
 

State of New Jersey 
  Unclaimed Safe Deposit Box or Other Repository Contents 

General Reporting Requirements 
 
 
The following information is intended only as a general guide of your obligations to report 
unclaimed safekeeping contents. The Statute (Public Laws of 1989, Chapter 58, New Jersey 
Statutes 46:30B-1 et seq.) and relevant administrative code attached should be referenced for a 
complete statement of the law and its various details.   
 
 

 REPORTING
 

 be sent to this office before 
November 1, of each year as of the proceeding June 30.  If you have questions on safe deposit 
box reporting, please contact Kem Springsteen at (609) 633-2024.   

The unclaimed safe deposit general reporting requirements must

 
State of New Jersey 

Department of Treasury 
Unclaimed Property 

Safekeeping Unit 
PO Box 446 

Trenton, NJ  08695 – 0446 
Attn:  Kem Springsteen 

 
 This office will not accept delivery of safekeeping contents by mail or in person from 

a holder.   You must not send the actual safekeeping contents.   Safekeeping contents will 
only be accepted after representatives from our office have reviewed the report and contents at 
your location.  This office will contact you prior to the inspection. 

Please note:

 
An estimated value must be provided for each individual item listed on the report per N.J.A.C. 
18:13-1.4.  If the value for the each item is not recorded, the report will be returned to the holder, 
unless the correct code is used such as:  miscellaneous papers, important papers, miscellaneous 
items (contraband) or stock certificates. (See attached Codes) 
 

 NOTICE
 
You are required to give a written notice to the apparent owner not more than 120 days before 
the report is filed provided that you have a last known address and the property is valued at $ 
50.00 or more (N.J.S.A. 46:30B-50). 
 

 ABANDONMENT CRITERIA
 
A holder of unclaimed safekeeping contents is required under N.J.S.A. 46:30B-45 to report the 
contents to the State if the safekeeping contents remain unclaimed by the owner for more than 
five years after the lease or rental period has expired.  
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 REPORT YEAR

 
The statutory cycle for safekeeping contents is July 1 through June 30.  The abandonment period 
is five years after the lease or rental period has expired.  The report year is the year in which the 
report is due (before November 1 following the 12-month period ending in June 30). 
 

 OWNER REQUIREMENTS
 
Each owner’s contents must be reported individually, and not intermingled with the contents of 
other owners.  Each owner must stand alone with regard to lien charges, sale expenses, and sale 
proceeds.  
 

 INVENTORY OF CASH
 
Cash must be maintained in its original form, and not co-mingled with cash of other 
owners.  It must not be converted to any other cash instruments.  
 

 INVENTORY OF MISCELLANEOUS PAPERS
 
Miscellaneous papers can be lumped together and listed under the code of Miscellaneous Paper.  
Only one important document should be detailed under the code of Important Paper 
 

 CONTRABAND
 

   Follow your internal policy regarding 
Contraband.  The Holder must document the action taken.  (See attached letter for specific 
documentation.)  Unclaimed contraband will not be accepted until the stated procedure is 
complete.   

not wait 5 years to inform the proper authorities!

If weapons or contraband items (guns, bullets, knives over 4 1/2 inches long, illegal drugs, etc.) 
are found at the time of drilling, the Holder should immediately notify the proper authorities.  Do 

 
 SALE BY HOLDER OF SAFEKEEPING CONTENTS

 
A holder of safekeeping contents may elect to conduct its own sale or auction  
(NJ 17:14A-51).  If a holder conducts a sale or auction of safekeeping contents, the proceeds 
less any lien charges, storage costs, and advertising costs must be reported and remitted to the 
state five years after the lease or rental period has expired.  The report must identify the 
individual items sold as well as items not sold on the safekeeping report.  The excess proceeds 
must accompany the Unclaimed Safekeeping Report.  The lien charges and sale expenses can 
only be deducted from each individual box/unit.  The Holder may not add together proceeds from 
all box/units and seek total reimbursement for all lien charges and sale expenses.  Proof of costs 
for each individual box/unit must be maintained by the holder.  Each box/unit must be accounted 
for separately in all respects. 
 
 

   3 



 
 

 DESTRUCTION OF CONTENTS
 

 the items are 
verified as “worthless” by a state field representative (N.J.A.C. 18:13-1.6). Items considered 
“worthless” are items of insubstantial commercial value including, but not limited to, personal 
letters, food items (of any type), clothing (exclusive of furs), dentures, eyeglasses, personal 
prosthetic devices, inexpensive trinkets, ashtrays, paperweights, High School/College textbooks, 
notebooks-with/without personal writing,  

Contents that remain after a sale or auction, may be destroyed by a holder after

personal snapshots/pictures, newspapers/magazines, personal documents, certificates, 
diplomas, receipts – gas/electric/telephone/rent, training manuals (any profession), paperback 
books, and paper clips/elastic bands (N.J.A.C. 18:13-1.4 ). 
 

 RECORD RETENTION
 
A holder of unclaimed safekeeping contents is required to maintain records related to 
safekeeping items for a period of five years after the report is filed with the State.  This includes 
any records related to the original postings, certifications by notary public, lien charges, storage 
costs, advertising costs, the State of New Jersey Safe Deposit Box Audit Report or other records 
related to the safekeeping contents. 
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STATE CODES FOR NEW JERSEY 
SAFEKEEPING 

 
 Tangible Types

 
     DescriptionCode 

 
BILL     CURRENCY – COLLECTABLE 
BOND     BOND 
CDT     CERTIFICATES OF DEPOSIT 
CKS     CHECKS 
CNS     COINS 
COIN     COIN – COLLECTABLE 
CSH     CURRENCY – DEPOSITABLE 
FCUR     CURRENCY – FOREIGN 
GEMS     GEMS 
INGT     INGOT 
IPP     IMPORTANT PAPERS 
JEWL     JEWERLY 
MISC     MISCELLANEOUS ITEMS 
MSPA     MISCELLANEOUS PAPERS 
SBOND     SAVINGS BOND 
SCER     STOCK CERTIFICATES 
STMP     STAMPS 
SVWR     SILVERWARE 
 

 OWNER TYPES
 
AG     AGGREGATE 
OT     ALL OTHER 
UN     UNKNOWN 
 

 OWNER RELATIONS
 

     DescriptionCode 
 
AD     ADMINISTRATION 
AF     ATTORNEY FOR 
AG     AGENT FOR 
AN     AND 
AO     AND/OR 
BF     BENEFICARY 
CC     CO-CONSERVATOR 
CN     CONSERVATOR 
EX     EXECUTOR/EXECUTRIX 
FB     FOR THE BENEFIT FOR 
GR     GUARDIAN FOR 
IN     INSURED 
JC     JOINT TENANTS (IN COMMON) 
JT     JOINT TENANTS 
OR     OR 
PA     PAYEE 
PO     POWER OF ATTORNEY 
RE     REMITTER 
SO     SOLE OWNER 
TE     AS TRUSTEE FOR 
UG     UGMA     
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UP-1S           State of New Jersey 
08-08      Department of the Treasury 
           Unclaimed Property 
Phone (609) 292-9200            P.O. Box 446 
Fax     (609) 984-0593              Trenton, New Jersey 08695-0446 
 
 

   UNCLAIMED PROPERTY SAFE DEPOSIT REPORT-HOLDER INFORMATION 
 
 
Property Abandoned as of:  June 30, _____   Holder ID # 
 
       December 31, _____   Holder Federal ID #:  ________________________________________ 

  
Business Code:  ____________________________        Agent Name   _______________________________________________________ 
 

      Report Contact: Holder Name &  Mailing Address  ______________________________  
         

Telephone Number:  ____________________________ 
 

Fax number: ___________________________________ 
      
State of Incorporation:  __________________________ 

            
Date of Incorp: ________________________________ 

 
Contact Mailing Address:   ______________________________________________________________________________  
 
Report Contact E-mail Address: _________________________________________________________________ 
 
If this report includes property held by subsidiary companies, attach a list of the names and Federal Tax ID numbers of those companies. 
___________ 
 
List the name(s) and Federal Tax ID number(s) of all previous holders of property if you are a successor.  If you have changed your name 
during the time in which you held the property, list the prior name(s) and Federal Tax ID Number(s): 

 
 
Electronic Media _________ Paper Report UP-2  ________  (20 properties or less) 
 

REPORT TOTAL  
        NUMBER OF 
 CASH   NUMBER OF BOXES  PAGES/MEDIA 
 
$___________________________ _____________________   ____________________  
 
 

IF YOU ARE AUCTIONING SAFE DEPOSIT BOX CONTENTS, PLEASE ATTACH DETAIL. 
 
CERTIFICATION: 
 
I hereby certify that this report was prepared on _______________ and is a true and accurate statement of all unclaimed property held as of the 
close of the report cycle, updated for appropriate interest/income/dividends to the date of this report.  I am aware that if any of the foregoing 
statements made by me are willfully false, I am subject to punishment according to the law. 
 
 
Signature: ____________________________________ Title: _______________________________________ Date: ___________________ 
 

 _________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
                FOR OFFICE USE ONLY 
 
Report Status:  ___________     Cash Remitted:  $_______________________________ 
 
Receipt IDs _________________________________________Report ID:  ___________________________Date: ____________________ 
 

Employee:  _________________________________________  
  
Owners Added Date:  _____________ Employee: __________________ Cleared Date:  _________________ Employee: ______________ 
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