Residences of Husband and Wife. A claimant may receive only one

real property tax deduction on the dwelling owned and used as the

principal place of residence. A husband and wife, both meeting all

eligibility requirements, even if they own more than one property, are

granted only one deduction for their principal residence.

REFERENCES:
N.J.S.A. 54:4-8.40, 841a, 844 & 8.46
N.3A.C. 18:14-1.1, 18:14-2.2, 2.3 & 2.7

402.24 Income. A real property tax deduction applicant must establish that his

anticipated income from all sources for the tax year for which the

deduction is claimed will not exceed $10,000 añer excluding income

under ONE ofthe following three income categories:

(1) The Federal Social Security Act and all its amendments and

supplements; or

(2) Any other Federal government program or Federal law which

provides benefits in whole or in part in lieu of Social Security benefits

or for persons excluded from Social Security coverage, including but

not limited to the Federal Railroad Relirement Act and Federal

pension, disability and retirement programs; or

(3) Pension, disability or retirement programs of any state or its political

subdivisions or agencies, for persons not covered under (1) Social

Security, provided that the total benefit excludable under (2) or (3) is

not in excess of the maximum benefit excludable in similar

circumstances under (1) Social Security.

402.241 “Income” Defined: Income includes but is not limited to:

salaries, wages, bonuses, commissions, tips, and other

compensations before payroll deductions, all dividends,

interest, *rea1id capital gains, royalties, income from
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rents, business income and, in their entirety, pension, annuity and

retirement benefits. Dividends, interest, *1jd capital gains,

pensions, annuities and retirement benefits must be included in

full, without deductions, even though they may be wholly or

partially exempt for Federal income tax purposes.

*Reajjzed capital gain from the sale or exchange of real property

owned and used by a claimant as his principal residence, and on

which he received a senior citizen, disabled person or surviving

spouse property tax deduction is n to be included asincome

when calculating the $10,000 income limit

“Business Income” means gross income derived from a business,

trade, profession or from the rental of property after deductions of

the ordinary and necessary expenses of the business, trade,

profession or property rental as allowed under the Federal Internal

Revenue Code and regulations.

“Disability Income” is excludable by law when calculating

deduction income limits for benefits received under a Federal, state

or political subdivision program to the extent of the maximum

benefits available under the Federal Social Security Act Any

other disability income than that received under a Federal, state or

political subdivision program is to be evaluated based on its proper

treatment for Federal income tax purposes.

“Marital and Family Income” Where both husband and wife are

entitled to Social Security benefits, government retirement

pensions or government disability pensions, each is permitted their

own exclusion from 2I of the categories of excludable income

subject to the maximum limitations provided by law. Income

received by a real property tax deduction claimant and spouse is

combined in establishing eligibility for the deduction unless they

are living apart in a state of separation whether under judicial

decree or otherwise. “State of separation” means a permanent
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and indefinite period of separation and does not include

temporary periods of separation such as separate vacations,

business trips, hospitali7.ations, etc.

In determining a clinnt’s income, family members’ incomes,

other than a spouse, are not to be combined with the income of the

claimant.

“Federal Internal Revenue Code Income Definition

Applicable.” Except as otherwise indicated, the definition of

income under Federal Internal Revenue Code and regilations

is the basis for computing income levels for purposes of

determining deduction entitlement.

“Income Guidelines” Guidelines to aid in determining income

eligibility are issued annually by the Division of Taxation,

Property Administration. (See Exhibit 1V-l).

REFERENCES
N.J. Constitution, Art. V1II Sec. 1 4
N.J.S.A. 54:4-8.40 (a), 8.41 & 8.44
N.J.A.C. 18:14-1.1
Guidelme8 for Implexnentation of Cbapter 129, Law8 of 1976, p. 2

L0al Property anJ P1Iic UtIty News, Septemler-Ociol,er, 1977, p. 1

402.25 Timely Application - No Retroactive C121ms; Personal Deduction.

Claim2nts must apply for the deduction on Form PTD,”Claim for Real

Property Tax Deduction on Dwelling House of Qualified New Jersey

Resident Senior Citizen, Disabled Person or Surviving Spouse” supplied

by each municipality. Forms may be filed with the assessor from

October 1 through December31 of the pretax year, i.e., the year prior to

the calendar tax year or with the tax collector from January 1 through

December31 of the calendar tax year. For example, for a property tax

deduction claimed for tax year 1998, the pretax year filing period would

be October 1 - December 31, 1997 with the assessor. The tax year filing

period would be January 1 - December 31, 1998 with the collector.
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NOTE: No application for a previous tax year is to be permitted by the

assessor, tax collector or governing body.

An executor, administrator etc. may nt apply for deduction on behalf of a

decedent who died without having filed PTh application since this

deduction is deemed to be a personal one. See also Section 402.30 on

Application Procedures.

REFERENCES:
NJ.S.A. 64:4-8.42, 8.43 & 8.47
N.J.A.C. 18:14-2.1. 81:14-3.1

402.26 Age. Age requirements for the real property tax deduction differ among

Senior Citizens, Disabled Persons and Surviving Spouses.

(1) Senior Citizen. A senior citizen must be 65 or more years of age as of

December 31 of the pretax year. Proof of age should be attached to

the application in the form of an original or photocopy of a birth

&rtiflcate, baptismal record, family bible page, official census record,

marriage certificate, court record, social security record, military

discharge or other record, immigration document, insurance policy, or

some similar record. Where photocopying of an original immigration

document is not permitted, the assessor or collector should abstract the

appropriate information and attach the abstract to the application.

(2) Disabled Person. There is no age requirement to be met by a disabled

person.

(3) Surviving Spouse. A surviving spouse must be at least 55 years of age

on or before December 31 of the pretax year and had to have been at

least age 55 at the time of death ofthe deceased spouse. Proof of age

or date ofbirth should be documented with an original or photocopy of

a birth, baptismal or marriage certificate, or any other similar official

record. -

REFERENCES:
N.J.SA. 64:4-8.41, 8.41a & 8.44
N.J.A.C. 18:14-2.2, 18:14-2.3 & 29
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402.27 Permanent and Total Disability. “Permanently and totally disabled”

means total and permanent inability to engage in any substantial gainful

activity by reason of any medically determinable physical or mental

impairment, including blindness as of December31 of the pretax year.

“Blindness” means central visual acuity of 20/200 or less in the better eye

with the use of a correcting lens. An eye having limited field of vision

such that the widest diameter of the visual field subtends an angle no

greater than 20 degrees is considered as having a central visual acuity of

20/200 or less.

Acceptable proofs to be retained with the application are: physician’s

certificate; various Social Security Award Certificates, in addition to

Social Security Award Form SSA-30, or Report of Confidential Social

Security Benefits Information Form No. SS-2458 and Social Security

Third Party Query Response Form TPQY, provided they verify permanent

and total disability in accordance with the Federal Social Security Act and

clearly indicate the individual is, in fact, awarded such benefits based on

disability; a certificate from the New Jersey Commission for the Blind

verifying blindness.

REFERENCES:
N.J.S.A. 64:4-8.40(h), 8.41 & 8.44
N.J.A.C. 18:14-1.1 18:14-2.4
Guidelines for Imp1emeziafiou of C1ia,ter 129, P.L. 1976, pp. 5, 8
Local Proper*y and PuMic Ut1ii7News, May-June, 1977

402.28 Surviving Spouse. A surviving spouse is the unremarried widowed or

widowered partner of a marriage, who was at least 55 years of age as of

December 31 of the pretax year and at time of the deceased spouse’s death,

where the decedent spouse during his or her life received either a senior

citizen or disabled person’s real property tax deduction. A qualified

surviving spouse is eligible for a deduction on the same dwelling for

which the deceased spouse received a property tax deduction.
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Proofs on file should include a copy of a death certificate of the decedent

spouse, documentation of survivor’s age.

REFERENCES:
NJ.S.A. 64:4-8.41a
N.J.A.C.. 18:14-1.1, 18:14-2.3, 18:14-2.5
Guidelinee F0 ImDIemeufation of Ckaier 129, P.L. 1976, pp. 6, 7, 8

402.29 Aggregate Real Property Tax Deduction Limited.. By law, the

aggregate real property tax deduction from taxes levied on a dwelling may

not be more than $250 for 1983 and thereafter. Statute does iIót preclude

more than one oer - claimant, whether title is held as tenancy in

common or joint tenancy, from requesting the deduction, but no more than

one full real property tax deduction per property is allowed in any year.

An individual senior/disabledlwidow(er) deduction claimant who also

qualifies as a veteran deduction claimant is entitled to both the $250 real

property tax deduction and the $50 veteran’s property tax deduction.

Where title to a dwelling house is held by both a real property tax

deduction claimant as a senior citizen, disabled person, or surviving

spouse and by a veteran property tax deduction claimant or his surviving

spouse either as tenants by the entirety, joint tenants or as tenants in

common, the $250 property tax deduction claimant and the $50 veteran

property tax deduction claimant are each entitled to their applicable

deduction, even lithe aggregate amount exceeds $250, provided that it

does not exceed each claimant’s proportionate share of the total taxes

assessed against the property.

Examples:

I owner 2 owners

$250 Senior Citizen Deduction $125 Senior Citizen Deduction

+50 Veteran Deduction 125 Senior Citizen Deduction

$300 Aggregate Amount ±.Veteran Deduction

$300 Aggregate Amount
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2 or 3 owners

$250 Senior Citizen Deduction

50 Veteran Deduction

jQ Veteran Deduction

$350 Aggregate Amount V

In addition, a recipient of a real property tax deduction may also receive

any homestead rebate or credit provided by law.

REFERENCES:
N. 3. Congtifnfion, Art. VIII, Sec. 1, Par. 4
N.3.S.A. 54:4-8.41 & 846
N..J.A.C. 18:14-2.11, 18:14-3.6
Moe Rose v B0o. of HilalanJ Park, Di’rijjion of Tax Appeals, 1965
D. A. G. ltr. JtJ. 5/3172 to Ckif Clerk, Carndeu County Tax Board
Guidelines For Implementation of Ckapter 129, P.L. 1976, p. 14

402.30 Applying for Real Property Tax Deduction.

402.301 Application Claim Forms Used. Real property tax

deduction claim forms for senior citizens, permanently and

totally disabled persons and their surviving spouses

currently in use are:

Form PTh (May 1996) “Claim for Real Property Tax

Deduction on Dwelling House of Qualified New Jersey

Resident Senior Citizen, Disabled Person or Surviving

Spouse”. (See Exhibit IV-2.)

Form PD 4 (September, 1986) “Notice ofDisallowance of

Claim For a Tax Deduction”. (See Exhibit IV-3.)

Form PD 5 (April 1996) “Annual Post Tax Year Income

Statement of Qualified New Jersey Resident Senior Citizen,

Disabled Person, or Surviving Spouse Required to

Continue Receipt of Real Property Tax Deduction on

Dwelling House”. (See Exhibit IV-.4.)

402.302 Municipality Supplies Claim Forms; Reproducible;

Cost State Reimbursed. Each taxing district is required to
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provide application forms for the use of claimants.

However, pursuant to P.L. 1997, c.30, the State will

annually reimburse each district an additional 2% over the

cost of the actual deductions to offset administrative

expenses. The forms are promulgated by the Director,

Division of Taxation and may be reproduced for

distribution, but may not be altered without prior approval.

REFERENCES:
N.J.S.A. 54:4-8.42
N.J.A.C. 18:14-2.1
Guideliue9For Implementation of Ckapter 129, P.L. 1976, p.6

402.303 Filing Claim Forms; Under Oath. Claimants applying

for the real property tax deduction for the first time must

file “Claim for Real Property Tax Deduction on Dwelling

House of Qualified New Jersey Resident Senior Citizen,

Disabled Person, or Surviving Spouse,” Form PTD, with

the assessor on or after October 1 and not later than

December 31 ofthe pretax year or with the tax collector

between January 1 and December 31 of the calendar tax

year. After approval of initial application, claimants must

timely submit “Annual Post-Tax Year Income Statement of

Qualified New Jersey Resident Senior Citizen, Disabled

Person or Surviving Spouse”, Forms PD5, by March 1

every year thereafter to retain the deduction. Assessors and

tax collectors and their assistants are authorized to

administer the oath which may be required of applicants but

no charge may be made for this. All declarations of
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deduction claimants are considered as if made under oath

and subject to penalties for perjury if falsified.

REFERENCES
N.J.S.A. 54:4-8.43, 54:4-8.47 & 8.48

N.J.A.C. 18:14-2.1 & 2.2
Guidelinee For Implemena.fion of Ck&per 129, P.L. 1976, p.S

402.304 Accepting Claim Forms. All applications for real

property tax deduction should be accepted, if filed within

the prescribed time periods, whether or not the àlimant

appears qualified. This allows a claimant to file an appeal

ifhe feels his application is denied incorrectly.

402.305 Processing Claim Forms.

By Assessors. Assessors should maintain complete files of

all approved and disapproved PTD applications and their

supporting documents, and note approved claims in the

records. Supporting documents rernin the property of each

assessor’s office. Tax collectors should note contingent tax

liabilities for each claimant’s deduction amount should it

later be disallowed based on excess income, change of

ownership or residence or failure to meet any other

prerequisites.

By Collectors. Where a PTD application is filed with and

a deduction allowed by the tax collector, he is to determine

the amount of the claimant’s tax reduction and offset the

amount against the tax then unpaid. The tax collector

should transmit the application, together with all

attachments or photocopies, to the assessor. The assessor is

then to review the application and, if approved by him, it

will have the same force as if originally filed with him.

REFERENCES:
N.J.S.A. 64:4-8.43
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402.31 Continuing Deduction. A real property tax deduction, once granted,

continues in force from year to year without further applications as long as

a recipient remin eligible. Each assessor may, at any time, inquire into

a recipient’s right to continue the deduction and require a new application

or such proof as he considers necessary to determine continued

entitlement. Also, every deduction recipient, by law, is to inform the

assessor of any change which might affect his ongoing entitlement to the

deduction.

However, every year afcer initial application is approved, a deduction

recipient must file with the tax collector by March 1 an Annual Post-Tax

Year Income Statement, PD5, verifying his income for the preceding tax

year did not exceed the maximum allowed and that the income he

anticipates for the ensuing tax year will not exceed it. Each collector may

require such proof as he considers necessary to verify the statement.

REFERENCES:
N.J.S.A. 54:4-8.42 54:4-8.44a, 54:4-8.45

N.J.A.C. 18:14-2.1(c) & 2.10

402.32 Post-Tax Year Income Statement Required. On or before March 1 of

the post-tax year, that is, the year following the calendar tax year, a

deduction recipient must file with the tax collector, Form PD5, a

statement of his income for the tax year. If the statement is not timely

filed or satisfactorily documented or if the income exceeds the permitted

maximum, deduction must be disallowed. The deduction amount

previously granted would then be payable by its recipient to the taxing

district by June 1 of the post-tax year. If not paid by that date, the taxes

become delinquent, a lien on the property and a personal debt of the

homeowner.

402.33 Post-Tax Year Income Statement Filing Deadline Extended. Where

a tax collector is satisfied that failure to file an income statement by
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March 1 was due to a e1aimants illness or medical problem, he may grant

a filing extension to no later than May I of the post-tax year. The

claimant must provide the collector with a physician’s statement that the

claitmmt was physically incapacitated and unable to file by the original

March 1 filing deadline. If the real property tax deduction is then

disallowed for untimeliness, income etc. taxes in an amount equal to the

deduction must be paid on or before June 1 or where fling extension to

May 1 was granted no later than 30 calendar days after the Notice of

Disallowance was mailed. If unpaid, the taxes become delincjuent, a lien

on the property and a personal debt.

REFERENCES:
N.J.S.A. 54:4-8.44a
N.3.A.C. 18:14-2.10
GuiJelines for Imp1emenaion of C1zapter [20, P.L. 1976. p. 10

402.34 Disallowing Claim Forms. If application for real property tax deduction

is disapproved, a Notice of Disallowance, Form PD 4, must be sent to the

claimant by regular mail giving the reason or reasons for denial and

advising the clainiant of his right to appeal to the County Board of

Taxation on or before April 1.

(1) Application Denied By Assessor.

Where an initial application for property tax deduction, Form PTD, is

denied by the assessor, he must forward a Notice of Disallowance,

Form PD 4, to the claimant on or before June 1 of the tax year.

(2) Application Denied By Collector.

Where an initial application for property tax deduction, Form PTD, is

denied by the tax collector, he must forward a Notice of Disallowance,

Form PD 4, to the claimant within 30 days of receipt of the

application.

(3) Application Denied By Collector Per Post-Tax Year Statement.

Where the deduction is denied by the tax collector because the

claimant failed to timely file the post-tax year income statement or
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because c1mnits annual income exceeded/will exceed the $10,000

limit, he must forward a Notice of Disallowance, Form PD 4, to the

claimant on or before April 1 of the post-tax year or, where filing

extension to May 1 has been granted, not later than June 1 post-tax

year.

REFERENCES:
N.3.S.A. &4:4-8.44a
NJ.A.C. 18:14-3.10
GuiJeitnea For Implementafion of Ckayer 129. P.L. 1976, pp. 17, 18

40235 Change in Ownership or Residence; Tax Liabffity Proration, Lien.

Where a real property tax deduction recipient transfers ownership, sells or

ceases to occupy his dwelling as his principal residence during the tax

year, a post-tax year income statement must be filed to verify deduction

entitlement for that portion of the tax year prior to the sale, transfer or

change in residence. Any tax liability is to be prorated by the tax collector

based on the number of days during the tax year that entitlement to the

property tax deduction ceased.

For example: Qualified property tax deduction recipient sells the claimed

dwelling house on May 3 of the tax year. Annual property taxes are

$3,650. Proration of the $250 deduction is calculated as:

(May 4 to December 31)
242 days ofnonownership

365 days
x $250 equals $165.75

$165.75 Deduction to be repaid to municipality

$ 84.25 Prorated Deduction amount allowed

Failure to timely file or document the income statement or if income

exceeded the allowable annual $10,000 maximum, the fall property tax

deduction for that tax year is to be denied and taxes in an amount equal

to said deduction must be paid on or before June 1 of the posttax year

where flhing extension has been granted no later than 30 calendar days
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after the Notice of Disallowance was mailed. if unpaid, the taxes become

delinquent, a lien on the property and a personal debt.

REFERENCES:
N.J.S.A. 54:4-8.44a -

N.J.A.C. 18:14-3.9
Guidelines For Implementation of Ck&pter 129, P.L. 1976, p.’6

402.4 Death of a Property Tax Deduction Claimant/Recipient The Director of the

Division of Taxation has promulgated the following guidelines:

(1) Where a qualified claimant applies for property tax deduction during’ October 1 -

December 31 of the pretax year and dies prior to January 1 of the ensuing tax

year, the deduction for such tax year should be disallowed.

(2) Where aqiialified claimant applies for a deduction between October 1 -

December 31 of the pretax year and dies on January 1 of the tax year or thereafter,

the deduction for such tax year should be allowed. There is no need for proration

nor filing ofPost-Tax Year Income Statement, except as noted below.

(3) Where a qualified claimant applies for deduction during the tax year, is granted

deduction, and dies during that tax year, there is no need for proration nor filing

of Post-Tax Year Income Statement, except as noted below.

(4) Where an established qualified claimant who has been receiving deductions dies

after December 31 ofthe pretax year (i.e. during tax year or thereafter) and prior

to filing a Post-Tax Year Income Statement, the deduction should be allowed for

the tax year if all prerequisites have been met-as of October 1 of the pretax year.

There is no need for proration and no Post-Tax Year Income Statement need be

filed, except as noted below.

(5) Where a qualified claimant dies alter filing a Post-Tax Year Income Statement,

there is no need for proration and no Post-Tax Year Income Statement need be

filed during the year following such tax year, except as noted below.

EXCEPTION: If the surviving spouse, heirs-at-law, successors, or assigns of the

deceased deduction recipient sell or transfer title to the dwelling house during the

tax year of recipient’s death, the deduction ceases as of the sale or transfer date

and the tax collector should prorate the deduction based on the number of days
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remining in the tax year following the date of sale or transfer. The prorated
amount constitutes a lien against the dwelling.

REFERENCES:
NJ.A.C. 18:14-3.7
Guidelines For Imp1ementaion Of CLa6er 129. PLw. 1976, p. 15Direcor’s Lr. o Assessor’s, s, Couiiy Tax Commissioaer’s11-19-1974

402.5 Appeals. An aggrieved c1Mmnt may appeal the denial of a real property tax
deduction in. the same maniier as appeals from assessments generally. If.a claimant’s
deduction is disallowed by an assessor or collector at a date too late to permit the
filing of an appeal with the county board of taxation on or before April 1 of the
current year, then, the claimant would be entitled to appeal at any time before April 1
of the succeeding year. If the appeal is filed in time to permit it to be calendared and
heard by the county tax board during the year immediately following the year to
which the appeal relates, the board may hear and decide the appeal for that tax year.
The appeal should indicate the nature and location of the property, the reasons for
complaint and the relief sought.

REFERENCES:
N.J.S.A. 54:4-8.49
N.J.A.C. 18:14-3.11
Guidelines For Implemeutaion of Chapter 129, P.L. 1976, p. 18

402.6 Tax Deduction Applied To Added and Omitted Assessments

402.61 Added Assessments. A real property tax deduction may be applied to an
added assessment levied on a dwelling house where all deduction
prerequisites, including having legal title to the improved property as of
pretax year October 1, have been met and the aggregate amount of the
deduction claimed against the total taxes on the entire property does not
exceed $250 for 1983 and thereafter. The amount of deduction is
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subtiacted from the amount of taxes on the Added Assessment List after
apportioning the assessment as provided by law.

REFERENCES:
N.JA.C. 18:14-3.4
GuiJelinea for Implementation of Chapter 129, P.L. 1976, p. 13

402.62 Omitted Assessments. A real property tax deduction may also be
applied to an omitted assessment levied on a dwelling house where all
deduction requirements have been met. Only one deduction may be
received on the dwelling which constitutes the principal residence. The
deduction may n be divided between two or mare residences.

REFERENCES:
N.J.A.C. 18:14-3.5

403. Deduction - Veterans, Veterans’ and Servicepersons’ Surviving
Spouses

403.1 New Jersey’s Constitution provides for a deduction of up to $50 from taxes levied on
real and personal property owned by: qualified war veterans, their surviving spouses,
and the surviving spouses of servicepersons who served in time ofwar and died on
active duty. General laws have been enacted to implement the constitutional
provisions.

REFERENCES:
N. J. Constitution, A1.VIII, Sec. 1, 3
N.J.S.A. 54:4-8.10 e seq.

403.2 Eligibility. To qualify for the $50 veteran’s property tax deduction, a claimant must
meet requirements of citizenship, residency, active wartime service in United States
Armed Forces, honorable discharge, real or personal property ownership, timely
application, and surviving spouse where warranted as follows:
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403.21 Citizenship. The veteran applicant must be a citizen ofNew Jersey as of
October 1 of the pretax year, i.e., the year prior to the tax year for which
deduction is requested. The Constitutional and statutory language
requiring a veteran and a veteran’s surviving spouse to be “citizens of this
State” means New Jersey citizenship not United States citizenship.

REFERENCES:
N. 3. C0 ttioz,.. VIII, Sec. 1. Par. 3
N.J.S.A. 54:4-8.10; 54:4-8.11
A. G. Opinion 1961 - N0. 34

403.22 Residence in New Jersey. The veteran property tax deduction applicant
must be a legal or domiciliary resident ofNew Jersey as of October 1 of
the pre-tax year. Domicile Defined. Domicile is any place you regard as
your permanent home - the place you intend to return to afler a period of
absence (as on vacation abroad, business assignment, educational leave,
etc.). A person has only one domicile, although he may have more than
one place to live. Your domicile, once established, continues until you
move to a new location with the intent to make it your permanent home
and to abandon your New Jersey domicile. Moving to a new location,
even for a long time, does not chiige your domicile if you intend to return
to New Jersey. Some proofs of domicile are N. 3. voter registration, New
Jersey motor vehicle registration and resident tax return filing.
Seasonal or temporary residence in this State is not sufficient. Absence
from this State for twelve months or more is prima facie evidence of
abandonment of domicile. In Roxbury Twp. v. Heydt, the Tax Court of
New Jersey held that duration of a military serviceperson’s residence in
New Jersey was not a significant factor in determining domicile in view of
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duty reassignment practices of the Armed Forces. The burden of proving
legal domicile is on the deduction claimant.

REFERENCES:
N. 3. Coniufion, Art. VIII, Sec. 1, Par. 3
N.J.S.A. 64:4-8.10; 54:4-8.11
Roxbury Twp. v. HJt, 6 N.J. Tax 73 (1983)

403.23 Active Service in the United States Armed Forces. A veteran property
tax deduction applicant must have served full-time active duty in the
Armed Forces of the United States in time of war. The Armed Forces of
the United States includes:

(1) Air Force

(2) Army

(3) Army Transport Command

(4) Coast Guard

(5) Marine Corps

(6) Navy

(7) Women’s Army Corps (As of July 1, 1943)

(8) Regularly established women’s auxiliary units of the Coast Guard,
Marine Corps, and Navy, together with Nurses, when on active duty
with any of the above listed military service branches.

Reserve Unit Personnel of the following units when detailed for and on
active duty with the above listed service branches are also included:
(1) Air Force Enlisted Reserve

(2) Air National Guard of the United States

(3) Coast Guard Regular Reserve

(4) Coast Guard Reserve

(5) Dental Reserve Corps of the Navy

(6) Enlisted Reserve Corps

(7) Marine Corps Reserve

(8) Marine Corps Reserve Force
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(9) Medical Reserve Corps of the Army

(10) Medical Reserve Corps of the Navy

(11) National Naval Volunteers

(12) National Guard of the United States

(13) Naval Auxiliary Reserve

(14) Naval Militia

(15) Naval Reserve

(16) Naval Reserve Force

(17) Officers’ Reserve Corps of the Air Force

(18) Officers’ Reserve Corps of the Army

(19) Officers’ Reserve Corps of the Navy

(20) Organized Reserve

(21) Public Health Service

(22) Regular Army Reserve

(23) Reserve Corps of the Public Health Service

(24) Reserve Officers Training Corps

(25) Students’ Army Training Corps

(26) United States Maritime Service or Merchant Marines (during World

War II only)

(27) United States Army Transport Service (Transportation Corps during

World War II)

(28) United States Naval Transportation Service (during World War II)

Maritime Service - Merchant Marines

On January 19, 1988, the “American Merchant Marine in Oceangoing

Service during the Period of Armed Conflict, December 7, 1941, to

August 15, 1945,” was determined to be “active duty” under Public Law

95-202 for all laws administered by the Veterans Administration.

Although not part of the United States Merchant Marine, Civil Service

crew members aboard U.S. Army Transport Service and Naval
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Transportation Service vessels in oceangoing service or foreign waters are
also in this approved group.

An “active duty” determination, was also made regarding eligibility for
New Jersey’s veterans’ property tax benefits. To qualify for the New
Jersey property tax deduction or exemption, the following is required:
(1) Employment by the War Shipping Administration or Office of

Defense Transportation or their agents as merchant seamen
documented by the U. S. Coast Guard or Department of Commerce
(Merchant Mariner’s Document/Certificate of Service), & by the U. S.

Army Transport Service (later redesignated U. S. Army Transportation
Corps, Water Division) or the Naval Transportation Service as a civil

- servant; and

(2) Satisfactory service as a crew member during the period of armed
conflict, December 7, 1941;to August 15, 1945, aboard
(a) merchant vessels in oceangoing, i.e., foreign, intercoastal, or

coastwise service (46 USCA 10301 & 10501) and “near foreign”
voyages between the United States and Canada, Mexico, or the
West Indies via ocean routes, or

(b) public vessels in oceangoing service or foreign waters.

403.24 Ineligible Service. “Active duty for training” or “field training” as a
member of a Reserve Component of the Armed Forces of the United
States during the pendency of the Vietnam conflict is considered
“active duty” or “active service in time of war,” and such military service
is not eligible military service for purposes of receiving Veterans Tax
Deductions and Exemptions.

In a 1973 Deputy Attorney General opinion, excerpting the Military
and Veterans Law, N.J.S.A. 38A1-l(i) “Active duty” is defined as full
time duty in the active military service of the United States, other than
active duty for training.
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“Active duty for training” is dethied as “full time duty in the active
military service of the United States with or without pay for training
purposes. including the initial period of training required by 10 U.S.C.
511(d) for enlisted members ofthe Army National Guard of the United
States and Army Reserve and, with respect to the Amiy Reserve annual
training, attendance at Army service scbools...field training exercises or
maneuvers under 10 U.S.C. 672(b), 672(d) or 673.”

“Annual training” is defined by the Army Regulation to mean “a period
of full time training duty for members of the Army National Guard and a
period of active duty for training for members of the Army Reserve
required to be performed each calendar year, including duty performed at
summer encampmenta, and field exercises and maneuvers.” The
provisions of 10 U.S.C. Si 1(d), Reserve Enlistment Program of 1963,
state that each person enlisted in a reserve component program shall
perform an initial period of active duty for training ofnot less than four
months to commence, so far as practicable, within 180 days after the date
of enlistment. See also: 32 U.S.C. 502.

Duty performed by a member of the organized militia other than active
duty or active duty for training is characterized as “inactive duty training.”
N_J.S.A. 38A: 1-6 provides “Federal laws and regulations relating to and
governing the Armed Forces of the United States shall insofar as the same
are applicable and not inconsistent with the State Constitution, apply to
and govern the military forces ofthis State.”

The following organizations are fl considered Armed Forces of the

United States:

(1) American Red Cross

(2) New Jersey State Guard

(3) New Jersey State Militia

(4) Salvation Army

(5) Women’s Army Auxiliary Corps (Prior to July 1, 1943)
(6) YMHA, YM-YWCA

Civilian employees of the United States and civilians serving in civil
defense units, such as air raid precautions, auxiliary police and fire
service, and coast guard reserves, are not eligible for the veteran’s property
tax deduction.

A tax deduction cannot be granted based on a disenrollment certificate or
any form of release terminating temporary service in a military or naval
branch of the Armed Forces on a voluntary or part-time basis without pay.
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A release from or deferment of induction into active air, military, or naval
service, such as a “Discharge from Draft” form used in World War I, does
not indicate active duty in the Armed Forces of the United States.

REFERENCES:
N.J.S.A. 54:4-8.10, 54:4-8.11
A. G. Opinion N0. 24, July 13, 1956, Dieckarge from DraftAaaigiant A. G. ltr. to Director, Dji8j0of Taxation, Fel,ruary 23, 1973

403.25 Active Wartime Service. The veteran property tax deduction applicant
must have served in the Armed Forces of the United States in “time of
war”. “Time of war” has been defined as the following periods:

INCEPTION TERMINATIONMISSION DATE DAtEOperation “Desert Shield!
Desert Storm” Mission
Panama Peacekeeping Mission

Grenada Peacekeeping Mission

Lebanon Peacekeeping Mission December 1, 1987;
(dcd om Pcum’ 25, 984)

Vietriarri Conflict December 31, 1960 May 7, 1975;
Korean Conflict June 23, 1950 January 31, 1955;
World War II September 16, 1940 December 31, 1946;
World War 1 April 6, 1917 November 11, 1918.
United States military forces in Russia - April 6, 1917-to April 1, 1920.
Spanish-American War - April 21, 1898 to August 13, 1898.
Civil War - April 15, 1861 to May 26, 1865.

403.26 Site And Length of Wartime Service

Missions: Military service must have occurred in the Arabian peninsula,
in P2llama, Grenada, or Lebanon or on board ship actively engaged in
palroffing the Persian Gulf or the territorial waters ofPanama, Grenada, or
Lebanon. The service must be 14 days continuous or in aggregate
commencing on or before the date of termination of the mission. The 14
day prerequisite is, however, waived where service injury is incurred.
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Wars and Conflicts: In DonnenwirthEdison Twp. a marine who

sustained service connected 100 % total and permanent disability stateside

during the Vielnam conflict was entitled to property tax benefits. The

court held that statute does not limit the place where injuries may be

sustained. No specific length of time is prescribed. Any active service in

the Armed Forces of the United States in time of war, no matter how brief,

is sufficient.

REFERENCES:

N.J.SA. 54:4-8.10, 54:4-3.33a

Dormenwirtlz v. EJiaon Dir. Tax Appeah (1967)

403.27 Honorable Discharge. A veteran claimant must have been honorably

discharged or released under honorable circumstances from full-time

active duty during a period of war. All discharges, except those

designated as “dishonorable,” “undesirable,” “bad conduct,” by sentence of

“general court martial,” “by sentence of summary court martial,” or other

similar indicator that the discharge or release was not under honorable

conditions, qualifies the claimant as a veteran.

There is no provision for deduction for military personnel on active duty

in the Armed Forces, prior to discharge, even in time ofwar. Members of

the Armed Forces of the United States having continuous military service

and who are still in the service do not qualif’ for deduction as confirmed

by Attorney General Opinion No. 31 - 1951. An honorable discharge or

release under honorable circumstances is required. However, an honorably

discharged U. S. war veteran does not lose his deduction by reentering into

the military service.

Records. The National Archives and Records Administration, National

Personnel Records Center, 9700 Page Boulevard, St. Louis, MO

63132-5100 is responsible for storing and maintaining veterans’ service

and health records.
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An Armed Forces Discharge Certificate may be obtained by filling out a

DO Form 2168 and sending it to one of the following offices:

Merchant Marine: Commandant (GMVP-1/12)

United States Coast Guard

Washington, DC 20593-000 1•

Army Transport Service: Commander

U.S. Army Reserve Components

Personnel & Administthive Center

(PAS-EENC)

9700 Page Boulevard

St. Louis, MO 63 132-5200

Naval Transportation Service: Naval Military Personnel Command

(NMPC-3)

Navy Department

Washington, DC 20370-5300

Forms are available from Veterans Administration Offices, Merchant

Marine veterans organi7ations, and from the offices listed above.

Additional assistance may also be obtained from NJ. Department of

Military and Veterans’ Affairs, Division of Veterans’ Services, Eggert

Crossing Road, Trenton, New Jersey 08625.

REFERENCES:
N.J.S.A. 54:4-8.10

403.28 Property Ownership. A veteran claimant must have legal title, i.e.,

full or partial ownership interest, in the property for which the deduction is

claimed. The ownership criteria is met by:

(1) An executory contract for the sale of land under which the veteran

claimant takes possession. -

(2) Partnership property to the extent of the veteran claimant’s

ownership interest as a partner up to a tax levy of $50.
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(3) Shareholders of co-ops or mutual housing corporations to the

extent of the veteran clrnnt’s proportionate share of taxes assessed

against the real property.

(4) Property held by a guardian, trustee, committee, conservator, or other

fiduciary for any person otherwise eligible.

(5) Joint tenants, tenants in common, or tenants by the entirety on their

interest, but the tax deduction for any one cWmant may not exceed

the taxes due on his proportionate share. The interests ofjoint

tenants and tenants in common are equal unless the deed j,rovides

otherwise. Ifproperty is held by husband and wife, as tenants by

entirety, each is considered to own a full interest. For example, if a

husband and wife hold title to a property and both are veterans, a

double deduction, or $100, is permitted.

(6) Property in which the claimant has an estate for life, life tenancy or

life time rights.

(7) Interest arising from a will or the intestate laws of this State provided

care is taken to ensure that the claimant is a legal owner of full or

fractional interest in such property.

Ineligible Ownership. Corporate property is jjQ. eligible.

REFERENCES:
N.J.S.A. 54:4-8.10, 54:4-8.15, 64:4-8.17, 64:4-8.18

SkepparJ v. Willin1oro Twp., 1 N.J. Tax 6O (1980)

403.29 Ownership Change After October 1 Does Not Affect Entitlement.

Eligibility for a veteran’s property tax deduction is established as of

October 1 of the pretax year. Once established as of October 1st a

deduction prevails for the whole of the ensuing tax year despite any

change in title to the property which may occur between October 1 and

December 31 of the pretax year or at any time during the calendar tax year.

40330 Death of Veteran Deduction Recipient. Where a deduction claim has

previously been filed and a claimant veteran, surviving spouse of a veteran
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or serviceperson dies after October 1 of the pretax year, the deduction

should be allowed for the whole of the ensuing tax year if all other

prerequisites were met as of October 1.

403.31 Timely Application - No Retroactive Claims. Claimants must apply for

the deduction on Form V.S.S. ‘Property Tax Deduction Claim By Veteran

or Surviving Spouse ofVeteran or Serviceperson” supplied by each

municipality. Forms may be filed with the assessor by December 31 of

the pretax year or with the tax collector between January 1 and

December 31 of the calendar tax year. For example, for veteran deduction

claimed for tax year 1998, pretax filing would be made through

December 31, 1997 with the assessor and January 1 - December 31, 1998

with the collector.

NOTE: No application for a previous tax year is to be permitted by the

assessor, tax collector or governing body. See also Section 403.5

on Application Procedures.

403.32 Eligibifity of Surviving Spouses of Veterans and Servicepersons. To

qualify for a property tax deduction as the surviving spouse of a veteran or

serviceperson, the surviving spouse must have been married to the veteran

or serviceperson at the time of death, and at death the veteran or

serviceperson himself or herself must have met all of the requirements for

deductioa EXCEPTION: Although required of the deceased veteran,

property ownership (legal title) by the deceased serviceperson need not

have existed at death. In addition, the surviving spouse, as of October 1 of

the pretax year;

(1) must not have remarried;

(2) must be a legal resident of New Jersey; -

(3) must have full legal title or a fractional ownership interest in the

property;
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(4) must prove that the deceased was a citizen and resident ofNew

Jersey at death; and

(5) must timely apply for the tax deduction.

REFERENCES:

N.J.S.A. 54:4-8.10 (j), 54:4-8.11 & 54:4-8.12

403.33 Surviving Spouse Defined. “Surviving spouse” means a resident of this

State who is the surviving wife or husband (i.e. widow or widower) of:

(1) a citizen and resident of this State who dies while on active duty in

time of war in any branch of the Armed Forces of the United States; or

(2) a citizen and resident of this State who has had active service in time

ofwar in any branch of the Armed Forces of the United States and

who dies while on active duty [not necessarily wartime] in a branch of

the Armed Forces of the United States; (Brackets added for clarity.) or

(3) a citizen and resident of this State who has been honorably

discharged or released under honorable circumstances from active

service in time ofwar in any branch of the Aimed Forces of the

United States.

The status of surviving spouse ceases upon remarriage. Subsequent

divorce does nt restore surviving spouse status. However, annulment of a

second marriage would restore status as a surviving spouse.

REFERENCES:

N.J.S.A. &4:4-8.IOj

403.34 Surviving Spouses Who are Veterans. A qualified surviving spouse of a

deceased veteran or deceased serviceperson who is also a qualified veteran

himself’herself is eligible for a $50 property tax deduction under each

status, or $100. See also Section 403.4 on Aggregate Deduction.

REFERENCES:

N.J.S.A. 54:4-8.17
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403.35 Ineligible Surviving Spouses - Surviving Spouses of Non-Resident

Veterans and Servicepersons. Constitutional and statutory provisions

granting veterans’ property tax deductions limit eligibility to veterans or

servicepersons who are legal residents of this State. Accordingly, the

surviving spouse of a veteran or serviceperson, though himself’herself a

New Jersey resident, is not entitled to a deduction if the deceased veteran

or serviceperson, at the time of death, was not a legal resident of this State.

REFERENCES:
N. J. Constitution, Art. VIII, sec. 1, Par. 3

N.J.SA. 54:4-8.10(j), 54:4-8.11, 54:4-8.12, 54:4-8.15

403.4 Aggregate Veteran’s Property Tax Deduction. A veteran tax deduction of $50 in

the aggregat is allowed per individual claimant. While the deduction may be applied

to property in any taxing district and may be divided among two or more properties,

the total veteran’s deduction per person may not be more than $50. An exception is

made for surviving spouses of veterans who are veterans themselves where a double

deduction totaling $100 is pem2itted. In the case of multi-owned property, each

veteran claimant is eligible for his full $50 deduction provided their proportionate

share of taxes paid is $50 or more. The tax deduction granted to veterans and their

surviving spouses is in addition to all other deductions and exemptions for which the

claimant may qualify.

Example:

4 owners

1/4 ownership interest each

all qualified veterans

total property taxes equal $2,000

eligible for 4 veteran deductions totaling $200.

REFERENCES
N.J.S.A.. 54:4-8.11, 54:4-8.17

403.41 Continuing Deduction. Once granted, a veteran’s property tax deduction

continues in force from-year to year, without further applications, as long
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as a claimant remains eligible. However, the assessor may inquire into a

claimant’s right to continue the deduction at any time. Annually as of

October 1, the assessor should examine all deduction claims for changes

in:

(1) NJ domicile or legal residence in this State;

(2) property ownership;

(3) marital status of surviving spouse claimants.

The assessor may require such proof as he considers necessary to

determine a claimant’s continued entitlement. A claimant must by law

inform the assessor of any change in status which would affect his

continued right to the deduction.

REFERENCES:
N.J.S.A. 54:4-8.16

403.5 Applying for Veteran Property Deduction.

403.51 Application ClaimForm Used, Municipality Supplies Claim Forms;

Reproducible; Cost State Reimbursed. Form V.S.S. (April 1996)

“Property Tax Deduction Claim by Veteran or Surviving Spouse of

Veteran or Serviceperson.” V.S.S. applications are to be supplied by the

municipality for claimants’ use. However pursuant to c.30 P.L. 1997 the

State will annually reimburse municipalities 2% above the actual

deduction amounts for administrative costs. V.S.S. forms are promulgated

by the Director, Division of Taxation and may be reproduced for

distribution, but may not be altered without prior approval.

(See Exhibit W-5.)

403.52 Filing Claim Forms - No Retroactive Applications. Veteran Property

Tax Deduction claimants must make written application for the deduction.

V.S.S. applications should be filed with the assessor by December 31 of

the pretax year or with the tax collector between January 1 and
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December 31 of the calendar tax year.

403.53 Overpayment Refunded. If the resulting reduction in the property taxes

due exceeds the taxes already paid, the municipal governing body may, at

its discretion, permit a refund, without interest, upon the request of the

deduction claimant.

REFERENCES:

NJ.S.A. 54:4-8.12 & 8.13

403.54 Accepting Claim Forms. All applications for veterans’ property tax

deductions should be accepted, if filed within the prescribed time periods,

regardless of whether or not the claimant appears qualified. This allows a

claimant to file an appeal ifhe feels his application is denied incorrectly.

403.55 Processing Claim Forms. If initially filed with the collector, the

application and accompanying documents or their photocopies then must

be forwarded to the assessor for review and approval. Approval by the tax

collector does not relieve the assessor of examining the application and

determining whether the deduction should be allowed. No application

for a previous tax year is to be permitted by the assessor, tax collector or

governing body.

403.56 Disposition of Claim Forms. Assessors should maintain complete files

of all approved and disapproved applications, together with supporting

documents. Supporting documents remain the property of each assessor’s

office.

REFERENCES:

N.3.S.A. 54:4-8.12

403.57 Proofs - Veteran. Form V.S.S. must be accompanied by a copy of the

veteran’s certificate of honorable discharge or release under honorable
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circumstances including the service record portion of the discharge, DD

Form 214 showing:

(1) the veteran served active duty in the Armed Forces of the United

States;

(2) the service was during wartime;

(3) the veteran was honorably discharged or released from active duty

under honorable conditions.

Proof of property ownership such as a real property deed and of State

residence or legal domicile via motor vehicle or voter registra’tion etc. may

also be required.

NOTE: The Veterans’ Administration can certify marital status, residency

-
and service periods. Accordingly, the certificate received from

the Veterans’ Administration may be used to verify one or more

eligibility conditions.

REFERENCES:

N.J.S.A. 54:4-8.12

403.58 Proofs - Surviving Spouse of a Veteran or Serviceperson. The same

documentation required for a veteran’s tax deduction is required for

surviving spouses. Additionally a marriage license or death certificate of

the decedent may be requested. For surviving spouses of servicepersons

the following must be documented:

(1) the death of the serviceperson while on active duty per U. S. Veteran’s

Administration Certificate. Past proof that a serviceperson died during

time of war such as a photostatic copy of the War Department telegram

or an official letter notification etc. is no longer necessary;

(2) that the service was in the Armed Forces of the United States,

(3) that the serviceperson had served dunng lime of war

NOTE The Veteran’s Administration can certify marital status, residency and

service periods
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403.6 Appeals. An aggrieved claimant may appeal the denial of a deduction as a veteran,

as the surviving spouse of a veteran or serviceperson in the same manner as for

appeals from assessments generally. However, where an application for a veteran’s

property tax deduction is disallowed by the assessor or collector at a date too late to

permit the claimant to file an appeal with the county board of taxation on or before

April 1 of the current year, then, the claimant would be entitled to file an appeal at

any time on or before April 1 ofthe succeeding year. If the appeal is filed in lime to

permit it to be calendared and heard by the county tax board during the year

immediately following the year to which the appeal relates, the board may hear and

decide the appeal for that tax year. The appeal should include the nature and the

location of the property, the reasons for complaint and the relief sought.

REFERENCES:
N.J.S.A. 54:4-8.21

NOTE: The statutory authorities for veterans’ deductions and veterans’ exemptions

N.3.S.A. 54:4-8.10 and 54:4-3.30 are read together “in pati materia.”

403.7 Tax Deduction Applied to Added or Omitted Assessment The veteran’s property

tax deduction may be applied to taxes due on an added or omitted assessment.

REFERENCES:

Local Proerfr Tax Bureau New9, May-June, 196

A. G. Opinion N0. 20, 1954

404. Exemption - Disabled Veterans, Surviving Spouses of Disabled

Veterans and Surviving Spouses of Servicepersons

404.1 Qiiiifled New Jersey resident war veterans having certain service-connected

disabilities described in the law or having been declared totally or 100% permanently

disabled by the United States Veterans’ Administration are granted full tax exemption

on their dwelling house and the lot or curtilage on which it’s located, as of the date the
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veteran acquires the property, or as of the date his total or 100% permanent disability

is declared.

The surviving spouse of such New Jersey resident disabled veteran, who at time of

death was lawfully entitled to exemption, is eligible, on miking proper claim, for the

same exemption as the deceased spouse, while widowed or widowered, a State

resident and the legal owner and actual occupant of the dwelling house to be

exempted or any other dwelling thereafter acquired, and used as the principal

residence.

The surviving spouse of a disabled veteran or serviceperson who would have become

eligible had he or she lived is qualified to receive the exemption based on the

broadening of the tax exemption on January 10, 1972.

REFERENCES:

N.J.S.A. 54:4-3.30 V

Roxlm, v. Heyclt, 6 N.J. 73 (1983)

404.2 Eligibility. To qualify for real estate tax exemption, the disabled war veteran must

meet all requirements ofNew Jersey citizenship, legal or domiciliary New Jersey

residence, principal or permanent residence in the claimed dwelling, full property

ownership, active wartime service in the United States Armed Forces, honorable

discharge and VA certified 100% permanent and total disability. (See corresponding

sections for Veteran Deductions.)

404.21 Disability. A service-connected disability as declared by the United

States Veterans Administration from:

(1) paraplegia, sarcoidosis, osteochondritis resulting in permanent loss of

the use of both legs or permanent paralysis of both legs and lower parts

of the body;

(2) hemiplegia involving permanent paralysis of one leg and one arm on

either side of the body, resulting from injury to the spinal..cord, skeletal

structure, or brain, or disease of the spinal cord not resulting from any

form of syphilis;
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(3) total blindness;

(4) amputation of both arms or both legs, or both hands or both feet, or

the combination of a hand and foot,

(5) other service-connected disability declared by the Veterans’

Administration to be a total or 100% permanent disability and not so

evaluated because of hospitalization or surgery and recuperation.

The disability must have been sustained through:

(1) enemy action;

(2) accident, or

(3) disease contracted while in active service “in time of war.”

NOTE: Paraplegia or hemiplegia resulting from locomotor ataxia, or

other forms of syphilis of the central nervous system, or from

chronic alcoholism, or other forms of disease resulting from the

veteran’s own misconduct are not grounds for a disabled veteran’s

tax exemption.

REFERENCES:

N.J.S.A. 54:4-3.30 & 54:4-3.34

RoLert D. Donnewirtli and Susan Donnewirtli v. Twp. of Edi50,

Division of Tax Appeals, July 1969

Local Bureau News. August - Septemlier 1969, p.2

404.22 Property Ownership and Occupancy.

(A) Ownership.

(1) A disabled veteran must have ifl ownership of the property for which

exemption is claimed.

(2) A disabled veteran and spouse, taking property title as tenants by the

entirety, meet the full ownership requirement.

(3) A disabled veteran possessing a dwelling as a vendee under executory

contract for purchase of the land where the dwelling on the land is his

principal residence is regarded as having full ownership. The

executory contract is deemed to be a mortgage for the unpaid balance

of the purchase price.
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(4) A disabled veteran who owns a dwelling unit in a condominium

property meets the full ownership prerequisite.

(5) A disabled veteran having a life estate, life tenancy or lifetime rights

to a property fulfils the ownership requirement.

Multi-Unit Property

(6) A multi-unit building such as a duplex must be fully owned by the

veteran, but only that portion utilized as the vet’s dwelling unit would

be exempted.

(B) Occupancy.

(1) The disabled veteran must occupy the dwelling as his or her legal or

domiciliary residence in New Jersey.

(2) Full exemption applies to a one-family owner occupied building or

structure, together with its lot or curtilage and the necessary out-houses

or appurtenances.

Multi-Unit Property

(3) Where part of a multiple-unit building or structure is occupied by a

veteran, the assessment on the lot or curtilage and veteran-occupied

portion of the building or structure is to be aggregated to exempt that

percentage of assessment in proportion to or as compared with the

assessed value of the entire building or structure. For example, if a

disabled veteran occupies one-half of a two-family dwelling and the

aggregate assessment on the lot or curtilage and building or structure is

$140,000, the exemption allowed is 50% of the aggregate assessment

or $70,000.

(C) Ineligible Ownership.

(1) Property in which a claimant has only a fractional interest as ajoint

tenant or tenant in common is nt exempt.
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(2) Mutual housing corporations and cooperative dwelling units do

qualify for exemption.

REFERENCES:

N.J.S.A 64:4-3.31, 54:4-3.33

Jackson v. Neptune 16 NJ Tax 498 (1996)

SkepparJ v. Willin,jioro 1 NJ Tax 550, 176 NJ Super 637, 424 A.2I

478 (1980)
A. G. Opinion Decemler 21, 1995 - life estate

A. G. Opinion January 8, 1976 - fractional interest

404.23 Exemption Prorated. Partial or prorated exemption is permitted for the

remainder of any taxable year as of the date ofproperty ownership or the

date of 100% permanent and total disability rating provided all other

eligibility requirements are met. For example, where a dwelling house is

acquired on February 14th of the tax year, the assessed value is to be

prorated so that 44/365th’s of the total assessment would be taxable and

3211365th’s would be exempt.

REFERENCES:

N.J.S.A. 64:4-5.51

404.24 Curtilage. “Curtilage” means the enclosed space of ground and buildings

immediately surrounding a dwelling house. The State Division of Tax

Appeals (1971) held that 51 acres owned by a disabled veteran across the

road from where he resided with his family was not includable in the

“curtilage”. This land was used by the veteran to raise and train horses.

The Division cited Italian-American Building and Loan Association v.

Russo, 131 N.J. eq. 319, to the effect that a “curtilage is a piece of ground

within the common enclosure belonging to a dwelling house and enjoyed

with it for its more convenient occupation.”

This interpretation was reaffirmed in McTague v. Monroe Twp. where 2
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acres of a 40 acre parcel were exempted as reasonable for the fair

enjoyment of the residence.

REFERENCES:

McTarue i. Monroe Townhip, 1 N.J. Tax 66 (1980)

Gofweiii r. Townkip of Hoiewell, Diviaion of Appeah, April 5, 1971

404.25 Ownership or Occupancy Change. A disabled veteran’s right to

property tax exemption ceases by reason of change in ownership or

occupancy in the dwelling house as of the first day of the month following

the date of such change. The same is true for the surviving spouse of a

disabled veteran. If the disabled veteran acquires ownership of another

dwelling house, then that dwelling and the lot or curtilage is eligible for

the tax exemption in the same manner as his former home, upon proper

application, but no more than one exemption at a time is allowed. If a

surviving spouse moves from the claimed dwelling and acquires

ownership of another principal residence, he or she is entitled to

exemption on the new dwelling. The tax exemption on the former

residence ceases the first day of the month following the change.

REFERENCES

N.J.S.A. 54:4-3.51

404.3 Surviving Spouses. A deceased disabled war veteran, qualified for a property tax

exemption at the time of death, eligibility status inures to the surviving spouse if the

survivor meets all of the following requirements:

(1) Widow or widower must not be remarried;

(2) Widow or widower must be a citizen and resident ofNew Jersey;

(3) Widow or widowers principal or permanent residence must be the

claimed dwelling;

(4) Widow or widower must be full legal owner of the dwelling;

(5) Widow or widower must apply for the exemption with the

municipal assessor
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(6) Widow or widower must verify the deceased veteran was declared

by the United States Veterans’ Administration to have had a

qualifying service-connected 100 % permanent and total disability

as described in statute;

(7) Widow or widower must verify that the deceased veteran was

entitled to a property tax exemption at the time of death. meetingal1

criteria of active wartime servicehonorable discharge. residency.

ownership etc. or would have been entitled had the broadening of the

definition of disability via (c398. P.L.1971) to include toIal or 100 %

permanent disability been in effect during the veteran’s Lifetime.

404.31 Statute Broadened. Although it was formerly necessary for the disabled

veteran to have been receiving the property tax exemption on the dwelling

house while living for the surviving spouse to qualify, such isno longer

true. If the deceased veteran would have been entitled to exemption then

the surviving spouse is entitled to the exemption.

REFERENCES:
N.JS.A. 54:4-3.30, 54:4-3.31

Guidelines Go’rerning Aiclxninistra.tion of the Veteran Property Deduction

A5 It Affects Vietnam War Veterans, (Chapter 166, Laws of 1972)

promulgated No’,emler 3, 1972

Phlli8 Garrna v. La1ewooJ Twp., 14 NJ 1 (1994)

Borough of Wrightatown c. Me€IveJ, 193 N.J. Super 398 (A.D. 1978)

404.32 Ownership Exception for Surviving Spouse of a Serviceperson. The

widow or widower of a citizen and New Jersey resident serviceperson who

died on active wartime duty in the Armed Forces of the United States is

entitled to property tax exemption on a dwelling house used as a. principal

residence. It has been ruled that a qualified surviving spouse is entitled to
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exemption despite that the deceased serviceperson did not own legal title

to the dwelling house.

REFERENCES:

N.J.S.A. 54:4-3.30, 54:4-3.31

Ltr. To: AU A9eessor and County Tax Board AJministrator from Sidney

Glaser, Director, Division of Taxation, May 1, 1982

Local Property and PuMic Utilit’r News, 1982

404.33 Municipality supplies D.V.S.S.E. Claim Forms; Reproducible.

D.V.S.S.E. Forms are prescribed by the Director, Division ofTaxation and

were revised in April 1996. Forms are to be supplied by the municipality

and are reproducible but may not be altered without permission of the

Director. (See Exhibit IV-6)

404.34 Filing and Disposition of D.V.S.S.E. Application. All claims for

disabled veterans and surviving spouses property tax exemption must be

made in writing to the municipal assessor who determines the validity of

the claim. If valid, the assessor should notify the tax collector of its

approval and include the following information:

(1) property owne?s name

(2) property description

(3) property’s assessed value

(4) date property ownership acquired or date of total or 100% permanent

disability rating by Veterans Administration, whichever is later; i.e.

qualifying date of exemption.

Assessors should maintain files of all approved applications, together

with attached supporting documents.

404.35 Proofs. D.V.S.S.E. Claim Forms should be accompanied by:

(1) Report of Separation Form DD214; (See Exhibit P/-7)

(2) Certificate of Honorable Discharge;
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(3) Veteran Adrninsiration’s Certification of Disability (Property tax

exemption letter); (See Exhibit IV-8)

(4) Proof of Ownership, e.g. Property Deed;

(5) Death Certificate if surviving spouse;

(6) If surviving spouse of serviceperson, a certificate from the Veterans’

Administration confirming that the surviving spouse has not remarried;

that the deceased serviceperson died while on wartime active duty in

the United States Armed Forces;. the date of death of the deceased

serviceperson and that his/her home of record at the time’ of death was

New Jersey.

404.4 Taxes Refunded. The governing body of each municipality, at its discretion,,

by resolution, refund fl taxes collected on any property which would have been

exempt from taxation if proper claim in writing bad been timely made.

For qualified veterans having certain service-connected disabilities described in the

law (generally characterized as paralysis or loss of limbs), no refund of taxes may be

made for any year prior to the tax year 1948.

For qizalified veterans who have been declared by Veterans Administration to be

service connected totally or 100% permanently disabled pursuant to statutory

amendment for tax year 1972 and thereafter, no tax refunds may be made for any year

prior to tax year 1972.

REFERENCES:
N.3.S.A. 54:4-3.31, 54:4-3.32

404.5 Appeals. An aggrieved claimant may appeal the denial of a property tax exemption

as a disabled veteran, as a surviving spouse of a disabled veteran or deceased

serviceperson in the same manner as for appeals from assessments generally.

However, if an application for the property tax exemption is disallowed by an

assessor at a date too late to permit the claimant to appeal to the county board of

taxation on or before April 1 of the current year, then, the claimant is entitled to ifie

an appeal at any time on or before April 1 of the succeeding year. If the appeal is
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filed by the claimant in time to permit it to be calendared and heard by the county tax

board during the year immediately following the year to which the appeal relates, the

board may hear and decide such appeal for that tax year. The appeal should explain

the nature and location of the property, the reasons for complaint and the relief

sought.

REFERENCES:

N.J.S.A. 54:4-8.21, 54:3-21 & 54161A-1 & A-3

405. Public/Government Property Exemption

405.1 General. The fundamental approach of New Jersey statutes is that all property bear

its just share of the public burden of taxation. Statutes granting tax exemption

represent a departure from that approach. Therefore, exemptions from the local

property tax are to be strictly construed and the burden of proof is on the taxpayer

claiming exemption. At the same time, exemption statutes must also be construed

reasonably so as not to defeat their legislative intent. However, local property tax

exemptions favoring government entities are given a more liberal construction.

N.J.S.A. 54:4-3.3 reads, in part, “Except as otherwise provided [(in 54:4-1 et seq.)]

the property of the State of New Jersey; and the property of the respective counties,

school districts and taxing districts used for public purposes. ..shail be exempt from

taxation....”

In an Opinion of the Attorney General’s Office, dated June 25, 1979, the above statute

was explained as follows: “The statute provides for a twofold approach regarding

publicly owned property. On the one hand, property owned by the State of New

Jersey is exempt from the Local Property Tax Law. On the other hand, property

owned by a public body other than the State (school districts, counties and

municipalities) is entitled to tax exempt status for local property tax purposes only if

such property is used for ‘public purposes.’ Thus, the statute provides that State

property is exempt regardless of use while the property owned by a lesser public

entity must not only be owned by such entity but also used for public purposes.” A

basic test of public property exemption, therefor, is whether the property is used for
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government or public purposes, that is, does the use relieve the burden of

government?

405.2 Federal. Prior to 1944, N.J.S.A. 54:4-3.3 provided tax exemption for real and

personal property of the United States. The provision was repealed in 1944 and State

law today contains no tax exemption for Federal Government property. Any such

exemption must now be found in Federal law. The “supremacy clause’1 of the United

States Constitution and the doctrine of “sovereign immunity” precludes the levying of

local property taxes on the Federal Government and, as a general rule, most Federal

property is tax exempt. But immunity cannot be granted simply because a tax has an

effect on the United States. Exemption is limited to taxes falling directly on the

United States, i.e., the Federal Government or an entity so closely connected to that

Government the two cannot be viewed as separate. In exempting a private contractor,

the contractor “must actually stand in the Government’s shoes.”

Use of Federal property by a contractor in a for-profit business can be a taxable use.

Where Federal property is leased to private enterprise, the leasehold is subject to

taxation under New Jersey law. Federally owned property may be taxed locally only

with the consent of the Government as expressed by some act of Congress. For

instance, for real property owned by the Reconstruction Finance Corporation and the

Farmers Home Administration permission to tax has been granted.

Where possible assessors should access the United States Code for the particular

entity to see if Congress has waived immunity to allow taxation. For example, Title

12 U.S.C. S 1768 permits ri property of Federal credit unions to be taxed by the

State, territory, locality “to the same extent as other similar property is taxed”. Title

12 U.S.C. S1825 & S 1725 also waives tax immunity for real property of the Federal

Deposit Insurance Corporation (FDIC) and the Federal Savings and Loan Insurance

Corporation (FSLIC). By contrast, the National Credit Union Administration’s

property tax immunity has not been waived by Congress and remains tax exempt

under the Supremacy Clause of the United States Constitution. Again, generally

speaking, Federally owned personal property whether leased to or used by private
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persons is probably not taxable. Competent legal advice should be obtained before

taxing any real or personal property of the Federal Government

405.21 Taxable Property Acquired by Federal Government - Start of

Exemption - No Application Required. Federal property is exempt

immediately upon acquisition. The Federal Government is not required to

file applications for exemption with the assessor. The appearance ofthe

United States Government as grantor or grantee on abstracts of deeds

routinely provided assessors by county registrars or clerks would serve to

give the assessor notice.

REFERENCES:

N.3.S.A. &4:4-3.3

Property Taxation, Institute of Property Taxation, Washington, D.C. 1987

Rainliold Ho1Jin C0., U.S. Postal Service, aiiJ R.ajjitreeA58o. v. Freehold

Twp., 14 N.J. Tax 266 (1994)

U.S.A. and F.M.C. Corp. v. Plainsloro Twp., Super-App. DT.March 1977

TI1okol Chemical Corp. ‘r. Morris County Tax Board, 41 N.J. 405, 197 A2d

176 (1964)
T0dd Skipyarda Corp. v. Weekawken, 46 N.J. 336, 212 A.2J 364 (1966)

United States and Boric-Warner Corp. ,-. City of Detroit, 365 U.S. 466

City ofDtt0jt ‘v. The Muxra Corp. of America. 356 U.S. 489

Continental Motors Corp. v. of MuskeEan, 355 U.S. 484

Sidney Glaser, “New Developments AHectin the Exemption 0f Federal

Property from Local Ad Valorem Taxation,” Proceedina of tk0 Seventh

Conference for A.ssessinf Officers: 1960 (New Brunswick: Bureau of

Government Research, Rutgers, The State University, May 1961), pp. 48-9

Local Property and PuMic Utiljt News, Januarr-Feliruary 1978

405.3 State. Property owned by the State ofNew Jersey is exempt from the local property

tax. The constraints ofpublic use are not imposed upon it. In the absence of a clear

expression by the Legislature that a particular category of State property should be

taxed, that property will be exempt. However, State owned property leased to a

private entity for nonpublic purpose is taxable to the lessee under the Leasehold Tax

Act, NJ.S.A. 54:4-2.3 to 2.13.
-
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405.31 Taxable Property Acquired by State Government. If State

government acquires property after January 1 of the year either by

purchase or condemnation from a non-exempt owner, the State is required

to pay the property taxes for the remainder of the year.

The Report of Eminent Domain Revision Commission ofNew Jersey

(April 1965) recommended, as follows: “When municipalities adopt their

annual budget and establish their local tax rate, they anticipate the

payment of taxes which they have assessed. The taking of ratables during

the year by tax exempt agencies who do not assume liability for such taxes

for the period subsequent to the taking, severely disturbs the local

municipal finance. The lost revenue must be reflected in the tax rate of the

succeeding year. The Commission feels that this is an injustice and that

payment of taxes for the entire year during which the taking occurs should

be assessed to the municipality.”

REFERENCES:

N.J.S.A. 54:4-3.31)

of East Ora.ue v. DwiEkt R. G. Palmer, Joka A. Kervick and

New Jersey Hikway Department, 47 N.J. 307 (1966)

Local Property Tax Bureau News, July-August 1966

405.32 Taxable Real Property Acquired by State; Start of Exemption - No

Application. Real property acquired by the State, a State agency, or an

authority created by the State, by purchase, condemnation or otherwise,

becomes tax exempt on January 1 of the calendar year following the date

of acquisition, provided the municipal assessor is given written notice of

the acquisition by certified mail on or before January 10 of that year.

And, if real property is acquired between January 1 and January 10 in the

tax year and the prescribed notice is given on or before January 10 that

year, it becomes tax exempt as of the date acquired. Initial and Further

Statement Exemption Applications need not be filed by State Government.
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The acquisition of land valued, assessed and taxed under the Farmland

Assessment Act of 1964, by purchase, eminent domain or otherwise, is not

exempt from the rollback taxes. (Section 3 of Chapter 243, Laws of 1970,

approved October 28, 1970). However, if the land is acquired by the State

pursuant to a Green Acres Bond Act and is assessed in accordance with

the provisions of the “Farmland Assessment Act of 1964” at the time of

acquisition by the State, rollback taxes may not be applied. This only

applies to State owned property. Where the county or municipality owns

land bought with Green Acres Trust dollars given by the State, rollback

taxes can be assessed.The right ofpossession, subject to Chapter 214,

Laws of 1970, or vesting oftitle, whichever occurs first is to be the

acquisition date for such real property.

REFERENCES:

N.J.S.A. 54:4-3.3a - 54:4-3.3f

N.J.A.C. 15-12.1

405.33 States’ Liability for Taxes after Acquisition. If the former owner paid

taxes for the current tax year, in full or in part, beyond the date of

acquisition by the State, its agencies, or authorities, the owner is to be

reimbursed for the taxes he paid beyond that date. Tithe taxes for the

remainder of the year have not been paid by the owner, the State, its

agencies or authorities is to pay the municipality taxes due for the real

property it acquired.

REFERENCES:

N.J.S.A. 54:4-3.3a - 54:4-3.3f

405.34 “In lieu” of Property Taxes Paid to Municipality. The presence of

certain tax exempt State-owned property in a municipality may qualify

that municipality for “in lieu” of tax payments for local services provided

those properties. Some State-owned properties which couid qualify the
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municipality for “in lieu” of payments are: State offices, hospitals,

institutions, schools, colleges, universities, garages, inspection stations,

warehouses, barracks and armories. Vacant land abutting these properties

and held for future development for such uses also qualifies. However,

State-owned property which would not qualify for “in lieu” of tax

payments includes that used or held for future use for highway, bridge or

tunnel purposes or property qualified under State law for any other State

payment “in lieu” of taxes.

(1) To receive “in lieu” ofproperty tax payments assessors nIust file on

September 15 each year a listing of State-owned properties eligible

for “in lieu” of payments in their municipality, together with their

assessed values. In practice, this list is run by State computer and

mailed to each assessor for his review and approval.

(2) The assessor next reviews and revises, i.e., adds to or deducts from,

the list of State owned exempt property, and returns it to the

Director of the Division of Taxation. The Director; in turn, reviews

and revises the listing, and, as required, on or before November 15

notifies both the county board of taxation and the affected taxing

district of any change he makes. Revisions by the Director are final

and not subject to appeal except to correct typographical and

mathematical errors.

(3) The Director then computes the State’s “in lieu” of property tax

liability by multiplying the effective local purpose tax rate of each

respective municipality by the aggregate assessed value of eligible

State-owned property located in each respective municipality. The

total ofthese calculations constitutes the State’s liability.

(4) Municipalities in which the “in-lieu” payments are less than $1000

are not eligible to receive payment. A ceiling of “in-lieu” payments

to any municipality is placed at 35% of the local purpose property

tax levy for the year for which the calculation is made.
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(5) In any year that the State appropriation for “in-lieu” payments is

insufficient to make full payment, the amount due each municipality

will be reduced by the same percentage that the State appropriation

bears to the amount required for thU funding.

(6) “In lieu” payments are to be made in two equal annual installments

on July 5 and November 1.

NOTE: As of the time of this writing, “in lieu” payments have been

incorporated into other municipal aid funding using 1994 as base

year.

REFERENCES:

N.J.S.A. 54:4-2.2a et aeq.

L.1990 c 16 amended

405.4 Local Government Property.

405.41 County, Municipal & School District Property. Most property owned

by counties, school districts, and municipalities used for public purposes

or for the preservation or exhibit of historical data, records, or property, is

exempt from local property tax. Applications for exemption, Initial and

Further Statements, Forms LS. and F.S., need not be filed for properties

owned by county, or municipal governments or any subdivision thereof.

As with federally owned property, deed abstracts would apprise the

assessor of government ownership.

REFERENCES:

N.J.S.A. 64:4-3.3

405.5 Authority Property. Each authority is created and defined under separate legislation

which establish these entities as “public bodies corporate and politic” and determine

their tax status for various taxes. Assessors should index each authority for the

applicable statute and confirm exempt/nonexempt standing.
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405.51 New Jersey Turnpike Authority. Property owned by the New Jersey

Turnpike Authority and used for “turnpike projects” is exempt from

taxation. Turnpike Authority property not used for “turnpike projects”

may be assessed and taxed locally. “Turnpike project” includes the main

highway, all bridges, tunnels, overpasses, underpasses, interchanges,

entrance plazas, approaches, toll houses, service areas, service stations,

service facilities, communication facilities, and imii,istration, storage,

and other buildings which the Authority considers necessary for the

operation of the project.

REFERENCES:

N.J.S.A. 27:23-3, 27:23-4 & 27:23-12

N.J. Turnpike Autkority Twp Of Monroe 2 N.J. Tax 371 (1981)

N.J. Turnpike Ailkorify Waskiugton Mercer County, 16 N.J. 38,

106, A214 (1954)
Local Property Tax Bureau June-July, 1954, pp. 1-3

405.52 Turnpike Roads. Turnpike roads of any turnpike company used by the

public without payment of tolls, are exempt from taxation. Initial and

Further Statement applications for exemption must be filed.

REFERENCES:
N.J.S.A. 54:4-3.18, 54:4-4.4

405.53 New Jersey Highway Authority. Property owned by the New Jersey

Highway Authority, the operator of the Garden State Parkway, used for

“projects” of the Authority is exempt from taxation. Property not used for

“projects” may be assessed and taxed locally. “Projects” includes all of

the facilities listed above for turnpikes as well as traffic circles, grade

separations, and such adjoining park or recreational areas and facilities as

the Authority, and the Department of Environmental Protection find

necessary to promote the public health and welfare and find feasible for

development. The courts have ruled that the lessees of lands and

buildings operated as restaurants located on the Garden State Parkway are
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exempt from local property taxation under the provision ofN.3.S.A.

54:4-2.3 et seq.

REFERENCES:

N.J.S.A. 27:12B-3, 27:12B-4 & 27:12B-16

N.J. Hikway Authority ‘r. Town of Bloom.field, 8 N.J. Tax 657 (1987)

Walter ReaJe, Inc. ‘r. of Dennis, et al, (56 N.J. 435, 177 A.2J 752

(1962)
Bloomfield v. Division 0f Tax Appeals, et al, (84 N.J. Super. 19)

City 0f East Orange v. Palmer, 47 N.J. 507, 220 A.2J 679 (1966)

Local Property Tax Bnxeau News, Julie-July, 1954, PP. 1-5

405.54 Taxable Property Acquired by New Jersey Highway Authority.

Taxable property acquired by N.J. Highway Authority becomes exempt on

January 1 of the calendar year following date of acquisition as of the

date of acquisition.

REFERENCES
East Orange v. Palrner, 47 N.J. 507, 220 A.2J 679 (1966)

HuJaon County Irnpro’rement Authority v. T0 of Ke&rny, 244 N.J. Super

619, 583 A2J 570 (AD. 1980) 10 N.J. Tax 589 (1989) A.2c1 Novernler

1990

405.55 County and Municipal Authorities. The real and personal property of

county or municipal sewerage, utilities, parking, and incinerator

authorities is exempt from the property tax when used for public purpose.

REFERENCES:

N.J.S.A. 40:IIA-19, 40:14A-51, 40:14B-63, 40:36A-38, 40:57A-85

N.J.S.A. 40:66A-24

Morris County MUA v. Morris Twp., 14 N.J. Tax 81. (1994)

City of Jersey City v. Jersey City Paikinr Authority, (App. DT. Jan. 1976)

405.56 Interstate Authorities and Commissions. A number of interstate

authorities and commissions hold title to real and personal property

in New Jersey. In most cases, the authorizing acts for such organizations

as the Port of New York Authority, the Delaware River Port Authority, the

Delaware River Joint Toll Bridge Commission and others grant exemption

to property used by the organization for its stated purposes. If the tax
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status of the property of interstate authorities and commissions is

uncertain, the assessor should secure competent legal advice.

REFERENCES:

Pore of New York Atloity, N.JS.A. 32:1-1 e seq.

Delaware River Port Aukoriy, N.J.S.A. 32:3-1 et seq.

Deliware River Joint T011 Bridge Commiasion, N.J.S.A. 32:8-1 et seq.

Palisades Interstate Park, N.J.S.A. 32:14-1 et seq.

Delaware River Basin Water Commission (INCODEL) N.J.S.A. 32:20-1 et

seq.
Moonackie v. Port of N.Y. Atk0jt, 38 N.J. 414, 185A2d (1962)

405.57 Passaic Valley Sewerage Commission. All real and personal property

acquired by the Passaic Valley Sewerage Commission for use as part of or

in connection with a main intercepting or trunk sewer, its branches or

appurtenances, in the Passaic Valley sewerage district, is exempt from

local property taxation.

REFERENCES:

N.J.S.A. 54:4-3.4

405.58 Watershed Land. Land of counties, municipalities, and other

municipal and public agencies of this State used for the purpose and

protection of a public water supply is subject to tax by the respective

taxing districts where located, but all other property, buildings and

improvements is exempt from taxation.

REFERENCES
N.J.S.A. 54:4-3.3

N.J.S.A. 13:8-1 et seq.

405.59 Foreclosed Properties. Properties acquired by municipalities through tax

title foreclosures or by deed in lieu of foreclosure, if used for a public

purpose, are exempt from taxation. Property bought in for debts or on
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foreclosure of mortgages given to secure loans out of public funds is

taxable if not for public use.

REFERENCES:

N.J.S.A. 54:4-3.3

406. Leasing of Exempt Property

406.1 Taxable Leases, Assessment Procedure. Usually tax exempt real property leased to

an individual whose property is not exempt, is listed as the property of the lessee,

rather than the owner, and the leasehold estate is assessed as taxable real estate as of

the effective date of the lease. Leasehold estates beginning during the year should be

entered on the next Added Assessment List filed after the effective lease date. Any

such assessment is to be that proportion of the full amount ofthe assessment that the

number of days the lease is in effect in the tax year bears to 365.

REFERENCES:

N.J.SA. 54:4-2.3, 54:4-2.4 & 2.5

Borouk of Moonackie v. Port of New TorL Authority, 38 N.J. 414 (1962)

Tkiokol Ckemical r. Morrie C0tBoard 0f Taxation, 76 N.J. Super 232,

184 A.2J 75 (L.1962) a.Eizmed 41 N.J. 405

406.2 Leases Terminated. Where a taxable leasehold estate ofpreviously exempt property

terminates during a tax year, the lessee, after verifying termination to the municipal

governing body, is entitled to a cancellation of the proportionate assessment and a

refund of any taxes paid in excess of the amount required.

REFERENCES:
N.J.S.A. 54:4-2.9

406.3 Exempt Leases. Certain exempt properties remain exempt even when leased to a

nonexempt lessee:

(1) property leased to or by any interstate agency under an interstate compact

between the State ofNew Jersey and any other state
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(2) property owned by a municipaiity and leased to some other person or interest for

public purpose

(3) property owned by public housing authorities and various other housing and

redevelopment agencies and leased for use as housing projects, when used for

public purpose

(4) property owned by the New Jersey Highway Authority and operated as

concessions

(5) cultural centers leased by the governing body of any city of the Erst class

(6) certain property owned by school districts when leased to another school

district or governmental agency, or for terms of less than 4 months to

nonexempt users

REFERENCES:

NJ.S.A. 40:60-49.1, 64:4-2.12, 64:4-3.3, 64:4-3.6(J)

NJ HjIiw&,,r Aukority v. To of Bloomfield, 8 NJ Tax 637 (1987)

HowarJ D. Johngon C0. and Howard Johnson, Inc., r. of Wall, 36 N.J.

445, A2J756 (1962)

Beren Counfr v. Leonia Borou,& 14 NJ Tax 142 (1994)

Walter Reaje, Inc. v. Twp. of Dennis, e a.!., 36 NJ 455, 177 A.2J 752

(1962)
Town of Bloomfield v. Division of Tax Appeala, e aL, 84 Super 19, 200 A.2J

795 (A.D. 1964)
T0JJ Skipyarda Corp. v. Weekawken Township. 46 NJ 556, 212 A.2J 364

(1965)
Martin v. Collin!swooJ, 56 NJ 447 (1962)

407. Tax Exempt Real Property; Activity Conducted for Profit;

Tax Liability of Private Party

When tax exempt real property is used by a private party in connection with a for-

profit activity and the use does not render the real property taxable pursuant to

N.J.S.A. 54:4-2.3, i.e., the Leasehold Act or otherwise, the real property is to be

assessed and taxed as real property of the private party. The private party is liable for

taxation as though he owned the property or any portion of it, unless the owner
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consents to its taxation. “Use” means the right or license, express or implied, to

possess and enjoy the benefits from any real property, whether or not that right or

license is actually exercised.

REFERENCES:

N.J.S.A. 64:4-1.10

408. Educational, Religious, and Charitable Organizations

408.1 GeneraL Per NJ.iA 54:4-3.6 and the Courts, real property tax exemption for

educational, religious, and charitable entities is generally determined by: purpose of

the organization; use of the property; absence, presence, degree and use ofprofit;

timely ownership of the property; incorporation of the organi7ation or its

authorization to operate; extant buildings; and timely application.

408.2 Exempt Buildings. The following buildings are exempt from property taxation:

(I) All buildings actually used for colleges, schools, academies or seminaries,

provided that if any portion of such buildings are leased to profit-making

organizations or otherwise used for purposes which are not themselves

exempt from taxation, said portion shall be subject to taxation and the

remflfling portion only shall be exempt;

(2) All buildings actually used for historical societies, associations or exhibitions,

when owned by the State, county or any political subdivision thereof or when

located on land owned by an educational institution which derives its primary

support from State revenue;

(3) AU buildings actually and exclusively used for public libraries, religious

worship or asylum or schools for feebleminded or idiotic persons and children;

(4) All buildings used exclusively by any association or corporation formed for the

purpose and actually engaged in the work ofpreventing cruelty to animals;
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(5) All buildings actually and exclusively used and owned by volunteer first-aid

squads, which squads are or shall be incorporated as associations not for

pecuniary profit;

(6) All buildings actually used in the work of associations and corporations

organized exclusively for the moral and mental improvement of men, women and

children, provided that if any portion of a building used for that purpose is leased

to profit-making organizations or is otherwise used for purposes which are not

themselves exempt from taxation, that portion shall be subject to taxation and the

remaining portion only shall be exempt;

(7) All buildings actually and exclusively used in the work of associations and

corporations organized exclusively for religious or charitable purposes;

(8) All buildings actually used in the work of associations and corporations

organized exclusively for hospital purposes, provided that if any portion of a

building used for hospital purposes is leased to profit-making organizations or

otherwise used for purposes which are not themselves exempt from taxation, that

portion shall be subject to taxation and the remaining portion only shall be

exempt;

***As amended by L. 1993, c. 166, “hospital purposes” includes health care

facilities for the elderly, such as nursing homes; residential health care facilities;

assisted living residences; facilities with a Class C license pursuant to P.L. 1979,

c. 496 (C.55:13B-l et al.), the Rooming and Boarding House Act of 1979; similar

facilities that provide medical, nursing or personal care services to their residents;

and that portion of the central adminisirative or service facility of a continuing

care retirement community that is reasonably allocable as a health care facility for

the elderly.

(9) All buildings owned or held by an association or corporation created for

the purpose of holding the title to such buildings as are actually and exclusively

used in the work of two or more associations or corporations organized

exclusively for the moral and mental improvement of men, women and children;

(10) All buildings owned by a corporation created under or otherwise subject to the

provisions of Title 15 of the Revised Statutes or Title 1 5A of the New Jersey
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Statutes and actually and exclusively used in the work of one or more

associations or corporations organized exclusively for charitable or religious

purposes, which associations or corporations may or may not pay rent for the use

of the premises or the portions of the premises used by them;

(11) The buildings not exceeding two, actually occupied as a parsonage by the

officiating clergymen of any religious corporation of this State, together with the

accessory buildings located on the same premises;

(12) All property owned and used by any nonprofit corporation in connection with its

curriculum, work, care, treatment and study of feebleminded, mentally retarded,

or idiotic men, women, or children shall also be exempt from taxation, provided

that such corporation conducts and maintains research or professional training

facilities for the care and training of feebleminded, mentally retarded, or idiotic

men, women, or children.

REFERENCE&

N.J.S.A. 54:4-3.6

Grace & Peace Ckurck ‘r. Crazacord Twp., 4 NJ Tax 391 (1982)

Paper Mill Playlzouae v. MilThurnT1., 7 NJ T4 78 (1984)

Salvafion Army v. AlewAria 2 NJ Tax 292 (1981)

Hac]cen8ack v. HackenacL Med. Cr., 7 NJ 460 (1988)

408.3 Exempt Land. The land the exempt buildings are erected on, up to 5 acres per

building, is also exempt from taxation, provided it’s necessary for the fair enjoyment

of the property and devoted to the same purposes as the buildings. The relationship

of land acreage to building number has had differing legal interpretations depending

on the individual character of the property. For example, several buildings could be

located on 5 or fewer acres or they could be situated such that 5 acres would be

necessary for each. With the exception of cemeteries, graveyards, burial grounds and

privately owned recreational or conservation land, (see pertinent sections in this

chapter) vacant land is n exempted even though titled to an otherwise exempt
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association or corporation. In the absence of buildings used for one of the exempt

purposes specified by statute, land cannot be exempted.

REFERENCES:
N.J.SA. 54:4-3.6
Borouk of AllenJale v. Tk Clrnrck of tk GwJian Ani Divj8jon of Tax

Appeah, C411 N0. 1, Calendar 1128/63

Pjnry Corp. v. Hillaide 46 NJ 467 217, A.2J 868 (1966)

B09’ Cl1 of C1ifto, Inc. i. Jefferaon 72 NJ 389, 271 A.21 22 (1977)

Fair1eik Dickmaon Uni’reraiy v. Florkam Park Baro, 6 NJ Tax 343 (1983)

Greater Emv.iiual Eta. TaIerna.clea v. Montclair, 4 NJ Tax 618 (1982)

408.4 Contiguous Land. Land may be exempt where contiguous to land on which exempt

buildings are located.

REFERENCES:

City of Hackensack v. Hackenaack Medical Center, 228 NJ Super 310, 549

A.2J 869 (A.D. 1988) cert den, 114 NJ 498, 555 A.2J 619

St. Ami’a Catholic Church ‘v. Boroub of Hampton, 14 NJ Tax 88 (1994)

Planned Parenthood r. Hackenaack Cjt7, 12 NJ Tax 698 (1992)

ConEreation B’Nai Tiaraci r. MiUlrnrn 35 NJ Super67,113 A2d182

(1965)

408.5 Eligibility. To qualify for exemption each organization must meet ll of the

following criteria. Wherever there is doubt as to eligibility, the burden ofproof is on

the applicant

408.51 Existing Buildings. The property must include buildings. The intention

of an eligible organization to construct a building at a future date does not

qualify vacant land for exemption, nor does the open-air use of land even

if for an organization’s stated purposes.

408.52 October 1 Ownership. The property must be owned by the organization

on the statutory assessing date - October 1 of the pretax year. - This
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requirement has been interpreted to mean full legal title to the property,

not merely an equitable interest.

REFERENCES:

Emmiin&l Miasionar,’ Etc. Ckurck v. Newark, 1 NJ Tax 264 (1980)

Atlaiitic Corn&r New Sckool, Inc. v. Ct of P1eagantvifle, 2 NJ Tax 192

(1981)
Catholic Relief Serricea, U.S.C.C. v. S0tk Brtuiwick Tw-p., 9 NJ Tax 25

(1987) afEirmed 9 NJ Tax 650

H0lCrone Etc. Church v. Trenton 2 NJ Tax 552 (1981)

Jere City v. N.J. Bapiit Convention, 18 N.J. Miac. 209, 12A2d, 150

(1940)
-

408.53 Exception to October 1 Ownership. An owner of tax exempt real

property under N.3.S.A. 54:4-3.6 and 54:4-3.26 who acquires another

property which is exempt under N.J.S.A. 54:4-3.3 through 54:4-4.4, upon

application by the new owner, shall be allowed to continue the exemption

on the newly acquired property even though he did own it on

October 1 of the pretax year. For example, purchasers of exempt property

who are already owners of property granted exemption as a college,

school, academy, seminary; historical society owned by the state, county

or a political subdivision; public library, church, parsonage, asylum,

school for feeble minded; first aid squad; building for prevention of

cruelty to animals; building used for moral and mental improvement of

men, women and children; religious or charitable purpose buildings;

hospitals; property used in work of a fraternal organi-ation.

REFERENCES:
N.J.S.A. 54:4-5.6B

408.54 Exempt Use Test - Reasonable Necessity. The accepted test for

determining whether property is used in the work of an entity organized

for an exempt purpose is whether the property is “reasonably necessary”

for such purpose. Rather than just a convenience the use must be an

integral part of the operation of the exempt orgaiiistion and reasonably

IV-61



necessary for the proper and efficient operation of the exempt

organization.

REFERENCES:
Jer9ey Shore Medical Center v. Neptune Twp., 14 NJ 49 (1994)

Clinton Twp. , Camp Brett-Endeavor, Inc., 1 NJ T4 54 (1980)

408.55 Actual Use. With respect to “actual use,” Grace & Peace Eeflowsbip

Church. Inc. v. Crariford Twp.. 4 NJ. Tax 391 (1982), concluded, “For

local property tax exemption to apply, there must be actual public use of

building in accordance with exemption statute or building must be ready to

provide such public use and mere intention to use for exempt purpose at

some time in future will not suffice.” Here the property was under

construction and though utilized for occasional prayer that was deemed

incidental use and exemption was disallowed. Holy Cross Precous Zion

Glorious Church of God, 2 N.J. Tax 352 (1981), determined a fire

damaged property under renovation ineligible for exemption with the

explanation “where taxpayer had never occupied or used property for its

exempt purposes, fact that its intent as of assessing date was to use the

subject property exclusively for religious purposes would not quaLif’ it for

exemption for property ‘actually and exclusively’ used for various

religious purposes.” This interpretation of”actual use” is of longstanding;

Institute of Holy Angels v. Fort Lee, 80 N.J.L. 545, 77 A. 1035 (1910),

Longport v. Bamberger Seashore Home, 91 N.J.L. 330, 102 A. 633

(1917), YMCA v.Orange, 3 NJ. Misc. 404, 128 A. 580 (Sup. Ct. 1915);

all set forth the same understanding held in Grace & Peace. All properties

in the above cases where their stated exempt use had never begun or had

ceased were found to be ineligible.

In Paper Mill Playhouse v. Miliburri Twp., 7 N.J. Tax 78 (1984), though

the property was destroyed by arson fire, exemption was retained. The

following distinction was made, “The issue here, however, is not an

exemption predicated upon construction of a new building on property
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which had not previously been exempt. Rather, the issue concerns the

exemption of a theater building in the course of reconstruction on property

which had been exempt prior or its destruction by fire..(T)here is no such

indication of an abandonment of the exempt use...Further, the prompt

manner in which the Paper Mill acted to reconstruct its theater, and Paper

Mill’s continuing activities in support of its offsite presentations of the

children’s theater activities, all join in support of the proposition that its

exemption was not lost as a result of an arsonist’s activity’

408.56 Exclusive Use and Incidental Nonexempt Use. An exclusive use

requires that the “principal or primary” use of the property be the exempt

use. An occasional or incidental nonexempt use or activity does not, by

itself, void a property tax exemption..

In Ironbound Educational and Cultural Center v. CityofNewark 220 N.J.

346 (1987), the State Superior Court said ofN.J.S.A. 54:4-3.6 “That

statute clearly contemplates that associations and corporations organized

exclusively for religious and charitable purposes are exempt only when

‘actually and exclusively used in the work’ of the associations and

corporations. [Pjroperty is actually and exclusively used in the work of an

association or corporation if the property is reasonably necessary for one

of the purposes enumerated in N.J.S.A. 54:4-3.6. Merely because an

association leases a portion of its property, does not necessarily mean that

it is no longer exclusively used for one of the purposes enumerated in

N.J.S.A. 54:4-3.6...If the property being leased is not used for a purpose

enumerated in the act, then the corporation or association loses its tax

exempt status. However, if the property leased is used for one of the

purposes in the act, then the lessor - corporation is entitled to maintain its

exemption and the lessee shoulders the tax burden.” In Ironbound a

nonprofit corporation’s lease of 35% of its building to a for-profit

restaurant business did not entitle it to partial property tax exemption; no
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traditional charitable or religious purpose was served by operation of the

restaurant facility in the building.

408.57 Multi-Use. In 1994, the N.J. Tax Court remarked as follows relative to

the amendment of 54:4-3.6, “There is absolutely no suggestion that, when

the Legislature separated the pertinent portion ofN.J.S.A. 54:4-3.6 into

three parts, one for entitles formed for moral and mental improvement

purposes, another for hospital purposes, and another for religious or

charitable purposes, it intended to eliminate the preexisting ekemption for

multipurpose entities. The sole purpose of the 1985 amendment to

N.J.S.A. 54:4-3.6 was to permit a partial exemption for entities organized

for moral and mental improvement purposes. As the intent of the

Legislature in 1983 and 1985 was to make it easier to qualify for the

hospital and moral and mental improvement exemptions, it would defy

common sense to conclude that, with no explanation, the Legislature

simultaneously intended to make it more difficult to qualify by limiting

the exemption to single purpose entities.. .(statutory construction will not

turn on ‘literalisms, technisms or the so-called formal rules of

interpretation; it will justly turn on the breadth of the objectives of the

legislation and the commonsense of the situation’).”

REFERENCES:

N.J.S.A. 64:4-3.6

Came Alpine 0f Greater N.Y. CotLflcilR v. Bore of Norwood, 1 N.J. Tax 223

(1981) a1Lrmed N.J. Super 13, 443 A2J. 213

Jeraer Shore Med. Cfr. r. Nep&uue Twp.., 14 N.J. Tax 49 (1994)

408.58 Non-Profit Use. Neither the buildings, the land they’re situated on, nor

the owner-organization may be operated for profit. If any part of a

building is used for profit, the entire building loses its exempt status,

except for those buildings cited below:

(1) Where a building property tax exempt as a college, schooL academy

or semin?ry is leased, in part, to a nonexempt profit-making
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organization, the leased portion of the building is subject to tax. The

portion of the building used for college, school, academy or seminary

purposes continues to be exempt.

Exception: A college. schoçJ,, academy or seminary may lease out

part of its property or building without losing even a portion of its

tax exempt status if the lease arrangement meets these conditions:

(a) income derived from the lease agreement must be used for the

exempt purposes of the educational organization;

(b) income derived from the lease agreement cannot result from a

primarily profit-seeking transaction, and must be of a ‘tde

minimust’nature, not materially affecting the exempt purpose of

the educational entity;

(c) the lease cannot be more than 4 consecutive months in duration.

(2) Buildings used in the work of associations and corporations organized

exclusively for hospital purposes may be leased, in part, to profit

making organttions, but the leased portions are taxable, while the

remainder of the buildings are exempt.

(3) Buildings used in the work of associations and corporations organized

exclusively for moral and mental improvement purposes may be leased

to profit-making organizations; the leased portions are taxable and the

remaining building exempt.

REFERENCES:

NJ.S.A. 4:4-3.6 & 3.6J (aa arnenjej 1) .2O4, L.1983, .224 L.1983 &

v.395, L.1985)

(4) Where a charitable, religious, or benevolent organization derives a

portion of its income from fees and charges resulting from the use of

its property, exemption should be granted provided:

(a) the entire income is devoted to the authorized purposes of the

org4ni7t1on, and

(b) the building is wholly controlled by the charitable organization.
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As concerns profit, paraphrasing Kimberley School v. Town of Montclair. 2 NJ 28,

65 A.2d 500 (1949), the past and present operation of each institution must be

examined to determine its eligibility, not with regard to whether its income exceeds

the cost of operation in any year or years, but rather whether charges are fixed with

the intention of yielding a profit. In applying the test, look at the background and

nature of the school’s organization; the character and nature of the membership of its

board of trustees or governing body, particularly where former private owners are

represented; the amount of its income compared with its operating costs; the amount

of any excess income over costs, and the actual and possible use of such ‘excess; the

existence and extent of its accumulated surplus and its intended purpose; the tuition

charged compared with that of similar schools; the salaries of its teachers and officials

compared with similar schools, public and private; and any other factors bearing upon

the dominant motive in the conduct of the school. Kirnberley School was deemed

nonprofit because tuition rates were not excessive, excess income over expenses was

not unreasonable, salaries were low, property owners were not compensated and

assets upon corporate dissolution went to other nonprofit educational institutions. In

City of Trenton v. Division of Tax Appeals, 65 N.J. Super. 2 (App. Div., 1960), it was

held that intent to have an operating surplus or profit rather than a loss does not

necessarily constitute a profit motive. The key question here is, what happens to

the money. If the funds go back into the operation of the educational facility and

cannot be diverted to noninstitutional uses, exemption is permissible; if the monies,

other than just compensation for services rendered, benefit an individual personally,

exemption is not warranted, despite the nonprofit organi7tion and educational

function of the facility.

408.59 Incorporation. The orgarii7ation must be incorporated or otherwise

organized under the laws ofNew Jersey or any other state, and authorized

to carry out the purposes for which exemption is claimed. Once a

corporation is authorized to operate in this State, even though not

incorporated under New Jersey law, it is considered to have met the

corporate/organizational criteria for exemption. Incorporation or
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registration to do business is done through the Secretary of State’s Office

in the Department of State, Telephone No. (609) 530-6400.

REFERENCES:

N.J.S.A. 54:4-3.6

WH’YT, Inc. Borough of G1aaboro, e al, 91 N.J. Snpr. 269 (1966), 50

N.J. 6 (1967), 390 U.S. 979 (1968)

Memor&nJnm Opinion to Samuel Temkin, SuperintenJent, Local Property and

PuMic Utilti7 from D. A. G. Harry Hanakalter, June 16, 1983

408.60 Application. .Organizations must apply for real property tax exemption

with the assessor on forms supplied by the municipality as prescribed by

the Director, Division of Taxation in accordance with the following

procedure. Separate applications must be filed for each parcel of property.

408.601 Initial Statement. An “Initial Statement”, Form I. S., must

be filed in duplicate with the assessor on or before

November 1 of the pretax year. The Initial Statement

establishes eligibility under the requirements of the

various exemption statutes - N.LSA.8A:5-l0,

N.J.S.A.54:4-3 .6 & 3 .6a, N.J.S .A.54:4-3 .10,

N.J.S.A.54:4-3.13, N.J.S.A.54:4-3.15, N.J.S.A.54:4-3.18,

N.J. S .A.54:4-3 .24, N.J.S.A.54:4-3 .25, N.J.S .A.54:4-3 .26,

N.J.S.A.54:4-3 .27, N.3.S.A.54:4-3.35, N.J.S.A.54:4-3.52,

N.J.S.A. 54:4-3.64. See sample form EXHIBIT IV-9.

408.602 Further Statement. “Further Statement, Form F.S., must

be filed in duplicate with the assessor not later than

November 1 of every third succeeding year. The Further

Statement reaffirms that an exemption,, granted for past

years, should remain in effect. Further Statements show

(a) whether there was any change of use of the property,

initially determined as tax exempt, during any 3-year

period which would defeat the exemption; and

IV -67



(b) whether any new or additional property was acquired

for which a tax exemption is claimed showing initially

the new or additional property’s right to the exemption.

See sample form EXHIBIT IV-lO.

REFERENCES:

N.J.SA. 64:4-3.6, 54:4-4.4

Blair AcaAezu, v. B1airsowu, 95 NJ Super. 683 (1967)

Newa.rk ‘r. Esaex Comiy Board, 110 NJ Super. 93 (1970)

Kate LadJ FunJ ‘r. Peai,ack-Gla&tone, DiTision oi Tax AppeaL,

Ocol,er 27; 1971
-

408.6 Disposition of Forms, Copy to County Tax Board. Every Initial and Further

Statement should be checked carefully by the assessor. The assessor should:

(1) review Initial and Further Statement applications, Forms I. S. and F. S., as to

which statute exemption is requested under.

(2) review Initial and Further Statement applications, Forms I. S. and F. S., for

explanation of organization’s purpose(s).

(3) review organization’s certificate of incorporation, articles of association, charter

or bylaws for statement of goals, objectives etc.

(4) use of property should coincide with stated purpose(s) on application forms and

in charter or bylaws and, use should be a permitted one per statute under which

exemption is requested.

(5) review financial data e.g. federal income tax returns etc. relative to

nonprofit/profit status.

(6) review purchase, acquisition dates in light of October 1 pretax year ownership

criteria.

Each assessor may, at any lime, inquire as to whether exemption should be continued

and may require a Further Statement or such proofs as he considers necessary to

determine the claimant’s exemption standing. In the event of a claimant’s failure to

comply with the legal requirements, or where doubt as to entitlement exists the

assessor should deny exemption and remove the property from the Exempt Property

List. One copy of each approved form should be forwarded, together with the
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Exempt Property List, to the county board of taxation by January 10 of the year for

which exemption is granted. The other copy should be retained by the assessor.

NOTE: Applications for exemption need not be f.led on behalf of properties owned

by Federal, State, county, or municipal governments or by any subdivision

thereof.

408.7 Failure to File Further Statement. While statute at N.J.S.A. 54:4-4.4, does suggest

the necessity of the Further Statement by stating “...not later than November 1 of

every third succeeding year, said assessor shall obtain a “further statemeiif under

oath from each owaer of real property for which tax exemption is claimed,... lt the

significance of the directive is unclear since the courts have repeatedly held that

failure to file the Further Statement is of no consequence to eligibility for exemption.

As noted in Emanuel MissionarBapdst Church v. Newark, 1 N.J. Tax 264 (1980),

“The language ofN.J.S.A 54:4-4.4 does not permit the construction that.the

statement thereby contemplated is a condition precedent to the allowance of an

exemption under N.J.S.A. 54:4-3.6. While exemption statutes are strictly construed

against the exemption claimants, Princeton Univ. Press v. Princeton. 35 N.J. 209, 172

A.2d420 (1961), the principle of strict construction must never be allowed to defeat

the evident legislative design. Princeton Twp. v. Tenacre Foundation.. 69 N.J. Super.

559, 563, 174, A.2d 601 (App. Div. 1961), quoted approvingly in. Boys Club of

Clifton. Inc. v. Jefferson Twp., 72 N.J. 389, 398, 371 A.2d. 22 (1977). The evident

legislative design is set forth with great particularity in N.J.S.A. 54:4-3.6.”

N.J.S.A. 3.6c also allows leeway where an application is not timely filed.

REFERENCES:

West Orange TWD. r. Hebrew Academy, 13 N.J. Tax 48 (1993)

Atlantic County School v. City 0f Pleaaantrille, 2 N.J. 192 (1981)

408.8 Property Tax Refunded by Governing Body. The governing body of a municipality

by ordinance, where good cause is shown why a timely application was not

filed, return all taxes collected on one or more properties owned by associations or

corporations organized exclusively for charitable or religious purposes which would
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have been exempt under N.3.S.A. 54:4-3.6 if a timely claim had been made. No

refund is to be made if more than 3 years have passed since the last date of filing a

timely application. No interest is to be paid by the municipality on any refund of

this type.

REFERENCES:

N.J.S.A. 54:4-3.6c

409. Property Acquired by Exempt Organizations -

409.1 Taxable Property Purchased After October 1 Remains Taxable. Property must

be eligible for exemption as of the pretax year October 1 assessing date. If an exempt

organization purchases taxable property after the October 1 assessing date, no

exemption can be granted until the next following tax year. For example, real

property owned by a nonexempt taxpayer on October 1, 1997 is liable for taxes for

1998. Purchase of this improved property in November 1997 by a qualified exempt

organization does not gain its exempt status during 1998. If the exempt organization

continues its ownership and exempt use of the property through October 1, 1998,

exemption can be granted for tax year 1999 provided that neither use nor ownership

changes after October 1, 1998.

409.2 Exempt Property Purchased After October 1 Remains Exempt - Application

Considered Timely Filed Where owners of certain exempt properties acquire other

exempt property, exemption remains in effect even though the acquiring exempt

owner did not have ownership of the new exempt property on October 1 of the pretax

year. Properties exempt under N.J.S.A. 54:4-3.6 or 54:4-3.26 which apply for

exemption may be considered timely filed despite the acquisition being subsequent to

October 1 of the pretax year, and the exemption may be granted, subject to the

following conditions being met:
*

(1) the applicant and subject property meet all other requirements for

exemption; and
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(2) the subject property was exempt from taxation when acquired by the

exempt applicant.

REFERENCES:

N.J.S.A. 54:4-3.6, 54:4-3.61), 54:4-4.4, 54:4-23

410. Exempt Property Ceases to be Exempt - Added and Omitted

Assessments

410.1 Properties listed on the tax roll as exempt on October 1 which later cease to be

exempt become assessable as added or omitted assessments.

410.2 Exempt Property Valued. Although exempt property is taxed at zero dollars ($0),

assessors must determine accurate taxable values so that should exemption cease

proper tax payments will be obtained. Also accurate valuing of exempt property

ensures the correct basis for any “in lieu” of payments.

410.3 Ownership or Use Change. When property ceases to be exempt because of a change

in use or ownership, the property is to be assessed as “omitted” property. The county

board of taxation, by resolution, directs the assessment to be made and entered on the

Tax Duplicate in the same manner as other omitted property. Any such assessment is

to be entered on the Add&i Assessment List of the municipality where the property is

located.

REFERENCES:

N.J.S.A. 54:4-63.26, 54:4-63.2 & 63.3

410.4 Previously Exempt Property Valued. The assessment of such property is to be

based on the assesso?s valuation of the property indicated on the Exempt Property

List subject to equalization and revision by the county tax board.

REFERENCES:

N.J.S.A. 54:4-63.27
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410.5 When Exemption Ceases Affects Time of Assessment. If exemption ceases during

any tax year, property is assessed and taxed as of the first day of the month following

the date the exemption ceased, for the proportionate part of the remainder of the year.

If use or ownership changed after October 1 in any year and before January 1, the

property becomes taxable as of the first day of the month following such change in

use or ownership.

The “Added Assessment List” for the year in which the assessment is made is then

flied with the county tax board on or before October 1 in the subsequent tax year.

However, the tax rate applied should be the tax rate for the year in which the

exemption ceasecL

If the exemption ceased between January 1 and October 1 in any year, the property is

assessed ancLtaxed as of the first day of the month following the date the exemption

ceased, for the proportionate part of the tax year remaining.

Examples:

Ownership changes from exempt to nonexempt between October 1 and January 1 in

any year. Change occurs on October 25, 1997.

Total Assessed Value from 1997 Exempt List is $200,000.

Total Assessed Value from 1998 Exempt List is $200,000.

1997 Tax Rate is $3.60/$100

1998 Tax Rate is $3.80/$100

1997 $200,000 X = $33,333 X .036 = $1,200

1998 $200,000 X j = $200,000 X .038 = $7.600

$8,800

Ownership changes from exempt to nonexempt between January 1 and October 1 in

any year. Change occurs on Apiil 3, 1998. Tax rate same as above.

1998 $200,000 X = $133,333 X .038 = $5066.67

Upon the assessor’s investigation of an exempt building that had been vandalized, he

realized that the property had not been used for exempt purposes for the ast two

years as well as the current year, 1998.
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Total Assessed Value from 1996 Exempt List is $400,000.

Total Assessed Value from 1997 Exempt List is $400,000.

Total Assessed Value from 1998 Exempt List is $400,000.

1996 Tax Rate is $3.851$l00

1997 Tax Rate is $3.90/$l00

1998 Tax Rate is $4.00/$100

The assessor should make an Omitted Assessment in the 1998 Omitted Assessment

List for the year the property was found to no longer be used for exempt purposes and

one prior year.

1997 $400,000 X = $400,000 X .039 = $15,600

1998 $400,000 X = $400,000 X .040 = $16.000

$31,600

REFERENCES:

N.J.SA. 64:4-63.13, 64:4-63.28

St. Mjchael’g Paseioniiit Monaatery v. Union Ct7, 195 N.J. Super 608

481A2J 304 (AD 1984)

Ct of K Orange v. 280 So. Harri8on St. Asaoc., 16 N.J.: 424 (1997)

Ct of CarnJen v. CamJen Maaonic Aseoc., 9 N.J. Tax 331 (1987), Affirm.

11 N.J. Tax 88

GuijeihiLee for Implementation 0f Ckapter 103, Lawe of 1974 Act

Concerning AJJeJ Aaaeeemente on Propertiea after Octo},er 1 auJ lefore

January 1 followin!I - promulgated No’remler 19, 1974

410.6 Appeals. Organizations seeking tax exemption for class 15D, B and F (exempt

property) are not required to satisfy the tax payment provisions ofN.J.S.A. 54:3-27 to

pursue an appeal to a county board of taxation or a direct appeal to the tax court

where exemption qn1iflcation is the subject of the appeal.

REFERENCES:

N.J.S.A. 64:S1A-3

Morris-Sueeex Area C0., Boy Scoute y. Hopatcon Bore, 15 N.J. Tax 438

(1996)
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411. Nonprofit Educational Television and Radio Production &

Broadcasting Property

411.1 “AU buildings and structures located in this State and used exclusively by a nonprofit

association or corporation organized under the laws of this or another state for the

production and broadcasting of educational television or educational radio programs;

the land whereon the buildings and structures are erected and which may be necessary

for the fair enjoyment thereof, and which is devoted to the foregoing purpose, and no

other purpose, and does not exceed 30 acres in extent; the furniture, equipment and

personal property in said buildings and structures if used and devoted to the foregoing

purpose. The foregoing exemption shall apply only where the association or

corporation owns the property in question and is authorized to carry out the purpose

on account of which the exemption is claimed.”

411.2 Application. The association or corporation must file an application for exemption

Initial Statement, Form I.S., with the municipal assessor on or before November 1

pretax year and Further Statement, Form F.S., every third year by November 1 after

exemption approval.

REFERENCES:

N.J.S.A. 54:4-3.6a, 54:4-4.4

WHYT, Inc. v. Bore. of GlaseLoro et aL, 91 N.J. Super. 269 (1966), 50 N.J.

6 (1967) 390 U.S. 979 (1968)

412. District Superintendent of Religious Organizations

412.1 Property tax exemption is granted on the dwelling house and lot or “curtilage” on

which it’s erected where the dwelling is actually occupied as a residence by a

clergyman who is a district superintendent of any religious association or

corporation, and to the accessory buildings on the same premises, if proper

application is made.
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“Curtilaget’means the enclosed space of ground and buildings immediately

surrounding a dwelling house.

“District Superintendent” means one who supervises a group of established

congregations, rather than someone who occupies an executive position in a religious

corporation, and does not include an officer of a missionary corporation whose

interests are worldwide.

412.2 Eligibility. To qualify for exemption, all of the following must be met.

(1) Ownership. The property must be owned by the religious organization.

(2) Occupancy. The property must be occupied as a residence by the district

superintendent of the religious orgari7ation.

(3) Application. Organiation must apply for exemption with the municipal

assessor on Initial Statement, Form IS., on or before November 1 pretax year and

• on Further Statement, Form F.S., every third year by November 1 after

exemption approval.

NOTE: The residence of a district superintendent of a religious organivition may

be validly exempted even if the organization is incorporated under

New Jersey law.

REFERENCES:

N.3.S.A. 54:4-3.3, 54:4-4.4

Inerizational Mj88j0,Inc., v. Bore 0f Lincoln Park, 87 N.J. Super. 170, 208

A.2J 431 (March 1965)

Shrine of Lady of Fafima v. ManuaT1.. 12 N.J. Tax 392 (1992)

413 Volunteer Aid and Relief Organizations

413.1 Property tax exemption is granted to all real and personal property of any association

or organization used for the purpose and in the work of providing volunteer aid to the

sick and wounded of armies in wartime and/or carrying on a national and

international system in peacetime to relieve suffering caused by pestilence, famine,
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fires, floods, or other great national calamities. The American Red Cross is such an

organization.

413.2 Eligibility. To qualify for exemption the following conditions must be met:

(1) Ownership. The organization must have legal or beneficial ownership of

the property.

(2) Nonprofit Use. No part of the property may be used for pecuniary profit

(3) Application. The organization must apply for the exemption with the municipal

assessor on Initial Statement, Form I.S., on or before November 1 prtax year and

on Further Statement, Form F.S., every third year by November 1 after exemption

approval.

NOTE: The.organization needn be incorporated to qualify for exemption.

REFERENCES:
N.J.S.A. 54:4-5.27, 54:4-4.4

414. Military Purpose Property; Veterans’ Organizations

414.1 Revised Statutes, R.S. 54:4-3.5, as amended by c.82, P1. 1996, provides that real or

personal property owned and used for military purposes and any building, real estate,

or personal property used by an organization composed entirely of veterans of any

war of the United States is exempt from taxation.

414.2 Eligibility. To qualify for exemption all of the following conditions must be met:

(1) Ownership. Property used for military purposes must be owned by any

organization under the jurisdiction of the State ofNew Jersey. For property used

by an organization composed entirely of veterans, ownership is not specified in

the statute but is assumed to be a requirement.

(2) Use. The property must be used for military or charitable purposes 6r be used by

any organization composed entirely of veterans of any war of the United States.
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(3) Income. For military purpose property, all income derived from the property,

above the costs of maintenance and repair, must be devoted exclusively to

military or charitable purposes. In the case of exclusively veterans’

organizations, no property shall lose or be denied exemption from taxation

because of use of the property for an income-producing activity that is not the

orgni7tiontsprimary purpose so long as all net proceeds from that activity are

used in furtherance of the primary purpose of the organi7stion or for other

charitable purposes.

(4) Prorated Exemption. Where part of the property owned by an organization

composed entirely of veterans is leased to a nonexempt tenant, the courts have

held that only that portion of the premises used by the veteran’s organization is to

be exempt.

(5) Application. The eligible organition must apply for exemption on Initial

Statement, Form I.S., with the municipal assessor by November 1 pretax year and

on Further Statement, Form F.S., every third year by November 1 after

exemption approval.

REFERENCES:
N.J.S.A. 54:4-3.5, 54:4-4.4
P.L. 1996 c.82 approirej July 25, 1996. retroacti’re to January 1, 1994

Cairo1a-Barlier P08tNo. 2342 Inc. v. Borouk of Fort Lee, 2 N.J. Tax 262

(1981)
See al8oJ0k DolaLc Horne Assoc. v. Boro. of Alpha, N.J. Super (AD 1994) for

la8iB of 8tatutory ameniJment.

415. Veterans’ Organizations

415.1 Veterans Organizations Only. Real and personal property used by any organization

composed exclusively ofveterans of any war of the United States is exempt from

taxation as outlined above. -

REFERENCES:
N.J.S.A. 54:4-3.5

IV - 77



415.2 Veteran Organizations including Non-vets. Under R.S. 54:4-3.25, as amended by

c.82 P.L.1996, real and personal property used by bonafide national war veteran’s

organizations or posts, or bonafide affiliated associations, whether incorporated or

unincorporated, is exempt even though the organization is composed exclusively

of war veterans, if the following conditions are met:

(1) Date Established and Membership. Organization must have been

existing and established as of June 18, 1936. Organizations

membership need not be composed entirely of veterans of any war

of the United States.

(2) Ownership. Organization must have legal or beneficial ownership of

the property.

(3) Use. Exemption does not require property be exclusively devoted to

the purposes for which the veteran claimant was organized or that it

be free from use for pecuniary profit.

(4) Income. Exemption is conferred in an otherwise proper case, even

though the property is devoted to commercial pursuits carried out in

the building by the owner-organization itself No property shall lose

exemption or be denied exemption from taxation because ofuse of

property for an income-producing activity that is not the

organization’s primary purpose so long as all net proceeds from.

that activity are used to further the primary purpose of the

organization or for other charitable purposes.

(5) No Prorated Exemption. Exemption should be denied where a

building, or parts thereof are permanently occupied as residences

or used for commercial pursuits by individuals or groups other than

the claimant veteran organization.

(6) Application. The veterans’ organizations must apply for exemption

with the municipal assessor on Initial Statement, Form I.S., by
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November 1 pretax year and make Further Statements on Form F.S.

every third year by November 1 after exemption approval.

REFERENCES:

P.L. 1996, v.82 approved July 25, 1996 retro to January 1, 1994

N.J.S.A. 54:4-3.25, 54:4-4.4

John Dola Home Assoc. v. Baro. of Alpka, N.J. Super (1984)

416. Crippled Soldiers and Sailors

416.1 Eligibifity. To qualify for property tax exemption:

(1) Area Limited. Real estate may exceed 250 acres in extent.

(2) Ownership & Use. Any personal property or real estate not

- exceeding 250 acres in extent, owned and actually and exclusively

used by any corporation organized under the laws ofNew Jersey to

provide instruction in agricultural pursuits for soldiers and sailors of

the United States ‘tho have been permanently crippled while in active

service in time of war, is exempt from taxatioii

(3) Income. All income derived from the propetty in excess of the

expense of maintenance and operation., must be used exclusively for

the benefit of crippled soldiers and sailors.

(4) Application. The veterans’ organi7tions must apply for exemption

with the municipal assessor on Initial Statement, Form I. S., by

November 1 pretax year and on Further Statement, Form F.S., every

third year after exemption approval.

REFERENCES:
N.J.S.A. 54:4-3.15, 54:4-4.4

417. Firefighter’s Organizations

417.1 Real and personal property of firefighter’s organizations is exempt from taxation

under certain conditions. The following organizations are eligible:
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(A) “Exempt firemen’s associations;

(B) Firemen’s relief associations;

(C) Volunteer fire companies.

(1) Ownership. The property must be owned by one of the above

Organizations.

(2) Incorporation. The organization must be incorporated under New

Jersey law, or otherwise authorized to operate in this State.

(3) Use. The property must be used exclusively for the purposes of the

organization. Property owned by an association and rentd for use by

some other interest is not exempt.

(4) Application. The organization must apply for the exemption with

the municipal assessor on Initial Statement, Form LS., on or before

November 1 pretax year and on Further Statement, Form F.S., every

third year by November 1 after exemption approval.

REFERENCES:
N.J.S.A. 54:4-3.10, 54:4-4.4
Morri3town Firemen’s ReliefA880c. v. Town of Morriatown, 20 N. 3. MiAc.
113, 26 A.2J 28 (1942)
P09i v. Warren Point Volunteer Firemen’g Agsoc., 19 N.J. 367, 19
A.2J 636 (1941)

418. Public Fire Patrol or Salvage Corps

418.1 “The real and personal property of an association or corporation organized under the

laws of this State to maintain, and actually maintaining a public fire patrol or salvage

corps for the public purpose of saving life and property from destruction by fire, used

exclusively for the purpose of such association or corporation shall be exempt from

taxation under this chapter.”

REFERENCES:
N.J.S.A. 54:4-3.13, 54:4-4.4
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419 Young Peoples’ Associations

419.1 All real and personal property used for the purposes and in the work of certain young

peoples’ associations is tax exempt if the following conditions are met.

Eligible youth groups are:

(1) Young Men’s Christian Associations

(2) Young Women’s Christian Associations

(3) Young Men’s and Young Women’s Christian Associations

(4) Young Men’s Hebrew Associations

(5) Young Women’s Hebrew Associations

(6) Young Men’s and Young Women’s Hebrew Associations

(7) Boy Scouts of America

(8) Girl Scouts of the United States of America

419.11 Ownership. The association must be the legal or equitable property

owner.

419.12 Area Limitation. A maximum of five acres of land can be exempted

or where the property is improved with a building(s) or structure(s) up to

five acres per building may be exempted ifthe land is necessary to their

“fair enjoyment.” Also exempt within this limitation is any land upon

which construction of a building has begun and intended for use by the

association.

41 9. 13 Use. Exemption does n apply to any property in whole or in part where

used for purposes ofpecuniary profit.

419.14 Application. Application must be filed on Initial Statement, Form 1.5.,

by November 1 pretax year with the municipal assessor and on Further
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Statement, Form F.S., every third year by November 1 after exemption

approval.

NOTE: The young peoples’ association need n be incorporated under New Jersey

law to qualify.

REFERENCES:
N.J.S.A. 54:4-3.24, 54:4-4.4
Trustees, Y.W.C.A ‘v. New Brunswick. Dirision of Tax Appeals, January,
1972
B0’8 C1uI of Clifton, Inc. v. Twp. of Jefferson, Di’v-ision of Tax Appeals,
April, 1974

420. Fraternal Organizations

420.1 Property Tax Exemption for Fraternal Organizations or Lodges. “All real and

personal property used in the work and for the purposes of one or more fraternal
orgni7atons or lodges, or any association or society organized on the lodge plan, or

affiliated associations, whether incorporated or unincorporated, shall be exempt from

taxation under this chapter, if the legal or beneficial ownership of such property is in

one or more of said organi7.at ons, lodges, associations or societies, and no part of

such property is used for pecuniary profit, provided that each such organization..

lodge, association or society is also organized and operated in substantial part for

charitable or educational purposes and demonstrates these aims in its programs and

activities.”

420.11 Ownership. Real property of a fraternal organization may be owned

directly by the fraternal organi7aton itself or by a separate entity

composed of members of the fraternal organization.

420.12 Use. Operated in “substantial part for charitable or educational purposes”

means the charitable and/or educational activities are planned and

executed on a regular, continuous basis as opposed to occasionally or
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sporadically and are evidenced by the local organization’s participation in

such activities on a national, state, and local level. Examples of such

activities are: drug abuse programs, cultural programs for teens and senior

citizens, public safety programs, and health clinics in poverty areas.

Supporting_data should include a summary of the charitable and

educational programs conducted during the pretax year and those to be

conducted during the tax year.

420.13 Profit. All net income must be spent on maintaining and oprating

the property, and carrying out charitable or educational programs as

documented by current financial statements. “Net income”, is defined as

gross receipts, less any membership dues or assessments, less gross

disbursements to maintain the physical property. No part of said income is

to inure to the benefit of any individual or member.

420.14 Application. The organi7ation must apply for the exemption with

the municipal assessor on Initial Statement, Form I. S., on or before

November 1 pretax year and on Further Statement, Form F.S., every third

year by November 1 after exemption approval.

REFERENCES:
N.J.S.A. 54:4-3.26, 54:4-4.4
Guidelines for the Property Tax Exemption of Fraternal Or!&nizafiona.,

Pursuant to R.S.54:4-3.26, as arnendecl by P.L. 1971, c. 320 (April 25, 1973)

NuBeta Alumni Assoc. of Ph GAmmA Delta ‘r. Ct of New Brunswick, 7

N.J. Tax 379 (1984) affirrnej 7 N.J. Tax 658
Sigma PhiE81l0v. City of Hoboken, 1 N.J. Tax 607 (1980)

Brunson v RutherfordL0d0N0. 547 of Benevolent and Protective Order of

El19, 128 N. 3. Super 66, 319 A.2c1 80 (L. 1974)
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421. Historic Sites

421.1 Eligibility. To qualify for tax exemption the historical property must meet the

following conditions:

421.11 Building(s). The property must include a building. The land on which

the building is erected necessary to its fair enjoyment, may be. included in

the exemption. The contents of the building are also exempt if pertinent to

the historical nature of the property.

421.12 Ownership & Use. The property must be owned by a nonprofit

corporation and used for exempt purposes.

421.13 Certification. The property must be certified by the Commissioner of the

N.J. Department of Environmental Protection as a historic site having

material relevance to the history of the State and its government which

warrants preservation.

421.14 Restoration. If a restoration is made, the resulting building must be of the

same kind, character and description as the original.

421.15 Application. The owner of the property must apply for the exemption

with the municipal assessor on Initial Statement, Form I.S., by

November 1 pretax year and on Further Statement, Form F.S., every third

year by November 1 after exemption approval.

421.16 Certificate Cancelled. Any substantial change in the building or

premises may be cause for canceling the certificate. -

REFERENCES:
N.J.S.A.54:4-3.52, 3.53 & 3.54
Town of Morriowu v. Wornan C1u1 of 124 NJ 605, 592A2J,
216 (1991)
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tfi uf jrse

Christine Todd Whitman Department of Enviro ntal Protection Robert C. Shinn. Jr.

Co’rnor DivisioN OF P. FoRESTRY Comrnissioiier

HisToRic PRLvAnoN OFFIcE

CN-404
TRE-roN, N.J. 08625-0404

TEL: (609) -2023
FAX: (609 -0578

INSTRUCTIONS TO BE FOLLOWED I TO QUALIFY AS AN

OFFICIAL CERTIFIED HISTORIC SITE OF THE STATE OF NEW JERSEY

UNDER THE LAWS OF 1962 and 1964

N.J.S.A. 5 4—3.5 3.53,3.54 -

The following items are requir d f e a tax—exempt determination

can be made:

1. A petition. addressed to the Commissioner of the Department of

Environmental Protection requesting tax—exempt status and

signed by the officers o corporation. This petition

should include evidence th site:

a. Will be preserved by e sa’id corporation.

b. Will be freely available to all people, without

discrimination as to race, creed, color, or religion,

under reasonable te rid conditions, such as a nominal

fee, which would insu the preservation, and maintenance

of the site.

c. Will be available to e public on a regular basis.

- A copy of the corporation by—laws will be sufficient if

they include items — ugh .

2. A copy of the organizatios i4orporation papers.

3. A copy of the deed to ti 4perty noting exact location,

street number, deed boundaries, and/or lot numbers.

4. A brief description of the property, site, structure, or

building.

5. Photographs of the property and its buildings. (at least 3 x

5 black and white glossaries).

This information should be submitted to the Historic Preservation

Office at the above address.

..v ev s .zr £crjal Empic’er

P4vckd ?a



REQmREMENTS FOR HISTORIC SITE CERIWICATION
BY D.E.P.

Under provisions of the Laws ofNew Jersey (1962, Chapter 92, as amended 1964, Chapter 61.
N.J.S.A.. 54:4-3.52), you, as the Commissioner of the Department of Environmental Protection,
can declare historic properties owned by private non-profit organizations tax exempt from local
property taxes. This is similar to the exempt status that can be granted to non-profit
organizations, but specifically focuses on historic properties.

The Historic Preservation Office (HPO) requires the following conditions to be met and
documented before Certified Historic site status can be granted:

1. The property must be listed in the New Jersey Register ofHistoric Places.
2. The property must be owned by a non-profit corporation.
3. The non-profit organization must agree to preserve the historic property.
4. The property must be open to the public on a regular basis;

5. Access to the property must be non-discriminatory in regard to race, creed, color, or
religion.



The following have been declared historic sites by the Commissioner

of the Department of Environmental Protection and authorized for

tax exemption under the provisions of the Act approved on June 25,

1962, Chapter 92 of the Laws of New Jersey. They are available to

all people without discrimination as to race, creed, color or

religion, and subject to reasonable terms and conditions, such as

a nominal fee, which will insure the preservation and maintenance

of the site.

Beicher Mansion — Elizabeth — 12/19/62

Old Weymouth Iron Forge - Weymouth - 6/21/63

James Fennimore Cooper House — Burlington - 7/17/63

Cooper House+ How House - Burlington - 7/17/63

Old Fxan]clin Schoolhouse — Metuchen — 7/15/63

Church of the Presidents - Long Branch - 3/18/65

Conover—Schenck Cemetery - Pleasant Valley - 6/1/65

Bonnel House - Elizabeth - 10/1/65

Historic Burlington County Prison - Mount Holly -

12/20/66
Macculloch Hall - Morristown — 4/23/68

Speedwell Village — Morristown - 10/68

Gibbon House - Greenwich — 1/8/70

Hunter-Lawrence House - Woodbury - 7/17/70

Moravian Church - Swedesboro - 7/17/70

Doric House — Flemington — 11/19/70

Alexander Gait House - Salem - 1/4/71

Contemporary Victorian Museum - Trenton — 2/17/71

Kirby’s Mill — Medford — 7/12/71

Franklin Mineral Museum — Franklin — 9/24/71

Acorn Hall - Morristown - 10/22/71

Dr. Condict House - Morristown - 11/19/71

Silas Riggs House — Ledgewood — 12/20/71

D.A.R. Van Bunschooten Museum — Wantage Township - 1/4/72

Miller-Cory House — Westfield - 1/19/72

Smith—Cadbury Mansion - Moorestowri — 7/19/72

Kingswood Cemetery - Kingwood - 4/5/73

Peachfield — West Hampton Township — 8/15/73

Old School House — Mount Holly - 8/15/73

Fortnightly Woman’s Club — Haddorifield — 11/26/73

Garretsori Forge and Farm — Fair Lawn - 1/12/76

James Colles Mansion (Kellogg Club) - Morristown -

5/23/78
Lloyd Houses — Newark Preservation and Landmarks

Committee — Newark 2/20/79

Bucklew House (Jamesburg Historical Assoc.) — Jamesburg —

2/24/81
Botto House (American Labor Museum) — Haledon — 9/14/83

Anthony Reckless House (Woman’s Club of Red Bank) — Red

Bank — 12/28/83

Our Lady of Mt. Carmel Church (Ironbound Educational and

Cultural Center) — Newark - 3/20/84

Abram Demaree Homestead-Closter — 9/10/85

Rectory of Mt. Carmel Church-Newark - 10/29/91

Risley Homestead-Northfield - 3/31/92



if

1atte uf -

Department of En iron ntal Protectioril i

Natural & Historic Resources
P0 Box 404

Trenton, N.J 08625-0404
TEL: (6 92-354 1
FAX: ( 9 4-083 6

October 1, 1997

Dear Mr. Gardiner:

Mr. Richard Gardirier
Division of Taxation -

P0 Box 240
Trenton. New Jersey 08646

The attached copy of Certificate of istoric Site is for your files and concerns tax-exempt

status for Twin Maples (the Fortnightly Club of Summit) Summit, Union County, New Jersey.

Under provisions of the Laws of Nev rsey (1962, Chapter 92, as amended 1964,

Chapter 61. N.J.S.A. 54:4-3.52), the Commi oner of thé,Department of Environmental

Protection has declared this historic property wne by a private non-profit organization, exempt

rom local property taxes.

If you have any questions concerning this certification, please contact Mr. Terry

Karschner at the Historic Preservation Office 922O2g•

- Sincerely,

\ / - - - Eqi.I )prr’.nu Er-’c’r

James F. Hall
Assistant Commissioner

Chri.ine Tc’dd Whitmr

(.Werr,r

— r \
;.

A ° Poert c. Shinn, Jr.
Commissioner

• .Tl0N
• .TOR



CERTIFICATE OF HISTORIC SITE

TO ALL WHO SHALL SEE THESE PRESENTS. GREETING:

THIS IS To CERTIFY THA T:

THE SISTERS OF CHARITY DAIRY BARN

(PARK AVENUE FOUNDATION), FLORHAM PARK, MORRIS COUNTY

HAS BEEN DECLARED AN HISTORIC SITE UNDER THE PROVISIONS

OF AN ACT APPROVED ON THE TWENTY-FIFTH DAY OF JUNE, NINETEEN

HUNDRED AND SIXTY-TWO. CHAPTER 92 OF THE LAWS OF NEW JERSEY OF 1962

THIS CERTIFICATE IS AWARDED IN RECOGNITION OF

THE HISTORIC VALUEOF THIS SITE TO THE HISTORY AND

GOVERNMENT OF THE GREAT STATE OF NEW JERSEY

AND TO TRANSMIT THE SAMEUNIMPAIRED TO SUCCEEDING GENERATIONS.

DONE AT TRENTON, NEW JERSEY, THIS SECOND DAY OF APRIL IN

THE YEAR OF OUR LORD ONE THOUSAND NINE HUNDRED AND NINETY—SEVEN

AND OF THE INDEPENDENCE OF THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA THE

TWO HUNDRED TWENTY-ONE.

—

Environmental Protection
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422. Automatic Fire Suppression Systems

422.1 To encourage property owners’ voluntary installation of automatic fire suppression

equipment and help defray the cost of those required by law to install it, property tax

exemption is provided to the extent such equipment enhances the market value of the

property in which it is installed. Exemption applies to a fire suppression system

installed in a residential, commercial or industrial building once certified by the

enforcing agency.

“Automatic fire suppression system” means a mechanical system designed and

equipped to detect a fire, activate an alarm, and suppress or control a fire without

human intervention. Such a system activates as a result of a predetermined

temperature rise, rate of temperature rise, or increase in the level of combustion

products.

“Enforcing agency” means the municipal agency provided for under the State

Uniform Construction Code Act 52:27D-l 19 et seq.

REFERENCES:
N.3.S.A. 54:4-3.150, 54:4-3.131

422.2 Certification Required The local code enforcing agency, upon application, is to

review and grant or deny certification of the system. An automatic fire suppression

system is exempt from taxation when the equipment, facility, or system installed is

designed primarily for purposes of automatic fire suppression as guided by

regulations set forth by the Commissioner of the Department of Community Affairs.

The certification must identify the system and its cost.

REFERENCES:
N.J.SA. 54:4-3.132, 54:4-5.155

422.3 Applying for Certification and Exemption. Certification as an automatic fire

suppression system is to be applied for to the local enforcing agency on Form FSS-1

(See Exhibit TV-i 1.) supplied by the enforcing agency and promulgated by the
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Director, Division of Taxation. The enforcing agency may, at any time, inquire into

the claimant’s right to exemption, and may require a new application or proofs it feels

necessary to continue the exemption. The enforcing agency has the right to inspect

the premises for which exemption is claimed.

REFERENCES:

N.J.S.A. 54:4-3.132

422.31 Claimant, Assessor, Enforcing Agency to get Certificates. The•

approved certificate itself is given to the claimant. A copy of’the

certificate is sent to the assessor of the municipality where the building

having the automatic fire suppression system is located. A copy of the

certificate is also retained in the files of the enforcing agency.

REFERENCES:

N.J.S.A. 54:4-5.133

422.32 Assessor to Allow Exemption. Once the assessor receives a copy of the

enforcing agency’s certification that an automatic fire suppression system

is exempt from taxation, exemption begins in the tax year following the

year in which certification was granted. The assessor should reflect the

exemption on the Tax List as a partial exemption. The Tax List

should show the full assessed value and, in a separate column, the amount

of the exemption, as well as a separate net assessed valuation of the

property.

REFERENCES:

N.J.S.A. 54:4-5.133

422.4 Exempt Amount. The owner of a building equipped with a properly certified

automatic fire suppression system is entitled to annual exemption on the assessed

value of the building in an amount equal to the value of the fire suppression system.

The assessor should first determine the assessed value of the property including the
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automatic fire suppression system and then determine the assessed value of the

property minus the fire suppression system. The difference between these two figures

will indicate the amount of exemption accorded the system.

REFERENCES:

N.J.S.A. 54:4-3.136

422.5 Certificate Revoked. The enforcing agency, after notice to the FSS certificate

holder, may revoke the certificate for any of the following reasons:

(1) the certificate was obtained by fraud or misrepresentation;

(2) the exemption claimant has failed substantially to proceed with construction,

reconstruction, installation or acquisition of an automatic fire suppression system;

(3) the mechanical system is no longer used for the primary purpose of automatic fire

suppression, and is used for a different primary purpose;

(4) the c1imant so departed from the equipment, design and construction previously

certified that in the enforcing agency’s opinion the system is not suitable and

reasonably adequate for providing automatic fire suppression.

REFERENCES:

N.J.S.A. 54:4-3.134

422.6 Appeal. A person aggrieved by an action of the assessor may appeal to the County

Tax Board or to the New Jersey Tax Court as appropriate. A person aggrieved by the

action ofthe Director, Division of Taxation may seek a review before the Director. A

person aggrieved by the action of the enforcing agency may seek a review before the

board of appeals. Board of appeals means the municipal or county board provided for

under the State Uniform Construction Code Act

REFERENCES:

N.J.S.A. 54:4-3.135 & 3.130

422.7 Sales Ratio Usability of Property with a Certified Fire Suppression System.

Where property having an automatic fire suppression system exemption is sold, the

assessor should attach a copy of the approved certification or application to the
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SR-lA form. The property assessment reported on the SR-lA form should be the full

assessment including the assessed value of the system. This information will be

carefully reviewed to determine the usability or nonusability of the sale. Generally,

it’s assumed there is a reasonable relationship between the full assessed value of the

sold property and the selling price.

REFERENCES:

Lt. to ll Asessor from Samuel Temimi, Superintendent, Local Property and

PuMic Utilt Branch, Septemler 12, 1983

423. Certain Air and Water Pollution Facilities and Devices

423.1 Pollution Abatement or Prevention Equipment. Any equipment, facility or device

constructed or installed and used primarily for abating or preventing pollution of the

atmosphere or waters of this State which is certified to be an air or water pollution

abatement facility by the Division of Environmental Quality and the Commissioner of

the Department ofEnvironmental Protection, is exempt from taxation.

REFERENCES:

N.J.S.A.&4:4-3.56

422.2 Certification. The Commissioner of the Department of Environmental Protection, as

requested, is to certify a facility as an air or water pollution abatement facility when

he finds the equipment, facility or device constructed or installed, or to be constructed

or installed, designed primarily for controlling or abating air or water pollution and

suitable and reasonably adequate for such purpose. The certificate must identify the

facilities, their cost and be in such form and detail as the commissioner prescribes.

(See Exhibit IV-12.) The certificate is to be sent to the applicant with a copy to the

assessor of the taxing district where the facilities are located and installed. Tax

exemption becomes effective for the tax year following the year in which certification

W-88



is granted and thereafter during the facility’s or equipment’s use primarily for such

purpose.

REFERENCES:

N.3.S.A. 54:4-3.57

423.3 Certificate Revoked. The Commissioner of Department of Environmental

Protection, after giving notice to a pollution abatement certificate holder and an

opportunity for a hearing, may revoke the certificate as follows:

(1) the certificate was obtained by fraud or misrepresentation;

(2) the exemption claimant failed substantially to proceed with construction,

reconstruction, installation or acquisition ofpollution control facilities;

(3) the previous structure or equipment or both is no longer used for the primary

purpose ofpollution control and is used for a different primary purpose;

(4) the claimant so departed from the equipment, design and construction

previously certified that in the Cornmissione?s opinion the primary purpose of

such installation is no longer to prevent pollution or the installation is not suitable

and reasonably adequate for that purpose;

(5) performance of the equipment as installed is not, in the commission’s opinion,

suitable and reasonably adequate for the primary purpose for which certified; and

in lieu of revocation, the commissioner may modifS’ the certificate in accordance

with the facts.

The commissioner must forward a copy of the notice of revocation or modification of

any certificate to the assessor of the taxing district in which the equipment is located.

REFERENCES:

N.J.SA. 64:4-3.58

424. Improvement to Water Supply or Sewerage Disposal System

424.1 Improvement Value Exempt. The value of any “improvement” to real estate, to the

extent the improvement enhances the value of the property, is exempt from taxation.
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An “improvement” or “improvement to real estate” means any structure,

machinery, equipment, device or facility necessary to the installation or maintenance

of a potable water supply system or a water-carried sewerage disposal system. Such

improvements apply only to those located on land in agricultural or horticultural use.

REFERENCES:

N.J.S.A. 54:4-3.59, 54:4-3.60, 54:4-23.12

424.2 Application. An initial application, Form WS-l, must be filed by the claimant with

the assessor on or before October 1 of the pretax year. Forms are supplied by the

municipality. Form WS-l as prescribed by the Director, Division of Taxation must

authorize the assessor, or his representative, to enter the premises to periodically

inspect the improvement. (See Exhibit P1-13.)

REFERENCES:

N.J.S.A. 54:4-3.61

424.3 Exemption Continued. A tax exemption, once granted, continues from year to year

without further application as long as the improvement is maintained in working

order as verified by the assessor.

REFERENCES:

N.J.S.A. 54:4-3.62

425. Growing Crops, Trees, Shrubs, and Vines

Commercially planted and growing crops, trees, shrubs, and vines are exempt from

property taxation while in the ground. Real property is to be assessed at true value

without regard to any enhancement in value because of commercially planted and

growing crops, trees, shrubs or vines while in the ground.

REFERENCES:

N.J.S.A. 54:4-3.28
Juliui Roehr C0. D1. Appeals, 16 NJ 493, 109 A2d 611 (1955)
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426. Conservation or Recreation Land

426.1 Legislative Rationale. The Legislature finds “that natural open space areas for

public recreation and conservation purposes are rapidly diminishing; that public funds

for the acquisition and maintenance of public open space should be supplemented by

private individuals and conservation org2ni72tlons; and that it is therefore in the

public interest to encourage the dedication of privately-owned open space to public

use and enjoyment.”

426.2 Eligibffity. To qualir for exemption the property must meet the folloving

conditions:

426.3 Lands and improvements must be actually and exclusively used for conservation or

recreation purposes, owned and maintained or operated for public benefit by a

nonprofit 501c3 federal tax exempt organization and certified by the Commissioner of

the N.J. Department of Environmental Protection as such.

426.31 Certification. The property must be certified by the Department of

Environmental Protection’s Commissioner as a recreation or conservation

area benefiting the public. Certification may be granted only after

application is made to the Commissioner and a public hearing held to

establish equal access to all citizens and public benefit.

REFERENCE&
N.J.S.A. 54:4-5.64; 54:4-3.66

426.32 Application. Property owners claiming tax exemption must file an

application in duplicate for certification with the Commissioner of D.E.P.

on or before August 1 of the pretax year. Applications as prescribed by

the Commissioner require a physical description of the land and
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improvements, a plan for use and preservation, a statement of public uses

and access.

REFERENCES:
N.J.S.A. 54:4-3.67

426.33 Commissioner to Notify. The Commissioner of D.E.P. must approve any

applications for certification, on or before September 15 of the pretax year

and deliver them to the property owner and assessor of the taxing district

where the property is located.

REFERENCES:
N.J.S.A. 54:4-3.67
Priiicefon Twp v. BarJin, 147 N.J. Super 567, 371 A2J 776 (A.D. 1977)

cer*Jen 74 NJ 281, 366 A2J 685
WIJ1if Reeer’irei Inc. ‘r. Boro Lincoln Park, 151 N.J. Super 633, 377 A2J

706 (A.D. 1977)

426.4 Assessor to Exempt Tax exemption for certified recreation or conservation land and

improvements is to be granted in accordance with N.J.SA. 54:4-4.4 filing

provisions for Initial and Further Statements.

REFERENCES:
N.J.S.A. 54:4-3.68
Wt MiIforJ Garfield Recreafion Commitiee, Inc., 194 N.J. Super

148, 476 A.2J.333 (1983)

426.5 Change of Use. When real property exempt as a certified recreational or

conservation area ceases to be used for that purpose, it is subject to roll-back taxes.

REFERENCES:
N.J.S.A. 54:4-3.69

426.51 Roil-back Taxes. Roll-back taxes are to be assessed in an amount equal

to taxes payable on the property if nonexempt for the year ofthe change in
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use and 2 years immediately prior to the year of the use change. Interest is

to be charged at a rate of 8% compounded annually.

REFERENCES:
N.JS.A. 54:4-3.69

426.52 Roll-back Taxes Restricted. No roll-back taxes are to be assessed when

the property which is exempted is sold, leased, donated or otherwise

conveyed to a public agency, nonprofit corporation or organi72tlon.

REFERENCES:
N.J.S.A. 54:4-3.69
Camp Alpiue of Greater N.Y. Councils v. B00. of Norwood, 178 N.J. Super

98 (1981), 2 N.J. Tax 223, 183 NJ. Super, 13, 443 A2d 213

427. Cemeteries, Burial Grounds, Graveyards.

427.1 Cemeteries. Lands used or intended for use as cemeteries and buildings for cemetery

use erected on the land, mausoleums, vaults, crypts, or structures intended to hold or

contain bodies of the dead or their ashes and solely devoted to or held for that purpose

are exempt from taxation.. No limit is imposed on the area of a cemetery to be

exempt. The lands used or dedicated to cemetery purposes is a question of fact in

each case where proofplainly indicates that the property is actually used as a

cemetery or within reasonable contemplation thereof Lands being cleared and

prepared for cemetery use may be in reasonable contemplation of cemetery use and

may be exempt; but brush and swampland not needed for burial in a reasonable

number of years, together with failure to obtain municipal permits, might be evidence

to defeat a claim for exemption.

427.2 Graveyards and Burial Grounds. Lands used or intended for use as graveyards, or

burial grounds and cemeteries and buildings for cemetery use are exempt from

taxation. The exemption for graveyard, or burial ground, is limited to 10 acres. A
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“graveyard” is defined as that plot next to a church used for burial of parishioners; the

term “burial ground” remains undefined.

427.3 Application. Cemetery associations or other owners must apply for exemption with

the municipal assessor on Initial Statement, Form LS. by November 1 pretax year and

on Further Statement, Form F.S., every third year by November 1 after exemption

approval.

REFERENCES:
N.J.S.A. 54:4-3.9, 54:4-4.4

Lalre’riew Memorial Park Association v. T,-9. of Cinizaminson, Di80 of Tax

Appeala, FeIruary 16, 1962

Cify of Jeraey City v. Roman Ch01i DioceAe of NewarkIL 4 N.J. Tax 593

(1982) -

428. Nonprofit Cemetery Associations or Corporations

428.1 Exemptions. Nonprofit cemetery companies are exempt from the real estate tax on

lands dedicated for cemetery purposes, as well as all land, structures, buildings, and

equipment used for the operation and maintenance of the lands so dedicated.

REFERENCES:
N.J.S.A. 8A:5-1O
Fran1 -v. Kufler, 121 N.J. Super 589, (1972)

428.2 Cemetery Size Limited. An incorporated cemetery company may take by gift,

purchase or devise and hold lands not to exceed 250 acres in extent at any one

location.

REFERENCES:
N.J.S.A. 8A:6-1

428.3 Prohibited Activities. Every cemetery company whether incorporated or organized

prior to or subsequent to the enactment of the “New Jersey Cemetery Act” (L. 1971,

c. 333), is prohibited from engaging directly or indirectly, in any of the following:
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(1) Manufacture or sale of monuments, markers or bronze memorials;

(2) Manufacture or sale of vaults as defined in the act and manufacture or sale of

private mausoleums or any private sarcophagus;

(3) Conduct of any funeral home or engaging in the business or profession of

mortuary science; provided that crematoriums operated in conjunction with

funeral homes prior to December 1, 1972 are excepted from these provisions.

REFERENCES:
N.J.S.A. 8A5-3
Frank v. KuEler, 121 Super. 689 (1972)

Terwillirer . Graceland Memorial Park 35 N.J. 259 (1961)

Frank v. Clover Leaf Park Ceme*er Asg’n, 29 N.J. 193 (1969)

Locustwooj Cern. As8oc. v. Ckerr Hill 133 N.J. Super 92 (1975)

Greenwooj Cemetery AfIoe. v. of Millville, 1 N.J. Tax 408 (1980)

428.4 A cemetery company must not lease any of its lands, directly or indirectly, toy

person or entity engaged in any activity prohibited under the statutes (see N.3.SA.

8A:5-3). Engaging in any prohibited activities or any contractual lease aeements

above may invalidate the cemetery company’s exempt status.

REFERENCES:
N.J.S.A. 8A:6-2
Lakeriew Memorial Park AgBoc. v. Boro. of Cinnaxniiueon, DTi80 of Tax

AppealR, Felruary 15, 1961

428.5 Application. The cemetery organization or association must apply for the exemption

with the municipal assessor on Initial Statement, Form I.S. by November 1 pretax

year and on Further Statement, Form F.S., every third year by November 1 after

exemption approval.

REFERENCES:
N.J.S.A. 64:4-3.9, 64:4-4.4
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429. Blast or Radiation Fallout Shelters

429.1 Blast or radiation fallout shelters in residential properties are exempt from taxation to

the extent that they enhance the value of the property, upto $1,000 of true value.

REFERENCES:
N.J.S.A. 54:4-3.48

429.2 Eligibility. To qualify for exemption, the following conditions must be met as of

October 1 of the pretax year:

429.21 Standards. A shelter must comply with design and construction

standards authorized by the New Jersey Department of Defense and issued

by the United States Department of Defense, 500 C Street SW,

Washington, DC 20472.

NOTE: Office of Civil Defense is no longer in existence. It’s authority is now under

Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA).

REFERENCES:
N.J.S.A. 54:4-3.49

429.22 Completion. A shelter must be erected, installed and completed.

429.23 Residential Property. A shelter must be on property occupied for

residential purposes by no more than two families. It may be inside

another building or a separate structure.

REFERENCES:
N.J.S.A 54:4-3.48

429.24 Application. Claimants of shelter exemption must apply with the assessor

on or before October 1 of the pretax year on Form F.S. 1 Claim for

Exemption on Blast or Radiation Fallout Shelter prescribed by the
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Director, Division of Taxation. (See Exhibit P1-14.) Claimant’s

authorization for the assessor to enter the property to make periodic

inspections is required. An exemption, once granted, continues from year

to year without further application as long as the shelter is properly

nmintajnej

REFERENCES:
N.J.S.A. 54:4-3.50 & 3.51

429.25 Exempt Amount The amount of the exemption is the valu&by

which the entire property is enhanced through construction of the shelter,

but not in excess of $1,000 of true value. In calculating the enhanced

value, assessors should consider the shelter’s construction, erection, or

installation costs.

REFERENCES:
NJ.S.A. 54:4-3.48
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July, 2009

Property Administration

TO: ASSESSORS, TAX COLLECTORS, COUNTY TAX BOARD

COMMISSIONERS AND COUNTY TAX ADMINISTRATORS

FROM: Patricia Wright, Assistant Director

Local Property Tax

RE: REVISED 2009 INCOME GUIDELINES FOR REAL PROPERTY TAX

DEDUCTION FOR SENIOR CITIZENS, DISABLED PERSONS AND

SURVIVING SPOUSES

N.J.S.A.54:4-8.40 et seq.; Chapter 129, P.L. 1976, as

Amended
N.J.A.C.18:14-1.1 et seq.

To assist all concerned with the administration of Chapter 129,

Laws of 1976, as amended, and to aid in determining income which may

be deducted or excluded from gross income of citizens and residents

of this State, 65 years of age or more, or less than 65 years but

permanently and totally disabled, or their surviving spouses, age 55

or more, in certain cases, who are applying for the Real Property

Tax Deduction under N.J.S.A.54:4-8.40 et seq the following

guidelines are provided.

This information supersedes that in the Guidelines of July 2008

and pertains to Property Tax Deduction Claims (Form PTD) for tax

year 2009 and Annual Post-Tax Year Statements (Form PD5) filed by

March 1, 2010 to confirm 2009 income. Initial application Form PTD

must be filed with the assessor between October 1 and December 31 of

pretax year 2008 or with the tax collector at any time during tax

year January 1, 2009 - December 31, 2009. Social Security income

data is based on an individual retiring at full retirement age in

2009 who has contributed to Social Security at maximum wage levels

through 2008 and can be used to determine whether a PTD applicant

meets the $10,000 income limit for 2009. PTD applicants should

provide the assessor or collector with the amount of annual benefit

and the name and address of the agency granting the benefit.



INCOME DEFINED
N.J.S.A.54:4-8.40(a) defines “income” as all income from

whatever source derived including, but not limited to, realized
capital gains except for a capital gain resulting from the sale or
exchange of real property owned and used by the taxpayer as his
principal residence. . . and, in their entirety, pension, annuity and
retirement benefits.

N.J.A.C.18:14—l.l enumerates “income” as salaries, wages,
bonuses, commissions, tips and other compensations before payroll
deductions, all dividends, interest, realized capital gains,
royalties, income from rents, business income and, in their
entirety, pension, annuity and retirement benefits. Realized capital
gains, except for capital gain resulting from the sale or exchange
of real property owned and used by the taxpayer as his principal
residence.. .and dividends, interest, pensions, annuities and
retirement benefits must be included in full without deductions even
though they may be wholly or partially exempt for Federal Income Tax
purposes.

N.J.A.C.18:14—l.l further defines “business income” as gross
income derived from a business, trade, profession or the rental of
property after deductions of the ordinary and necessary expenses of
the business, trade, profession or rental of property allowed under
the Federal Internal Revenue Code and regulations.

Ordinary and necessary expenses incurred in a trade or business
are included as deductions for adjusted gross income. Such
deductions are subtracted from gross income to arrive at adjusted
gross income to the extent allowed under the IRS Code and
Regulations. However, certain categories of expenses may only be
used against similar categories of income and not applied broadly
against all income. To ascertain the treatment of such expenses, it
is necessary to review how the income was categorized, reported and
treated for Federal Income Tax purposes. Deductions for AGI are
reported on page 1 of the Federal 1040 and originate on supporting
schedules; Federal Schedule C for business expenses and Federal
Schedule E for rent, royalty, partnership and fiduciary deductions.

“Married persons income” income received by the applicant and
spouse is combined in establishing eligibility for the property tax
deduction unless they are living separately. N.J.S.A.54:4—8.4l
provides, in part, income of a married person includes an amount
equal to the income of the spouse during the applicable income year,
except for that portion of the year as the two ‘ere living apart in
a state of separation, whether under judicial decree or otherwise.

N.J.A.C.l8:14-1.1 also provides income of applicant’s family
members, other than a spouse, is not to be combined with income of
the applicant.
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EXCLUDABLE INCOME

A PTD applicant is entitled to exclude benefits under only ONE

of following three categories:

1. The Federal Social Security Act and all its amendments and

supplements; *** SEE NOTE

2. Any other Federal government program or Federal law which

provides benefits in whole or in part in lieu of Social

Security benefits or for persons excluded from coverage

under Social Security, including but not limited to the

Federal Railroad Retirement Act (Tier I and II) and

Federal pension, disability and retirement programs;

SEE NOTE

3. Pension, disability or retirement programs of any state or

its political subdivisions, or agencies for persons not

covered under Social Security. SEE NOTE

NOTE: Where the PTD applicant and/or spouse receives only

Social Security benefits and no benefits under 2. & 3., the amount

of Social Security received may be deducted from income in full.

Where the PTD applicant and/or spouse receives both Social Security

benefits and benefits under 2. or 3., the larger of any one of the

income categories can be deducted. The amount of Federal, State,

County, Municipal pension, disability or retirement benefit etc.

excluded should be based on actual benefits received provided that

the total excluded under 2. or 3. above is not in excess of the

maximum benefit amount excludable in similar circumstances under 1.

Social Security. (N.J.S.A.54:4-8.40(a) (1) (2) (3))

“Disability benefits” the New Jersey Constitution, statutes and

regulations are silent on the subject of disability income other

than those disability benefits received under a Federal, State, or

Political Subdivision program which are excludable only to the

extent of the maximum benefit received under the Federal Social

Security Act. Therefore, any other disability income received should

be evaluated for inclusion or exclusion based on its proper

treatment for Federal Income Tax purposes. (See Handbook for New

Jersey Assessors, Section 402.241, as updated in April 1998 and the

Local Property Branch Newsletter, September/October 1977, page 1.)

A WORD ABOUT SOCIAL SECURITY DISABILITY DETERMINATIONS

The amount of Social Security benefits awarded surviving

spouses is variable and is best established by Social Security

Certificate, Forms SSA-30 OR SSA-2458, or Third Party Query (TPQY)

Response when determining the income deduction allowed. Where award

certificate has an issue date that is not current,

assessors/collectors may need to request proof of current

eligibility such as current check stub.
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Disability under Social Security is based on a person’s

inability to work. Someone will be considered disabled if that

person cannot do work he/she did before and the Social Security

Administration decides that same person cannot adjust to other work

because of his/her medical condition(s) . The disability also must

last or be expected to last for at least a year or to result in

death. Social Security does not pay for partial disability or for

short—term disability. Under Social Security law, all disability

cases must be reviewed from time to time. This is to make sure that

people receiving benefits continue to be disabled and meet all other

requirements. Benefits generally will continue unless there is

strong proof of medical improvement and an ability to return to

work. How often a case is reviewed depends on the likelihood of

improvement. The frequency can range from six months to seven years.

• If medical improvement is “expected,” a case normally will be

reviewed within six to eighteen months.

• If medical improvement is “possible,” a case normally will be

reviewed no sooner than three years.

• If medical improvement is “not expected,” a case normally

will be reviewed no sooner than seven years.

GENERAL RULE OF THUNB WITH REGARD TO INCOME

If income treatment is not addressed in New Jersey Statutes,

N.J.S.A.54:4-8.40 et seq., or the New Jersey Administrative Code,

N.J.A.C.18:14—l.1 et seq. defer to income status for Federal Income

Tax purposes. Local Property Newsletter, May/June 1982, page 1.

“Business Income Expenses” Ordinary and necessary expenses

incurred in a trade or business are treated as deductions for

adjusted gross income. Such deductions are subtracted from gross

income to arrive at adjusted gross income to the extent allowed

under the IRS Code and Regulations. However, certain categories of

expenses may only be used against similar categories of income and

not applied broadly against all income. To ascertain the treatment

of such expenses, it is necessary to review how the income was

categorized, reported and treated for Federal Income Tax purposes.

Deductions for AGI are reported on page 1 of the Federal 1040 and

originate on supporting schedules; Federal Schedule C for business

expenses and Federal Schedule E for rent, royalty, partnership and

fiduciary deductions.

“Gifts” are not treated as income for Federal Income Tax

purposes and, therefore, are not income when determining the annual

$10,000 limit for the Real Property Tax Deduction. But any income

generated from the gifts, including profits derived from their sale,

is income. Section 849 U.S. Master Tax Guide.

“Inheritances, bequests, devises” are not income for Federal

Income Tax purposes and are not induced as income for establishing

the $10,000 ceiling for property tax deduction. However, any income

generated from the property such as investment income, rental
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income, or profits from their sale is income. Section 847 U.S.

Master Tax Guide.

“IRA income”, when it is distributed, must be counted toward

the $10,000 limit.

“Life insurance” all payments due to death of the insured are

not considered income for Federal Income Taxes, nor for property tax

deduction entitlement. Section 803 U.S. Master Tax Guide.

“N.J. Worker’s Compensation” payments made under state law for

occupational injury or illness arising out of employment are not

considered income subject to Federal taxation, nor are they income

when calculating income levels for the $250 property tax deduction.

Section 851 U.S. Master Tax Guide.

“Alimony and Child Support” Alimony and separate maintenance

payments are deductible by the payor and are includible in the gross

income of the party receiving the payments. Child support payments

are not includible as income received. Sections 771 and 776 U.S.

Master Tax Guide.

“Unemployment Compensation” The entire annual amount of

unemployment compensation benefits received must be included as

income to recipient. Payments to laid-off employees from company—

financed supplemental unemployment benefit plans are taxable income

in the year received. Section 722 U.S. Master Tax Guide.

“Armed Forces Benefits” Benefits under any law administered by

the Veterans Administration are not includible income for Federal

Income Tax purposes. This includes amounts paid to veterans or their

families in the form of educational, training, or subsistetice

allowances, disability compensation and pension payments for

disabilities, grants for homes designed for wheelchair living, and

so forth. Such payments are prefaced as payments “for personal

injuries or sickness which resulted from combat—related service in

the armed forces...” Section 891 U.S. Master Tax Guide.

“State Lottery Winnings” are considered income for purposes of

establishing the $10,000 income cutoff for $250 Real Property Tax

Deduction. Local Property Newsletter, May/June 1977, page 2.

“Reverse Mortgage” Because a reverse mortgage is the assumption

of a debt, it is not considered income for purposes of this

deduction.

“Homestead Rebate” is not considered income when computing the

yearly $10,000 income limitation for $250 Real Property Tax

Deduction. Local Property Branch Newsletter, January/February 1978,

page 2.
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“NJ SAVER” Rebate (School Assessment Valuation Exemption

Relief) is similar to the Homestead Rebate and is not income for

property tax deduction purposes. “FAIR Rebate” Beginning with tax

year 2005, the Homestead Rebate and the NJ SAVER Rebate have been

combined into the FAIR Rebate and, like prior rebates, is not

considered income for purposes of tiis deduction. As of 2007, the

rebate was redesignated as the Homestead Property Tax Credit, but

its form is a rebate and treatment is the same as prior rebates,

that is, it’s not income.

“REAP” Payment (Regional Efficiency Aid Program) is not income

but like the Homestead Rebate and SAVER Rebate is deemed a refund of

property taxes.

“Property Tax Reimbursement” The Property Tax Reimbursement

(PTR), also known as the Senior/Disabled Tax Freeze, is not

considered income when computing the annual $10,000 income

limitation for the $250 Real Property Tax Deduction. As with the

rebates, the PTR functions as a refund of property taxes paid.

FULL RET IRENENT AGE

Age To Receive Full Social Security Benefits

Year of Birth Full Retirement Age

1937 or earlier 65

1938 65 and 2 months

1939 65 and 4 months

1940 65 and 6 months

1941 65 and 8 months

1942 65 and 10 months

1943—1954 66

1955 66 and 2 months

1956 66 and 4 months

1957 66 and 6 months

1958 66 and 8 months

1959 66 and 10 months

1960 and later 67

Because of longer life expectancies, the Social Security law

was changed in 1983 [P.L. 98-21 (H.R. 1900) signed on April 20,

1983] to increase the full retirement age in gradual steps until it

reaches age 67. Beginning in the year 2003, this change affects

people born in 1938 and later. Benefits will still be available at

age 62, but with greater reduction.

SOCIAL SECURITY BENEFIT MAXIMUM

The following are the annual maximum benefit estimates for a

male or female worker retiring at full retirement age in 2009 who

contributed to Social Security at maximum wage levels through 2008,

as compiled from information received from the Department of f:ealth

Human Services, Social Security Administration:
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• Retired worker (full retirement age) $27,876

• Retired worker and spouse receiving Social Security

benefits through the retired worker.

Retired worker (full retirement age) $27,876

Spouse nonworking (full retirement age) $13,932

Retired worker and spouse (both full retirement age) $41,808

• Disabled worker (less than full retirement age)

receives benefits based on average yearly earnings

under Social Security in the same amount he would

get if retiring at full retirement age. $27,876

• Disabled worker and spouse - where spouse receives

Social Security benefits through the disabled worker.

Disabled worker (less than full retirement age) $27,876

Spouse (full retirement age) $13,932

Spouse (with minor or disabled children) $13,932

Disabled worker and either spouse as above $41,808

• Spouse (less than 62 with no minor

or disabled children) No benefits

• Surviving spouse (age 60 or more) receives Social Security

benefits through the deceased worker unless:

Surviving spouse (age 50—60 years) is totally disabled

Surviving spouse (with minor or disabled children of the

deceased)

Any questions in regard to this information can be directed to

the New Jersey Division of Taxation, Property Administration,

P0 Box 251, Trenton, NJ 08695—0251.

Adherence to these Guidelines should result in a more uniform

implementation of the Act.

INCOME DETERMINED-EXAMPLES

All examples assume all other prerequisites for eligibility for

Property Tax Deduction have been met. Examples 1—5 reflect

applicant/spouse with excludable Social Security benefits only.

Examples 6—16 reflect applicants with income in more than one of the

three excludable categories. Income may be excluded from only ONE of

the three categories when determining the $10,000 income limitation.
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EXAMPLE 1

PTD Applicant and spouse both full retirement age. Each a retired

worker in his/her own right.

INCOME DEDUCTION ALLOWED

Applicant—Social Security $27,876 $27,876

Spouse—Social Security 10,500 10,500

Other Income 3,500 0

Total $41,876 $38,376

Social Security benefits of applicant and spouse can be deducted in

full leaving a balance of $3,500 which is under the $10,000 income

limit.

Conclusion: Eligible

EXAMPLE 2
PTD Applicant full retirement age and spouse age 62, the earliest

possible retirement age, or more. Each a retired worker in his/her

own right.

INCOME DEDUCTION ALLOWED

Applicant—Social Security $27,876 $27,876

Spouse—Social Security 10,000 10,000

Other Income 5,000 0

Total $42,876 $37,876

Social Security benefits of applicant and spouse can be deducted in

full leaving a balance of $5,000 which is under the $10,000 income

limit.

Conclusion: Eligible

EXAMPLE 3

PTD Applicant and spouse both age 7Q* years. Each a retired worker

in his/her own right.
INCOME DEDUCTION ALLOWED

Applicant—Social Security $28,000** $28,000

Spouse-Social Security 11,500 11,500

Other Income 2,000 0

Total $41,500 $39,500

Social Security benefits of applicant and spouse can be deducted in

full leaving a balance of $2,000 which is under the $10,000 income

limit. **Social Security benefits may be more than maximum if

retirement is deferred beyond full retirement age.

Conclusion: Eligible
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EXAMPLE 4

PTD Applicant disabled, less than full retirement age; spouse

retired worker, age 62 or more. Disabled individual is considered as

a retired worker of full retirement age.
INCO DEDUCTION ALLOWED

$27,876 $27,876

9,000 9,000

6,500

________

$43,376 $36,876

Social Security benefits of applicant and spouse can be deducted in

full leaving a balance of $6,500 which is under the $10,000 income

limit.

Conclusion: Eligible

EXAMPLE 5

PTD Applicant disabled, less than full retirement age; spouse

retired worker, full retirement age or more. Disabled individual is

considered as a retired worker of full retirement age.

INCOME DEDUCTION ALLOWED

$27,876 $27,876

27,876 27,876

1,000 0

$56,752 $55,752

Social Security benefits of applicant and spouse can be deducted in

full leaving a balance of $1,000 which is under the $10,000 income

limit.

Conclusion: Eligible

EXAMPLE 6

PTD Applicant and spouse both full retirement age. Each a retired

worker in his/her own right. Or PTD Applicant disabled, less than 65

years, spouse full retirement age.

Applicant-Railroad pension

Applicant-Social Security

Spouse—State pens ion

Spouse-Social Security

Applicant-Social Security

Spouse—Social Security

Other Income

Total

0

Applicant-Social Security

Spouse-Social Security

Other Income

Total

Total

INCOME

$28,000
6,500

27,500

5, 500

$67,500

DEDUCTION ALLOWED

$27,876(SS maximum)

0

27,876(SS maximum)

0

$55,752
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Applicant can deduct income from only ONE of the three categories of

excludable income, i.e., either Railroad pension or Social Security-

not both. Since the Railroad pension is larger than the Social

Security benefit, it is the most advantageous choice. However, the

amount of Railroad pension deducted cannot exceed the maximum amount

allowed under Social Security. The same is true of the spouse’s

State pension. A total of $55,752 can be deducted from income

leaving a balance of $11,748 which is over the $10,000 income limit.

Conclusion: Not Eligible

EXAMPLE 7

PTD Applicant disabled, less than full retirement age; spouse

retired, age 62 or more. Disabled individual is considered as a

retired worker of full retirement age. Or PTD Applicant and spouse

both full retirement age.

INCOME DEDUCTION ALLOWED

Applicant-County pension $10,000 $10,000

Applicant-Social Security 4,500 0

Spouse-Public School pension 8,000 8,000

Spouse-Social Security 3,000 0

Other Income $ 2,350 0

Total $27,850 $18,000

Applicant can deduct income from only ONE of the three categories of

excludable income, i.e., either County pension or Social Security.

The County pension is larger than the applicant’s Social Security

benefit, but does not exceed the Social Security maximum of $27,876

and can be deducted in full. The same is true of the spouse’s Public

School pension. A total of $18,000 can be deducted from income

leaving a balance of $9,850 which is under the $10,000 income limit.

Conclusion: Eligible

EXAMPLE 8

PTD Applicant and spouse both full retirement age. Each a retired

worker in his/her own right. Or PTD Applicant disabled less than

full retirement age; spouse age 62 or more.

INCOME DEDUCTION ALLOWED

Applicant-Municipal pension $ 8,000 $ 0

Applicant-Social Security 9,500 9,500

Spouse—State pension 3,600 3,600

Spouse—Social Security 1,700 0

Total $22,800 $13,100

Applicant can deduct income from only ONE of the three categories of

excludable income, i.e., either Municipal pension or Social
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Security. Applicant’s Social Security benefit is larger than the

Municipal pension and can be deducted in full. State pension is

larger than spouse’s Social Security benefit but not more than the

SS maximum of $27,876 and can be deducted in full. Again, one

category only. A total of $13,100 can be deducted from income

leaving a balance of $9,700 which is under the $10,000 income limit.

Conclusion: Eligible

EXAMPLE 9

PTD Applicant disabled, less than full retirement age; spouse

retired worker, age 62 or more. Disabled individual is considered as

a retired worker of full retirement age. Or PTD Applicant and spouse

both full retirement age.

INCOME DEDUCTION ALLOWED

Applicant—Federal pension $28,500 $27,876 (SS maximum)

Spouse—Social Security 9,000 9,000

Other Income 11,000 0

Total $48,500 $36,876

Applicant can deduct Federal pension up to the maximum amount

allowed under Social Security. Spouse’s Social Security benefit can

be deducted in full but the balance of $11,624 is over the $10,000

income limit.

Conclusion: Not Eligible

EXAMPLE 10

PTD Applicant and nonworking spouse both full retirement age. Spouse

receives benefits through retired worker.

INCOME DEDUCTION ALLOWED

Applicant—Railroad pension $32,000 $27,876 (SS maximum)

Applicant-Social Security 7,500 0

Spouse-Social Security 4,250 13,932 (1/2 applicant)

Total $43,750 $41,808

Applicant can deduct income from ONE category, i.e., the larger

Railroad pension, up to the maximum amount allowed under Social

Security. Spouse is receiving Social Security benefits through

retired worker applicant amounting to 50% of worker’s SS benefit;

the spouse is allowed, by administrative decision, a deduction equal

to 1/2 of the applicant’s deduction (1/2 of the applicant’s onthl1

Railroad (governmental pension) benefits rounded down to the next

lower dollar). A total of $41,808 can be deducted from income

leaving a balance of $1,942 which is under the $10,000 income limit.

Conclusion: Eligible
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EXAMPLE 11

PTD Applicant full retirement age and spouse less than age 62, the

earliest possible retirement age.

INCOME DEDUCTION ALLOWED

Applicant-Federal pension $ 6,000 $ C

Applicant—Social Security 7,500 7,500

Spouse—Private pension 5,000 0

Total $18,500 $ 7,500

Applicant’s Social Security, larger than the Federal pension, can be

deducted in full. However, the spouse’s private pension is not an

excludable category of income, nor can social security benefits be

received through the retired worker applicant because spouse is not

of retirement age as required by Social Security. A total of $7,500

can be deducted from income leaving a balance of $11,000 which is

over the $10,000 income limit.

Conclusion: Not Eligible

EXAMPLE 12

PTD Applicant full retirement age and spouse age 62 or more.

INCOME DEDUCTION ALLOWED

Applicant—Social Security $ 8,500 $ 8,500

Spouse-Public School pension 9,500 9,500

Other Income 2,700 0

Total $20,700 $18,000

Applicant’s Social Security benefits and spouse’s School pension,

not in excess of the Social Security maximum of $27,876, can both be

deducted from income in full leaving a balance of $2,700 which is

under the $10,000 income limit.

Conclusion: Eligible

EXAMPLE 13

PTD Applicant surviving spouse, is retired worker, age 55 years,

non-disabled w/no minor or disabled children.

INCOME DEDUCTION ALLOWED

Applicant—School pension $ 9,500 $ 0

Applicant—Federal pension 2,500 C

Total $12,000 $ 0

12



Applicant is less than age 62 years, the earliest age a non-disabled

worker can receive Social Security benefits, and is less than 60

years, the earliest age a non-disabled surviving spouse can receive

SS benefits through deceased worker. Therefore, all income must be

included and total of $12,000 is over $10,000 income limit.

Conclusion: Not Eligible

EXAMPLE 14

PTD Applicant and spouse both full retirement age. Or PTD applicant

disabled, less than full retirement age, spouse age 62 or more.

INCOME DEDUCTION ALLOWED

Applicant—Social Security $18,000 $18,000

Applicant-Rental Income 2,400 0

Spouse-County Pension 11,000 11,000

Spouse—Social Security 6,000 0

Other Income 1,000 0

Total $38,400 $29,000

Applicant can deduct Social Security benefit in full. Spouse can

deduct income from one category of excludable income, i.e., either

Social Security or County pension. Spouse’s County pension is larger

and is the most advantageous choice. A total of $29,000 can be

deducted from income leaving a balance of $9,400 which is under the

$10,000 income limit.

Conclusion: Eligible

EXAMPLE 15

PTD Applicant disabled, less than full retirement age, spouse age 62

or more.

INCOME DEDUCTION ALLOWED

Applicant—Social Security $18,500 $18,500

Applicant-Business Income 12,000 0

Applicant—Allowable Business Expenses (7,500) 0

Spouse—Social Security 10,452 10,452

Total $33,452 $28,952

Applicant’s Social Security benefit can be deducted in full.

Applicant’s business income is not deductible but ordinary and

necessary expenses of the business as allowed by the Federal

Internal Revenue Code and regulations can be subtracted from the

business income. Spouse’s Social Security is deducted in full

leaving a balance of $4,500 which is under the $10,000 income limit.

Conclusion: Eligible
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EXAMPLE 16

PTD Applicant of full retirement age.

INCOME DEDUCTION ALLOWED

Applicant Social Security $15,500 $15,500

Applicant Rental Income 14,000 0

Applicant Allowable Rental Expenses (15,000) 0

Applicant Private Pension 9,000 0

Other income 1,500 0

Total $25,000 $15,500
or *$26, 000

Social Security benefit deducted in full. Income total subject to

Federal Internal Revenue Code treatment of rental income and

allowable expenses in excess of rental income. Disposition of the

net $1,000 rental income loss is dependent on Federal Income Tax

Treatment.

Conclusion: Depends on review of Federal Income Tax Treatment.

Where federal guidelines permit taxpayer to apply expense loss

against income, the $1,000 net loss reduces the income to $25,000.

After allowable deductions, a balance of $9,500 remains which is

under the $10,000 income limit resulting in eligible status.

*Where rental income is reduced to zero after deductions of ordinary

and necessary expenses of the rental property, income totals

$26,000. After allowable deductions, a balance of $10,500 remains

which is over the $10,000 income limit resulting in ineligibility.
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CI AIM FOR REAL PROPER FY FAX DEDUCTION ON DWELLING 1101SF OF QUALIFIED NEW JERSEY RESIDEN F SENIOR

(ITI/EN. DISABLED PERSON. OR SURVIVING SPOUSE SURVIVING CIVIL UNION PAR FNER

544-640 et seq.. L. 963 c. 72 as amended) (N J.A.C. IS: 14- ct seq.): Ciii) Union Act PL 2006. c 03, effective 2 9 07

IMPORTANT File this completed claim with ‘,our nutucipal tax assessor orcollector (See instructions on reverse,)

I. CLAIMANT NA$41E

Name(s) of claimant ow nCr(s) permanently residing in dwelling house.

2. D’.4ELLING LOCATION

Street Address of resident ow ncr claimant’s dwelling.
(Units if(’o-op>

County & Mutticipality

Block Lot Qualifier

3. YEAR OF DEDICTION Otis deduction is claimed for the tax ‘Year - —- (indicate tax year).

4. CITIZEN & RESIDENT (Complete A & B)

A QI was a citizen of New Jersey as of October 1 of the pretax year, i.e., the year prior to the tax year for which deduction is claimed: and

DCI was also a legal or domiciliary resident of New Jersey for at least one year immediately prior to October I pretax year See

instructions 2 & 3.

5. OWNER & OCCUPANT

ElI (my spouse civil union partner and I. as tenants by entirety), solely owned. held title to above identified dwelling occupied as ny (our)

principal or permanent residence as of October I of(he pretax year. See instructions 4 & 5.

**Complete 5a only if partial owners

5a. Name of part owner
00 ownership interest in property

**Complete Sb only if resident-tenant shareholder in Cooperative or Mutual I-lousing Corporation

5b. (‘orporation Name of Cooperative or Mutual Housing

Co-op M.H. Corp Street Address Municipality State

S -

flCo-op

Net Property Tax Amount for Unit ElMutual Housing Corp.

s**005*s*******00500***** 000*** *5*0*0*0*0 ****0* ****000****** ***0****0**********0** **********000******s*** 000*0000*******

Co. ANNUAL INCOME LIMIT (must he reaffirmed by March I following year for which deduction was given.)

El During the tax year for which the deduction is claimed, I reasonably anticipate that my annual income (and that of ny spouse civil union

partner combined> vs ill not exceed St 0.000 after a permitted exclusion of Social Security Benetits. Federal Government

Retirement Disability Pension. g State, (‘ounty, Municipal Government and ilteir political subdivisions and agencies Retirement Disability

Pension. See instructions 6 & 8.

7. BIRTH DATE MARITAL/CIVIL UNION STATUS

A. Date of Birth

B. Single l Mamed. Civil linion Partner Surviving Spouse Surviving (‘ivil Union Partner

CLegally Separated Divorced, Dissolutioned

. SFNIOR OR DISABLED CITIZEN OR SURVIVING SPOUSE/SURVIVING CIVIL UNION PARTNER

(Choose A, B, arC)

A. Ci was age 65 or more years as of December 3). of the year prior to tax year for which deduction is claimed.

B. DI was permanently and totally disabled and unable to be gainfully employed as of December31 of (lie year prior to the tax year.

AI’fACII I°[IYSICIANS OR SOCIAL SECURItY DISABI[.II’Y OR NEW JERSEY COMMISSION FOR BLIND

(ER LIFICA IF.

C’. DI svas a surviving spouse surviving civil union partner as of October I of the year prior to (lie tax year and have not

remarried entered into a new civil union partnership. DI was age 55 or more as of December 31 of the year poor to tIme tax year

and at time of mv spouse’s civil union partner’s death. 50My deceased spouse civil union partner at his or her death was

receiving .iDsenior citizen’s property tax deduction or aQpermanently and totally disabled persons property tax deduction.
000*0*0*00 . 0

9. REAl. PROPER’[Y ‘r.x DEDUCTION OTHER D4EL1.ING I (and my spouse civil union partner) did not receive a setuoror disabled

citizen or sum sing spouse civil union partner tif applicable) property tax deduction on insulter dvsclling for tIme same tax year except on try tour)

former (monte identified below where I (vs e) resided from month year to month, year

Street Address
Municipality

I ccrtitS the ahoy e dcclarations ire true to the best of my kitosvledge and belief md understand they will be considered as if mmtade under

uu,ith and subject to pcmm,i(ttes for perjury if falsitied.

Signature of C laimatmt
I )ate

*t**s**0***0**********05000* ****000********5*5*t0050500400S000050*****0500000505***0000*0000000**0******000*000000o****

(ml Fit I..l USE ()NI Y -Block l.ot \pprosed mm ,mmnotint of S

CAge C Disability Survms imto Spouse Sum mvtmmg (is ill mon Partner of Evettior citizen Sr disahlcd person

t - llects’r

Ii rot PIl)mev F chruare DOtt7



GENERAL INSTRUCTIONS

I. APPLICATION FILING PERIOD File this tbnn with the municipal tax assessor trom October I through December31of the pretax year, i.e., the year prior to the calendar tax year or with the municipal tax collector from January I threughDecember31 of the calendar tax year, For example, for a property tax deduction claimed for calendar tax ‘,ear 2007, thepretax year tiling period would be October I - December 31, 2006 with the assessor and the tax year hung period would beJanuary I - December 31, 2007 with the collector.

2. ELIGIBILITY DATES - Eligibility for the property tax deduction is established in the year prior to the calendar tax yearliar which the deduction is claimed as follows.
New Jersey Citizenship as of October I pretax year
Property Ownership as of October 1 pretax year
Residence in New Jersey and in Dwelling [louse as of October I pretax year and
Residence in New Jersey for I year immediately prior to October I pretax year
Senior Citizen Age 65 or more as of December31 pretax year
Permanent and Total Disability as of December31 pretax year
Survising Spouse Sursiving Civil Union Partner Age 55 or more as of December 31 pretax year and at the time ofspouse’s/civil union partner’s death

3. CITIZEN & RESIDENT DEFINED - United States (‘itizenship is not required. Resident for purposes of this deductionmeans a claimant who was legally domiciled in New Jersey for one year immediately prior to October 1 ot’the pretax year.Domicile is the place you regard as your permanent home - the place you intend to return to after a period of absence. Youmay have only one legal domicile even though you may have more than one residence. Seasonal or temporary residence inthis State. of whatever duration, does not constitute domicile. Absence from the State tiara 12 month period is prima facieevidence of abandonment of domicile.

4. RESIDENCE IN DWELLING HOUSE DEFINED - Residence in the dwelling house means the dwelling where aclaimant makes his principal or pennanent home. Vacation, summer or second homes do not qualiI,’. Only one deductionmay be received per principal residence regardless of the number of qualitied claimants residing on the premises.

5. TENANCY BY ENTIRETY DEFINED - Tenancy by Fntirety means ownership of real pmperty by both husband and wifeor civil union partners, as a single ownership, in joint title acquired after marriage/civil union partnership.

6. INCOME DEFINED & LIMITED -

a.> The income period is the same tax year as the tax year for which a deduction is claimed.b.) A claimant must reasonably anticipate that income received during the tax year, including income of the claimant’sspouse/civil union partner, will not exceed $l0,000. Income of claimant’s family members, other than spouse/civilunion partner, should not be included as annual income.
c.> Income means all income received from whatever source derived including, but not limited to, salaries, wages,bonuses, commissions, tips, and other compensations hefi)re payroll deductions, all dividends, interest, realizedcapital gains, royalties, income from rents, business income, and in their entirety, pension, annuity and retirementbenefits. Realized capital gains, except for capital gain from the sale or exchange of real property owned and usedby the claimant as his principal residence, dividends, interest, pensions, annuities and retirement benefits must beincluded in full without deductions even though they may be wholly or partially exempt for Federal income taxpurposes.
EXCLL’D.4BLE INCOME**Income can be excluded under ONE of the following three categories: Social SecurityBenefits Federal Government Retirement/Disability Pension including Federal Railroad Retirement BenefitsState, (‘ounty. Municipal Govemment and their political subdivisions and agencies Retirement/Disability Pension.NOTE: In accordance with the CMI Union Act, eligibility guidelines that apply to married couples and sursivingspouses apply equally to civil union couples and surviving civil union partners.

7. DOCUMENTARY PROOFS REOUIRED - Each assessor and collector may require such proofs necessary to establishclaimant’s deduction entitlement and photocopies of any documents should be attached to this form as part of applicationrecord. For example: AGE may he verified by birth certificate, baptismal record, family Bible, census record, marriagecertificate, court record, Social Security record, military record or discharge, immigration document, insurance policy,DISABILIFY may he veritied by physician’s certificate, Social Security document, New Jersey Commission for Blindcertificate. SURVIVING SPOUSE SURVIVING CIVIl. UNION PAR FNFR by death certificate of decedent. OWNFRSIIIPby deed, executory contract for property purchase, last will and testament. RESIDENCY by New Jersey driver’s license,motor vehicle rcgistration, voter’s registration, State tax retum.

8. ANNUAL POST-TAX YEAR INCOME STA[EMENT REOUIRED - On or betiare March I of the year immediatelyliallowing the tax year for which deduction was claimed or received, a claimant mu.st tile a Post- [ax Year Income Statement.Form PD5. confirming that annual income Oar the tax year did not exceed the S 10.000 limit and that anticipated annualincome liar the current year will not exceed that limit and that all other eligibility prerequisites continue to he met. Forexample. the Post-fax Year Income Statement tiled by March 1, 2008 supports the claim Oar deduction tiar tax year 2007 byconfirming 2007 income. Anticipated income would refer to income received in tax year 2008 liar the 2008 deduction. IFIBIS IN( OME S [Al EMENT IS NOF I IMELY FlIED, DEDUCTION WILl. BE DISAI.LOWFD AND CL AIMAN FWILl. BE BILLED FOR FIlE DL DL C [ION AMOUN F.

0. APPEAI.S - A claimant nay appeal any unhiavorable determination by the assessor or collector to the (‘ounty Board ofFaxation annually on or hetiare April I.
* ***********************s************* ******m************ **************fl*********s***********•*****t*Ibis inn is prescribed by the New Jersey Division of I axation, as requircd by law, and may he reproduced liar distribution, hutmat’ not he altered without prior appm’o’. al.

nm PEt) me. hmuarv



Form PD4 FOR OFFICIAL USE ONLY

(rev. Nov. 2002)
BLOCK______________ LOT_____________

Claim by senior citizen
E Claim by disabled person

Claim by surviving spouse of a senior citizen
Claim by surviving spouse of a disabled person

NOTICE OF DISALLOWANCE OF CLAIM FOR A REAL PROPERTY TAX DEDUCTION
ON DWELLING HOUSE OF A NEW JERSEY RESIDENT SENIOR CITIZEN,

DISABLED PERSON, OR SURVIVING SPOUSE
(N.J.S.A. 54:4-8.40 et seq.)

To:

This is to inform you that your application for the real property tax deduction upon your
dwelling house in this municipality for the tax year__________ has been disallowed for lack of:

(j) Age- 65 years or older

(f) Ownership of dwelling

(C) Occupancy of dwelling as principal or permanent residence

(C) Legal residence or domicile in New Jersey

(C) Annual income limit

(C) Permanent and total disability

(C) Qualification as surviving spouse of a deceased senior citizen or disabled person
property tax deduction recipient

(C) Other

An aggrieved taxpayer has the right to appeal the disallowance of a property tax deduction
to the county board of taxation, which will review all of the qualifications for the deduction. If
the municipal assessor or tax collector has disallowed the property tax deduction application
at a date too late to permit the filing of an appeal with the county board of taxation on or
before April 1 of the current year, then the claimant is entitled to file a petition of appeal at any
time on or before April 1 of the succeeding year. If you are considering an appeal, as soon as
possible please obtain information about the proper procedure to be followed and the time in
which to file the appeal from the

_______________________

County Board of Taxation, at

_________________________________

in

____________________________

Assessor/Collector Date



NOTICE OF DISALLOWANCE OF CLAIM — If the application for deduction has been disapproved, a

Notice of Disallowance (form PD4) must be forwarded to the claimant by regular mail and must state

the reason or reasons for disallowance of the claim. The Notice of Disallowance must also advise the

taxpayer of his or her right to appeal to the county board of taxation on or before April 1 of the tax

year.

(a) Disallowance by the Assessor

Where an initial application for deduction under N.J.S.A. 54:4-8.40 et seq. form PTD (May, 1996) has

been filed with the assessor on or after October 1 and not later than December 31 of the year prior

to the tax year for which the deduction is claimed and it has been denied, the assessor must

forward the Notice of Disallowance to the claimant on or before June 1 of the tax year.

(b) Disallowance by the Collector

Where an initial application for deduction under N.J.S.A. 54:4-8.40 et seq. form PTD (May, 1996) has

been filed with the tax collector on or after January 1 and not later than December 31 of the tax year

and it has been denied, the collector must forward the Notice of Disallowance to the claimant

within 30 days of receipt of the application.

Where the property tax deduction has been denied by the collector because the claimant failed to

prove his entitlement to the deduction for the tax year or to the continuation of the deduction for

the following tax year, as required by N.J.S.A. 54:4-8.44a, Notice of Disallowance must be

forwarded to the claimant on or before April 1 of the post-tax year or, where an extension of time

for filing has been granted, no later than June 1 of the post-tax year.

STATUTORY EXCERPT

N.J.S.A. 54:4-8.44a et seq.:

“Every person who is allowed a deduction shall, except as hereinafter provided, be required to

file with the collector of the taxing district on or before March 1 of the post-tax year a statement under

oath of his income for the tax year and his anticipated income for the ensuing tax year as well as any

other information deemed necessary to establish his right to a tax deduction for such ensuing tax year.

The collector may grant a reasonable extension of time for filing the statement required by this section,

which extension shall terminate no later than May I of the post-tax year, in any event where it shall

appear to the satisfaction of the collector, verified by a physician’s certificate, that the failure to file by

March 1 was due to illness or a medical problem which prevented timely filing of the statement. In any

case where such an extension is granted by the collector, the required statement shall be filed on or

before May I of the post-tax year. Such statement.. .shall be mailed by the collector on or before

February 1 of the post-tax year to each person within the taxing district who was allowed a deduction

in the preceding year. Each collector may require the submission of such proof as he shall deem

necessary to verify any such statement. Upon the failure of any such person to file the statement

within time herein provided or to submit such proof as the collector deems necessary to verify a

statement that has been filed, or if it is determined that the income of any such person exceeded the

applicable income limitation for said tax year, his tax deduction for said tax year shall be disallowed. A

notice of disallowance, on a form prescribed by the director, shall be mailed to that person by the

collector on or before April 1 of the post-tax year or, where an extension of time for filing has been

granted, no later than June 1...or, where an extension of time for filing has been granted no later than

30 calendar days after the notice of disallowance was mailed.. .after which date if unpaid, said taxes

shall be delinquent, constitute a lien on the property, and, in addition, the amount of said taxes shall be

a personal debt of said person. The amount of any lien and tax liability shall be prorated by the tax

collector upon the transfer of title based on the number of days during the tax year that entitlement to

the tax deduction is established. The lien shall be considered satisfied by the tax collector upon

payment of the prorated amount for that portion of the tax year for which entitlement to the tax

deduction is not established.”

The Director of the Division of Taxation in the Department of the Treasury has promulgated form PD4. Officially

promulgated forms may be reproduced for distribution, but cannot be altered or amended without the prior

approval of the Director.



ANNUAL POST-TAX YEAR INCOME STATEMENT OF QUALIFIED NEW JERSEY RESIDENT SENIOR

CITIZEN, DISABLED PERSON, OR SURVIVING SPOUSE/SURVIVING CIVIL UNION PARTNER

REQUIRED TO CONTINUE RECEIPT OF REAL PROPERTY TAX DEDUCTION ON DWELLING

HOUSE
(N.J.S.A. 54:4-8.40 et seq.: L. 1963, c. 172 as amended)

P.L. 2006, Chapter 103 The Civil Union Act effective 2/19i07

This INCOME STATEMENT must be tiled with the municipal tax collector timely by March I annually or it will

result in loss of the deduction and you will he billed for the deducted amount. (See instructions on reverse.)

I. NAME(S) OF REAL PROPERTY TAX DEDUCTION RECIPIENT(S)

2. LOCATION OF CLAIMED DWELLING HOUSE

Street Address (Unit , if Co-op)

County & Municipality

BlocklLot/Qualifier

Name & Address of Cooperative or Mutual Housing Corporation, if applicable.

3. CONFIRMATION OF INCOME FOR TAX YEAR FOR WHICH DEDUCTION WAS GRANTED

I declare and confirm that the total annual income I (and my spouse/civil union partner combined) received from all

sources, after permitted income exclusion, during the previous calendar tax year. that is, the tax year for which

deduction was granted
DID NOT exceed $10,000.

U DID exceed $10,000.

SEE REVERSE, INCOME DEFINED AND EXCLUDABLE INCOME DEFINED.

4. ESTIMATION OF ANTICIPATED INCOME FOR CURRENT TAX YEAR

I reasonably anticipate that the total annual income I (and my spouse/civil union partner combined) will receive from

all sources, after permitted income exclusion, during the current calendar tax year

WILL NOT exceed $10,000.
WILL exceed $10,000.

5. REAFFIRMATION OF ELIGIBILITY
I reaftirm that all information provided on the initial CLAIM FORM PTD concerning New Jersey

domicile or legal residence, principal residence in and ownership of the above identified dwelling house

as ot October 1 pretax year. i.e., the year prior to the calendar tax year, as well as personal data, i.e..

age, disability, marital/civil union status as previously tiled with the municipal tax assessor and/or

collector is true and accurate and remains unchanged except as listed helow.*

CHOOSE A, B, or C.
A. As a surviving spouse/civil union partner, I also reaffirm that I have not remarried/entered into a new

civil union partnership.
B. As a permanently and totally disabled person. I also reaffirm that my disability status has not changed.

C. I initially applied as a senior citizen, age 65 or more.

*List below any changes in domicile, residence or occupancy, ownership, marital/civil union status, disablement etc.;

if none, state “none”:

I certif the above declarations are true to the best of my knowledge and belief and understand they will he considered

as if made under oath and subject to penalties for perjury if falsiticd.

Signature ot Claimant Date

VARNING: Failure to timely tile this statement with the collector or to submit proof of income as he or she requires

OR where annual income exceeds the statutory limit vill result in disallowance of the previously granted deduction or

jeopardize its continuation. Disallowed deductions must he repaid on or hefiwe June I of the post-tax year or become

delinquent, a lien on the property and a personal debt of the claimant,

lift I SI I Si O\I S d I), ppr( d
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-
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FORM PD512007 GENERAL INSTRUCTIONS

I. FILING PROCEDURE - On or before March I of the post-tax year. deduction recipients MUST tile this

Income Statement with the municipal tax collector to confirm that annual income tir the preceding tax year did not

exceed the $10,000 limit, after permitted income exclusion, and that anticipated income thr the current tax year will

not exceed $10,000. Deduction recipients must also confirm that all other eligibility conditions continue to be met.

2. APPLICABLE INCOME PERIOD - The income period is the same tax year as the tax year for which the

deduction was claimed or received. For example, an Annual Post-Tax Year Statement to he tiled on or before

March I, 2008 should support the deduction claim for tax year 2007 by confirming actual 2007 income. It should

also support the current deduction claim for tax year 2008 by estimating 2008 anticipated income.

3. EXTENSION OF TIME FOR FILING THIS INCOME STATEMENT - Where illness or medical problem. as

certified by a physician’s statement, prevents timely tiling of the Annual Post-Tax Year Income Statement the

collector may at his or her discretion grant a reasonable extension of time to tile hut no later than May I of the post-

tax year.
4. INCOME DEFINED - N.J.S.A. 54:4-8.40(a) defines “income” as all income from whatever source derived

including, but not limited to, realized capital gains except for a capital gain resulting from the sale or exchange of real

property owned and used by the taxpayer as his principal residence..,and. in their entirety, pension, annuity and

retirement benefits.
N,J.A.C. 18:14-1.1 defines “income” as salaries, wages, bonuses, commissions, tips and other compensations

before payroll deductions, all dividends, interest, realized capital gains, royalties, income from rents, business income

and, in their entirety, pension, annuity and retirement benefits. Realized capital gains, except for capital gain resulting

from the sale or exchange of real property owned and used by the taxpayer as his principal residence,...and dividends,

interest. pensions. annuities and retirement benefits must be included in full without deductions even though they may

be wholly or partially exempt for Federal income tax purposes.
N.J.A.C. 18:14-1.1 further defines “business income’ as gross income derived from a business, trade,

profession or the rental of property after deductions of the ordinary and necessary expenses of the business, trade,

profession or rental of property allowed under the Federal Internal Revenue Code and regulations.
“Disability benefits,” the New Jersey Constitution and statutes are silent on the subject of disability income

other than those disability benefits received under a Federal, State, or Political Subdivision program which are

excludable only to the extent of the maximum benefit received under the Federal Social Security Act. Therefore, any

other disability income received should be evaluated for inclusion or exclusion based on its proper treatment for

Federal Income Tax purposes.
“Married/civil union persons income,” income received by the applicant and spouse/civil union partner is

combined in establishing eligibility tbr the property tax deduction unless they are living separately. N.J.S.A. 54:4-

8.41 provides, in part, income of a married/civil union person includes an amount equal to the income of the

spouse/civil union partner during the applicable income year, except for that portion of the year as the two were living

apart in a state of separation, whether underjudicial decree or otherwise.
N.J,A.C. 18:14-1.1 also provides income of claimant’s family members other than a spouse/civil union partner

is not to he combined with income of claimant.
NOTE: In accordance with the Civil Union Eligibility guidelines that apply to married couples and surviving

spouses apply equally to civil union couples and surviving civil union partners.
5. EXCLUDABLE INCOME DEFINED - Benefits are excludable under only Q of three categories:

I. The Federal Social Security Act and all its amendments and supplements:
2. Any other Federal government program or Federal law which provides benefits in whole and in part in lieu

of Social Security benefits or ftr persons excluded from coverage under Social Security, including but not

limited to the Federal Railroad Retirement Act and Federal pension, disability and retirement programs;

3. Pension, disability or retirement programs of any state or its political subdivisions, or agencies for persons

not covered under Social Security.
** NOTE Where the claimant and’or spouse/civil union partner receives only Social Security benefits and no

benefits under 2. & 3., the amount of Social Security received can be deducted from income in full.

Where the claimant and/or spouse/civil union partner receives both Social Security benefits and

government retirementjdisability benefits under 2. or 3.. the larger of either one of the income categories

can he deducted hut any goernment pension disability benefit deduction cannot exceed the maximum
allowable Social Security benefit. The amount of Federal, State. County, Municipal pension, disability or

retirement benefit etc. excluded should be based on actual benefits receked provided that the total

excluded under 2. or 3. above is not in excess of the maximum benefit amount excludable in similar

circumstances under I. Social Security.
N.J.S.A. 54:4-8,40(a)( I )( 2)(3)

6. DOCUMENTARY PROOFS REQUIRED - Each collector may require any infhrmation necessary to establish

claimants deduction entitlement.
7. DISALLOWANCE - Failure to timely file this statement or meet income and other eligibility requirements will

result in disallowance of the deduction. Claimants will he notified by formal Notice of’ Disallowance. Disallowed

deductions must he repaid on or before June 1 of the post-tax year or where a filing extension was granted no later

than 3(1 days after mailing of the Notice of Disallowance. If unpaid, taxes will he delinquent, constitute a lien on the

property and a personal debt of claimant.
8. APPEALS - Disallowed claims may he appealed to the County Board of faxation,
* * * * * * * * * * ** * * * * * * * * ** * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * ** ** * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * ** S * S * * * * * * S * * * *

This form is prescribed by the New Jersey Diis,on ot Taxation, as rcqiured by law, and may he reproduced for
dtsrrihution hut may not he altered without pnor apprwai.



PROPERTY T X DEDLC1 ION CLAIM BY vEfERN OR SURYIYING SPOUSE/SURVIVING Cl IL UNION PARTNFRJSLRY lYING

DOMESTIC PARtNER OF YE [ERAN OR SER’. ICEPERSON

(J,$,A. 54 4-8 Oct 5C94 L1963. c 171 as amended) )N.J.A.C. 1827-1.1 Ct seq.)

IMPORTANT File this completed claim rOth your municipal tas assessororcollector. See instructions on reverse.)

I. CL’.IMAN I NAME

Same of claimant on ncr

2. CL..IMED PROPERTY LOCA [ION

Street Address Lair S. if Co-op Phone S

County Municipalitv

Block Lot -
- Qualifier

Maslittg Address if dtlYerent than Claimed Property Location

3. lEAR OF DEDUCTION This deduction is claimed for the tax year — )indicate tax year).
ns*n500n****,*******n**,**t,05***nn***s,s********n5500*****************sn*****.**050******.***n*n***n***005**s455,**0000*tt***

4. ‘vEIERAN/SUR’. lUNG SPOUSE SIR’. lYING CIVIL UNION PARTNERiSI. RI lYING DOMESTIC PIRTNER OF IETERAN OR

SERI ICEPERSON
Choose A, B, ort,’)

A. QHonorably discharged veteran with active wartime set’s ice in the 1 nited States Anned Forces. A flAt, Ii copy DD2 14.

B. QSurviving spouse survivitig civil union partner surviving domestic partoerof honorably discharged veteran with active wartime service in

the I nited States Armed I orces; and
Qi have not remarriedcformed a new civil union partnership/or a new registered domestic partnership. AflACH copy DD2 14 if not

previously provided by veteran claituant.

C Survivitsg spouse surviving civil utsioti partner surviving domestic partner of serviceperson who died on wartime active duty in the I nited

States Armed Forces; and
Ql have not rentarried. fornted a new civil union or a new registered domestic partttersltip. Al JA(’H copy ‘olilitar Notilicatton of Death.

5. ICTI YE ‘.4 -4RTINIE SERVICE PERIOD )Clieck All Applicable Service Periods)
**A. D1)peration Northertx Southern Watch August 27. 1992 - March 17. 2003
*n Doperation Iraqi Freedom ‘starch I’). 2003 - Ongoing

50c QOperaiion Fnduring Freedom September II, 2001 - Ongoing

•5D. Q”Joitat Eitdeavor Joint Guard’ - Bosnia & llercegovina November 20. 1995 June 20, 1998
**F “Restore Hope” Mission - Somalia Decetitber 5, 1992 - March31. 1994

•F Operation Desert Shield. Desert Storm Mission August 2. l>9O - February 28, 1991

Panama Peacekeeping Mission December 20. 1989- January 31. 1990

“II. Grenada Peacekeepitmg Mission October 23. 1983- Nsvember2l. 1983

nI. QLehanon Peacekeepitmg Mission September 26. 1982 - December I, 1987

3. Vietnamn Conlltct December 31. 1960- May 7. 1975

*nK QLebanon Crisis‘of 1958 July 1. 1958- Sovettiber I, 1958

1. QKorean Conflict June 23, 1950- January 31, 1955

VI. QWorld War II September 16. 1940- December 31, 1946

°°NOTE - l’eacekeeping Missions require a miniimtum of 14 slays service in the actual combat zone except where service-incurred injury or disability occurs

in the combat zone, then actual mirtie served, though less than 14 slays, is sufficient for purposes of property tax deduction. Ibe 14 slay requirement for

Bimsitia and Itereegovitta may be itmet by set’S ice iii one or both operations for 13 days continuously or in aggregate. For Bosnia arid llerzegom ma cisitihat

cone also includes the airspace above those nattoims.

6. PROPERTY OWNERSIIIP
the above natated claimant, owned, wholly or in part on deed date) the property above identified. Property oust be

owned as of October I of the pretax year. i.e., lie year prior to the tax year for which deduction is claimed. For example, where deduction is

claimed for tax year 2006. ownership criterion umust be nmet as of pretax year October I. 2005

a*Ce,mplete 6a only if partial owners of claimed property

(ma. Nantets) of part ossnertsl “* sin nerilmip interest in property

“CompIete 6b only if claimed property is a Cooperative or Mutual Ilousing Corporation in vshich you’re a fenant-Shareholder.

yb. Corporation Name of Cooperative or Mutual Ilour,ing

Co-Op VIII. (‘orp. Street Address - Municipality State

S oop

‘set Property lax Amount fort nit Mutual lloitsnmg (‘orp.

7 CITIZENSHIP & RESIDENCY t(’ommtplete A or B

3. l. the above vlaiimmanm veteran, was a ti/en and legal or domiciliary resident of New Jersey as of October I r,ftlme pretax year.

B l. the above claiimiani surviving spouse -,urv ivmg civil union partner surviving domestic partner, was a citizen mid legal or dsmnmiciliary

resident of Sew Jersey as of October I ‘f lie pretax year: and

Q’vIy devesised veteran or sers iceperson spouse civil uniomt partner domestic partner vs as a citizen atid resident of New Jersey at death.

S I4.X DEDUCtIoN OIlIER PROPERlY
JI aiim not receiving a Veteran’s Property lax Deduction in my other property Or the same tax year except as indicated here

Street Address Ilanicipalits
*n**nn*n***** **n****. ****,*onnn.n.*. n,n**..,n, **.fl

For assistance in documenting veterans’ status, contact the NJ I)epartment of Military and ‘veterans ‘vITairs at)609) 530-6854 or IS Veterans

‘vilministration it 1-800-827-1000

I certify tlse shove dcclarations are true to the best ofitty knowledge and helscf,ind understand they will be considered as if trade undvr oath and suh)evt to

penalties for penury if falsified.

Signature of ( laintant Date
*****n**,*,55*t**000*o* n*000******* *****n*

till It 13.1 1 ‘-l (i\l V - Block t,’i \pprms cd in amtii’unt ifS

Vctcran Surs is ire Spouse Sum’s is nit (iv 1 1 nun t’:mrmncr Sums mm mmii I ),‘nrestm,, l’srtner of ‘veteran or Qccrs isepcr/on

I ,‘llct,,r late

I ormim V S S cv lehru,trs 2007



FORM VSS GENERAL INSTRUCTIONS

APPLICATION FILING PERIOD - File this claim with the municipal tax assessor from October I through December

31 of the pretax year, i.e., the year prior to the calendar tax year or with the municipal tax collector from January I through

December 31 of the calendar tax year. For example, for a property tax deduction claimed for calendar tax year 2006, the pretax

year filing period would he October 1 - December 31, 2005 with the assessor and the tax year tiling period would be January I -

December31, 2006 with the collector.

ELIGIBILITY REOUIREMENTS - All requirements for deduction must be met as of October 1 of the pretax year,

i.e., the year prior to the calendar tax year for which the deduction is claimed.

A. Veteran Claimant as of October 1 pretax year must:

I. have had active wartime service in United States Armed Forces and been honorably discharged;

2. own the property, wholly or in part, or hold legal title to the property for which deduction is claimed;

3. he a citizen and legal or domiciliary resident of New Jersey.

B. Surviving Spouse/Surviving Civil Union Partner/Surviving Domestic Partner Claimant as of October I pretax year

must:
I. document that the deceased veteran or serviceperson was a citizen and resident of New Jersey at death who

had active wartime service in the United States Armed Forces and who was honorably discharged or who

died on active wartime duty;

2. not have reinarriedifonned a new civil union or/a new registered domestic partnership;

3. be a legal or domiciliary resident of New Jersey;

4. own the property, wholly or in part, or hold legal title to the property for which deduction is claimed.

NOTE **Claimants must inform the assessor of any change in status which may affect their continued entitlement to the

deduction.

VETERAN DEFINED - means any New Jersey citizen and resident honorably discharged from active wartime service

in the United States Armed Forces. Current statute does not provide for deduction for military personnel still in active

service who have not been discharged.

For assistance in documenting veterans’ status, contact the NJ Department of Military and Veterans Affairs at

(609) 530-6854. The United States Veterans Administration may be contacted at 1-800-827-1000.

ACTIVE SERVICE TIME OF WAR DEFINED - means military service during one or more of the specific periods

listed under 5 on front of this VSS Claim.

CITIZEN & RESIDENT DEFINED - United States Citizenship is not required. Resident for purposes of this

deduction means an individual who is legally domiciled in New Jersey. Domicile is the place you regard as your

permanent home - the place you intend to return to after a period of absence, You may have only one legal domicile

even though you may have more than one place of residence. Seasonal or temporary residence in this State, of

whatever duration, does not constitute domicile. Absence from the State for a 12 month period is prima fhcie evidence

of abandonment of domicile.

SURVIVING SPOUSE/SURVIVING CIVIL UNION PARTNERISURVIVING DOMESTIC PARTNER

DEFINED - means the lawful widow or widower! civil union partner/domestic partner of a qualified New Jersey

resident veteran or serviceperson, who has not remarried/formed a new civil union/or a new registered domestic

partnership.

NOTE**A surviving spouse/surviving civil union partner/surviving domestic partner though a New Jersey resident

himselfiherself is not entitled to deduction if the deceased veteran/serviceperson spouse/partner at death was not a New Jersey

resident.

DOCUMENTARY PROOFS REOUIRED - Each assessor and collector may require such proofu necessary to

establish claimants deduction entitlement and photocopies of any documents should be attached to this claim as part

of application record.

MILITARY RECORDS Certificate of Honorable Discharge or Release, Form DD214, or Military Notification of Death

or Certification of United States Veteran’s Administration.

SURVIVING SPOUSE/SURVIVING CIVIL UNION PARTNER/SURVIVING DOMESTIC PARTNER Death

Certificate of decedent, marriage license/civil union license/domestic partnership registration certificate.

OWNERSHIP real property deed, executory contract for property purchase; or Last Will and Testament if by devise or

if intestate or without a will give names and relationships ofdecedents heirs-at-law.

RESIDENCY New Jersey driver’s license or motor vehicle registration, voters registration, etc.

APPEALS - A claimant may appeal any unfovorablc dctcnnination by the assessor or collector to the County Board of

faxation annually on or before April I.

This foni is prescribed by the New Jersey Division of raxaton, as required by law, and may he reproduced for distribution, hut

may not he altered without prior approval,



CLAIM FOR PROPERTY [AX EXEMPTION ON DWELLING hOUSE OF DISABLED VETERAN OR SURVIVING

SPOUSE/SURVIVING CIVIL UNION PARTNER/SURVIVING DOMESTIC PARTNER OF DISABLED VETERAN OR

SERVICEPERSON

(N.,LS.A. 54:3-3.30 et seq.; L.1948, c.259 as amended) (N.J.A.C. 18:28-1.1 et seq.)

IMPORTANT File this completed claim with sour municipal ta assessor. (See nstructions on reverse.)

I. CLAIMANT NAME

Name(s) of veteran claimant owner t& spouse/civil union partner, as tenants by entirety, or domestic partner) or of survii ing

spouse/surviving cisil union partner. surviving domestic partner permanently residing in dwelling

44*4*4 ** *4*44* 4*44+ * 4*4+444*4*4 4.4 * 4*44+4*4*4*44*4*4+4+44+44*44*4*4+4+4+4 4’+*+* *4+ ** 4 ** +4** 444* 4*4 ** 4*44*4 ** * 4

2. DWELLING LOCATION

Street Address of claimant owners principal residence
Phone 4

County
Municipality

Block
Lot Qualifier

3. DISABLED VETERAN/SURVIVING SPOUSE/SURVIVING CIVIL UNION PARTNERJSIRVIVING I)OMESTIC

PARTNER OF DISABLED VET OR SERVICEPERSON (Choose A, B, or C)

A. Honorably discharged disabled veteran with active wartime service in United States Armed Forces,

ATTACH copy ofDD2l4.

13. Suruiving spouse/surs iving cis il union partner/surviving domestic partner of honorably discharged disabled seteran with

active wartime service in United States Armed Forces; and

I have not remarriedjformed a new civil union or a new registered domestic partnership. ATTACH copy ofDD2l4.

C. Surviving spouse/survising eis-il union partner/surviving domestic partner ofserviceperson who died on wartime active

duty in the United States Armed Forces; and

DI base not remarried/firmed a formed a new civil union or a new registered domestic partnership. A FTACH copy of

Military Notification of Death.

4*4*4*4+4*4*4*44*4444+44,4*4*4+4*4*4+4* ******4*4+4+ +44+4 + 4+4+44+4*44*4* *+**4*+*+*+**4* *4*44*4*4 *************** *

4. ACTIVE WAR TIME SERVICE PERIOD (Cheek All Applicable Service Periods)

44A. Operation Northern/Southern Watch August 27, 1992- March 17, 2003

44B. DOperation Iraqi Freedom
March 19, 2003- Ongoing

44C. DOperation Enduring Freedom September 11,2001 - Ongoing

D. Q”Joint Endeavor’Joint Guard” - Bosnia & Herzegovina November 20, 1995 - June 20, 998

44E. “Restore Hope” Mission - Somalia December 5, 1992 - March 3!, 1994

44F. Operation Desert ShieldiDesert Storm Mission August 2, 990- February 28, 1991

44G. Panama Peacekeeping Mission December20. 989- January 31, 990

l1. Grenada Peacekeeping Mission October 23, 1983 - November 21, 1983

4*1. QLebanon Peacekeeping Mission September 26, 1982- December I, 1987

J. Vietnam Conflict
December 31, 960- May 7, 1975

44K. Lebanon Crisis of 1958 July I, 1958- November I, 1958

I.. QKorean Conflict
June 23, 1950 - January 31, 1955

M. World War II
September 16, 1940- December 31, 1946

44N0 I’E - Peacekeeping Missions require a minimum of 14 days service in the actual combat zone except where service-incurred injury

or disability occurs in the combat zone, then actual time served though less than 13 days, is sufficient for purposes of property tax

exemption. The 14 day requirement tbr Bosnia and Herzegovina may be met by services in one or both operations for 14 days

continuously or in aggregate. For Bosnia and Herzegovina combat zone also includes the airspace above those nations.

****4*4+4*+*4*4*4++ ***4*4+4*4*4*4******4*4*+44*4*4**4+*4*4+44*+* * +44+4+4+44+4*4 +*4*+4*+**4+*44+44*44+**44**4*+

5. DISABILITY (Choose A or B & complete C)

A. Q Wartime service-connected disability from paraplegia, sarcoidosis. osteochondritis resulting in pennanent loss of use of

both legs, or permanent paralysis of both legs and lower parts of the body, or from hemiplegia and having permanent

paralysis of one leg and one arm or either side of the body, resulting from injury to spinal cord, skeletal structure, or

brain or from disease of spinal cord not resulting from any form of syphilis; or from total blindness; or from amputation

of both anns or both legs, or both hands or both feet, or the combination of a hand and a tOot; or

B. Other wartime service-connected disability deelared to be a total or 100% permanent disability, and not so evaluated

solely because of hospitalization or surgery and recuperation, sustained through enemy action, or accident,

or resulting from disease contracted is bile rn such service.

C. Date V.A. determined 100% permanently and totally disabled

_______________

6. OWNERSIIIP & OCCU PANCY (Complete A, B, and Cl

A. I (my spouse/cisil union partner, as tenants by cntiretydomestic partner), solely own or hold legal title to the abose

dwelling house. Grantee (buyer) name per deed. Deed Date________________________

C. [he dii elling house is One-Family and I occupy all of it as my principal residence. OR

E [he dwelling house is Multi-Unit and 1 occupy

________

as my principal residence.

7. CITIZEN & RESIDENT ((omplcte A or 13)

A. As of

_______

(msert date - monthdassear), I, the above named sctiiran claimant was a

citizen and legal or domiciliary resident of New Jersey.

B. As of -

t insert date - monthday;year), I, the above named sun is ing spouse/surviving civil

union partner sum is tug domestic partner claimant is as a citizen and legal or domiciliary resident of New Jersey; and

Mv deceased veteran or serviceperson spouse!eis ml union partner domestic partner was a citizen and resident of New

Jersey at death.

For assistance in documenting veterans’ status, contact the NJ Department of Military and ‘eterans Affairs at (609) 530-6854 or

IS Veterans .•dministration at 1-800-827-1000.

I certit the abuse declarations are true to the best ut toy knun ledge and belief and undcrstattd they is ill he eonsidcred as itinade under

oath and uhject to penalties Or perturv t fakilied.

Signature ofelaimnant
Date

‘*44*’4******************i’**tt***4*4’*
. ***à*******4.********

t tt [It I \l U51 (.iNI ‘i UI ck —
I m —

E \ pri I flDi alli sc.d

\S’.v’ ‘r

Date

lorm DVS.S F rev. February 2007



FORM D.V.S.S.E. GENERAL INSTRUCTIONS

APPLICATION FILING PERIOD - File this form with the municipal tax assessor at any time during the tax year.
Partial or prorated exemption is permitted for the remainder of any taxable year from the date ownership or title to
the dwelling house is acquired proided all other eligibility requirements are met. For example, where application is
tiled on June 1st of the tax year fur exemption on a dwelling house acquired on February 14th of the tax year. the
assessed ‘.alue is to be prorated for taxation purposes so that 44’365ths of the total assessment would be taxable and
321i365th’s would be exempt.

2. ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS
A. Disabled Veteran Claimant (must meet all 5 requirements)

I. have had active wartime service in United States Armed Forces and been honorably discharged:
2. have a United States Veterans Administration certification of wartime ser’. ice-connected disability

as described under #5 on front of this DVSSE Claim;
3. wholly own or hold legal title to the dwelling house for which exemption is claimed;
4. occupy the dwelling house as the principal residence;
5. be a Citizen and legal or domiciliary resident of New Jersey.

B. Survi’. inc Spouse/Survi’. inc Ci’. il Union Partner, Survi’. ing Domestic Partner Claimant (must meet all 6
requirements)
I. document that the deceased veteran or sersiceperson was a citizen and resident of New Jersey at

death who had active wartime service in the United States Armed Forces and who was honorably
discharged or who died on active wartime duty;

2. document that the deceased veteran had V. A. certified wartime service-connected disability:
3. not have remarried/formed a new civil union or a new registered domestic partnership;
4. wholly own or hold legal title to the claimed dwelling house;
5. occupy the dwelling house as the principal residence;
6. be a citizen and legal or domiciliary resident of New Jersey.

NOTE **Claimants must inform the assessor of any change in status which may affect their continued entitlement to the
exemption.

3. DWELLING HOUSE & CURTILAGE DEFINED - dwelling house means any one-family building or structure
or unit in a horizontal property regime or condominium or multiple-family building or structure on that portion
occupied by the claimant as his legal residence including any outhouses or appurtenances used for the dwellings fair
enjoyment. Curtilage means the enclosed space of ground and buildings immediately surrounding the dwelling
house and enjoyed with it thr its more convenient occupation.

4. DISABILITY DEFINED - means a wartime service-connected disability as described under 5 on front of this
claim and certified as such by the United States Veterans Administration.

5. VETERAN DEFINED - means any New Jersey citizen and resident honorably discharged from active wartime
service in the United States Anaed Forces. For assistance in documenting veterans’ status, contact the NJ
Department of Military and Veterans Affairs at (609) 530-6854. The United States Veterans Administration
can be reached at 1-800-827-1000.

6. SURVIVING SPOUSE/SURVIVING CIVIL UNION PARTNER/SURVIVING DOMESTIC PARTNER
DEFINED - means the lawful widow or widower/civil union partner/domestic partner of a deceased disabled veteran
or serviceperson who has not remarried/funned a new civil union! or a new registered domestic partnership.

7. ACTIVE SERVICE TIME OF WAR DEFINED - means military service during one or more of the specific
periods listed under #4 on front of this claim.

8. CITIZEN AND RESIDENT DEFINED - United States Citizenship is not required. Resident fur purposes of this
exemption means an individual who is legally domiciled in New Jersey. Domicile is the place you regard as your
permanent home - the place you intend to return to afier a period of absence. You may have only one legal domicile
even though you may have more than one place of residence. Seasonal or temporary residence in this State, of
whatever duration, does not constitute domicile. Absence from the State fur a 12 month period is prima facie
evidence of abandonment of domicile.

0, DOCUMENTARY PROOFS REQUIRED - Each assessor may require such proofs necessary to establish
claimants exemption entitlement and photocopies of any documents should he attached to DVSSE Claim as part of
the application record.
MILITARY RECORDS Certificate of Honorable Discharge or Release, Form DD214, or Military Notification of
Death or Certification of United States Veterans Administration.
DISABILITY Veterans Administration Certification of Disability.
SURVIVING SPOUSE SURVIVING CIVIL UNION PART\ERiSURVIVING DOMESTIC PARTNER Death
Certificate of Decedent, mnamage license civil union license/domestic partnership registration certificate.
OWNERSHIP Real property deed, executory contract for property purchase, or Last Will and Testament if by
des se, or if intestate or without a will give names and relationships of decedent’s heirs-at—law.
RESIDENCY New Jersey dnsers license or motor schicle registration. soter’s registration. etc.

Ii), APPE-\L.S - A claimant may appeal an umitasorable determination by the assessor to the County Board of Favation
annually on or befure April I

[his funri is prescribed by the New Jersey Division of Taxation, as required by law, and may he repms’duccd fur distribution.
hut na’. not he mitered without prior approval.
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DEPARTMENT 0 R.NS AFFAIRs

Regi Oce

20 Was in Place

Newa NJ 102

In Reply Refer To: 309/21
cSS

Dear

This is to certifj that the records of the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs disclose that your

wartime service-connected disability is totally s ng. A 100% permanent and total evaluation

was assied effective in accor ith the Veterans Affairs Rating Schedule

and not so evaluated because of hospitalizatio or surgery .and recuperation.

The records further indicate that you served in the United States , from

to , and received a honorable discharge.

The above statement is issued in accordance th NJ.S.A 54: 4-3.30, ET.S.EQ.

Sincerely yours,

U. G. HENDERSON

BeneEts Delivery Ocer



INITIAL STATEMENT OF ORGANIZATION CLAIMING PROPERTY TAX EXEMPTION

(NJ.S.A.54:4-4.4; & 54:4-3.5; 54:4-3.6; 54:4-3.6a; 54:4-3.9; 54:4-3.10; 54:3-3.3; 54:4-3.l5; 54:4-3.24; 54:4-3.25;

54:4-3.26; 54:4-3.27; 54:4-3.35; 54:4-3.52; 54:4-3.64; & N.J.S.A.8A:5-l0 eta!)

IMPORTANT File this claim in duplicate with municipal assessor of taxing district where property is located by

November I of the pretax year. Separate claims must he tiled fir each parcel. Every third year as of November I a

Further Statement updating the organizations status must he tiled with the assessor. See instructions.

I. CLAiMANT ORGANIZATION NAME

2. ORGANIZATION ADDRESS (Corporate Headquarters)

3. CONTACT INDIVIDUAL, REPRESENTATIVE, OFFICER for ORGANIZATION

Niime
Phone # E-Mail Address Fax 4

Postal Mailing Address

4. INCORPORATION

A. Domestic-Incorporated or organized in New’ Jersey on (month/day/year)

__________under

statute cite 4

B. Foreign-Incorporated or organized in the state of________________ on (month/day/year)

___________________________

Registered with New Jersey Secretary of State on (month/day/year)

___________________________________________

5. ORGANIZATION’S PURPOSES(Explain organization’s purposes. Attach Certificate of Incorporation, Articles of

Association, Charter/Mission Statement, and Constitution & By-laws.>

6. NEW JERSEY STATUTE UNDER WHICH PROPERTY TAX EXEMPTION IS CLAIMED

State New Jersey statute cite 4 and brief description (see list in instructions)

7. PROPERTY LOCATION IN NEW JERSEY

Street Address
City Zip Code

County Municipality Block 4 Lot 4 Qualitier

8. PROPERTY OWNERSHIP

Grantor (Seller) Grantee (Buyer)

Deed Date (MonthlDayJYear) Deed Book Page

County of recording Recording Date

Owner of legal title Yes 0 No If no, describe ownership arrangement. Attach ownership document.

9. PROPERTY’S PHYSICAL DESCRIPTION

Total Land Area (Sq. Ft/Acreage) Land is Vacant orDimproved with buildings and/or structures? (Check one>

If improved, state number of buildings and/or structures

_____________________________________________________

State each building size in square feet

________________________________________________________________________

Fully describe each building’structure type

___________________________________________________________________

State S amount tbr which improvements are insured

____________________

10. PROPERTY’S ACTUAL USE or ACTUAL/EXCLUSIVE USE

If vacant land, state uses and area size for each use. If not used, state none.

________________________________________

If improved with buildings and/or structures, state uses of each.

_______________________________________________

Are land and/or buildings used lhr stated purposes of claimant organization per section 5 above?

No DYes If yes,U Entirely orD Partially? Explain if used for other than claimant organizations purposes or if used

or occupied by other than the claimant organization

___________________________________________________________

Are land and/or buildings leased or rented by other than claimant organization’?QNo DYes

If yes. Entirely orO Partially? Percentage of property leased % Attach copy lease/rental agreement.

Explain rental uses.

____________

__________

_________________________________________

State tenant names and rental income received.

Is commercial business conducted on premtses?ZNo DYes If yes, explain —______

________

II. COMPENSATION, REMUNERATION RECEIVED

List names of individuals, officers, entities receiving compensation, salaries, allowance, monetary protits from claimant

organization and dollar amounts received. If none, state none. Supporting financial data may be required by assessor.

12. SIGNATURE, DATE & TITLE OF OFFICER CLAIMING EXEMPTION FOR ORGANIZATION

I certify the above declarations are true to the best of my knowledge and belief and understand they will be considered as

it’ made under oath and subject to penalties fur perjury if falsilied.

Signature__________________________________ Official Title or Position

________________________Dare___________

Official Use Denied Approved Exempt Property Code

Assessor
Date

Form IS. Rev. December 2001. [his fimi is prescribed by the Director, Division of Taxation, as required by law, md

nay not he altered ithout the approval of the Director.

/



IN FORMATION/INSTRUCTIONS

GENERAL ELIGIBILITY: Real property tax exemption is determined by:

1. the organizations purpose
2. the property’s use as of October I of the pretax year

3. the absence, presence. degree and use of profits
4. the property’s ownership as of October I of the pretax year

5. incorporation of the organization or its authorization to operate in New Jersey

6. land area or existing buildings
7. timely application as of November I of the pretax year

Because eligibility criteria varies from statute to statute, specific questions regarding your organization’s exemption

requirements should be directed to the municipal assessor in the taxing district where the property is located,

LANI) & BUILDINGS: Land and building criteria vary depending on statute wider which exemption is claimed. Although

there are some exceptions: such as cemetery and conservation land, vacant land IS NOT generally exempt even when owned by

an otherwise exempt organization. In most cases, in the absence of buildings used for one of the exempt purposes speeitied by

statute, independent vacant land is not exempt. Also most statutes impose acreage limits on exemptable land area. common

limit is five acres per exempt building. Please review applicable statute.

OWNERSHIP: Property must be owned by the organization claiming exemption as of October 1 of the pretax year, For

example, possession of legal title as of October 1,2000 would fulfill the ownership prerequisite for exemption for tax year

2001. In most cases, fill legal title must be acquired; equitable title is insufficient. However, certain statutes by specific

provision allow for equitable or beneficial ownership interest. Please review the statute under which you are requesting

exemption with respect to eligible ownership.

EXEMPT USE TEST-REASONABLE NECESSITY: Use must be a qualifying exempt use. Property’s use must be an

integral part of the exempt organization’s operations, not just a convenience, and reasonably necessary for the proper and

efficient fulfIlment of the organization’s exempt purpose.

ACTUAL USE: Property must be actually used for a pennitted or qualifying use pursuant to the statute under which exemption

is sought. Future use; for-profit use; and private use are ineligible. Occasional, incidental nonexempt use does not in itself

invalidate exemption.

PARTIAL (PRORATED) USE v. EXCLUSIVE USE: Whether a property must be used solely or exclusively fir its exempt

purpose or if a proration is permitted depends upon the statutory language specific to that organization. For instance, schools,

hospitals, religious and charitable organizations allow prorated exempt/taxable use while volunteer first-aid squads and

associations to prevent cruelty to animals must meet the exclusive or singular use criteria. Please review applicable statute.

NONPROFIT STATUS: Federal 50l(e)(3) status is not controlling with respect to New Jersey property tax exemptions. A

monetary surplus, rather than a loss, does not necessarily indicate a for-profit, commercial operation. Provided moneys go back

into operation of exempt organization, exemption is permissible. However, a for-profit motive, as evidenced by the fi.tets.

invalidates exemption. i.e.. is the organization’s structure, financial agreements, tuitions, fees set etc. with the intent to make a

protit.

DOCUMENTARY PROOFS: N.J.S,A.54:4-4.4 provides, Each assessor may at any time inquire into a claimant’s right to

continue an exemption and for that purpose he may require the submission of such documentation as he considers necessary to

determine the claimant’s continuing right to exemption. Claimants may be asked to provide: proof of income via audited

financial statements, tax retum copmes: proof of ownership via deed; proof of use via lease/rental agreements, itinerary/calendar

of events & organization’s promotional literature; proof of organization’s purpose via certificate of incorporation, articles of

association, charter or mission statement, and constitution and by-laws.

Burden of proof is on exemption claimant; it is not the responsibility of the assessor to seek out claimant or to bring

claimant into exemption compliance.

STATUTES: Veterans organizations N.J.S.A54:4-3.5 & 54:4-3.25 & 54:4-3.15

Educational, religious, charitable organizations NJ.S. A.54:4-3,6

Firefighter organizations N.J.S. A.54:4-3. 10 & 54:4-3.13

Burial grounds & cemeteries N.J.S.A.54:4-3.9 & N.J.S.A.SA:5-lO

Youth organizations N.J .S.A.54:43.24

Fratemal organizations N J.S.A.54:4-3,26

Disaster relief organizations N.J.S.A.54:4-3.27

District Supervisor Religious Organization N.i,S.A,54:4-3,35

Ilistoric Sites N.J.S.A.54:4-3.52

(onservation Recreation land N.J S.A.54:4-3.64

FURThER STATEMEN’r REQUIREI): Every third year as of November I after approval of the initial statement, a ftmrther

tatemnent is to be tiled aith the municipal assessor.

DENIALS/APPEALS: Any unfavorable determination by the assessor may be appealed to the County Board of l’axation

annually on or before April 1.
FOR ASSESSOR USE ONLY

Deed Ownership Documents [ease Rental Agreements

Insurance Poke on Property (‘ertificate of Incorporation

Articles of Association (onstitution and l3v-Iaws

Audited 1 inancial Statements Fax Retunis

(‘hatter and/or Mission Statement Organization’s l’romotiunal Literature

Itinerary. Calendar of Events Addendum containing aiw other pertinent information



FL:RTHER STALENIEN[ OF ORGANIZATION CLAIMING PROPERTY TAX EXEMPTION

(NJ.S.A. 54:444; & 54:4-3.5; 54:4-36; 54:4-3.6a; 54:4-3.9; 54:4-3.10; 54:4-3.13; 54:4-3.15; 54:4-3.24: 54:4-3,25;

54:4-3.26; 54:4-3,27; 54:4-3.35; 54:4-3.52; 54:4-3.64; & N.J.S.A. SA:5-l0 et al)

IMPORTANT File this claim in duplicate with municipal assessor of taxing district vvhere property is located no later

than November 1 of every third succeeding year, updating the organizations status. Separate claims must be tiled for

each parcel. See instructions.

1. CLAIMANT ORGANIZATION NAME

2. ORGANIZATION ADDRESS .Corporate Headquarters

3.coN’rACT INDIVIDUAL, REPRESENTATIVE, OFFICER for ORGANIZATIoN

\attte t’hone S E-Mait .ddress Fa.’.

Pooat \fatItn Address

4. EXEMPT PROPERTY LOCATION IN NE4 JERSEY for sshich continued exemption is claimed

Streei.iddress (It ZipCode

Block S [,ot S Quati tier
(‘amity Iunictpattty

. CONFIRMATION OF FILING OF INITIAL STATEMENT

Initial Statement claiming exemption from taxation for the above mentioned real property in item #4 was filed on

______________________

with the assessor of the aforementioned municipality.
Date)

6. PIIYS1CAL and/or ( SE ChANGES of the aforementioned real property in item #4

Fully describe any physical changes that have occurred since the tiling of the previous Initial or Further Statement.

Total Land Area (Sq. Ft/Acreage)

__________________

Land isOVacant orDlmproved with buildings and/or structures? (Check one)

If improved, state number of buildings and/or structures

_____________State

building(s) size in square feet

______________

Fully describe building(s)/structure(s) type

_________________________________________________________________________

State $ amount for vvhich improvements are insured

___________________

Fully describe any changes in the use that have occurred since the filing of the previous Initial or Further Statement.

If vacant land, state purpose, area used and size for each use. If not used, state none

___________________________________

If iniproved with buildings and/or structures, state uses of each.____________________________________________________

Are land and/or buildings used for originally stated purposes of claimant organization’? No flYes

lfyes.DEntirely orOPartially? Explain if used for other than claimant organization’s purposes or if used or occupied by

other than the claimant organization

________________________________________________________________________________

Are land and/or buildings leased or rented by other than claimant organization’?QNo DYes

If yes,D Entirely orflPartially? Percentage of property leased 04 Attach copy lease/rental agreement.

Explain rental uses
—

State tenant names and rental income received.

Is commercial business conducted on prentises? CNo EYes If yes, explain

7.CONIPENSA’I’ION/REML’NERA I’ION (‘IIANGES

Fully describe any changes that have occurred since the tiling of the previous Initial or Furiher Statement.

List names of individuals, officers, entities receiving compensation, salaries, allowance, monetary profits from claimant

organization and dollar amounts received. If none, state none. Supporting linancial data may be required by assessor.

&PROPERTY OWNERSHIP CHANGES/DISPOSITIONS

I las any portion of the real property described in item 4. for vvhich exemption has previously been claimed and allov% ed.

been rented, sold or othervvise disposed of since the tiling of the prior Initial or Further Statement? ‘s C NoC

If yes, describe the property and state to vvhom conveyed and date of conveyance,

_______________

9. PROPERTY NEWLY A(’Ql IRED rorishich exemption is claimed

Has any new or additional real property been acquired by claimant since the filing of the previous Initial or Further

Statement’? YesO
N

Property Location

_______________________________________________________________

lfyes, an Initial Statement. Form IS.. as to such nevv or additional real property must he filed vOth the assessor.

It). SIGNA1’I RE, DA’[E & ‘flTLE OF OFFICER CLAl.llNG EXEMPTION FOR ORGANIZATION

I ccrtit\ the above declarations are true to the best of m knowledge and belief and understand they vvdl be considered as if

made under oath and suhect to penalties for perjury if foIst tied.

Signature______________________________________ Official Title or Position

____________________________I)ate______________

Official Use Denied Approved Exempt Propert Code

\sscssr

Form F S Rev April 2fl02 this form is prescribed 1w the [)ircrctor. l)Ivision ot t’axation. is required by law, and may not he altered

ms shout the tppros al ot’ the ) rev tor



FURTHER STATEMENT REQUIRED: Every third year as of November I alter approval otthe Initial

Statement, a Further Statement is to be tiled with the municipal assessor.

IMPORTANT File this claim in duplicate with municipal assessor of taxing district where property is located

by November I. Separate claims must he tiled for each parcel. If additional space is needed, please attach a rider.

GENERAL ELIGIBILITY: Real property tax exemption is determined by:

the organization’s purpose

2. the property’s use as of October 1 of the pretax year

3. the absence, presence, degree and use of profits

4. the property’s ownership as of October I of the pretax year

5. incorporation of the organization or its authorization to operate in New Jersey

6. land area or existing buildings

7. timely application as of November I of every third succeeding year

Because eligibility criteria varies from statute to statute, specific questions regarding your organization’s

exemption requirements should be directed to the municipal assessor in the taxing district where the

property is located.

STATUTES: Veterans organizations
Educational, religious, charitable organizations

Firefighter organizations
Burial grounds & cemeteries
Youth organizations
Fraternal organizations
Disaster relief organizations
District Supervisor Religious Organization

[listoric Sites
Conservation/Recreation Land

N.J.S.A 54:4-3.5 & 54:4-3.25 & 54:4-3.15
N.J.S.A. 54:4-3.6

N.J.S.A. 54:4-3.10 & 54:4-3.13

N.J.S.A. 54:4-3.9 & N.J.S.A. 8A:5-l0
N.J.S.A. 54:4-3.24
N.J.S.A. 54:4-3.26
N.J.S.A. 54:4-3.27
N.J.S.A. 54:4-3.35
N.J.S.A. 54.4-3.52
N.J.S.A. 54:4-3.64

DENIALS/APPEALS: Any unfavorable determination by the assessor may he appealed to the C’ountv Board of

Taxation annually on or before April I.

DOCUMENTARY PROOFS: N.J.S.A.54:4-4.4 provides, Each assessor may at any time inquire into a

claimant’s right to continue an exemption and tbr that purpose he may require the submission of such

documentation as he considers necessary to determine the claimant’s continuing right to exemption. Claimants

may be asked to provide: proof of income via audited financial statements, tax return copies: proof of ownership

via deed: proof of use via lease/rental agreements. itinerary/calendar of events & organizations promotional

literature: proof of organization’s purpose via certificate of incorporation. articles of association. charter or

mission statement, and constitution and by-laws.

Burden of proof is on exemption claimant; it is not the responsibility of the assessor to seek out claimant or

to bring claimant into exemption compliance.

FOR ASSESSOR USE ONLY

Deed/Ownership Documents

Insurance Policy on Property

Articles of Association

Audited Financial Statements

Charter and/or Ni ission Statement

Itinerary Calendar of Events

Lease/Rental Agreements

Certificate of Incorporation

Constitution and By—laws

Tax Returns
()rgan ization ‘s Promotional I. iterature

Addendum containing any other pertinent

information



LAIiLtSII IV—11

FO PSS-1--1983 State of New Jersey Subcit this clain to the

Livisien of Ta.tion Construction Code Office

CLA FOR TAX Z2I0N FOR of the mimicipality where

AUTATIC FE SUFPESION SThT property is located.

C 309 P.1. 1983 (NJA 5l:lç-.3.l3O et seq.)

flUflJ.dA_& 21.LA.LLJ.
COUNTY______________________________________________________________________________________

The following declaration is susjtted in accordance with the provisions of NJSA 5k:2-.3.l30 et seq., and

I certify is true to the best of 11edge and belief and fully understand that such declaration will

be considered as if nade under oath, and, as to a false declaration shall be subject to the penalties as

provided by law for perjury.

_____________________________________SIA1J

OF 0’______________________________________

Name of Owner

1i-gAddeess

city State Zip Code Block No. Lot No. ,or Page _Line_

If location of property is different than above, complete this section

.. atreet Aodress

City State Zip Code Block No. Lot No. • or Page Line_

Name
Telephone Number_____________

Mailing Add_-ess

City State Zip Code__________

Name
Telephone Number_____________

Mailing Address

City State Zip Code___________

Cost of Automatic Fire S ppre axiom System (Labor and Material)___________________

1)

1. Proposed Work (Check One)

______Automatic

Fire Suppression System, as part of new construction.

_____Automatic

Fire Suppression System, as part of an addition to existing structore.

_____Automatic

Fire Suppression System, as part of an alteration to existing structure.

2. Use oup of building.

As thoez on construction permit________________________________________________________

3. Type of Automatic Fire Suppression System (Check applicable components)

_____Water

sprinklers or spray

Indicate: _Wet _Dry Pipe _Otber (specify)______________________

Water Supply Source_____________________________ Size__________________________

_____Foam___Carbon

dioxide -

_Balm____Dry

chemical

_____Other

(specify)________________________________________________________________

Area sprinkled: _FuU

____Partial

(specify)________________________________

• Number of Heads:________ Number of Spare Heads:___________

0
If valves are supervised, specify method:_________________________________________________

NOTE: Detailed cost breakdown of the proposed automatic fire suppression installation

be attached,



Cl3fTtCATiOM TOE AUtWTC F SuPPEION
SfS’4 PP!3ftt TAX ‘!ON

Cnutructinu Pe.t Ner
This is to certify that the autonatic fire supWesstnu system set forth s deeiçied and installed in

conformance with the Unifcen Constuc’.inu Cude and is e1iihie equipoent as defined in NJS.ê. 54:4—5.130 Ct seq.
and is used pr’..marily to detect a fire, activate an alanu and sppress or control a fire.

Date rtjj Construction Cute Official

Late—Copy furnished to Assessor

TOE dSSSC Ot

The within claim for tax exemption is approved on real property referred to as Block No. Lt No._
on the t.ax map of said manicipality (or Page_Line_on the 19_Tax List.) Eptinu is authorized
begjr.nin with tax year 19__, in the siomt of S___________________

-
ASSOE

A certified appUcari.oo of e*ch automatic fire supptessiao system which qualifies for ez,tion shall be
allowed by the assessor.

It ;heajd be noted the Act does ant preclude the system from being assessed as ax, added asseaement for the
period prior to the effective date of the estion. The e.tion from taxation for the automatic fire
Suppression system shall comaence is the tax year folloming the year in which certification ha.. been granted.

Claim for the ememptioO. once certified shall continue in force until certification ha been revoked by the
enforcing agency under regulations proalgattd by the Department of Coity Affairs.

Data concerning the esemption shall be recorded and retained in the Assessor’ a Office. The Asseasor shall
forthwith send a copy of the certified application to the:

Local Property Branch 50 Barrack Street — 251
Appraisal Section — 9th floor Trenton. Rew Jersey 08646

In applying the exetiaa the assessor nay regard the automatic fire suppressic system as not increasing
the value of the property.

N.J.$.A. 54:4—3.135 provides that; any person aggrieved by any action of the Director of the Division of
Taxation. may seek a review before the Director of the Division of taxatioo pursuant to the Administrative
Procedure Act. P.1.. 1968. C.410(C.52:145—1. cc seq.)

A person aggrieved by so action of the assessor may appeal to the county board ef taxation or the Tax Court,
as anoroorlate.

2CP FI8ZM fl.J.S.A. 54:4—3.130 et aeo.

i.J.S.A. 56:4-3.130 (a) “Autjc fire suppression system” means a mechaninsl system designed. and eamipped to
detect a fire, activate an alarm, and suppress or control a fire without the necessity of nu intervuntinu
and ctivatas as a result of a pcedetered.ned temperature rise, rate of rise of temperature, or increase in the
level of conbustimi products.

N.J.S.A. 54:4-3.230 (o) ‘C.ssionsr” means the C_ser of the Departeent of Ccity Affairs.

B.J.S.A. 54:4-3.130 (c) “Thfortdng agmscy” menus the enforcing agency in ... mmicipality provided for nuder
the “State Uniform Construction Cede Act,” P.1.. 1975, c.Z.7 (C.52:27D...U9 ci seq.)and regulations prnszlgated

fl.J.S.A. 54:4—3.130 (d) °Board of appeals” means the municipal or emnuty board provided for under the “State
U..iforn Cstruction Cede Act,” P.1. 1975, c.217 (C. 52:27D-.119 ci seq.) and regulations pron2.gated temder.

N.J.S.A. 54:4—3.231 An autooatic fire suppression system installed after the effective date of this a.ct in a
residential, ceruial, or iastrial building and tified by the enforcing agency as an autonatic fire
suppra scion system shall be ept frov taxation under apter 1. of tle 51. of the Revised Statutes.

N.J.S.A. 54:4—3.132 enforcing agency shall grant a certification pursuant to section 2 of this act upon
receipt of a written application made nuder oath on a form preseribed by the Director of the Division of
Taxation in the Department of the Treasury. The form shall be made available to 1 marts by the enforcing
agency. The enforcing agency msy at any time inquire into the sight of a claimant to the etion and for
that purpose may require the filing of a new application Or the subcission of any proof necessary to determine
the rigzt of ise claimant to iSa continuation of the eosxption. The enforcing agmncy shall have the rit to
caSte an iaopect.ion of the pr.ses which are the subject of the claim for etion nuder this act.

N.J.S.A. 54:4-3.234 The enforcing agency, after ving notice to the holder of an autonatic tire suppression
system certificate, may revoke the certificate whenever any of the appears:

a. The certification was obtained by fraud or niarepresentation.
S. clait for tax etinu ha.s failed substantially to proceed with the construction.

reconstrucuion, installation or acquisition of an autonatic fire suppression system.
c. The eech.cal system to ied.ch the certificate relates has ceased to be used for the

primary purpose of provicing autneetic fire suppression and is being used for a
different primary purpose.

d. claimant for tax eption hereunder has so departed from the ecnieut, des.gu and
construction previously certified by the enforcing agency that, in the anion of the
enforcing agency, the autonatic fire suppression System is not suitable reasonably
adequate for the purpose of providing autosatic fire nupprescion.

N.J.S.A. 54:4-5.235 (a) A person aggrieved by an action of the enforcing agency may seek review before
the bo.rd of appeals.

U.S.A. 56:4-3.135 (s) A person aggrieved by an action of the Director of the Division of Taxation cay
seek a review before the Director of the Division of Tarstion pursuant to the “Anj tire Procedure
Act” P.1.. 1968, c. 5.10 (C. 52:21.8.4. Ct seq.)

N.J.S.A. 54:4-3.135 (c) A person oieved by an action of the assessor may appeal to the county Soazd
of taxation or the Tax Court, as appropriate. -

1L.J.S.A. 54:4-3.136 The of real property equipped with a certified automatic fire suppression system
say have epted a33y from the assessed valuation of the real property a m equal to the remainder of
the assessed valuation of the real with the antonatic tire suppresei system included minus the
assessed valuation of the real without the automatic fire suppre scion system.
U.S.A. 54:4-3.137 Subject to the “Aistrative Procedure Ant,” P.1. 1968. C. 410 (C. 52:11.5—1 at seq.)

a. The Dire otor of the Division of Taxation shall adopt rules and regulations mecessany far the proper
certification of a tax eptinu and the form of a certificate to be issued.

S. The c.ssianer shall adopt rules axat regulations esah1i sbing techoical ztanisrd.s for autanatic
tire suppression yst necessary to qualify those systems for eption from taxation pn.Ssant to this act.
U.S.A. 54:4-3.138 s act shall take effect on November 21., 1983.



Jer

Christine Todd Whitman
Covernor

€nclosed is your approved claim(s) for tax exemption under the authority of Chapter 127 of P1.

1966 (Title 54A - 3.56 to 3,58). Deviation e application(s) parameters may result in the

revocation ofyour claim for tax exemptioii

do ent, please contact the Bureau ofNew SourceIfyou have any questions regarding this
Review at the above address.

Sincere 1/
6y

ouis Mikolajczyk, Chief/
Bureau ofNew Source Review

cc: State Division of Taxation
Local Tax Assessor
Regional Office
File

L
E

New Jse s an Equal Oppor?zzruty EzrçJay

Reyckd Pap

Department of Protection Robert C. Shinn. Jr.
Commissioner

May 14, 1997

Todd HIpwell
Bayer Corporation (formerly miles Inc.)
100 BayerRoad
Pittsburgh, PA 15202-9741

Dear Todd Hlpweil:



Nw J,rsay DpaitmzM Envnmarl Protacc
Sutaau d New Sowc. Review

CN c27. Tismon. oa625-0o27

CLAIM FOR TAX EXEMPTION OF AIR POLLUTION ABATEMENT FACILITY

Appllcaton for ti1cticn of *ir PoIhio Aafamut Fxillty

PEMIT/CERTtF)CA!ENO.
f(2 DATE 4/1196

DATE PERMIT/CET. ISSUED 3/19/96 EXPIATI0N DATE

__________

The Following infotmatiCn is wbrnited in accordance with the orovisicns of Oaptr 727. P. L. 7966

N.J.S.A. 54.4 3.56cr seq.) and to the bcsr of my knowledge and belief is true and cont.

LOG EtJMBER: Signature

Tide DIREcTq( mx

Sec. A tI) Full 8usines Name BAYER CORPORATION (FORMERLY MILES INC.)

.. (2) Type of OwnershiP (3) Person to contact regarding additional details

.. .

. TODD HIPWELL

Individual
100 SAYER ROAD

Partnership —

Corporation X PITTSBURGH, PA 15205—9741

:__

øAin,cwi&w Stats 4

Sec. 8 (1) Location of Abatement Facilities

550 BELMONT AVENUE BOROUGH OF NORTH HALEDON PASSAIC

Scrwf Addi Munec.ry Cow,r

and further described as Lot(s) No. 19 in SI(s) 81.02

. on the Tax Map of said.municipality <Or Page Cs) Line(s)

onthe 1S — Tax List).

Sac. C (1) Nature of Operations conducted at the above location

CLOSED MANITFACTtJRING PLANT.

ONLY ACTIVITIES ARE RE€DIATION.

(2) Standard mdi ri Caificetion No. (SIC)• 2830

Sac. 0 ( 1) Describe unit process

(2) Raw Materials uad in PURUS RESIN, CARBON.

ow, ‘ewJ



• .•7_— —-—----—

ati,O#httL
—

RAT! OF £UlSS,O#m j CONTO. EF#ICIEPCV (%
CON1AJdINANI

With F.cli WI!I0gt etiry j O.seen PfQt4

SEE ATTACKED.

________________ ________________ _______ ____

.?

—
1 1

(1) Describe abatement facility
A COMBINED SOIL VAPOR, GROUND WATER, AND VOLATILE ORGANICS

— TREATHEN’t S!STEM USING PURUS RESIN BED SYST, AIR STRIPPERS, AND CARBON

ABSORPTION.

(2)Are contaminants collected in any manner by the control facility? I Yes C No

(3) Are the coflected contaminants ld or usad? C Yes I No (f yea. eitj

(4) Are air contaminants burned by the control facility? C Yes I No..

(5) I: the heat value from the burned air contaminants and any auxiliary fuel reused or reclaimed?
- C Yes I No ri

(6) Oats installation was completed APR. —

(7) a. Original cost reported it considered tangible personal property used in businees S

_______________________

b. Original cost reported if considered real property S

__________________

c. Networth on data of application reported if considefed real property S $378 ,(JUU -

(8) Are the emiions of contaminants controlled by the abatement facility currently regulated by any standard: in state or

local laws, codes, regulations, or ordinances? C Yes C No —

(9) Law,codt,regulatioflorordinaflcl NJDEP AIR AND ISRA AND NJDPES ti—9 jcc”7

_____

10) Does the facility comply with such requirements? Yes C No -

m Logs.. —

The e$*9m€flt. ftCiliW or dSTiCS for which tax exemption is ctaim*d døes not qualify 1r certification for the tsasoii checked below:

Not desired, constructed and/or used for air pollution abatement or control.

A substaflt’aI part is desied orcc’structed fr purposes other than preventing air pollution. (Reapplication may be race

for that part which controls or abates pollution of the outdoor air).

3. The prime function is oth•r thai preventing pollution of the outdoor air.

4. Does not comply with existing Stats or local Codes. Regulations or Ordinances.

5. The perfocmaic* of the equipment as installed is not suitable and adequate for the primary purpose of preventing or aoatrg

air pollution.

6. Application inconiPlets or incorrict — See item checked.

CERTIFICATION OF AIR POLLUTION ALt TEMENT FACILITY

This is to certify tha nw ib’pODUttOA abment facility set forth above designed primarily for (he of

abatemelu ofpollution of the * .isd ft m’t.bk and reasonablp adequate for such purpose.

Thu certificate shalli Infulforce and effect subject o the prov s5 of apter 7 .L 966. win!

Local
/ e 1

7J5/

Borough of North Haledon
Municipaliry

FOUS€ BYTA.XASSEQRQJliY

The within claim for tax exemption is approved in the sum of S

_________________

on real property referred

to as Lot(s) No.

________________

in Block(s) No.

_______________________

on the Tax Map of sad

municipality (or Page(s) ,Une(s)

______________

. 19

______

Tax List).

Exemption authorized for the tax year beginning 19

______

for S

______________

of the assesseo

valuation.

Date

___________________

Asor1sSignature

I
2
‘U
I
‘U
I

2
0
I-
3

0

>.
I-
-i
Q

I..

I
‘U

SUBMIT ORIGINAL AND THREE COPIES



CONTAMINANT

CONTROL E11ICIENCY

Benze
Cbloroform
Methylene Chioride
1 ,1 ,2,2-
Tetach1oroethaie
Teachloroethae

RATE OF
bsibr)

With Fadflity
0.0025
0.0025
0.003 8

0.0025
0.055

EMISSIONS

Without Facility
0.02101
0.01 4
0.1875

0.00643
5.4871

98%
98%
98%

98%
990/i

orm22c
88.10%
83.22%
97.97%

61.12%
98.99%

1,1,2-
Thcbloroethane 0.0025 0.00018 98% n/a
Trich1oroethyIae 0.018 0925764 98% 98.06%
Vinyl Chloride Or.1O 0 Wa n/a
Total VOCs&
mhane 1.80 11.12 98% 83.81%

Emission ar4 ?e&forrnance values reec actual NJDE? air permit discharge !Lrnits.





FORM WS-l
C .1 .S ... 54:4—3.59 et seq.)

APPLICATION FOR

EX1PTION FflOM TAXATION OF CERTAIN WATER SUPPLY AND

SEWAGE DISPOSAL STRUCTT..’RES. FACILITIES. MACHINEflY

EOUIPMFNT AND DEVICES

(P.C. 1967. C. 260)

This application must be filcd on or before October 1 of the pretax year (see Instruction 4)

Munic:pclity________________________ County__________________________________

Application is hereby made for exemption from taxation of certain water supply and

sewage disposal s uctures. facilities. machinery. equipment and devices - hereinafter

more particularly described under Chapter 260. Laws of 1967. and the following decla

rations arc herewith submitted in support of sich application.

1. The owner(s) of the water supply and/or sewage disposal itoms for which this

application is mode is (are)

___________________________________________________

(see instruction 2).

2. The property on which thc water supply and/or sewage disposal items for which this

application is alade. is located at
Location Munieiplity

described as (see instruction 3)

3. The improvements to real estate’ which mean any structure. machinery, equipment.

device or facility necessary to the installation or maintenance of a potable water supply

system or a water-CaST Cd sewerage disposal system. are listed below.

Description Date Installed

4. Costs
a. Original cost of items considered real property $________________

b. Original cost of items considered personal property $________________

c. Total Cost S____________

5. The undersigned authorize(s) the assessor, or his (their) authorized representative.

to enter upon the premises to matte periodic inspection of the improvements listed in

this application.

_________—

TZNATuRE ANtI VERlgICTlON (See tnstrucuon 5)

The undersigned decLare(s) under the penalties provided by law, that this application.

including any accompanying schedules and statements, and to the best of his (their) know

ledge and belief is true and correct.

Datec:

_____________________________________________

Sinature of owner or Co-Owner

Name of Corporation

Dated:

__________________________

Signature of Corporate Officer

NESFRVED FOWOTFICIAL LSE

approved

The within applietitton s cisapproved

Dated: — SSESSOR______



INSTRUCTIONS

1. GENERAL - An rnprovctttcnt to real cst.ate’ or ‘impravement shall mean any struc

turc. machinery cquipmcnt. dOvice or facility noccssary to the installation or mainte

rwrmce et a potable water Supply system or water-carried sewerage disposal systcmn used

in connection with a igrant labor camp” and in accordance with the provisions of sac

taons 26. 2. or 28 of Chapter 71 of the Laws of 1945. as amended and supplemented.

These sections are reprinted in full, as fellows:

N.J.S.A.. 35:9A-26 Water

(a) Each camp shall be provided with an adequate supply of pet3ble water which is

of safe sanitary quality.

(b) Wells or springs used as sources of water supply shall have tieht covers and be

so tructed and located as to preclude their poliution by seepage from eesspools. pri

vies, sewer’s, sewage treatment works, stables or manure piles. or pollution from surface

drainage. The water from such sources shall be obtatnéd by free gravity flow or by a

metal pump with watertight connection to a concrete slab covering such well Or sprint If

the pip is situated adjacent to the well or spring, it shall be so located and connected as

to prevent pollution of the water.

(c) Basins. pressure tanks or reservoirs used for the storage of drtnkuzg water sub

sequently distributed without treatment haU be so lined, curbed, covered • or otherwise

protected as may be necessary to prevent pollution of the supply by surface water, and to

preclude pollution of an accidental, incidental or willful nature. Water therefrom shall be

delivered to the camp ftztux’es. if such fixtures are provided, by means of a watertight

discharge pipe by gravity or by pumping.

(d) No common drinking cup shall be used. If drinking fountiuns are provided they

shall be of sanitary design and construction.

N.J .5-A.. 39: 9A-27 Bathing Facilities

Convenient and suitable bathing facilities of a reasonable nature to suit conditions.

kept clean and sanitary, shil be provided for every camp.

N.J.$.A.. 34:9A-28 Toilets and Privies

(a) An adequate number of convnieflt and suitable privy or other toilet facilities.

kept clean and sanitary shell be provided (or every camp. A privy othe, than a water-

closet shall consist of a pit at least two feet deep with a suitable sheller. The openings of

the shelter and pit shall be inclosed by screening or other suitablc netting. No privy pit

shall be filled with ezcrcta to nearer than one foot from the surface of the ground and the

exereta in the pit shall be covered with earth, ashes, lime or other simi)ar substance.

(b) Privies shall be so located, constructed and maintained that they shall not be of

fensive to the users. nor permit access of flies to the privy vaults nor leakage or seepage

offer a possible pvilution of any water supply. adjacent surface waters or ground sur

faces.
(cI Sewage disposal systems shall not allow exposure of sewage or sewage effluent

on the ground.

2. LISTiNG OF OWNERSHIP - List every zildividual. partnership or corporation having an

interest in the water supply and/or sewage disposal items and the I-and on which they are

located as owner. Attach separate sheet, it’ necessary.

3. DESCRIPTION - State block and lot as shown on the official tax map or page and line on

the current year’s tax list. This information may be obtained from your tax bill. If it is

necessary to give “mete and bound” description. attach separate rider.

4. f’ILINC DATE . The application must be filed with the local assessor on or before

October 1 of the pretax year. A tax exemption once granted shall 8e continued in favor

of the applicant from year to year without further application as long as the improvement.

as shown by periodic inspection by the assessor, is maintained in working order.

S. SIGNATURE. VERIFICATION AND AUThORIZATION - In thc cae of multiple ownership.

one of thc owners nay sign on behalf of the other co-owners, except corporate co—owners.

Any such signer will be presumed to kayo authority to sign in behalf of the other non-

corporate owners. In the case of a corporate owner, the full name of the corporation must

be separately filled in. accompanied by the signature and title of the corporate officer

authorized to sign the application in its behalf. The owner must grant authorization to the

assessor, or to his authorized representative, to enter upon thc premises to make periodic

inspection of the improvement.

REPRINTOt’ LAW

EXEMPTION CERTAIN WATER SUPPLY

AND SEWAGE DISPOSAL FACILITIES

(P.L.1967.C.260.N.J.S.A.54:4-3.S9etscc.)

- Notwithstanding the provisions of section 12 of Thc Farmland Assessment Act

of 1964.” PL.1964. c.48. the value of any improvement to real estate, to the extent

that said improvement has enhanced the value of such property. snaIl be exempt from

çtcncral property taxation pursuant to Title 54 of the Revised Statutes.

2. For the purposes of this act. an impeovcznent to real estate” or “improvement”

shall mean any structure. machinery. equipment. device or facility neecesary to the in

stnllutinn or maintenance of a potable water supply system or water-carried sew ;iee dis

posal system in accordance with thc previsions of section 26. 27 or 28 of Chapter 71 of the

Laws of 1945. as amended and supplemented.

3. Initial application fo- a tax exemption pursuant to this section shall be filed by th

taxpayer with tho assessor of the taxing district on or before Ctobcr I of the pretax year

on a torso to be prescribed by thc Director of the Division of Taxation and supplied by the

assessor. The application shalt contain an authorization to the assessor, or to his author

red representative. to enter apon the premises to make periodic inspection nt the improve

ment

4. A tax exemption ontcd pursuant to this net Shall bc continued in favor of thc ippli

c:int from yc:mr to year without further application as tong as the £mprnvcmcnt. us shown by

pcricxlc inspection by the assessor Is maintained in workinE order.

1. This act shalt take ffcct immediately. (Approved December 26. 1967).



F.S .1 CLAIM FOR EXEMPTION ON BLAST OR

C.87. L. 1962 EADIATION FALLOUT SHELTER

THIS CLAIM FOR EXEMPTION MUST BE FILED WITH THE LOCAL TAX ASSESSOR

ON OR BELORE OCTOBER 1 OF THE YEAR PRECEDING ThE TAX YEAR

Municipality_______________________ County_________________________

hereby make claim for exemption under Chapter 87, Laws of 1962 (N.J.S.A. 54:4-3.48.

et. seq.) with respect to the “blast or radiation fallout shelter” on the property des

cribed below, for the tax year 19 and thereafter, and make the following declara

tion in support of such claim:

1. On or before October 1, 19 (insert the year preceding the tax year

which exemption is claimed):

(a) I owned the premises. occupied for residential purposes by not more than

situated at

(Address)
(Municipality)

and further described as Lot No.

_______

in Block No. on the Tax Map

of said Municipality (or Page_______ Line_______ on the 19 Tax List).

(b) There was erected on said premises a “blast or radiation fallout shelter”

designed and equipped in compliance with -anda.res established by the

the State Department of Defense, for temporary occupancy by human be

ings to minimize exposure to nuclear explosion or radioactive fallout re

sulting from nuclear explosion.

2. The actual construction or erection and installation cost of said “blast or

radiation fallout shelter” was $

3. 1 hereby authorize the assessor or his representative to enter upon the

above premises to make periodic inspection of the “blast or radiation

fallout shelter.” (See Instruction D).

I hereby certify that the foregoing declarations are ture to the best of my know

ledge and belief and I fully understand that such declarations will be considered as

if made under oath, and, as to a false declaration, shall be subject to the penalties

provided by law for perjury.

Date:

____________________

______________________________________

Signature of Claimant

RESERVED FOR OFFICIAL USE

1. Amount by which true value of property was enhanced S______________________

2. Amount ot exemption to be de<ucted from true value of property; or

$________________________________________________________________________________

(not to exceed 51.000.)
3. Amount of exemption to be deducted from assessed value.

$
(multiply line 2 by district assessment level for the tax year)

Date:

________________________

________________________________________

Assessor

TO THE TAXPAYER--SEE REVEHSE SIDE FOR INSTRUCTIONS.



INSTRUCTIONS

A. All requisites for exemption must be in existence on October 1. of the year pre
ceding the tax year for which exemption is claimed. That is. in order to be en
titled to the exempuon for the tax year 1963 the “blast or radiation fallout shelter”
must be erected • installed and completed in accordance with standards established
by the State Department of Defense on or before October 1, 1962. The property
must be occupied for residential purposes by not more than two families.

B. A tax exemption granted pursuant to Chapter 87, Laws of 1962. shall be continued
in favor of the applicant from year to year without further application as long as
the “blast or radiation fallout shelter,” as defined in the law, is maintained.

C. The construction or erection and installation cost of the “blast or radiation fallout
shelter” shall be evidence to be used by the assessor to calculate the enhanced
value of the premises attributable to said addition. The allowed exemption shall
in no case exceed S1.000 of the tiue value of such property.

D. Under Section 3 of the Law and as stated in paragraph 3 of the application, the
applicant, by his application, authorizes the assessor or his representative to
enter upon the premises to roalce periodic inspection of the “bLast or radiation
fallout shelter.”

This form is preicribed by the New Jersey Division of Taxation, as required by
law, and may be reproduced for distribution, but no alteration may be made there
in without prior anproval.


